High School Debut

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.4 (scored by 6,491 users)
  • Ranked: #2210
  • Popularity: #287
  • Watchers: 9,820

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

4 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
WhenFangirlsAttack00
24 people found this review helpful
Jun 23, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
Just a super cute, super silly movie that's just fun to watch. I have in fact watched this movie maybe four or five times and I laugh every time. If you want to watch something serious don't watch this, but if you have some extra time on your hands and you just wanna watch something light and adorable, then you should defiantly watch this.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rourou
15 people found this review helpful
Apr 7, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I watched this film when I had nothing better to do without high expectations or anything that's why I think it was fair enough.
I am familiar with the lead actor; I've seen and liked him in several dramas before. However, I was introduced to the lead female through this drama but Mizobata Junpei was the reason of my liking.
The story of makeover is known but somehow, I felt it was more captivating here.
This is a highly recommandable films for rom-com fans.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
9 people found this review helpful
Oct 6, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
My review is unbiased because I haven't read the manga or seen an anime...

High School Debut is so funny I literally laughed the entire time. It does have its "drama" moments but it didn't take a way from the fun of the movie. The ending was predictable but cute nonetheless. I really liked the use of color in the movie. Everything was colorful and bright and just made me feel cheerful while watching.

Loved the entire cast! The female lead might be a new actress but she did a good job of bringing her character to life, very believable. Of course there's Junpei who I adore; liked that he played a coldish character this time. My favorite character is actually the sister. Shes so Kawaii! I really liked her hair and clothes=D The rest of the cast was a great addition.

The music was fun and very fitting. It definitely added to the movie's atmosphere.

I can see myself watching this twice in the same year.

Although this might sound like a silly movie, its so entertaining and provides a nice message. Watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MysticLullaby
7 people found this review helpful
Jan 2, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I really really loved this movie! It was so enjoyable. It was so lighthearted and bubbly and made me smile from the start all the way to the end credits and even after i finished it, I'm smiling like a blissful idiot to myself....... anyway I loved the 2 main characters and all the supporting characters were good too. This movie was also very funny, It has become one of my favourite movies and not to mention it had a perfect ending. The movie was kinda crazy but in a awesome way.
I'm actually quite jealous, I want Yoh.......
Also, I love Haruna's clothes in it! They are so bright, Happy & Unique & I love the doc martens boots she wears, In fact i'm thinking of getting the last pair she wore because they are gorgeous but also because i'm hoping mine will fall off and a guy like yoh will pick it up lol. Well i definitely think you should watch this if you're not looking for a serious movie and you want a totally sweet yet bubbly and funny movie that will make you feel happy for no reason. Yes, It is predictable but that's part of it's charm.I wish they would make a drama out of this movie, I want more. Also i'm not sure if it's just me but i think Junpei looks like Noctis from the upcoming final fantasy game in this movie.
Anyway I want to watch it again already ......and i just finished it like 2 minutes ago, So watch it, It's so sweet, I love it!.....Also yes i know how cheesy this review sounds but it's true!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rinsuzuki
16 people found this review helpful
Oct 31, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It's the third time I watched a manga/anime to live action that does not disappoint me at all. (>//∇/<) (first-death note, 2nd-DMC)



First of all, I am currently reading the manga..and i love it..that's why I immediately watched this movie. the sequence of events in the manga may be a little altered but I guess it does beautify the story more than the manga do. (though of course, the manga is still better..given the length and all)



三(/ ^^)/ another thing is the brilliant set up of this movie..it seems like everything is well-prepared and extravagant--from the setting, props, and even the talented casts!!



I LOVE IT 100% (☆○=(`▽´*)o

(///∇//)This movie made me crazy about junpei-sama ‎!!

(≧∇≦*)o"ェィ(≧∇≦*)o"ェィ(≧0≦*)ノ"

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Keeks
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 5, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
As everyone has said there's nothing new about the storyline, but this movie is seriously just too cute. Its lighthearted and funny in a silly way. The main character is very funny and though some people might find her annoying I though she was just quirky and different. Nothing major really happens, just a series of interesting moments. Watch it for fun, one of my fave Japanese movies.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sammyx3
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 26, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
This. Is. So. Cheesey. I won't deny that, but let me give you some background as to why that's COMPLETELY acceptable here. If you've read the manga, you know how the main character acts, so going hand in hand with that - The lead actress was supposed to act that way. I found it a little dramatized at times, and it's a bit cliche' but that's all my opinion. It was a very sweet & quick romance movie; I loved it. One of the best live actions I've seen in a while! Plus, could they have done a better job at matching the way the two leads look - Yoh and Haruna - to how I imagined them looking? Definitely worth the watch :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jihoonuna
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 15, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Ever since I heard about this movie, I've always wanted to watch this. When I saw the trailer, everything looked awesome. Some trailers make movies look good and after you watch the movie, you get disappointed, but THIS movie didn't disappoint me at all! It is so awesome! It's youthful, funny, crazy, sweet, innocent, cute, happy, a little sad, unique, full of love, and just plain awesome. The story is super nice, sweet, and funny.



