1% of Anything (2003) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 6.7 (scored by 2,049 users)
  • Ranked: #3603
  • Popularity: #909
  • Watchers: 4,225

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

5 edits
4 edits
2 edits
1 edit

Popular Lists

Related lists from users

Recently Watched By

Completed
midnight101
17 people found this review helpful
Apr 14, 2011
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I really enjoyed this drama. It was one of the first dramas I saw. Since then I have seen quite a few. It is not the best drama out there by any stretch of the imagination, but it is sweet and endearing. When I watch a drama, I am always looking for that emotional connection. If I can't connect with the drama, or care for the characters, no matter how amazing the plot is , it would not be enjoyable for me. With that in mind, this drama still remains one of my favourites. The plot is simple and easy to follow,but plagued with the usual problems that face most Korean dramas, that is, it is uneven and could have had better pacing,slowing down significantly in the later episodes. However this dramas major strenght is its cast. Kang Dong Won is great here as the ill tempered lead, Jae In, who ends up being comical and endearing. It was great seeing him change and evolve as a person as the drama progressed. The main romantic pairing is cute and believable, but most importantly they make you care. You want them to be happy , to succeed. It is a great journey, filled with laughs (you can thank a petulant Jae In for most of those), sighs and a few awwws.Recommended for an easy, heartfilled watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JADE1300
17 people found this review helpful
May 31, 2014
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Main couple had good chemistry straight off the bat. I found the main male character to be adorable as well as being good looking. This is an oldy but goody drama, often compared to as an early version of SHINING INHERITANCE because of similar story line. I found many heart warming ahh moments; and many funny moments, especially during the many family meetings. . I thoroughly enjoyed it, a real feel good ending drama. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Melwill28
10 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2011
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This drama was full of twists and turns. The concept of the parents or grandparents picking their kids/grand-kids life partners is so hard for me to take in. All these dramas w/ the blind dates being set up for ppl to get to know each other for the intent of marriage is like taking away the persons right to love who they want. But it can work out if the person writing the script puts that into the story!



The idea that 1% of anything is worth fighting for just made the drama for me. It totally lets those of us that don't think that way understand the concept of y all these girls in these drama's r so persistent. I don't know any1 who would stay w/ some1 even though they knew they would not get anything in return. I guess the idea that there is always some1 else out there is more common in the US (which is probably y the divorce rate is so high).



Anyway, I loved this and will watch it again. I recommend that every1 give this 1 a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DreamingKoreanBallad
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 31, 2014
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This drama is good if you have been a drama lover for a long time, but I wouldn't recommend it for newbies, the story line can get a bit draggy and the lead girl can get really annoying with the fact that she is overly submissive to her parents, I found the lead guy to be cute and funny with a bit of a temper lol; I personally favored the 2nd couple on the drama over the lead couple, probably because there was more pain involved in their relationship.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pktljames
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2018
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
First, I must admit that I saw the remake of this story before I saw this original version. I absolutely LOVED the remake (Something about 1%), so this version had a lot to live up to in my eyes. And while I like the remake better, this original version is really really good too. The cast is amazing and the story is fun to watch. Since this drama is 15 years old the hairstyles, music, and such are a bit dated, but you can easily overlook that.

The one thing about this version that bugs me just a bit is that the female lead (played by Kim Jung Hwa) is a bit annoying at times in the way she gets angry over things. For example, if something happens that is CLEARLY out of the other persons control, she still likes to harp on it for awhile as if the other person did it on purpose. This is not a reflection on the actress, but the writing. The actress does a great job in the role, but they do give here a few annoying traits like that in the story. However, she is a strong female character and I love that she has no problem going toe to toe with the male lead (played exceedingly well by Kang Dong Won).

If you are looking for a well acted drama that will leave you with a smile, this might just be the one for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
vero112
5 people found this review helpful
Apr 9, 2011
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 4.0


1% of Anything is a typical Korean family drama. It's a drama that explores Korean family interactions with a lot of laughter and love.



