Completed
dramas2heart
35 people found this review helpful
Mar 26, 2023
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0

A beautiful story about love and friendship

I want to start off by saying I havent watched the original yet but I may update this review after I do.
Update: ive now watched the original and to me i do think this remake did it justice. Tbh I enjoyed this more than the original because I think the writing and pacing was better. They added more elements that fleshed out the characters where i could understand their decisions more.


Now if youre worried about a love triangle, dont be. The male lead is just a secondary character with a secondary storyline. The main event is the friendship between mi so and ha eun. You see their journey as friends from childhood to adulthood. Its by no means an easy journey as they drift apart often but in the end they always find their way back to each other. This isnt exactly a sapphic movie either but its a beautiful love story about a female friendship.

I really wanted to watch this movie cause of kim dami and jeon so nee and they did not disappoint. They portrayed their roles perfectly and they had great chemistry. I also liked the directing as it felt really raw and brought out the actresses strengths. It had an independent film feel to it.

I will also say to bring tissues as this film may make you cry.

I really enjoyed this movie as a coming of age story about a female friendship and would recommend for the story and acting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ladybugsj3
24 people found this review helpful
Apr 20, 2023
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers

If you wanna cry and feel something within you that makes your body throb of feelings

In the beginning I was really trying to predict what the movie was about, before actually watching I knew it was going to be a sad ending since I heard something along the lines since it's a popular movie rn. It was such a good movie I didn't even think of these types of scenes I was so shocked to see two different scene of the same scene, if that makes sense. Literally threw me off making me cry. Also, I've never seen a bond so close, I thought they weren't going to be friends anymore multiple times but then they just understood each other it really made me look at my old relationships with my friends that I'd lost threw the year :( The ending was really sad they really fooled me with that phone call thinking she actually called her, but then it showed the actual scene AGH I can't with these movies, makes me feel hallow inside feeling guilty, I need to rewatch strong women do bong soon....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
oOMelaneOo
11 people found this review helpful
Apr 18, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Oh My God!

what's happening in the film industry in South Korea?? First '20th Century Girl' and now 'Soulmate'. guys prepare to be heartbroken again

The story, the acting, everything was perfect
Kim Da-Mi killed it. She is one of the best actress ever. When she told the guys to go away or she'll break the bottle and scar them made me think of Goo Ja-Yoon, her character from 'The Witch Part 1: The Subversion', the psycho.
This type of storyline fits Byeon Woo-Seok so well. His figure as a school boy seem so realistic


100000% Recommend
Just Wow
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
momo
12 people found this review helpful
Apr 3, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

A heart-wrenching film about the importance of friendships

When people think about the word soulmate, most of the time, the first thought that comes to their mind would be related to a significant other/a lover. But what if I tell you that your soulmate is the pure and deep friendships you've made throughout your life? A soulmate isn't just about finding "the one", a soulmate is someone who understands you significantly, someone who treasures you, and that person can be anyone in your life: a lover, a parent, a pet, or a friend. And this film: "Soulmate" excellently captures this concept. If you're coming into this film with the thought of wanting to know who the ML (Byun Wooseok) ends up with, then you're going to be disappointed because the ML isn't the film's focal point.

Rather, it is the relationship between Miso (Kim Dami) and Haeun (Jeon Sonee). The film takes us from the beginning of their friendship until the end, the conflicts that they have in the middle, and a heart-wrenching conclusion/ending at the end. Miso and Haeun come from different worlds, with different personalities yet they stick together like magnets. With such differences, the film also touches upon the societal expectations for girls such as getting a decent job and marriage and these aspects can be clearly seen in Haeun - an ambitious young woman who wants to paint and draw but had to conform to her parent's expectations of becoming a teacher (something that she is not passionate about). Miso, on the other hand, is more adventurous and she does things her own way. However, she had to cope with harsh circumstances and had to learn the hard way to earn a living by going against social norms. In the end, the only time these 2 characters feel at peace and can be themselves is when they're with each other.

I have already watched the original before watching this and the Korean remake definitely has made some changes, but it did not steer completely away from the main storyline, instead, it adds more substance to it and I really appreciated that. The actors did an amazing job portraying the characters. This film will leave you sobbing after so have some tissues prepared. Definitely recommend this film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Alexa
8 people found this review helpful
Apr 20, 2023
Completed 3
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

THEY DID A GREAT JOB BUT EVERYONE SHOULD WATCH THE ORIGINAL ONE FIRST

First of all please watch the original one first !!! And I'm not really a person to write reviews but let's try for thiss !! Forgive mee for any mistakes


Now i'mma start my views on this movie. I expected a lot from this as this starr Kim Dami, one of my favourite actresses. As i watched the original one first I'm able to find some flaws in this movie but also some great changes they did !!!

The actors did a great job with their roles but somehow Jeon so nee's acting sometimes (only in few scenes) seemed a little off. But afterall she did good. And because of some cuts of scenes from the original one which were actually important according to me to show to the audience, i was a little sad.

I loved how they showed some scenes with more logic and connections which were missing in the original one.

However i loved this moviee !! But as I said already the original one first !!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kdrama_bystander
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 30, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

What's new from the Korean remake?

As someone who has watched the original or the Chinese film in the same title which was basis of this remake, the key difference I have seen was it was more intimate in portraying their friendship as it gave more platonic aspects. Also, the timeline in their lives were more established and clearer in the Chinese film rather than the Korean remake that's why some were confused what happened when Misoo and Haeun were apart or what's the real story from the blog site and on what truly happened.

