Here to Heart (2018) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 1,086 users)
  • Ranked: #2141
  • Popularity: #1456
  • Watchers: 2,620

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

16 edits
9 edits
7 edits
5 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
floweraod
13 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0
(6/10) Story: Maybe this story wouldn't have fit a typical 90-120 minute film; however, 46 episodes was super unnecessary. There was unnecessary screen time for other characters, especially the second female lead [who sometimes takes 90% of the screen time of an episode]. I'm all for the development of characters other than the leads; however, most of the time, there was no development. If there WAS development, another misunderstanding or miscommunication would hinder any type of character growth. I think this could've been a 16 episode drama. I'd compare this drama to My Sunshine (2015) which had an extremely similar storyline with 32 episodes. The only thing that kept me watching was the fact that nothing better was airing.

(10/10) Cast: I was so happy when the cast was revealed. Seeing Hans Zhang and Janine Chang reunite was awesome. The last drama I've seen with them as co-leads was The Four (2015). How unfortunate because I gave The Four a 10/10 rating but this drama was a disappointment, though it isn't the actors' fault.

(10/10) Music: Not something I really noticed or cared about. I don't think the music would bother anyone though.

(1/10) Rewatch Value: Totally not worth spending 46 hours on. Even if there is nothing to watch, this was too frustrating. But it did give me something to waste my time on which is why the overall score I've given is a 7.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Annsgirls
13 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama is not that much bad as everyone says because according to its genre it showed its essence. This may be not that excellent out standing drama but a sitcom which we can watch when we don't have much interesting things to watch.
since i am a hard core fan of Korean dramas , comparing this to them can be make this one pathetic. but after seeing all those thrillers, fantasies, etc etc from Korean side we will definitely need a break with something like this. especially for a girl like me. where , a multimillionaire lost love, coming back to his life , all negative characters, witches, after at end everything will be a happy ending yes sounds to be common but sometimes somewhere many likes this and that's why they are making these types of dramas.

Don't get high scopes but it is ordinary, i do skipped many parts still i completed the episodes. you can skip unwanted scenes and save time but actor and actress done a very good job even though you wont to skip they wont allow us.

for me i liked it even though it was common may be because i like these kinds of dramas. so this doesn't deserve so much negative comment

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Karissa
4 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Sooo i picked up this drama because i was such a huge fan of Boss & Me which also starred Zhang Han who also happens to be the lead male character in this drama. I didn't really have that much expectation because for me, c-dramas either take really really long episodes which are usually pointless and dragging or they may be really substantial but give out bad endings. So i was kinda halfhearted when i watched this. But then, during the first few episodes, the chemistry between two lead characters were really worth watching and waiting for so i continuously watched the drama.

Acting wise, there is no doubt, Zhang Han and Janine Chang were really good. Janine was really superb specially with the waterworks (tears) although there were times that she seems really expressionless, i guess its really part of her character. For Zhang Han, he was good with the really emotional scenes too and yusss lets all admit, CEO personas is really fit for him (his hair seems like it can stand any typhoon and still look the same lol). One thing that bothered me though was that Wen Nuans character was really weak, like she was always pulled into troubles here and there and she wouldn't defend herself, always keeping the troubles within her and concealing the truth, basically martyrdom. It can be that it is really her character but it was superficial and annoying. The rest of the characters were either unstable, annoying and evil. Only my boi Old Gao was the stable character who had wisdom within him (my babyyy).

Story line kinda sucks cause the writers keep on extending the drama with useless episodes i guess because the ratings were really skyhigh? But meh i think it would've fit into 16 eps or even less. Of course the story line included really cliche scenes like the mom not liking the girl and turns out it was all a huge misunderstanding lol (nothing new to me).

Cinematography was good! I loved how they picked London to be their Opening and Ending scenes. The country is really nice and had so much good picturesque for drama scenes.

I really need to mention though how i loved the wardrobe of Wen Nuan and her sister. I was always looking forward to their office outfits and purses. For the guys though i need to give Old Gao a special award for always looking good and having the right color of suits. The rest of the guys had suits in checkered and purple or like weird colors which was cringe-y for me. Shout out to Yixin and Nan Xian's character for having strong Gucci and Chanel gaming.

OSTs were good. Immediately downloaded ZH's Without You


To sum it all up, i did enjoy the whole series because i was always looking forward to the chemistry of both leads. Probably won't rewatch it but definitely recommend it if you have nothing to do and want a drama to frustrate you and make you mad but still get a happy ending lol.

