Completed
josie1220
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2020
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 3.5
Rewatch Value 1.5

Great overall!

The cast was great. I saw Moonbin on the thumbnail and decided to try this webdrama. I was surprised at his acting. The storyline was quite odd and almost each relationship had a plot twist (<- which I don't really like). Identifying the protagonist was quite hard for me as the screen time for each of the main characters were pretty much the same. Since that is expected of webdramas, I think this can be in my top 10 webdramas. Although the ending is rushed, it is as expected of a webdrama. This drama is light-hearted and not too heavy; perfect for late-night binging so your eyes aren't bloated from crying the next morning and yours abs don't hurt from laughing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
skybaby
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 18, 2020
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

short and sweet + chemistry (10/10)

story: I liked this story. It does get all over the place in my opinion, but that's high school life is like to be honest. Each couple were interesting to watch, and the chemistry was really good. although i wished that it had more episodes, the short and watch-ability of the web drama is a plus since it has a simple and cute high school love narrative.

acting: wonbin did really well. i haven't seen from any other drama, but i think she really nailed her character. for moonbin, i feel like he looked really comfortable playing this woohyuk compared to season 1. my favorite scene of his was his confession in the latter half of the series. the emotions were just right. hwi young is such a natural, i enjoyed all of his appearances! casting was really well done. I saw moon sang min in 4 reasons of why i hate christmas and was excited to see his role here too.

music: great music. i reccomend the song didn't wanna wait (pop noir).

rewatch value: i'd watch it again for the chemistry between ara and woohyuk! :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
nina⁷
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2021
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers

A short and sweet, binge-worthy web drama. But is this really a prequel?

- A short series perfect for binge-watching in a single sitting. Moonbin and Hwiyoung are so handsome, I was swooning half the time. They were amazing with acting as well. The supporting characters were also adorable. Kudos.
- Compared to the first series, the chemistry between Moonbin and Chae Won Bin is so much better than that of him and Jung Shin Hye (lead from the first series). I wish they'd explored these two more.
- The storyline was kind of simple or straightforward, suitable for a short wed drama. Perfect for a midnight binge or a weekend binge. Again, much better than the first one. Way better.
- I didn't really pay much attention to the OST so I don't really know what to say about it.
- I would probably rewatch it just to see certain scenes, cast/characters. The story isn't compelling enough to bring you back that often.

IS THIS A PREQUEL?
This show says in the description that it's a prequel of some sort to The Mermaid Prince that was released before this drama. But apart from Moonbin playing Choi WooHyuk, I don't see any other common characters, storyline, or even the smallest of hints of this being a "prequel" to the initial series. This is just one thing I'm very confused about. Is it really a prequel or is it supposed to be like a spin-off show...? Is there more to this series that I don't know about? Please do let me know haha.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AbztractIsight
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 23, 2023
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 3.0

Nothing To Do With Mermaids

LIKES:
Music was okay, nothing too memorable.
Locations, sets and wardrobe (in most circumstances) were all good.
Cast was well chosen and acting was good.

DISLIKES:
Writing:
The story had potential but couldn't develop anything because the episodes were so short, so not even character growth could happen.
Production:
Seriously how can you screw up every episode with crappy camera work? Zoom ins that are so close you can see nose hair! Shaking camera, so whether it's on a small screen or big, you feel nauseated. Have they never heard of a stabilizer or camera support? I can film this better using my cell phone! It's like the camera people had the jitters from too much coffee!
FX:
The character with the Heart transplant didn't even have a little scar, let alone the big one they get from surgery. Why do that as his story line, if you don't even try to show a scar. Or at least when he's in the pool, put him in one of those super tight swim shirts that real athletes use.

OVERALL:
Short, easy watch. However due to the crappy production be prepared to get a migraine. I don't recommend it, unless you are REALLY bored. No need to rewatch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sara
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2021
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Its a soft and cute Web Series!

I watched this Web Drama mostly because of Moonbin and I really really liked it.

The story is light hearted and a cute highschool based story. The main charecters are all very intersting in their own way and each of them has a backgroundstory.

The Drama would have been even better if it had more episodes since the ending was a bit too quick for my liking. But I have to say it was a good ending.

I love that Woohyuk has a condition that isnt really talked about in other Dramas and movies in generall! I found it very interesting how he felt in the story. I also really love how Woohyuk's mind is working and his Character is very well written If there were more episodes his charcter would have had the chances to develop even more but its a web series.

I loves Woohyuk and Ara's chemistry and relationship the most! They match each other perfectly.

All in all it was A web series I'd definetly watch again!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WorstKiterChan
0 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2021
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

Very nice for a web drama

A short, nice webdrama that surprised me with how much I enjoyed it. I have to praise Moonbin for acting it so well, there is one scene in particular that felt very realistic to me and was just so incredibly natural. There was honestly just one scene that I felt was lackluster and that was the FINAL FINAL one that held no significance to the story anyways.

For a short sweet webdrama it was very well done, another filler that turned into a great memory and enjoyable time. Not sure about how much I would rewatch it, honestly, but it does have a form of a rewatch value. Also, plus points for not making a highschool web drama way too cliché and making it at least a bit more different this time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AEROROR2
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 19, 2020
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

Better than the first one

The reason I watched this is because of Moon Bin, Hwiyoung and Won Bin. The three of them didn't disappoint me.

Okay, the thing that I love the most here is the chemistry of Moon Bin and Won Bin's character. They literally give me butterflies in my stomach. I didn't expect that they're chemistry will be on that level.

and yes... I fall in love to Hwiyoung more and more because of his acting here. MOONBIN and HWIYOUNG uplift the show from their sexy postures to their cute speaking voices.

The other cast did well too but doesn't really leaves an impact to me.

From the cons of the show:
- it is really short, I wished to see more.
- for a person who undergo a heart transplant, we can't see any scar on Moonbin's body.
- if only they can make the romance of the side couple more interesting and not about cheating and falso hope love.


Overall, it was really a good webdrama better than the first "The Mermaid Prince" mini series. I enjoyed watching it and took plenty of screenshots most of the time hahaha

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
divyanesana
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 31, 2020
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

Daebak

Aww.. It's an amazing and incredible drama.
Very short and suitable for binge watching.
There are so many cute and manly actors here! ❤️?
The storyline and chemistry between every pair is incredible. You would definitely wanna rewatch this. You won't regret watching this.

Because of this drama, I am searching more web dramas to watch rn!

Definitely, a worth watching drama this is! ?
........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ellea
1 people found this review helpful
24 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
...
«Mermaid Prince», saison 2, est, encore une fois, bien trop court. Les dix épisodes ont été bien utilisés, chacun très intéressants, mais le talent des acteurs, les personnages et relations de ceux-ci, tout m’intéressait, et je ne peux que regretter que ce fut si court ! Si j’ai aimé un détail de la première saison en particulier, et regretter la vitesse de l’histoire et surtout de la romance, ici, ce ne fut pas le cas. Comme je disais, les épisodes ont bien été utilisés, la romance se développe mieux, semblant plus ‘réelle’.
....

°~°~°~°~°~°~°~°~°~°~°
Avis Complet:
https://lamagiedeshistoires.wordpress.com/2024/03/22/mars-2024-en-rafale-dramas-films/

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Mermaid Prince: The Beginning (2020) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 4,321 users)
  • Ranked: #3433
  • Popularity: #1613
  • Watchers: 9,778

Top Contributors

50 edits
17 edits
12 edits
10 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Short KDrama
2081 titles 428 loves 15
WebDrama (웹드라마)
470 titles 52 loves
Best School Dramas
127 titles 27 loves

Recently Watched By