My Beautiful Bride

Details

  • Drama: My Beautiful Bride
  • Country: South Korea
  • Episodes: 16
  • Aired: Jun 20, 2015 - Aug 9, 2015
  • Aired On: Saturday, Sunday
  • Network: OCN
  • Duration: 60 min.
  • Genres: Action, Mystery, Romance, Drama
  • Rating: 15+ - Teens 15 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 1,630 users)
  • Ranked: #882
  • Popularity: #529
  • Watchers: 5,495

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

4 edits
3 edits
3 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
DreamingKoreanBallad
17 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
WOW!!! This drama really takes you on a ride! I'm anxious to know what drama OCN is planning on coming out with next! I loved this drama SO much - and I loved Kim Do Hyung!!! <Gotta be the best lover/fighter in the world! There is one scene that I will NEVER forget! It was so awesome and I've never seen any other character do that! [that Fire-hose scene] I was stunned by that!

Helpful Hint: I found the first episode rather boring, the second episode ok, the third episode full of misunderstandings and then it gets good by episode 4 and you'll be completely hooked by episode 5!

"the heartbreaking, pure love by a man, who drives himself to the extreme situation in order to find his only love, his bride." <Pretty much describes the base of the drama - and it was presented in such a powerful and touching way! Thank you OCN!

Cast: Kim Do Hyung (Kim Mu Yeol) a man with a painful upbringing falls in love with a girl from his high school - they get separated and meet again, are about to get married and then she vanishes - he looks for her like any man would, finds himself messed up with the police and loan-sharks and something even more sinister behind the loan-sharks. I have never seen someone love as sincerely and as deeply as Kim Do Hyung does on this drama - it's powerful! It's a new definition of self-less love! He'd sacrifice and risk anything just to protect his "Beautiful Bride" - and man was this guy good at keeping a secret a secret! He was also in the UDT in the Marines for his military service - and I sure hope I get to see some more dramas with guys from that unit! B/c they know how to FIGHT! This guy wowed me several times with some of the things he'd do - I was stunned at things I saw - He was that good! And I loved how all the bad guys referred to him as "the bank guy" - I'd laugh whenever they'd say "the bank guy did that?" :P Yoon Joo Young/Joo Hee (Go Sung Hee) - not my favorite actress (she still needs practice) but she did pretty good in the beginning of the drama - towards the latter part I found her a bit annoying and she seemed to keep making stupid decisions (but that didn't ruin the drama for me). Cha Yoon Mi (Lee Shi Young) a great detective, who was a great partner in helping Do Hyung catch the bad guys and find Joo Young.
All other actors did well in their roles - especially Ryu Seung Soo as Seo Jin Ki - I knew he could play the bad guy role exceptionally well already - since he was the bad guy in drama special 'Sirius'.

Music: 'Stay' by Steelheart < My absolute favorite track off the entire drama!!! I love listening to it and singing it on repeat! <3 Awesome song! ^_^

I would definitely re-watch this drama if only to see those awesome action packed fight scenes again! ;) and the flashback romance stories were so romantic^^ <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Myd
8 people found this review helpful
Aug 23, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
OCN has the honor of broadcasting amazingly professional yet different and unique action dramas like (Bad Guys) , (God's Quiz) , (Detective Cheo Yong) , (Missing Noir M) and many others.
As a OCN serious project , (My Beautiful Bride) is surely one of the good ones but ... could be much better !

STORYLINE : 7.5 /10
A man who's totally in love with his fiance , suddenly loses her and through finding her , strange and interesting facts about him and his lover are revealed to the audiences.
The fact that he knows everything about her past but keeps acting like he doesn't have a clue , was meaningful and a brand new one to me !
BUT unfortunately the storyline losts the balance it had between action and romance as the story goes on and on ! The main idea was good but you can see it's not processed goodly specially as love story !
It feels like the writer just wants to sum up the couple's past and their complicated love-life at the few first Episodes , cause he/she insists on getting to the Action and Crime parts ASAP ! But the surprising and shocking fact is that the screenwriter of this drama (Yoo Sung Yeol) is the creator of the greatest action K-drama ever seen =&amp;amp;amp;gt; CRUEL CITY !
I'm not saying that this drama IS NOT a sucess but who can compare it with (Cruel City) , U know !!!

