Completed
sunflowershine
11 people found this review helpful
Mar 22, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Raw, Humane, Poignant

Let me start by saying that I really like this film. Since I haven't read the novel, I went in not expecting anything in particular and ending up getting blown away by how real it is.

The premise is simple, it's laid out right at the start of the film. It got you thinking down this one train of thought, and just when you're getting sold to this idea, the film neatly drops a plot twist on your lap. What's interesting is how it was revealed, it jumps out at you and will make you want to pause and rewind back to the start to scour the hints on the scenes with a more critical eye.

We have the characters - Kaede and Akiyoshi - two people who met in one of their classes in college. Akiyoshi, the idealist, finds a friend and colleague in Kaede, the guy who just wants to disappear into the background. Understandably, it wasn't a friends-at-first-sight thing, but as the movie progressed, you'll see how they created something beautiful as they built Moai.

However, human nature is just as ugly as it is beautiful, and that's exactly what Aokute, Itakute, Moroi (or KuteKute) showed. The themes of friendship, betrayal, revenge, and selfishness are portrayed in such an honest and real way that I can't help but pause a few times during the movie because it tugged at the emotions and memories I've hid away at the back of my mind. The idealism vs. realism themes are also drawn out well between the two characters, building up as the movie progressed.

SugiHana and Ryo's acting shone through in this movie - especially Ryo, since we see it from his POV - as they portrayed Akiyoshi and Kaede's journey. The one scene I loved watching over and over is the climax scene - and it is something you need to watch for yourself.

KuteKute is not for everyone, as some may find it boring or hollow or even silly (especially because of Akiyoshi's idealism), but the movie will definitely reach those who were once a Kaede or an Akiyoshi (or both) in their lives.

Aokute, Itakute, Moroi.
Blue, Painful, Brittle.
Raw, Humane, Poignant.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rindoue
4 people found this review helpful
Mar 17, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This review may contain spoilers

Adolescent story. yup

not too good not too bad too.
Story focused on process when we're moving from teen to adults.
it's good because we can see our behavior when we was a teenager and growing up to mature.
But the minus point is on the acting, some mistake on an scenes, background sound (soundtrack? i dont know the name.) and there is no sad feeling appear when watching (for me).
I felt hollowness when watching this.
Too much plot twist but that is okay. it's make it better. but some plot twist doesn't make sense for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DoraStyles
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 29, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Cool movie frr

Watch it, it's cool. i mean i am not really good with my words but since i have to write atleast five hundred letters i will just write some bs sooo here you go aanndd ummm yeah its like kind of my comfort movie and i like to watch it and you should too and trust me watch it at late breezy night in the dark without any lights and it will hit you in the spot and soo i guess i have already written five hundred letters sooo byeeee oh okay i checked and no i haven't written 500 alphabets yet so umm yeah i have nothing more to say to be honest but here we go and if you're reading this i think you should think avout how you should not waste time cause thats exactly what you're doing right now okay sooo bye i guess

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 11, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

Not Good Enough

Japanese Movie " Blue, Painful, and Brittle " is a melodrama with a dark twist.

The movie tends to have a psychological aspect to it, with the two main characters acting out and colliding. And true, the way the movie handled the back and forth at the begining, making things intriguing and thrilling with the mystery behind what happened in the past.

However, things got out of hand. Things were rushed in the end and the characters had to have a character development in just a few scenes. The pace was, in addition, all over the place.

Finally, the performances were great by all the actors and actresses of the cast, and, especially, the leads.

So, overall, four out of ten.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ken Garcia
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 17, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

Is this worth watching?

The simple answer is... ABSOLUTELY YES!

I wrote my spoilerless review here:
https://fanperspectivereviews.wordpress.com/2021/12/02/is-blue-painful-fragile-worth-watching/

In addition, I really love watching Hana Sugisaki. She's great, and would love to see more of her.