Still hoping to watch C-dramas with strong women characters :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
QAS
3 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
Here to Heart was my Go-To Drama for May 2018. It started out very favorable, owing to the participation of Hans Zhang and Janine Chang, who are engaging actors. As the drama progressed, with the characters remaining in a rut, I began to notice the bipolar, depressed, weepy and/or deluded characteristics of several characters. Midstream, the weepiness began to wear on me. By the end, I was too worn out, to cry during the lovers' emotional reunion.

Story: 6.5
A credible romance plot with too much weepiness, depression, delusion. By the middle of the story, I had no empathy and sympathy for the two lovers, Wen Nuan and Zhan Nanxian. Their persistent weepiness and inadequate communication skill made me indifferent to the lovers' plight. While the supporting characters were beautiful to behold, their mini stories also seemed to drag on forever.

Acting/Cast: 8
Credible acting by the main and supporting casts! Janine Chang's range of emotions was impressive, but she was wept her way through this drama, and that was depressing. Hans Zhang exuded charm and elegance on screen, but his weepiness was depressing. My favorite character was Gao Fang (… actor Ji Xiao Bing), who was the only rational, normal person.

Music: 9.5
The incidental music was beautiful. I wondered if the Winter Sonata composer composed the music. The theme song was overplayed too much; two or three times in the episodes. Once is enough, during the opening credits.

Rewatch value: 1
I was too depressed, watching the depressed, bipolar, deluded characters. Never again!

Overall rating: 6.5
If the drama had been trimmed to 30 episodes, with a tighter plot, less drivel, less weepiness, less depression, it would have been awarded the title of Ultimate Romance Drama to challenge the K-drama, Winter Sonata, sitting at the top of the Romance Drama chart. The Writer, Director and Actors put too much emphasis on the MELODRAMA, versus DRAMA.

Wardrobe notes:
Janine and Hans wore the most beautiful fashions, but some of their wardrobe should have been rejected. Nanxian wore checkered pajama pants and a tailored black tuxedo jacket and bowtie, and loafer shoes that looked like bedroom slippers, at his wedding in episode 45. Wen Nuan's red dress in the final London scene looked ill-fitting. It was loose and ready to fall off her. Yixin was an extreme fashionista, wearing elegant or tacky outfits. In general, all the actors were subjected to the whims of the wardrobe department.

Observation:
I felt that HTH had the tone of Winter Sonata, in story, characters and music. Lost love, love rivals, lost memory, interfering deluded parent, lack of communication, dream house, weepiness, depression, delusion! There were similarities between the four main characters of HTH and WS. Wen Nuan (=Yu Jin), Nanxian (=Joon Sang), Linlu (=Sang Hyuk) and Yixin (=Chaelin)! The HTH characters had more depth of character and job responsibilities.

The final montage of the couple in their State of Happiness was unnecessary. The drama should have ended at their final reunion by the River Thames.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
gunther
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 31, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
i love watching asian series so much since i started about 2 years ago..probably seen about 50 or so and really find something to like in all of them. even though they can be corny at times from an american perspective, its the simplicity compared to american tv that i like. american tv dramas/comedies take themselves way too seriously. i like the total sappyness of these dramas, and even though they are sometimes predictable, i still havent tired of them..and just love the acting too. also love to pick up the many cultural aspects that are so different for me, but very interesting (changing shoes when you come home, no socks in business and social settings, preparation of food as an endearing thing, soaking sorrows in booze- it goes on and on..i love it!)
even though long, this one never bored me. as always the most interesting are the lead characters, but the support stories worked well too. i didnt find myself disliking anyone, even Mr Pan turned out OK. For me, i am always drawn to the female lead, and Nuan was one of my favorites of all the dramas. you couldn't help but root for her all the way to the end. and even though a lot of time could be saved with just one long conversation, which is true for most of the asian dramas, in which i sometimes scratch my head as to so many opportunities to say something passes by, it is still entertaining to watch the build up to see the happy ending for all.
i have pretty much given up on american tv shows and will continue to try to find new asian shows that turns into a gem for me. i hope they keep getting better and better.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Andy T
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama is one of the worst.
Many unnecessary part making the drama longer and longer.
Even though this drama looks high quality, highly budgeted scene in London, fancy cars, high end clothes and famous actors etc.
But the story is BAD, and shows the best resources doesn't deliver the best drama.
The reason I hate it:
Not emotional, not realistic, not creative, very boring, very blunt,
A lot of scene doesn't make sense, and a lot of CRINGY moments.
the plot don't come with any values
ALL OF THESE BULLSH*T FOR 46 EPISODES!!!
BTW this drama don't determine a good, pure love.. The male actor is a jerk, doesn't act like he is in real love w/ the female actor.
I guess some Indian fighting movie or Taiwanese revenge drama is even better.
NO, please don't waste your time on this piece of trash from china..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ichoos
1 people found this review helpful
Dec 4, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I watched the drama on Netflix and was thoroughly enjoying the episodes. I love the push and pull of the main leads, the misunderstandings, the side love stories between the supporting actors and the ending.

