Completed
JulesL
21 people found this review helpful
May 2, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0

Charmingly funny show with two endings

Delicacies Destiny was not a big-budget production, with nondescript sets and unmemorable costumes and props. Still, those factors did not detract from the show's charm, and one can tell that quite a bit of the budget was invested in the cooking scenes and the resulting dishes.

This light-hearted story was primarily about the relationship between a Crown Prince and his Imperial Chef, with a side focus on the female lead's ambition to be the best Imperial Chef in the palace regardless of her gender. It was not a typical historical rom-com with strict palace rules and protocols. The royals in this show interacted casually with their servants and the Queen was not the usual domineering character who controlled her son's harem and marriage. She was unexpectedly very supportive of her son and prioritized his happiness. It was refreshing to see some emphasis on on positive body image.

I was thoroughly entertained with the food porn, cute romance, on-point comedy, and catchy OSTs...until the last episode.

From episodes 1 to 15, I found this drama hilarious and quirky. Still, the ending left me so dissatisfied that it took me time to calm down before I could write a reasonably objective review. Without spoilers, I can say that it was an open ending that irritated me so much that it dimmed my anticipation for a potential season 2 and, like the male lead, left me angry at the female lead.

EDIT: I increased my rating after watching the alternate ending. While it was not the best ending, it provided a proper happy closure that was much better than a clumsily executed open ending.

Our main couple was lovable and dorky. The slow-burn, sincere, and simple romance between them was endearing and fun to watch. Both lead characters were emotionally immature in their own ways which created plenty of opportunities for funny scenes. I smiled and laughed so much throughout the show.

The male lead, Zhu Shou Kui, the Crown Prince, started off being spoiled and entitled and was used to throwing tantrums. Yet, at the same time, he was compassionate and often protected the people he cared about at his own expense. It was great to see his character develop and mature. With the female lead's help, he realized that it was not always about him, and it was all right to let other people share his burdens. As for the female lead, Ling Xiao Xiao, who ended up as the Imperial Chef of the prince's kitchen, she was initially clueless about love. It took more than halfway through the drama for her to finally "kāi qiào" or realize her feelings for the prince.

He Rui Xian as Xiao Xiao is lovely, but she does not quite have the aura of a female lead yet. Her acting was pretty decent, though, and with a few more dramas under her belt, I think that she will get to the next level. I first watched her in the Royal Feast and liked her character there. Her acting range was wider in that drama compared to this show. In Delicacies Destiny, as Xiao-Xiao, she has too much of the wide-eyed, huh? look or a deadpan look, and it was towards the last couple of episodes when I saw more emotional acting from her.

It is my first time watching Wang Xing Yue, and like He Rui Xian, there is room for improvement, especially when it comes to his micro-expressions. I find it hard to believe that he is only 20 years old since he exudes a level of maturity beyond his age. He definitely has potential with his good looks for more male lead roles.

The supporting cast was fine, doing what they needed to do. There was some over-acting but nothing much to complain about and nothing much to praise. A secondary couple provided extra entertainment but did not distract from the main couple's journey.

Music-wise, the tracks were great, and a couple of them were not what you would expect from a historical drama. Still, they were fitting for this drama. For posterity, I have recorded the main tracks after my review.

Overall, I would recommend this show. If you don't like a ridiculous open ending, I would advise to stop watching before the last 4 minutes of the final episode. Or you could watch the alternate ending if you prefer to have closure.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XdcFM5zhQo
00:00 陆虎 - 珍馐记 (Lu Hu - Delicacies Destiny)
03:03 锤娜丽莎 - 吃货一枚 (Jiahe Ji - A Foodie)
06:35 徐均朔 - 落尘 (Xu Junshuo - Falling Dust)
10:15 银临 - 七夕 (Yin Lin - Tanabata)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ChineseDramaFan
15 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0

Humorous, Lovable Characters, Coherent Storyline

Delicacies Destiny is my third drama on culinary arts in a row. This drama is rather similar to Royal Feast which finished airing recently. Both dramas are set in the period of Ming Dynasty, hence similar costumes and decorum. But most of all, one of the supporting actors in the earlier drama is now the main lead (He Ruixian) in this drama. Though both dramas involve romance and cuisines, there is a marked difference in the characters and mood.

