Unemployed Romance (2013) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 6.8 (scored by 1,551 users)
  • Ranked: #3535
  • Popularity: #851
  • Watchers: 4,366

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
7 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
_Rosie
34 people found this review helpful
Dec 8, 2013
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This is a romcom from a slightly different angle. The story is told in flashback & from each of the main leads own perspectives. I found this approach refreshing and felt that the story was told in such a way as to maintain the narrative flow and does not confuse the viewer.

Its only 10 episodes of about 50 minutes each - it is concise although I did find the last episode a little rushed and would have preferred more time spent on the resolution of the story.

The side characters were engaging and hilarious. My personal favourite was Seung Hee's inept boss. There are also a few funny cameos along the way. The acting by the main characters was good and believable.

This drama's depiction of a relationship seemed REAL and not like the stylised, overly romantic, fantasy type romances usually depicted in Kdramas. It shows the characters from the very first meeting to gradually forming a relationship over a period of several years with all the accompanying ups and downs of life, I really liked this aspect.


The music - I remember a couple of pleasant tracks but nothing particularly striking.

My rewatch score is always low as I never re-watch dramas.

I enjoyed it overall and wish more people would discover this little gem.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JunKi-fan
11 people found this review helpful
Mar 2, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
It's interesting how having lower expectations increases your ability to appreciate a drama better.
Despite its short length and the limited scope to prove its mettle, Unemployed Romance delivers and how.

In ordinary rom coms, we see that either the male lead is financially in the ruts or it is the heroine who scrounges for every penny and works a million part time jobs. Rarely do we see a rom com in which both the leads are going through financial troubles and have more or less achieved nothing in life and, quite possibly, never will. What do they do in such circumstances? Dare not have a romance because they're poor and unsuccessful?

Unemployed Romance is yet another example of the cliche of 'love conquers all' being stretched in to a realistic story. Jong Dae and Seung Hee overcome various odds from jealous new romantic interests, poverty, sick parents to unemployment and bitter memories of a break up, to finally get together in the end.

The drama has hilarious moments which arrive in the form of Jong Dae's hopelessly silly friends and Seung Hee's irresponsible boss. It also has its fair share of emotionally poignant scenes in terms of Jong Dae's conversations with his hapless, generous and amiable father. And this is not to mention the excellent chemistry between Nam Goong Min and Lee Young Ah - both of them should be applauded for their realistic portrayal of two individuals who have never had it easy in life.
Everything put together, 'Unemployed Romance' is a really cute, funny and heart-warming drama which does not veer off completely from reality at any point.

Definitely worth a watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
LMitsuki
4 people found this review helpful
May 1, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
After watching this in only a afternoon, I had an hurge to review this.

After reading so many comments, my expectations for this drama weren't good. However, the drama surprised me. I saw myself excited to keep watching from the beginning. I read that some people said it had a too slow/boring beginning, yet I loved it. Pretty precise and it also made it more exciting. I started to love the story immediately even though the later half disappointed me a little bit.

However, I found something terribly wrong with the plot. It seemed they didn't have much story so they made a lot of flashbacks. I mean, it's good to show their story back then, but everything, even show repeated scenes? For that, they could've showed it from the past to the present, not show 2-3 episodes in the middle with only flashbacks. It was a bit annoying, not to mention it was a big loss for the drama itself. They could've do so many things on it, but it all seemed to have been made in a hurry.

The cast was great, every character was interesting too. I was so excited to see Nam Goon Min, and he was a complet surprise. I hope he gets more roles.

In fact, it was a pity that it had only 10 episodes. It had the possibility of having been a great drama if they extended, or at least if they've actually taken advantage of the episodes they had (what I think they didn't).

Overall, it was a good and simple drama. With not many episodes and the length not being much, it's a drama you should definitely give it a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
wafflecake123
6 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 2.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
the acting was okay but the story was bad. it was really draggy and the main guy is a loser and the main lady was dumb. the music was okay overall but i liked the ost. i would never watch this again, i'd rather die
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WonByungHoon
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 22, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
This has got to be the longest shortest baddest drama for me. Only 10 episodes but it felt like it was 20 or more. The first 2 episodes are great and funny then it flopped and the last episodes were just in the -ve. I was chewing nails just watching the ridiculousness and waiting for it to end. I think the cast was the problem. The main guy was not suited for this at all and the girl wasn't that outstanding either.
I think the writer sensed the low ratings and decided to stop there, anyways........
the best part of the show was the two guys best friends. They were so ridiculous with their women theory and they were hilarious too.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mivaaa
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 3, 2015
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I hate it when I discover a series and I really wanna like it because of reasons other then how good it is. You can't force "like", it has to just appear and that is the thing with this kdrama. I really wanted to like it. The themes of the show is simple, easy breezy and short, all things that is lovable after watching a more serious show, but Unemployed Romance didn't hold up for me.
And why?

Firstly, the story.
I liked the idea for this show. It seemed to be easy and not too dramatic.I was worried about the few episodes but I figured that this simple series didn't need more than that amount of episodes to be good. I was wrong. The story was not bad, the length was. They tried to cram so much story into that little space. We started out by not seeing our main male lead until episode 3 and after that we have 3 episodes of backstory. Because of the series mare 10 episodes I really think that was a bad move. We had 4 episodes to build up the present time drama and rekindling plus the side characters stories and romances. Too much for such a short time. There where love rivals too and nothing felt well executed because of all the things going on. The ending for me, without spoiling anything, left me stunned for a second, wondering wtf just happened and how much of everything that actually was real. I hate that kind of ending too because it feels like someone just opened my Kdrama central (brain) and F everything up in there.

