Completed
Miss Romcom
5 people found this review helpful
Jan 19, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

Fun Action Comedy!

Equally entertaining as the first one, this fun action comedy did not disappoint! Hyun Bin delivered on the action scenes and Yoo Hae Jin stole the show with his comedic timing. I absolutely loved the dynamic of Hae Jin's family, specifically with Yoona. I kept bursting out laughing at their reactions to Yoona's flirting tactics. I'm not a fan of Daniel Henney's acting, but his character did add to the comedy and gave an excuse to show Hyun Bin's cute jealousy.. Jin Seon Kyu did a great job as the villain too. I'm always amazed at how these soft spoken kind actors transform themselves into such great villains.

On the story side, I will say it was weaker than the 1st movie and you'll have to overlook some of the flaws in logic, but honestly I didn't care too much because the action and comedy were strong. This was such a breeze to watch. And if you are a fan of Hyun Bin or Yoo Hae Jin like I am, then this will not disappoint.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
peace_till_sunset
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 8, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This time, I got to see a fly swatter used as a weapon!

PROS
+ The awesome, buddy-cop duo returns with and even adds a third to their epic team dynamic
+ The refreshing globe-trotting plot sets the action in several cool locations
+ Well-executed and expertly choreographed fight scenes that are reminiscent of the practical effect showdowns present in Jackie Chan films

CONS
- Admittedly, the pacing isn't as kinetic as the first movie
- There is a noticeable dip in quality from some minor role portrayals (The American cast)
- As entertaining as it was, there are a good amount of re-treaded scenes mimicking ones from the original
- A few plot elements are unnecessarily convoluted by the background conflicts of each of the main cast (America, North and South Korea)
____________________________________________________

We've got another winner in the action/espionage subgenre! My favorite aspect of these two films is the exciting and engaging the pacing. Thankfully, none of the common espionage banter is present here.

Basically, if you liked what made the first movie special, then you need to see this one!

8/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
IM YourOnlyOne
4 people found this review helpful
Jan 17, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

They raised the standard for this franchise

It's rare to see a sequel as good as the original. Confidential Assignment 2 was not only at par with the original, it surpassed it. This is more fun to watch. Have more action scenes. And, much solid plot. If they are going to release another sequel, they raised the standards too high with this release.

What I miss with Western movies: a solid plot, a serious story, but still can make you laugh because the comedy parts were natural. Glad to see the Koreans are sticking to that formula instead of following the footsteps of Hollywood.

Well done, great acting from all the actors, the staff, the director, writer, and editing team.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dwejitoki07
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

Eye candy galore

I enjoyed watching it; great casting, with Daniel Henney (Jack) as an added character. The comedy timing was perfect and I find Yoona hilarious here.

I loved the fight scenes, they were perfectly executed for me, that's why it was believable.

Story was cliche with drugs, revenge, chemical bombs and political inclination; but heck, it was an entertaining movie for me.

Hyun Bin is a well versed actor, and here you see that he knows his craft well, as he is very convincing with his actions scenes, they looked well executed and real.

YHJ as his SoKor detective partner is also as always a very good actor, he played his role perfectly.

So, definitely worth watching it. Their trio team, was a perfect combination.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Anthojay
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5

North-South conflict with Americano blend

The usual formula of North-South conflict but with a style of "Americano" blend, overall a pretty high quality production but does have its shortcomings. Despite the complicated three way multinational storyline, it still pale in comparison like this year's best selling korean movie The Roundup, it lacks defining thrills as the villain doesn't even look intimidating enough, and most of the time it was overwhelmed by comedy all over the place. The meaty part kicks off too late and the first half of the movie is basically lifted only by comedy, fortunately it gets better when the main case is on track which provided a satisfying ending sequence with enough pressure points. Action scenes do look very gripping with accurate sound effects and exhilarating scores, but i guess most audiences will be moved by the visuals of the two male leads which is prominently highlighted in here.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SieL68
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 4, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

Still action-filled less comedy and now a trio

The story is completely different from the first movie so if you can watch it even without the prequel. Pretty much the same premise where North Korea is trying to apprehend a criminal and launches a joint investigation with South Korea then FBI also comes in the picture. Then we still have the NIS poking around again to find out what is NK really up to.

There's still those doubts among each other at first but in the end they got each other's back. There's also that attempt to add a love line on the story but I find that detail a little trivial. The story will go on without it. The chemistry among the leads is a bit different since it's a trio now, it kind of meh for me. The balance of good-looking and not-so-good looking has been kind of disrupted.

Still this was a great movie to watch on a weekend filled with action but not so with the comedy part. It was still an epic movie and I love it. You should watch it too.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
HealingVibes
0 people found this review helpful
May 25, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Best Action Duo

Hyun Bin + Daniel Wu? I'll take this anytime!

Seriously thou, this show is very wellmade. I actually enjoy this better than the first one. This shows how they progress and improvise! It is common for the 2nd show to be not as good as first, but this isn't the case here!

Love how it is thrilling, intense and yet funny at same time, what a perfect blend!

The female leads definitely made the otherwise action show, lighten up,

I hope they'll make Confidential Assignment 3 too!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Over 9000
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 4, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

Not as good as MDL hyped it up to be! But almost as good as the original

After reading reviews here, I was expecting maybe too much. I enjoyed the first film a lot, so I was excited to see this anyway, but the reviews on this site made out that this was a massive improvement on the original in every department.
It wasn't.