Based on fictional characters, the storyline is rather straight forward. A talented chef (He Ruixian) gets herself recruited to the palace to cook for the picky Crown Prince (Wang Xingyue). Then the prince falls in love with her and wants her to be his crown prince consort. But she is given an ultimatum by the Emperor: if she wants to be the Crown Prince Consort, she has to give up her passion as a chef; or she can continue to be a chef but she has to stay away from the Crown Prince. Either decision tears her apart.

He Ruixian’s acting, demeanor and styling in this drama is almost exactly the same as she was in Royal Feast. But I like her character Ling Xiaoxiao here a lot better than the previous one. I have no complain with He Ruixian’s acting and find her quite convincing. Wang Xingyue’s great acting here as the Crown Prince Zhu Shoukui is commendable. At only 20, this young actor continues to surprise me with his fine acting. He has captured his character very well: the character’s happiness when he is in love, his disappointment when he doesn’t get his way, and his despair when he’s being rejected – every minute emotion is well acted without overacting.

My Verdict

This is a delightful drama with only 16 episodes. It starts out as a slapstick comedy. There are no villains, no complicated plot, no outrageous twists, no love triangles, no tiring romance. In fact, the romance is rather cute. Compared with Royal Feast, Delicacies Destiny’s costumes are not as exquisite and its cuisine arts not as elaborate, but its characters are a lot more lovable and the logic of the story is better. A lot of the jokes seem unintentional, making the story flow very naturally. It is unusual to see an Empress that allows her son to marry his cook as she (the Empress) places his (the son's) happiness above everything; she even allows him to abdicate himself as the Crown Prince so that he can pursue his love (rather unthinkable, but anyway …). There’s only one kissing scene towards the end which is quite well done with actual kissing.

Despite the easy and light watching, the last 2 episodes did draw some tears from me seeing the struggle of the characters. After the final episode 16, there is an epilogue which is an alternative ending. Make sure you don’t miss it.

There are times we need to make very hard choices in life. From the story, our FL character needs to choose between love or passion, likewise for our ML character who has to choose between love or duty. Either choice, the consequence is very different. This drama shows us the possibility of each choice, and ends with a note that, if we compromise slightly, maybe we can get the best out of all choices. How would you choose? Love, passion or duty?

Fun watch! Great for in-between releases of new episodes for other dramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bellesister
4 people found this review helpful
May 5, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
I had close to zero expectation when I started watching this drama. I stumbled upon this on Disney+ and was curious because there is not many Chinese drama on this platform. But I ended up liking this drama, especially the cooking scenes. I can almost smell what Ling Xiao Xiao is cooking and it made my mouth water and I ended up either opening the snack cabinet or order Chinese food takeaway. It’s just that good!

The story is nothing special (The cooking scenes are). It’s partly a romance story between Ling Xiao Xiao and the crown prince, but it’s more about Xiao Xiao’s ambition to be the greatest female chef, a profession that was dominated by male at that time, particularly those working for the royal family. But this is not your normal palace story… it has very minimal conflict and doesn’t follow the usual norms observe by the royal family. For example, in this drama, being plump is beautiful as mentioned by the princess. The main concubine is not your typical concubine, who are pretty, thin and pleasing to the eye. The crown prince can go to the kitchen and speak directly to the kitchen staff, something that is not normal royal family norm. I feel like they are more like a super rich family in our modern era instead of a royal family.

He Rui Xian, the actree who plays Ling Xiao Xiao, played one of my favorite character in Go Ahead. She’s also one of the reasons that I watch this show. I thought she did well too in this drama. I like strong female characters. I thought that she has the right chemistry with the crown prince. I also like the bunch of female staff that ended up feeling like Xiao Xiao’s best friends. I thought they make this drama “Disney”- like.

Overall, I like this drama and would definitely recommend if you’re looking to watch something light, with minimal conflict, a little bit or romance, and many scenes that make you laughed so hard (Concubine Li is so funny) and your mouth waters with the many delicious cooking. Oh, and the opening theme song is so catchy. I like most of the songs in this drama

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
romantic-at-heart
2 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 6.0

Refreshingly Delicious Palace Drama

With a title that included the word delicacies, I was happy to feast my eyes on all the food related shots from preparation to cooking to eating!

This palace drama was different from the usual back stabbing and plotting ones I have watched in the past and it was a breath of fresh air for me. Instead you got supportive king and queen who didn’t make a fuss when they realised their son was falling in love with the female chef. And the usual sibling rivalry was replaced by supportive siblings be it the brothers or even the sister.

Romance was sweet and I felt it more from the ML who was good at expressing his shyness and love much better than the FL.