Many people find the stories long winded, but for me, that’s just how drama is supposed to be.

The episodes on Viki were shorten, so I found watching them on Viki can be very confusing. I still go to watch them on Viki though because I found the timed comment are hilarious. Watch them on Netflix initially though.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
cnguyen1031
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 26, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Coming into this drama I was familiar with Zhang Han and Janine Chang already. Zhang Han basically plays the same character (especially in modern dramas). He's the cool, suave, handsome, super rich boss of a company with a somewhat cold personality, but when it comes to love he gets pretty invested. Janine Chang I've only ever seen as a supporting actress, so I wasn't sure how this would play out; but, I knew that she and Zhang Han have worked together before and have decent chemistry together.

I'm normally not a huge fan of modern dramas (preferring historical since they tend to have much more going on plot wise - romance, drama, politics, scheming, etc.) because they pretty much all end up being about the same. Here to Heart falls under that same fairly basic formula for modern dramas.

STORY:
Overall while everything that was going on in the plot seemingly had logic to it - why they broke up, why they had miscommunications, why they couldn't get back together, etc. - it really just played out as overdramatic and nonsensical to me. I get that Wen Nuan (Janine Chang) is supposed to be this super loving character who really cares for the people around her (pretty stereotypical honestly) but it just doesn't make sense to me that all of this occurred when it probably could've been solved with some hefty conversations. Idk.

Even the storyline of what happened to her father - and her subsequent mental issues - I just don't see how they thought it would make more sense to keep that huge event hidden from her - as if she would never find out about it and continue to have mental problems relating to it. It just seemed like the whole drama was a series of the characters putting bandaids on bullet wounds the entire time. Every problem that occurred - major or minor - they just had the worst ways of going about dealing with said issues - which then made things even worse.

For the most part, the story was super meh to me. Nothing was outstanding or super memorable. It was just all very standard modern business drama/romance.

Acting:
Janine Chang - Wen Nuan - I think I disliked more how the character was written, moreso than Janine's acting. She was supposed to be this really smart and capable employee, but then her downfalls were being a TERRIBLE COMMUNICATOR and causing all of these emotional problems for basically everyone involved. There wasn't much about her character that was special to me. She was kind, hardworking, loving, etc. I also just think she was a fairly weak person, not really being able to stand up for herself and just kind of getting pushed along a lot of times.

Zhang Han - Nan Xian - As mentioned, he's just another basic rich guy CEO. He's loving, he's smart, he's loyal, etc. There was just nothing special about the characters that I remember. Zhang Han has done this type of character before, so nothing to phone home about.

OVERALL:
I honestly spent a lot of this drama just skipping through the scenes (which I rarely do). When I was watching it, there was nothing about it that was screaming - OMG THIS IS AMAZING - to me. It was just a lot of average everything. Story was not super memorable. Acting was fine. Production was fine as well.