Secondly, the cast.
Let me present to you why exactly I wanted to like this series, the actor Nam Goong Min. You may wonder why I wanted to like it because of him. Easy to answer. I hated him, and I mean HATED his character in My Secret Hotel. I felt "like" for the actor but because of the character that he played I couldn't like him at all. So I wanted to see him play the main love interest in a different show so that I could love him openly (Sounds wrong?) and that's the thing. Funny enough tho I really liked his character. Kim Jong Dae is really cute, especially when younger. I found Goong Min so much better as the funny, little dorky and romantic persona compared to the strict and rather boring character that is Jo Sung Gyoum. I'll have to continue looking for another series with him that I truly can enjoy.
The Female lead is nothing special for me. Just around but still having funny moments. Not even in the 3 episode long flashback she stood out or made any special impression on me, and that is what the lead role is suppose to do.
The love rival, and I'm talking about the male one, because the female love rival is so forgettable it stays deep in my head and I cant reach it. You can say one thing and that is - Seo Jun Yeong is adorable. Even when trying to look like a smart lawyer. I really liked him, however closer to the end he started to get on my nerves and I wanted him to just move on with his life. He had stayed still for too long in my P.O.V.
The supporting cast is mediocre. As long as they stay supporting to our two main leads (Again because we have no time for any other storyline than the main romance) I have no problem with them. But as soon as they started to take up too much space I just wanted to put them back into their little "supporting characters" - box and put it in the dark corner of the Kdrama world. Stay put!

The music was actually the good point. I noticed this when I either was confused or when I simply was bored. The music kept the mood going on in the scene. Not much more to say about this tho.

Rewatch is close to zero for me. Ja, I did like Jong Dae and he was dorky and adorable, but it is by far not enough to make me rewatch the whole thing again. Sure it's only 10 episodes but because of the mediocre aftertaste of those 10 episodes I think I rather don't watch it again. NO I think not.

Overall and lastly, however much I want to say that this show was cute and worth watching... I can't. It's not that good and to be honest, it's not that easy breezy and not undramatic either. If the writers just had left some of the things be and let other things take its place, the drama wold have been better. I know now that to much shit going on in one short drama is a bad idea in every single case. Short drama - little and simple story. Long drama - Bring on the arcs of storylines.


Mivaaa

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
asigemi
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 14, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I decided to watch this because I wanted to watch a korean comedy drama but wasn’t in the mood for a long one. And I don’t see many korean dramas being this short so I was also curious, because in k-dramas there are usually flashbacks and misunderstandings and these make the dramas last about 20 something episodes.

So for the reasons I watched it, this drama was exactly what I needed. It’s easy to watch, because every episode is about 50 minutes long, it has everything that one can expect from a korean drama, as mentioned, flashbacks, misunderstandings, as well as romantic and moving moments, hilarious situations and characters and a really nice ost.

Story: What can be considered a minus about this drama is that everything happened quite fast, due to the fact that there were only 10 episodes. Now I said above that I was in the mood for a short drama and that’s why I watched it, so that fact is ok with me. All I’m saying is that this could be a drama of about 15 episodes, cause the past of the main couple played a huge role, and in order to fit everything in 10 episodes, everything is done pretty fast.

Cast and acting: not much to say here, I think all actors did a great job. It was a pretty good cast.
Music: This OST is really great! I really liked the songs (except one, I think). Also, if you’ve watched dramas with flashbacks that last for several episodes, you’ll notice that they usually play again and again a song that was popular during the time of the flashbacks. In that case it was “good person” by Toy and I loved it. Most kpop fans know this as a cover from super junior. ^_^

Rewatch value: Overall, I really liked this drama and I could watch it again, for there are some pretty funny and sweet scenes it.

So if you’re in the mood for a short, funny, romantic korean drama I definitely recommend this!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Carleania
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 31, 2016
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
Initially watching this drama, it was different from what I expected. Being a sappy lover of RomComs, I didn't anticipate the storyline at first. It's unusual because instead of meeting characters before they fall in love, we meet characters who have already had their relationship end. This was a nice dynamic to have that you don't typically see in traditional RomComs. Although the storyline was jumbled at first, it presents itself more clearly after the audience is privy to more of the past of the characters. I also loved how it tricked me into thinking it was over without a complete ending (good one).
The acting and cast was good because it focuses on just a few characters, so the audience is able to follow the storyline more clearly and directly. It also allows for the audience to get attached to the various characters more deeply (I almost wanted to cry for the male leads parents at one point). However, the fact that the acting was often awkward due to the over the top corny/cringey scenes, and all of the crying was equally as awkward.
The music I really liked in that it was not hugely popular songs, and that they were able to provide background noise unto the drama when it called for it. I even went and bought one of the songs off iTunes because I liked it that much.
The rematch value is high for me, because I think that if I were to watch it again, I might not find the scenes as cringey the next time through, and because I liked the storyline a lot. It had me rooting for the main characters as a couple from early on, even though it seemed an unlikely for them.
Overall: 8.5/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?