I watch this on Disney+ and was confused with Episode 17 which was labelled as an alternative ending but all the scenes shown in that extra episode was already shown earlier. Probably some editing issues as Episode 16 itself showed 2 different endings which boggled me and left me without a proper closure.

A simple drama that you will enjoy if you like food, a touch of romance and rarely found supportive royal family dynamics.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
virgievirgie
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 14, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5

Light-hearted version of "Royal Feast" but Dishes are not up to standards for the Royal Family

Completed - 9/13/2022

“Delicacies Destiny” was aired right after the more well-known “Royal Feast”. It doesn’t have the big budget and famous cast as “Royal Feast'' but it provides a different flavor for viewers who prefer a more light-hearted drama of a similar plot.

However, because of the smaller budget, you really can’t compare the exquisite food scenes to those in “Royal Feast”. In fact my biggest criticism of the drama is the food. Not that the food scenes don’t look good or mouth-watering, they are just not up to par with food served to the royal family. If the food scenes are for a chef trying to make a name for herself and open her own restaurant, I would applaud the effort and appreciate them more. Unfortunately, the dishes are not beautiful or exquisite enough to be served in the palace. Another low budget drama, “Chef Hua”, does a very good job in cooking and food scenes and they are very appropriate to the plot of a chef trying to open up her own noodle shop and restaurant.

On a positive note, the acting of all the cast members is not bad. The female lead, He Rui Xian, is an experienced actress and has appeared in many dramas. Comparatively, male lead Wang Xing Yue is a newbie but did a pretty good job. The supporting cast is full of veterans. They are not afraid to act silly in many of the comedic scenes and do an admirable job in the more emotional scenes.

The first half of the drama is a lot more colorful and louder. It took me a while to get warmed up to the female lead and the kitchen staff. Once I did, they are a fun bunch and I enjoy how the friendship and sismance develop. The comedic moments toned down in the second half as more issues arise. With only 16 episodes, the drama is fast-paced with no drag. Sometimes, it appears too fast.

I thought I would like the romance more when I read the plot. But I ended up just feeling OK about it. The Crown Prince doesn’t seem to need to work or do any princely duties. He’s a cute male lead, but not a perfect one. Wang Xing Yue is definitely good-looking and I find him super cute when he’s pouty. But as a character, he’s a lovesick puppy and not very useful. I enjoy the sassiness and daring personality of the female lead, but those traits seem to have disappeared in the few episodes when the romance plot takes center stage. In the last episode (ep 16), I think the drastic decision made by the Crown Prince is a little too much. I would have thought there would be a better way to solve the problem than to do that. But then, I guess that’s why we have a special episode 17 to provide us with an alternate ending. I think this alternate ending is unnecessary but other viewers might enjoy that more.

Overall, this is a light watch with decent cooking and food scenes. The many close-ups of people eating reminded me of the “Let’s Eat” K-drama series. It could feel a bit over-the-top for those who are unfamiliar.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
fancy
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 18, 2023
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

100% rewatchable

Honestly, I don't know why this show has such low ratings. It's a fun, low-stress drama, and the leads have chemistry unlike what some people have said. If you are looking for something simple and fun to pass the time, this is the drama for you. I also like how there are two potential endings but in the end, LXX and ZSK end up together regardless of the path they take. But tbh I'm torn on which ending I prefer. I don't want LXX to have to give up cooking for a long time to be with ZSK but I don't want ZSK to give up being crown prince either.

Anyways, I 100% recommend this drama especially if you like drama's centered on food, friendship, and love.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
spinzgirl
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 21, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0

Food Porn with an uncomplicated story

Honestly, if they’d put as much effort into the story as they did the cooking, this could have been a great story. Unfortunately, as another user better stated, if you’re turned off by gross eating noises then it’ll be a hard watch. I forced myself to deal as I was invested in the romance. Sadly the payoff was uneven, and left me somewhat disappointed. Still, it was cute at moments, especially watching the prince being so enamored with Xiaoxiao. On the plus side, it avoids a lot of K and C drama tropes which is refreshing. On the downside, as it has been pointed out, there is a strong disdain for women who aren’t a size 2.

So I’d say it’s worth the watch if you’re not into Bridgerton level heat but you are into Iron Chef

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
michelleoc
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 23, 2023
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
This review may contain spoilers

Charming and funny historical (an oxymoron?)