ACTING : 8/10
(Kim Moo Yul) : After watching his unbeatable , incomparable and unique way of acting I was like : Where Have You Been ?! Lol ! It's such a pity that it was my first time enjoying his acting skills ! He truely shined ! and I wish he'll appear in more action dramas !
(Lee Si Young) : I mean what's with that character ?! You know sometimes you wanna punch a good actor/actress in face for choosing a pitiful role to play and maybe you punch the writer instead , for creating that kind of character ! Anyways ! Let's stop punching ! XD I really don't have any doubt about
her acting ! I've seen enough of her skills in (Divine Move) and (Killer Toon) action movies ! But hey that character was really a disaster !
(Ko Sung Hee) : thinking carefuly about her acting I don't think she was that bad but she wasn't good enough too ! I think she needs to learn more about natural kind of acting where you can find true emotions through someone's glance or even way of talking ! she couldn't goodly response to the feelings the first male lead sent to her ! (you know what I mean ) comparing to what we saw of her in SPY drama she has improved a lot but has got a long long way to go !
Other actings were also admirable ! thumbs up for them all !

MUSIC : 8/10
WOW ! I loved the unexampled soundtracks !!! And I loved that they were in English ! XD I didn't need to check the meaning anyway ! They really matched with the project.

REWATCH VALUE : 7/10
For director (Kim Cheol Kyu) , this is his first ever action drama (if I'm not mistaken) and as the first one ... let's give him a round of pleasure !
I liked the ending ! it wasn't very special but it was totally suitable .
As I mentioned the storyline isn't processed enough for the whole 16 episodes and it could be even more challenging and thrilling , for the audiences not to feel bored little by little !
Those action things were great and as good as they should be ! I really don't have any negative points to mention about fightings... e.t.c !
I don't have any plans for rewatching this now but maybe I'll give it a try later !
The drama style is my cup of tea , after all !

Thanks for reading my words ! Enjoy your action drama ;) XD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
laylay
7 people found this review helpful
Aug 14, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Out all the korean dramas and movies I have seen, this is the one I love the most. Every each episode was exciting. 1 hour / episode was just too short for me and 16 episodes were too less.. I will definitely rewatch this one! The actors have done a good job and the directors too. The music was good and touching too.
I LOVED IT !! haha I have never been so excited about a korean drama.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
2013started
23 people found this review helpful
Sep 15, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
It was exciting to watch it at first, but after awhile it was just too much frustration after the other... If this was a romcom, I would actually "forgive" the unrealistic plot but this was a crime-suspense-love story so there must be a logic. For all that Kim Mu Yeol does - why he never goes to jail or why the girl (Lee Shi Young) detective is always alone in doing her job and why he is always the one to tag along.

The action fights were very well executed, Kim Mu Yeol, was flawless in his fights.

I just had very high expectations due to the high ratings. Later on the excitement in the beginning was not the same anymore, it just became unrealistic and the unprofessionalism of the lead detective was just too much for me because after all this is a Police Detective story. Cruel City is much better and the momentum was there.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
alm24
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 1, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 4.5
Whoa. Color myself impressed. Considering gritty crime dramas are not my show of choice, this was my first OCN drama.

KMY is beyond excellent. Like seriously, the fact that he hasn't become the hugest of action stars in Korea is a damn shame. Get the man a Jason Bourneesque series STAT.

Okay enough fangirling, as the acting was uniformly excellent across the board. Even the actress who played the wife was hospitable, something I would not have ever thought from seeing her previous attempts at facial expression.

As for the story. Solid. Certainly suffered from the middle episode slow-down, as episodes 7--9 became quite circular and superfluous at points. Chalk it up to yet another drama that would be that much better if it was allowed to break the 16 or 20 episode format (12 episodes would have been perfect).

The universe crafted by this writer is nothing short of a chest full of riches. The amount of interesting characters and organizations remained fascinating. Due to the dark nature of everything, was glad we never lingered on one aspect too long.

Lee si young was great as always. Though her character should have been integrated into the story a bit more; at times she felt like an after thought or just a reactionary character whose only motivations are based on the men surrounding her.

Also, a special mention has to given for this marvelous OST. It's only when you hear something as refreshingly atmospheric that you realize how stagnant most drama OST's are. You won't find any idol ladden love ballads here.


Great addition to the K-crime drama. Perhaps not top tier but certainly worth a watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tony
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 23, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
One of the very best action/romance Korean dramas around.