Junpei Mizobata was perfect for the Yoh Komiyama role, and Ito Ono did a wonderful job as Haruna Nagashima. The two of them looked super cute together. ^^ The cast was great! Everything was just great, even the songs. I'm already familiar with the manga for a long time, but I've only read 2-3 chapters of it and THIS movie makes me want to read it more. I recommend everyone to watch this awesome movie. It will surely lighten up your day. The movie would probably make you want to have a handsome love coach. Haha~

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 3, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Simply saying- I loved it. It was so, so cute from start to end.

While the story was nothing original, it is definitely enjoyable. It has a great cast and I particularly liked both the leads. The actress is likable and the guy was equally cute. Even though this movie is cheesy at its best, it is not corny. I loved the lead pair together. They had good chemistry. I was worried that I would get annoyed by the main girl but that didn't happen. I enjoyed every scene of hers. The actress is really good.

The comedy really had some great LOL moments. I was really laughing out loud. Its humor is the usual anime type humor we usually see in Jdramas. I enjoyed the progress of the movie and particularly the ending. The ending scene was cute and touching at the same time.

I have been watching very slow and boring movies lately, so this was refreshing to watch. It didn't drag that much and kept me hooked till the end. I wasn't at all bored and it was a very light watch. This movie can be enjoyed by kids and adults alike. I can't find anything that I was displeased with in this film. This movie is quite predictable but it never seemed dull to me.

I would really recommend this movie. It is a much watch. It can definitely lift up your mood. And it has a great rewatch value. It's probably going to remain as one of my favorites.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
funnykoreangrl
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 11, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
I have to admit this is one of my favorite movies. It's based off a manga that I also loved and I thought the movie followed the manga pretty well. Of course the movie didn't cover everything, but it covered a good amount, and had a good ending which I thought was very cute.

This movie however is not a serious movie, if anything, it's just a cute and silly love story. Some people would maybe find it too silly at times, but I like that. The movie I have to say was predictable, but at the same time, still kept my attention with all the jokes and turning which would be a very serious situations fun and cute to watch. The characters were all lovable and the story was super sweet.

I recommend watching this movie when you have nothing to do or in a mood for a good romantic comedy. I watch this movie all the time when I have a couple of hours to spare. Don't watch it, however, if you want a serious, intense love story, that will get you crying and feeling that pain for love. It's not that kind of movie!

So far, all the friends I showed this movie too also really liked it. And of course I never mind re watching it with them.

Enjoy :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kadrama
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 8, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
"People don't get boyfriends by being hit on in town" intones Junpei with a deadpan face. I burst out laughing, and said "so true!"



For being Oto's debut (haha the title fits and everything) she did a pretty bang up job of the lead. There was loads of bright colours, and it really cheers you up! I wish I was bold (or naive) to go into my local town and stand there in bright colours waiting to be hit on. Like the girl experienced though, it would only be the pervs and pigeons interested :P



But still...she met Junpei! With her shoe flying of in a rather dramatic moment, and him picking it up all gentlemen like. He agrees to be her coach in love, but gives the ominous warning "Don't fall in love with me."



And like all good cliches...that's exactly what she... In risk of giving away the entire move if I keep talking, watching it will give you a cheesy grin and make you feel happy for no apparent reason than you watched it.



Brilliant J-movie!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rosalyn
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 10, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Story: I thought it was a really funny, cute story about a girl who wants to become popular to find love. The story line is never too too serious, and its something that would make me laugh and sigh and facepalm myself over and over again (in a good way of course).

Acting/Cast: I think the actors were well chosen. Given the fact that this movie was based on a manga, I could easily see how the actors portrayed more manga-esque acting as well.

Music: Okay, there were a lot of scenes with music, in my opinion. I found that some of the scenes with music were actually kind of funny (not going to spoil it for anyone), but, since this is my first review (YAY!) I don't think I can say more about it.

Rewatch Value: Oh yes! I think I would easily rewatch this movie, especially after I've watched some heavy, hardcore drama. Its a very light story that is great for cheering up, especially because it won't take too long to start laughing ;).

Overall: This was a nice movie. Like all movies, there are points to it that I myself don't quite get, but overall it was really cute! I liked the movie and would recommend it to those looking for something to cheer them up :)

Thank you!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?