First, I'm no expert on Chinese dramas, especially historical ones, because they normally aren't my cup of tea. They tend to be too angsty, too overdone, too dubbed, too costume-y, too long, too slow, etc.

I happened upon this one accidentally after watching something else on Disney+. What a pleasant surprise! This show was very light, funny, and enjoyable to watch. And when I say funny, there were numerous laugh out loud moments for me. Add to that the fact that it was only 16 episodes, I'll give the editor kudos for keeping the editing tight and managing to leave out most of the filler.

There was so much to like about this show, I'll name just a few of my favorite things.
-Wang Xing Yue as the Prince - this actor is only 22! I think he will probably go far in the business. I loved the character he played. He was cold and reserved, as befit his station in life, yet meeting Xiao Xiao turned him a besotted, sometimes clueless, man. I loved how his eunuch was so supportive, giving him a "thumbs up" when he did something right. There were times that he behaved in an immature way, but that really endeared him to me. He was in uncharted waters, but was forging ahead in his feelings for her. His broken heart was heartbreaking to watch. The way he looked at Xiao Xiao, he didn't care who knew he was in love.
-He Rui Xianao as Xiao Xiao - though I didn't always love her character, I thought she did a fine job with her part. There was a stillness about her, a quiet determination in her actions. She had a goal and wasn't going to let anything get in her way. However, I did find it interesting that when she was upset her food tasted bad, but she didn't notice? Did she not taste her own food?
-The Queen - random, I know, since her part was relatively small. However, I LOVED how supportive she was of the Prince. So many historical dramas have the evil queen character, and it was refreshing not to have it here.
-Side characters - especially the kitchen staff. They started out with tension but grew to trust and care about one another.
-The food - this was a plus and a minus for me. Food porn is an apt description for the abundance of food cooking, food presentation, and food eating. The eating part is where I had a problem. Were they going for ASMR? The loud sounds of them slurping, chewing, swallowing, with the extreme close-ups of their mouths, was disgusting.

Ending/alternate ending - this confused me. I had been reading that episode 16 was an alternate ending, but it was almost a carbon copy of episode 15. There are basically two endings in episode 15. SPOILER: In one ending she leaves the palace - watching the Prince's heartbreak was so sad! He "pretends" to die so he can go and be with her? I had a couple of problems with this. I love a love story, and the fact that she could walk away without a backward glance made me think that she couldn't have loved him that much. Also, she can't have gone too far from the palace because she heard about his "death". Did he not go and look for her? Also, in that day and age, would she, as a woman, be able to open her own restaurant? Where did she get the money for it? THEN, she's wasting away when she thinks that he has died. Seemed a bit much since she had no problem leaving him. THEN, when he shows up and stays with her, I didn't like how their relationship was presented - she was always nagging him to do some work, and he was just lazy. Their personalities had changed so much. The other ending was unsatisfying as well - if they married and stayed in the Palace, I would have liked to have seen how she adjusted. We are just shown a brief snippet of them when they are old. END SPOILER.

So, I'd have to say that the ending/s were the weak link for me. Thankfully, the rest of the show made up for it. This is an easy, funny, fluffy, low angst watch when you need a break from heavier shows.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Empress Phoenix
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 30, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
This review may contain spoilers

UNMEMORABLE BUT SWEET

The story is bringing women empowerment as Chef Ling Xiao Xiao faces discrimination, however the story is unmemorable.
Nutshell: Decent; laugh worthy; short
#Lighthearted

PLOT
Chef Ling Xiao Xiao earns her place in the Delicacies Kitchen and befriends Crown Prince Zhu Shou Kui. Despite the Crown Prince known for being obnoxious and "violent" by throwing food around, the two eventually make a friendship which grows to something more. In the end, after facing the cruelty of the Empress and King, Chef Ling Xiao Xiao must pick between ever setting foot in the Delicacies Kitchen again or marrying Crown Prince Zhu Shou Kui. In the first ending, after she picks cooking, Crown Prince Zhu Shou Kui gives up the title of Crown Prince to chase after Ling Xiao Xiao. They later marry. The second ending consists of the two marrying, however Ling Xiao Xiao confessed to the Crown Prince after the Crown Princess selection, which has no “dramatic” decision between the kitchen and the Crown Prince.

PROPS:
The costumes and props were in the medium budget range. It has even made its way to Disney+.