I don't really see myself ever rewatching this. As for if you should watch it at all? It wasn't a terrible drama, but it's not a must see by any means.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Terrica18
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 25, 2019
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
Series revolves around a female lead who experiences a situation and grief. She returns home after a long time overseas and tries to pick her life up over again. The series one would have been better if it made more sense. The acting was absolutely amazing. The cast fit their roles perfectly and the scenery was fitting for this show however I have never rolled my eyes as much as I did while watching this show. The reason for this is I am absolutely annoyed by these sacrificial females and this long lost love cliché. I absolutely do not know of any person who broke up with someone and waited for them for seven years and not moved on. This is a pattern that I have noticed with a lot of these K dramas. you have a boyfriend or girlfriend that you loved and you never fall in love again until you meet them 10 to 15 years later. It’s absolutely unrealistic and although I know this is TV drama I wish that they would make it somewhat more realistic. This is a fair warning you will be annoyed with the amount of drama between the two leads. And I don’t mean crazy drama I mean extreme crazy I mean extreme mellow drama where someone’s always crying or heart broken or sad. It’s frustrating because they create their own drama, and sadness with the choices they make and then they’re sad which is almost like they have no common sense. Male lead did things without being clear or communicating with the female lead and expected her to understand and love him anyway even though the things he did would cause the average female to distance themselves or not even communicate with them. But the writers completely disregarded the males ridiculous and sometimes rude behavior and gave an exception to it because of his love. Sadly love this not look like that so it made no sense to me. They gave no explanation as to how the female lead ended up overseas or how things really took place. The series has so many loopholes that you were steel left wondering how things came to be. Another thing that I really do not like about this series is that it took them nearly 30 episode to explain why the female did what she did and even then They didn’t fully explain it. So for me it was frustrating because you see her acting a certain way and this guy is asking her why why why and she did not answer him for 30 episodes. So you’re looking like what’s going on what happened and nothing that she does makes sense because they made you wait 30 episodes to find out the partial answer and it still was not her who gave the answer. I do not recommend this for a hopeless romantic’s or any romantic comedy viewers. They didn’t fully explain it. So for me it was frustrating because you see her acting a certain way and this guy is asking her why why why and she did not answer him for 30 episodes. So you’re looking like what’s going on what happen and nothing that she does makes sense because they made you wait 30 episodes to find out the partial answer and it still was not her who gave the answer. I do not recommend this for any hopeless romantic‘s or any romantic comedy viewers at all .
This is not a sweet romance. This is not a romantic drama. This is a bucket of self inflicted grief and ridiculous reasoning. If you’re into that sad type of love you may enjoy this but I most certainly did not.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
azaleyajane
1 people found this review helpful
May 29, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I saw this drama when I was scrolling in instagram and suddenly my eyes captured Zhang Han being the male lead in the drama so I hurriedly watched it because he also starred in "Boss and Me."

-

What I must say about the drama was NEUTRAL. For me, it is a heavy drama. And there were only episodes that are heart relieving because of the little bit happy scenarios. And the main problem of the story was quite messy. You don't even know what reason why Wen Ruan suddenly broke up with Zhan Nanxian. Is it because of her sister? Her father? Her trauma? And the break up scenarios were already tiring. They kept on breaking up and after the next scenes both of them are already okay. But the acting was on point. I love their acting, the music was also okay. So to conclude, as the episodes goes higher, the more complications occur and becomes quite exciting. But I'm only gonna watch it once because of the messy plot and much episodes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Keelishaye Downer
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 19, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.5
This drama threw me for a loop! I was crying, laughing, angry at how everything went wrong sometimes for Wen Nuan, happy when things worked out; frustrated when the issues seemed endless and hard to resolve. The point is... the emotions were real and you simply couldn’t feel them by skipping through. Every character became an ingrained part of the story to the point where what they do affected the leads, everything was connected. I enjoyed it and it’s roller coaster of emotions it made me feel.

Btw, I put such a low score for the rewatch value because the feelings were just too real. I can’t handle it ????

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Noona
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 30, 2018
46 of 46 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
?Just I have finished this drama, I did marathon all the episodes back to back over 4 days. It’s a romantic light melodrama, The story concept is good but the details were unfortunately not perfectly engaged ! I believe it would be more than enough for this series to be 20 episodes because in my opinion the prolongation of the story over 46 episodes were unnecessary at all ! It’s almost a typical story of a couple struggling on their relationship due to secrets from the past. Honestly if it wasn’t for the great performance of the main lead Zhang Han, the couple epic chemistry ???????????????? , sure I would have dropped out this series. I admit that I had to skip many scenes & still was able to understand everything till last episode ???? Deserves mentioning; The natural acting of the actresses Janine Chang, her perfect style throughout the series , the soundtracks & the high quality production ???????? Over all; it was a wonderful ride, thanks to the couple acting & chemistry.


?SPOILER ALERT ????:

?What was mostly frustrating is that the negative character of the female lead in which she wasn’t courageous enough to fight for their love till the very last episodes ! so unfortunately we couldn’t have many scenes of the couple together! I wished to see a more focused detailed story of their love with more depth & reflection from their past & present !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?