Completed
bl my love
10 people found this review helpful
Sep 20, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10

Be true to yourself and the people around you !!

wow, amazing I got no word for the last scene just because that is a 10/10 for me. I like to make my point of view about everything and in the end no matter the final result deep down it was my choice and I can't blame anyone. this series was well made it is not just a series but an educational one that showed about (understanding, accepting your real you, learning how to be reasonable, flexible, honest with your partner, respect everyone, and only care about the people you love and not focusing on the outside opinion while some are still hiding their true self ) good job for every person that made this production possible. both seasons 1 & 2 are amazing people feel free to take a look. on that note bye bye PAPA & DADDY Series I love you. I am a big supporter of LGBTQ+. big Love ❤️

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zelme
8 people found this review helpful
Sep 20, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5

A beautiful and realistic drama

This series show what a person deals with who is part of the lgbtq community. This is what you call an lgbt series and not really a bl. Since this show is not only lovely dovey sweet and all things goes well. It tackle in real life problems that many marriage faces. I loved the realism that this drama bought. The characters also are so well written. They are not flawless, they make mistakes and they learn from it and they reconcile. The actor that was recasted did an amazing job. I feared that he may not live up to it since the previous Jerry's actor already was so great but he did so well. All the actors really did a splendid job. Except maybe for Jimmy. His characters come off as really unnatural. His english is really not smooth and his acting is really mediocre but it is a kid actor so it is excused. This was a really wonderful series. A rare case that the sequel does better than the prequel.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RomeThe3rd
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2023
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

LOVE KNOWS NO GENDER! ♥️

I was crying till the end! Out of the BL I already watched, I guess this is the first time I watched a BL with 100% satisfaction. With a wedding!

The strong connection of Jerry and Damien felt real and relatable. At first I was sad that Jerry in 1st Season was recasted, but SS2 Jerry gave more life to the character! What a trully inspiration to us to dream as part of the LGBT+ com. Well done to this series! Their wedding felt like a real life wedding! The acting, their Wedding Vows to each other, their tears felt magical! Made me realize to dream of my own fantasy and wish to experience it in real life. I felt satisfied. But if given a chance, I want more! I want to see their life as a Newly Wed couple! 😭🙌♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Synchonicity
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 21, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

Yes, it's a slice of real LGBTQ+ life

While I had my issues with Season 1 (and as a gay, male, and avid BL viewer), for me Season 2 is one of the best BLs of the year. Here are my pros and cons:

PROS

THE FLAWED CHARACTERS. We can all like or not like certain characters, but they were real. There were none of the BL tropes: "I'm really straight, I'm just gay for you," jealous and interfering ex-girlfriend, romanticizing rape, enemies to lovers, etc. (Are you listening, Thai BLs?) I like that the characters were just as flawed as we all are in real life.

GAY RELATIONSHIP DEPICTION. Not all gay relationships are alike and, for the most part, this was a damn good one. Were there problems? Yep. Were there unresolved issues? Absolutely. Do we think it's going to be sunshine and roses for Damian and Jerry from here on in? Probably not. In other words, a real relationship. I think they've developed a great family and look to be great for one another. After all, happily ever after -- while a warm and fuzzy notion -- is fiction. Most of us have exes that pop back into our lives, and there's always going to be jealousy over someone flirting with one partner or the other. In my opinion, Damian and Jerry handled it as well as any couple could have.

THE SECONDARY LGBTQ+ CHARACTERS. Lesbians, trans, femme and straight acting gays... all of them represented as everyday, feeling people, as opposed to provide a comedic or weird aspect to the story. And the little boy who preferred wearing dresses was handled beautifully. Kudos.

CONS

JIMMY'S ENGLISH. I learned to love Jimmy, he was such a cool kid and great with Kai. But I'm sorry... there is no way that anyone was buying that he was an American with English as his native language.

I suppose I could go back and pick at some more things but, for me, the pros far outweigh any cons. I'm satisfied.

It's a rare 10/10 from me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Debbie H
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 2, 2023
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0

Worth watching

I really liked both series however I really missed Mike Lin as Jerry although Mu Han Chiu did a great job filling the roll. I really felt for Jerry when he was hurting. I think Damien calling Jerry “Baby” from the start was an indication of how he would be treated throughout their relationship.

I think the conflicts they had were understandable since they had been together for 6 years and Damien never told Jerry about Jimmy. Damien being older could have been more mature in handling the matter (goes to the writer not the actor). Like most couples their communication skills kind of broke down when dealing with the matters of the heart.

I agree with the one reviewer that Jimmy being born in America would have had no issues with speaking English.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 8/8
Triage
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers

THIS BL SERIES WAS LIKE FIREWORKS !