Throwing in a half-Korean-American cop for more international appeal, this sequel opens with our North Korean hero and the said American losing the criminal they're both chasing... who then pops up in South Korea. Yes, a good way to get it all going...
but then it quickly goes downhill.
In the original, the South Korean cop was a bit of a loser and very funny; in this one, his introduction really lagged - so that high-octane start was right out the window!
Noodles aside, the gags were dumb and the calibre of writing clearly wasn't on a par with the first! Sadly, this would prove evident throughout the rest of the film.

The sister-in-law many of us saw as the perfect Korean "waifu" is back and, where the producers were smart to give her more screentime, she felt shamelessly additional to nearly all of her scenes outside of the home, making her nothing but fan-service,
And if you're going to do fan-service, why not go bikinis too?

Joking aside (I'm glad she kept her clothes on), the problem with ensemble cast films is that they tend to be overly long; this wasn't an exception! Many scenes felt devoid of humour and failed to drive the story forwards or develop characters, while the moment the hot sister-in-law meets the American is pure cringe!
I was hoping that she was trying to make the North Korean dude jealous, so that he'd be forced to act, but instead, she was just made to look bad.

The fights are okay in this; there's a lot of gunfire which isn't very interesting and the South Korean seems oddly bad-arse - which really cost comedic potential - but really, for me, the plot just wasn't anywhere near as good as the original. This one also left a few loose ends... which may be to set up a 3rd instalment, but I'm not sure the American cop would be needed, and just trying to get our handsome hero back to the South to finally settle down with you-know-who would take too much screentime already.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lunna
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Esse é aquele filme perfeito para o fim de um dia cansativo, porque não é intenso e tem um alívio cômico.

Foi divertido de assistir, as cenas de ação, elas foram bem coreografadas, e também a Yoona teve até mais destaque nessa sequência.

De personagem novo temos um estadunidense agente do FBI, que a princípio atrapalha mais a investigação do que ajuda (tudo por causa de um status) até de fato chegarem numa aliança ?.

Apesar de ter gostado e tals, ainda prefiro o primeiro kkkk
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Enjoy your life
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 18, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

Great movie..it didn't disappoint me ♡

, or just “Confidential Assignment 2” for short from hereon out, is the sequel to the 2017 K-movie, , and picks right back up from where it left off. The film was directed by Lee Seok Hoon, who also did , , and , and saw the two main leads, Hyun Bin and Yoo Hae Jin, return for the sequel, as well as Yoona, and two new faces of Daniel Henney and Jin Seon Kyu. And I must say, excellent performances by all of them – I’ll get more into this later.

|>>The Good<<|
starts off with full out action, and then turns into a comedy once Yoo Hae Jin comes on screen. And man oh man did this movie do both genres so well. There were numerous humorous scenes, ranging from chuckle-worthy to laugh-out-loud funny throughout the film, and also executed the action sequences superbly as well. Yoo Hae Jin and Yoona were mainly in charge of the laugh department, and Hyun Bin and Daniel Henney commanded the action division – but that’s not to say that there wasn’t a blend of the two. All actors had some degree of both genres mixed into their roles, and I must say, they gave good individual performances, but all together, they shined and were amazing.

And that goes to show that the film had great casting. Each and every one of the actors fit perfectly with their roles, and there was amazing chemistry between the cast members. You can tell they had a good time filming this, as that translates to the audience when watching, and the members seem like actual good friends in real life.

The returning members Hyun Bin and Yoo Hae Jin were as great as they were in the prequel, and with the addition of Daniel Henney, the greatness doubled. But what made the film even more better, were the comedic tone of Yoona as well as the new face of Jin Seon Kyu. Yoona has really made a name for herself as an actress, and she’s so good in that comedic genre – I first noticed this with her performance in . Moreover, Jin Seon Kyu returned to the villain role following his breakout performance in , and my oh my was he just as good in this.

As mentioned, the chemistry between the actors translates and is reflected to the audience, and to expand a bit further on this, knows how to communicate and play with the audience. The screen-to-audience relation was wondrous, and is enjoyable by all people of all age. It’s, dare I say, one of the best comedic action flicks out of Korean cinema recently. I say it’s up there with another relatively recently released film, . It’s hard to live up to the original with sequels, but ironically enough, the two best Korean movies thus far this year were sequels; this and .

|>>The Bad<<|
As with majority of films of this genre, the story isn’t a very solid one. That’s not to say that it was bad, necessarily, but nor is it out of this world. There were some cliche and predictable parts, but then again, that’s kind of expected from a light comedy such as this.

Furthermore, there were some clashes of tones here and there. As mentioned, the movie starts off with full-out action and then also introduces full-on comedy as well. Sure, the film did both very well. However, I did notice that there were moments where the tone of one overrode, or moreso clashed with, the other. Again, not saying that the film didn’t execute the genre of action or comedy well. No no, it did both very well – but there were some conflicting tone overlaps at moments.
And lastly, another nitpick, but the film didn’t have the best CGI in certain parts.

|>>Verdict<<|

was a great comedic action flick that’s highly recommended if you’re looking for something to have a good, light time with. I’m sure you’ll find yourself smiling and laughing, while also enjoying the high action parts as well.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Confidential Assignment 2: International (2022) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.2 (scored by 1,998 users)
  • Ranked: #1365
  • Popularity: #2657
  • Watchers: 5,372

Top Contributors

61 edits
10 edits
10 edits
6 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Onde assistir?
6453 titles 80 loves 2
MY PLAN TO WATCH (2020-2024)
834 titles 28 loves
Movie Asian Fansub
625 titles 15 loves 1

Recently Watched By