OPINION
The drama was okay, and compared to other Chinese dramas, it is short at 16 episodes+1 Alternate ending. “Delicacies Destiny” was just okay because it didn’t offer a grand or extremely enticing plot, however it was funny and light hearted. Ling Xiao Xiao beats the bad guys (minimal) and is the classic “smart” female protagonist. Since the show is PG and light hearted, it does not feature the usual scheming palace.

CRITIQUES
The male lead throws "tantrums"—throwing food on the floor and flipping the table over which seems realistic for being a spoiled prince. However, it is a first bad impression because the question to pose is: An adult male who is throws food on the floor is supposed to be a good male lead? It is understandable for characters to have flaws, and we see less of his tantrums in the future, however it is not good for a habit like that to be featured. However, as the habit disappears, it may be showing his change.

AGE RATING
On Disney+, the show is rated PG, however it has minor elements that could make it more in the higher age range due to the little amount of “violence” of the Crown Prince’s tantrums (flipping over a table of food; spoiled Prince stuff but minimal) and a man trying to cause a scene to make Ling Xiao Xiao go home with him as his “wife.”


CONCLUSION
The story is good overall, however it is not the best and is obvious it is not striving for it. Despite the possible areas of improvement, the drama is enjoyable to watch, will bring smiles to your face, and will make you laugh.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 16/16
Adelei
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 12, 2022
16 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 3.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 1.0

Disgusting/boring/tropes/too fast

I've been forcing myself to watch this for one reason only - it's on Disney+ and I want to encourage them to feature more Chinese content. However, I think I'm going to drop it and just turn it on, either on mute or while I'm in another room, to make it seem as if I'm watching it.

I honestly don't know what they were thinking when they made this show. First of all, they give into the Chinese stereotype that overweight people are stupid or evil. It's a very common stereotype in Chinese dramas - many shows that feature an overweight character show that person as being less intelligent than others, or super low-class/evil. But this one was more egregious about it than most shows. Two of the main characters in the first few episodes are overweight - one is mean (though she is eventually redeemed) and the other is a complete idiot. And they make a HUGE deal about what a complete idiot she is - the emperor even says he likes her because she's too stupid to be crafty so he doesn't need to be on his guard around her. I get that from a Chinese production - it's not right, but it's part of their culture so it's at least understandable - but Disney should know better.

Second, I think they must have been going for an asmr experience. They cranked up the sound on all the eating sounds - chewing, slobbering, slurping, etc. Plus they zoom all the way in to just show the person's mouth as they're making all these gross noises. I literally never knew eating could be so disgusting. I will admit, I'm not into asmr; I'm also not into cooking or food in general, but this show just completely grossed me out with all the noises and close-ups. That's the main reason I think I'm not going to watch the rest of it - I just can't take it any more. It honestly makes me queasy thinking about how gross and disgusting all the noises were.

Lastly, everything felt far too rushed. This is a short show and that's fine - I've seen short shows that do a great job exploring the few plot lines they have time for. In this one though, it's like they were trying to have as many story lines as a normal-length show, so they just cut corners to squish it all in the time they were allotted. It constantly felt like we were jumping forward and resolutions happened that just made no sense based on what we've seen. Like they were trying to show us that the train (metaphorically) went from country A to country B, but didn't show us any of the train ride in between, so it just made no sense. And it didn't help that they spent SO much time just showing food being prepared or eaten - no story line being advanced during that time whatsoever, just food.

In all, it felt like they were trying to do too many things and wound up doing nothing well. I hope that Disney will continue to make/partner with Chinese shows, I just hope they do a better job picking them out. If they were trying to test the water out on East Asian shows and see how it went, this was a terrible choice to do that with.

Edit: I finally watched the rest of this show (started skipping through all the eating and cooking scenes) and I'm dropping two stars off the already low 5 stars I originally gave it. By around episode 14, I HATED the female lead. Like I hated her just about as much as I've ever hated any antagonist, bad guy, villain in any show. I wanted her to die - and not just die, but suffer, for a long time, both physically and mentally/emotionally, before she died. And she's the main female lead, the person you're supposed to be rooting for? I still have no idea what the crud Disney was thinking when they approved this show for their first foray into Chinese drama. Not only did I hate her because of how she treated someone (trying not to get into spoilers), but she was just plain a badly written character. She was completely one-dimensional, with no character depth whatsoever. ALL she knew, all she could talk about, all she thought about, was cooking. On the one hand, her obsessive one-dimensionality reminded me of someone with autism that's got a special interest and just can't talk about anything else. But on the other hand, I'm autistic, and I'm not nearly that one-dimensional. I can talk about and think about more than my special interest. She's just a horrible character all the way around. (And I don't blame the actress - I blame the writers.)