Also, I would love to read the novel of which this movie is based. I think reading it will somehow give justice to some of my thoughts for the movie. I just can't find an ebook version. I want to buy the actual book, It just happens the I have no enough funds for it.... hahaha....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SweetBlue
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 15, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Good Story, Great Cast

The story of this film is quite interesting because at the beginning of the film, the audience is shown the POV of "Tabata Kaede" who thinks that his friend "Hisano Akiyoshi" is dead, but apparently "dead" what is meant is his personality where Akiyoshi left Kaede. The storyline in this film is also quite interesting like a puzzle, because at the beginning of the story the audience didn't see all of Kaede's POV, but slowly began to reveal the actual plot. maybe the plot in this film also happens a lot in the real world (?). In this film, Kaede's revenge against Akiyoshi is shown well, how Kaede has a very severe grudge against Moai to the point of wanting to destroy the organization she originally created. Akiyoshi's character's emotions are also conveyed very well in the climax scene of this film. My favorite scene is the climax scene in this film, when Akiyoshi and Kaede argue with each other 1 on 1 in a conference room (I still often replay that part because I think the climax scene is very well played by Sugisaki Hana and Yoshizawa Ryo, the emotions are very conveyed to the viewer).

Cast in this film is very good, Sugisaki Hana as Akiyoshi has perfect acting and Yoshizawa Ryo's acting as Kaede is perfect playing a character who has a grudge and full of anger but on the other hand he is a pretty good character. I think so far Sugisaki Hana's films and dramas have never disappointed because she has very good acting skills. other supporting cast such as Shimizu Hiroya, Matsumoto Honoka, etc. are also very good at playing their respective characters.

Special mention for Nana Mori because of the perfect acting in this film, even though it is only a supporting character but the character played by Nana Mori is quite influential in the story. Somehow the cover on Netflix, even Nana Mori is not the main cast, but it doesn't matter because Nana Mori have very good at acting in this film.

I can't really comment on the music in this film because it's quite easy to listen to and fits the scene shown. But not the best music in a movie.

Verdict, the film is worth to watch because it has a unique plot (back to back) and also the plot is quite curious because of the POV that each MC has, as well as the use of Kaede's POV in this film is also interesting because from the beginning until almost the end of this film, viewer can be said as (Kaede Supporter), because everything that is shown is what Kaede thinks, but towards the climax everything starts to be answered one by one. Another special mention for Nana Mori's role in here, is quite good even though she is not MC but it really shows the relationship between Nishiyama Mizuki and Kaede + Akiyoshi characters.

N.B. Rewatch is highly recommended at the climax of this film, you won't know if you haven't seen it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Macy
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 25, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Heartfelt movie with solid acting

I really love Sugisaki Hana. She never disappoints me with her projects. Her acting is always nuanced and she seems to inhabit her characters. This movie was particularly interesting for me since she's not really the "main" you know. Nevertheless, Hana was able to show off some really nice acting during her scenes. The film is told through Tabata's point-of-view. He is played by Yoshizawa Ryo who I've only seen in the live-action Bleach movie (which Hana was also in lol). Of course, I was better able to see Ryo's acting ability in this film and I'll definitely keep my eye out now.

Basically, the film follows Tabata (Ryo) who formed a club with the idealistic Akiyoshi (Hana) three years prior. He now feels that the club has strayed from its 'save the world' ambitions and aims to take it down. Tabata can be classified as an unreliable narrator as the way he views events aren't really how they played out and he embellishes other things. Despite this, I really related to Tabata. He was an outsider who avoided people so he wouldn't get hurt, only realizing later that that is impossible.

Ultimately, the movie is about change: "becoming the person you want to be." Akiyoshi goes towards this goal by striving to make the world a better place. Supporting character Mizuki (Mori Nana) must leave the safety of the free school she attends to enter the real world. Tabata must truly open himself to people and emotions. Overall, the movie had a lot of touching moments. It might come off a bit preachy at time, but not much.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Blue, Painful, Fragile (2020) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.3 (scored by 523 users)
  • Ranked: #7417
  • Popularity: #7387
  • Watchers: 1,204

Top Contributors

36 edits
11 edits
9 edits
9 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Favorite Movies
219 titles 97 loves
MY PLAN TO WATCH (2020-2024)
834 titles 28 loves
Completed Movies: Ranked 2020
338 titles 15 loves

Recently Watched By