Pro: It's like a thriller blockbuster expanded into 16 episodes with better suspense than some Hollywood blockbusters. I am in awe.

Con: You will get attached to some of the characters and start banging the wall in exasperation at some of their actions.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Deanna
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I was not going to watch My Beautiful Bride at all. I didn’t have too much interest in watching another revenge, action/thriller sort of drama. But I just tuned in to the first episode for the heck of it and boy was I surprised. I don’t even know why I was surprised. My Beautiful Bride, despite the lame title, was certainly more interesting than I had anticipated. Ever since I finished watching it, it still surprised me that I'd love this drama so much. I give this drama a 10/10. It was worth watching.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BdrMohamed
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 15, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Finally, finished :-) thumbs up for this drama (y)
First, I'd like to say that I am glad that there's new faces in Kdramas that are very promising.
Let's start reviewing this unique awesome drama

PROS:-
1-Actors and Actresses are all great.
2-The plot of the running man trying to save someone and fight evil is really unique here cuz it makes you feel how determined was the hero of this drama.
3-Although there's almost no cute scenes of hugs and kisses the romance here is different it's about how much you do for your lover.

CONS:-
1-Hero's ending was pitiful.
2-I think if there's more episodes it would be even more awesome.

This is a highly recommended drama not every day they broadcast a good drama like this.

Thanks for reading. :-)
Enjooooooy :-D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JimmyChooLove
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 23, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I thought this drama was worth watching, but I really don't think it met it's full potential. I thought it would be like Cruel City, but I didn't find the two shows at all similar. The tone of My Beautiful Bride was great, it was beautifully shot, there was some good acting, but overall I thought it fell short in the storytelling department and was not exemplary in any area.

Some highlights:
- I thought the chemistry and emotional intensity between the main couple was great. It's too bad they actually don't get to spend as much time together on screen as I would have liked.

- The fight scenes were on point. It's kind of just fun watching Kim Mu Yeol beat people up. The fight scenes are really well shot and plentiful.

- I didn't care too much for any of the other side characters but really liked Jo Han Chul as Park Joon Bum. He really made you feel for Joon Bum even though he's really sleazy.

Some low points:
- My main beef with the show was that the plot ended up getting really repetitive. At a certain point it felt like Mario was trying to save the Princess... once Mario defeats the bad guys and gets to the castle, the princess gets moved (by some reason or another) to another castle, and then it starts all of over again. I have no issues with the damsel in distress trope, but I just got really tired of it by the tenth time it happened.

- Cha Yoon-Mi was an awful and sort of a stupid character. I haven't seen anything else Lee Shi Young has been in so I don't know if her role was a poorly written or if she is a bad actor, but Yoon-Mi was billed to be a badass cop and she came off as whiny, mopey, and honestly not very good at her job.

- The story gets overly complicated and introduces a lot of stories without finishing them. We never get to fully understand the ulterior motivations of characters like Do Hyun's mom or Lee Jin Sook. Also Joo Yung's mom is missing during some pretty crucial points in the story. Why? I can only assume so that we can make room for more of Do Hyun fighting bad guys and Chairman Kang eating meat. Both of which are, admittedly, very entertaining.

In summary, i really enjoyed the love story between Do Hyun and Joo Yung, but the present day story of the show is pretty repetitive and a little disappointing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
leanhhf
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 6, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
- The drama is so interesting at the beginning (ep 1-6) and so so in the end (seems like caughting in a vicious circle)
- Main actor Kim Mu Yeol is excellent. His character totally touch my feeling
- The music soundtracks and the scenes here are both other advantages. so amazing
- This drama is worthy to watch (y)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Psychosinner
2 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Ok so I honestly love this show!!! It was exciting, mind blowing action, emotional and gave me all the feels. The romance is EPIC. God. The way he was so crazy about her and I love love love the mystery of not knowing the very person you're married to but then it becomes something so deep thoughtful and just plain brilliant. Shot so well and just BEAUTIFUL. Totally fell in love with the main couple. And the things that happened broke my heart. I started watching and literally could not stop so yeah it's addictive too. Very fast paced and just wow.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RodJun828
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 12, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
One of the best love story I've ever watch. Start watching it now and don't hesitate. I finished it in 2 days which is kinda rare for me lol. It's that good.
Was this review helpful to you?