Damien really had it hard this season, while jimmy prospered. However I like how jimmy excepted Damien's first son despite the fact Damien never told, how he easily forgave and how he treated both his parents and spouse. Jimmy's character is commendable
Jimmy's parents weren't helpful at all their poke nosing and insistence on Jimmy have a child of his own was irritating! I like Jimmy's friend the Chef he's a true friend.
One thing about this series is that it treats LGBTQ matters, about how LGBTQ couples and people are treated in the society and how they react. Most characters in this Bl series were worthy their salt. And I love the music 🎶 played at the end ' we have done no wrong ' the wedding was touching

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ahmedtamer
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 15, 2023
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.5
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Awful

So disappointed in this series , i liked the 1st season and all but this season was so lame and disappointing .Damian's character was irritating, you're a 40/50 yo man for god's sake stop getting drunk whenever you have a minor problem that's called being an alcoholic 🤦🏻‍♂️ then the classic marry me stuff ....... Complete waste of my time , i like Jerry's new actor and the kid who played Jeremy but i can't stand Damian

So disappointed in this series , i liked the 1st season and all but this season was so lame and disappointing .Damian's character was irritating, you're a 40/50 yo man for god's sake stop getting drunk whenever you have a minor problem that's called being an alcoholic 🤦🏻‍♂️ then the classic marry me stuff ....... Complete waste of my time , i like Jerry's new actor and the kid who played Jeremy but i can't stand Damian

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
chris2686
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 6, 2023
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers

SUPPORT YOUR CHILD'S HAPPINESS!!

First of all, I didn't know that they recast the actor who played Jerry. I didn't even noticed it, either way my conclusion for this series will not changed.
Additionally, let's stop and give a shout out to the actor who played Kao, I mean, wow...just wow! So handsome and hot, I'm sorry Damian, you're a daddy hot but Kao is differently hot! I say give Peter Kuan a BL series that's only for him and find him a partner!

Going back to he series, both seasons 1 & 2 are promising but i am more drawn to season 2 just because it gives more depth on the story. In this season we get to see the real growth on both characters.
I must say that the Jerry's mothers is kind of selfish and annoying! She cares a lot about ancestral blood line or whatever you call that shit! She rather choose to care about what all their relatives may say than to that of her son's happiness. I am not gonna lie, that scene is a triggering to me. I just hate when parents that doesn't care about their children's happiness.
Jerry an Damian made so much compromises just to get their blessings, I know in an Asian household, blessing is so important because i myself was raised in an conservative Asian household so I understand when Jerry was devastated when he didn't get his mother's approval.
I am glad that the mother came around at the end of the series, Better late than never in deed! LOL

I love this series because it mirrors social norms and the difficulty of raising and protecting family. In this ever changing world, we cannot pleased everyone for acceptance. We have to move forward no matter what the society will throw at us, I am speaking in behalf of the LGBT community. Gender, race, color, nationality, this things don't matter when it comes to love and family.
I hope we can watch another BL series that is realistic and an eye opener for everyone much as Papa&Daddy was.

HAPPY VIEWING EVERYONE :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PPBongi
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

Romantic, Sweet, with Underlying Pain

This indeed is a sweet, romantic series with an underlying and underpinning story of a great deal of pain. It was not fully addressed with then leaves the story incomplete. I know it is a romcom but it screamed out the underlying issues with all couples. Regret.
The overall story is good and it will give you a certain sense of joy and satisfaction to watch. Yet, for me, I could see that not all was well. I just wish they had addressed those issues more effectively and intensely.
You can read my full review at BLBliss.com.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BL Compilations
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 8, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

some realistic issues addressed (need a Bryan spin off!)

Overall: I loved season 1 until the ending of the final episode. I struggled a bit with season 2 but I appreciated that the creators brought up real issues affecting LGBTQ+ people. Watched on Gagaoolala.

Content Warnings: homophobia

What I Liked
- that there was diversity* with the queer characters and they felt like real people and not stereotypes
- real problems were addressed
- favorite characters were Jimmy (glad they didn't go the cliche character route with him) and Bryan (I need a spin off of Bryan's adventures in finding the love of his life)
- the CEO of GagaOOLala had a cameo in episode 5
- the final episode was cute (though I really think they should have chosen a different date, let people have their birthday days to themselves)
- note per a comment (I didn't understand this when I first watched it) The character in that scene {the cooking scene} is a member of an indigenous Taiwanese group and is wearing traditional headdress of his tribe. If you notice during his conversation with Jerry, he's taking part in the video in order to cook some dishes important to his community. For more, see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taiwanese_indigenous_peoples

Room For Improvement
- anticlimactic opening, only later do we learn that 3 months have passed
- the first episode with everyone lying
- *I was so excited to see the side plot in episode 4 as I know a family going through this and was very disappointed that it turns out Matt was doing it due to external reasons and not internal ones, this feeds into some harmful/incorrect ideas some people have that it's the parents forcing this on their children (in my experience it is 100% child driven) and also how the moms handled it was a let down though they did appear to have a bit better reaction later on
- a very predictable and cliche plot point in episode 7
- some people might have found the beginning of episode 8 cute but I just saw it as immature, I can't believe they have been together for that many years and have such poor communication skills
- why is this series incapable of safely securing a young child in a moving vehicle?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Papa & Daddy Season 2 (2022) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 1,878 users)
  • Ranked: #4301
  • Popularity: #2656
  • Watchers: 5,366

Top Contributors

50 edits
27 edits
10 edits
9 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Taiwanese BL Master List
159 titles 445 loves 8
2022 BL drama list
131 titles 238 loves 22
Every LGBTQ+ title
1914 titles 207 loves 9

Recently Watched By