Also, the ending(s) just made no sense at all. I get that the last episode was a special alternate ending, but what about the second-to-last episode? The very last 5 minutes or so they jumped from one thing to another with no explanation of how something that was done - and could never be undone - was suddenly, randomly, undone. It just made no sense at all.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
koreanbosuji
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0

WXY CAN KISSSS ;-p

After my appetite for Wang Xing Yue (Meng Xiao Dong) was whetted by briefly watching him in AaSoL I wanted to look up shows he's done.
Although he had a powerful role to play (as Zheng Zhe) in SOKP I felt the directors failed to draw out his skill (he could have been that heart tugging SML that many are injected into a GOOD drama).
His role and acting in AaSoL proved me right ;-p
He SHONE so much that there was a chorus of viewers (as proven in the AaSoL Thread) who wished the scriptwriter had developed that arc fully.

I found this show and decided to test it out.
A 7.7 MDL rating usually doesn't look very attractive to me.

I decided NOT to read the comments thread NOR even the brief beyond 1-2 lines ( I looked mainly at the TAGS .. as long as ROMANCE is there I am game LOL).
Why? Because recently I've been bumping into shows that MAY NOT be perfect but were ones that I'd have regretted missing had I TRUSTED the comments and bypassed it.

Example :
~ A Journey to Love
~ Princess Silver
~ Fifteen Years of Waiting for Migratory Birds

OMYGAWD what a rollicking guffawing time I had!!

I'd rate is as one of the MOST satisfying PERIOD ROM-COM I have watched .. since KDrama "Moonlight Drawn by Clouds"

It had one of the BEST comedic ensemble cast and dramatic treatment of such a SIMPLE story .. of a discomfited, tantrum filled crown prince and a witty, intelligent, genius chef who comes to work at the Crown Prince's kitchen (because he is SO FUSSY about his food).
ALL the characters who fill up the drama are given such 'warm' roles that you'll NOT want to skip the scenes AT ALL.

It's a cosy, tingly, lovely lovely drama MINUS any cringey humour IMO .. and SUCH "healthy" outlook on "plump women" who LOVE to eat .. and OF COURSE the ASMR of the best food and food eating I have seen in a LONG LONG LONG time .. MORE than "Wok of Love".

The FL is SOMEONE I wanted to reach out and HUG .. WHAT AN ACTRESS!!! It's my first time watching her - I felt she did an award-worthy role.
I LOVE how they portrayed her as someone with ambition and a mind of her own. Sweet-sparky without being loud or 'aegyo' ..
And our WXY is such a loveable CLOWN .. immature but heartbreakingly SILLY who trips over himself and his tricks so often.
(Reminded me SO much of KDrama's Wookie -Ji Chang Wook - in Empress Ki).

AND WXY CAN KISSSSSSS. Yummy Kiss!! (That for me sometimes makes or breaks a SOLID romance)

Some of the support characters are so memorable; I WILL ALWAYS remember them. Written with SUCH LOVE.

It's also one of the most hilarious OST I have heard LOL ..

I'd recommend a watch when in the mood for something light but refreshing and filling at the same time - lemon Meringue - lemon tart comes to mind, rich frothy cappuccino on a sunlit winter afternoon.

I'll stop it here.

(Will be repeat posting this feedback with some tweaks to draw attention of ALL those who LOVED watching WXY.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
lunalovegood00
0 people found this review helpful
Aug 22, 2023
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

Entertaining but not perfect imo

The ending.... Was quite something. Oh, I don't even watch the alternate ending yet as I write this. What i noticed is that I like the inclusivity of this drama you know, coz it didn't try to be realistic as possible for a historical drama. I like that it gave something new like how man got to be treated like the way woman always got in a real world or usually it would be like that for them. Also, the beauty standard, like I said b4, the inclusivity of plus size and rounded face girls. Another thing, I love that the dramas in the imperial harem were not cruel and vicious. The devotion and patience of the Hero and the strong and courageous stand of the heroine. I'm glad my tears are worth it in the end. Kind of.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Delicacies Destiny (2022) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 702 users)
  • Ranked: #4556
  • Popularity: #5275
  • Watchers: 2,048

Top Contributors

22 edits
18 edits
16 edits
16 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users

Recently Watched By