Nonetheless, the emotions even the ending was there which was not far from the original. Still, I highly recommend that you watch the Chinese film since it was more dramatic from how different the two women lives were and how their bond remained strong over the years. I know some of you will say that the remake could make itself different from the original, however, the Chinese film was so good that I can't help but to compare them.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Avid Kdrama
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 22, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

"Soulmate (2023): A Work Of Art"

"Soulmate," the latest cinematic offering of 2023, is a breathtaking journey that transcends the boundaries of traditional storytelling. From the opening scene to the closing credits, the film captivates audiences with its unparalleled beauty and an extraordinary portrayal of the human experience.

One of the most striking aspects of "Soulmate" is its cinematography. The filmmakers have crafted a visual masterpiece, employing incredible camera shots that elevate the storytelling to new heights. Each frame is a work of art, showcasing a meticulous attention to detail that adds depth and emotion to every scene. The cinematography doesn't just serve the narrative; it becomes an integral part of the storytelling, enhancing the overall viewing experience.

The narrative itself is a poignant exploration of the concept of soulmates, delving into the complexities of human connections and the journey to find one's true counterpart. The storytelling is masterfully executed, seamlessly weaving together emotion, humor, and introspection. The characters are portrayed with depth and authenticity, making it easy for the audience to empathize with their struggles and triumphs.

The film's beauty extends beyond the visuals to its soundtrack, which complements the emotional beats of the story perfectly. The music adds another layer to the narrative, enhancing the overall atmosphere and leaving a lasting impact on the audience.

The performances of the cast are nothing short of exceptional. Each actor brings a unique energy to their role, contributing to the film's authenticity. The chemistry between the lead characters is palpable, creating a connection that resonates with the audience.

"Soulmate" is not just a movie; it's a profound work of art that leaves a lasting impression. It's a testament to the power of cinema to evoke emotion, provoke thought, and transport viewers to a world where the boundaries between reality and fantasy blur. In an era of blockbuster spectacles, "Soulmate" stands out as a reminder that true cinematic magic lies in the art of storytelling, brought to life through stunning visuals, compelling narratives, and unforgettable performances. This is a film that will linger in the hearts and minds of audiences long after the credits roll.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jalvi_2812
3 people found this review helpful
May 2, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5

Delicate portrayal of Love and Friendship

What happens when 2 friends start living apart in their own life full of struggles and hardships, with a lot of dreams and ambitions to be fulfilled. Soulmate manages to tell the story of this friendship that changes or develops the characters over the course of their lives. The beautiful chemistry of a great bond is elegantly displayed by Kim Da Mi and Jeon So Nee.

In essence, the film focuses on the story of the characters' personal journeys and transition from adolescence to adulthood. The movie captures beautiful stills of Jeju Island and the nostalgic BGM makes it more pleasant to watch.

My Rating : 7/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
felhiyo
3 people found this review helpful
May 5, 2023
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0

Beautiful, you will cry so hard to the point it hurts

I have no idea where to start I just loved how it was put together, I don't even know how to word it. It just flowed perfectly making sure it gives our hearts a good sharp nudge. No need to think twice this movie is such a must watch. The actors were amazing, will for sure be watching more of their projects. I haven't watched the original and I've heard its better but I don't even know how that could be possible because when I tell you I'm in love with everything about this like MMM I'm in love with this genre and type of story.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
victor
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 29, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

Love and Friendship

such a beautiful movie. the movie makes you glued to the screen and i would like to thank the director for that, so many beautiful scenes and the color gradient so good. i’m not really the type to cry over movies but this one hit the spot. reminded me of my own past friendships and the hardships we faced together. i also wish had done things differently but the past is the past.
also definitely one of kim dami’s best performances. jeon sonee was also good but in some moments her acting seemed a bit off and Wooseok also looked kinda weird in some parts. but really good movie overall

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mairin
2 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
Just got done watching this movie, I think first and foremost I can just sum it up in one word, wow. At first I was a bit hesitant in the first half of the movie but after it gets closer to the end things start to make a lot more sense and things connect in ways that are super satisfying. I think at most I can say that one would just have to watch it to understand the twists that happen in the movie that make it truly an emotional journey. A story about friends that are super close throughout most of their years and develop their own lives whilst maintaining said friendship. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to feel something and would even recommend it to anyone just wanting to watch a good movie. I give the movie a 9.5/10 because I think there are some aspects that could have been a bit better but it was near perfection in my opinion.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pheonix VIVA
2 people found this review helpful
Apr 28, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

Soulmate 2023

It is such a beautiful movie about friendship I have ever watched.

With so many amazing scenes. (Director Brilliance)
The film makes you happy and sad.
Beautiful character development.
So many twists and turns.
Beautiful storyline.
Meaningful scenes.
Actors acting is just so great.
Great movie to watch with your friends or soulmates.
My friend recommended it, thanks to her. I will not regret or forget watching this masterpiece.







Was this review helpful to you?
Soulmate (2023) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.5 (scored by 5,009 users)
  • Ranked: #538
  • Popularity: #1101
  • Watchers: 14,778

Top Contributors

25 edits
20 edits
17 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Female Centric Dramas & Movies
550 titles 172 loves 2
Onde assistir?
6453 titles 80 loves 2
MY PLAN TO WATCH (2020-2024)
834 titles 28 loves

Recently Watched By