PROS:

The plot was simple enough maybe even a bit predictable, but the interactions between Jae In (Kang Dong Wan) and Dada (Kim Jung Hwa) were pretty fun to watch. Jae In was really well portrayed by Kim Dong Wan and he was pretty funny to watch, as his character really stood out in terms of personality. Grandpa was another plus to the drama, in terms of acting.



CONS:

Dada seemed to have a limited range of facial expressions, which slightly annoyed me.

Towards the end of the drama, there was more focus on the side characters, instead of the main couple, which made for some predictable and dull watching.

The OST for this drama was not very memorable at all.





Overall, 1% of Anything is a decent Korean family drama with laughs and love.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
phantom_mom
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 27, 2011
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
There were things off in this, like the acting of some of the characters and some things weren't very logical and romance was a little cheesy and too innocent but I had to score it well because there were a lot of cute scenes and I always like when the male/female leads aren't swayed by other male/female support and that there was trust involved. It seemed a little drawn out and I would have liked to have seen more physical romance but there was a lot of cuteness and cuties and it didn't stress me out in a bad way.
Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 26/26
mebocrazy
4 people found this review helpful
Apr 30, 2011
26 of 26 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 4.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
The story line sounds amazing,unique and quirky. I wanted to watch it instantly, also the female lead is one of my favorites so I thought this show would be fantastic.... It was but in a disappointing way. They just had zero chemistry and the acting left so much to be desired,the story from the moment it began was predictable and completely unoriginal. It almost completely ruined Kim Jung Hwa for me. I know it could of been a billion times better, new writer please.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Daisy Lili
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2017
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a sweet and warm-hearted drama.

Jae In in this version is bad tempred, decisive and cute and a little shy but Jae In in something about 1% (new version) is manly, and he is not childish.

Da Da in the old version is traditional girl, she is a teacher and she acts like a teacher but the new Da Da version is a teacher and she acts like the normal girl. This is the reasons why I love the old version so much.

I love the actors in the old version more than new version. 1% of anything is kind of family drama, it is long but it is worth watching. I love the dialogues and all characters. And the audiences can learn how to love and care for each other through this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
UnderlineDeath
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 30, 2011
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story was really good, although the maybe too many ups and downs. Definately one to watch that makes you feel happy. Some scenes are cringing, like his fashion at times, but the amount of awesome cute moments is the best.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Crisl
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 27, 2019
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
Необычная дорамка. Во первых , потому что 2003 год - вроде бы и не так давно, но разительно отличается по манере съемок. Да и по сути. Она похожа на обыкновенное дневное "мыло" латиноамериканское или наше. Но так как серий все ж поменьше, то и поэнергичней все происходит. Сначала думала, что не осилю, но потом втянулась, уж очень прикольный взаимоотношения главных героев. И он и она и красивы и умны и имеют характер. Как герои так и актеры, наблюдать было одно удовольствие.
Ну и вообще, сподвигло то меня на просмотр то, что мне отрекомендовала красивейший корейский фильм "Дуэлянт", где просто вставило от главного героя. Kang Don Won - вот он главная причина просмотра .
А еще очень интересно показана пресловутая корейская семья, там где родители многое решают за детей, особенно в области брака. Однако, дети, могут и взбрыкнуться, что и много и со вкусом делают. Тут даже есть - представьте - секс до! (за кадром конечно), одна из героинь залетела, чем расстрогала несговорчивых родителей.
Опять показали, что огромную роль играет старшее поколении - дедушки/бабушки круче.Главный дедок (уже третий раз попадается на глаза) сущий Брежнев
С поцелуями все еще совсем плохо, больше обнимашечек. Но дети исправно рождаются.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Klore6
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 20, 2019
26 of 26 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Soy mala para las comedías románticas pero cuando vi en el casting a Kang Dong Woon, no pude resistirme, y me encantó verlo en un drama.
Una historia tierna, que nos cuenta que del odio al amor solo hay un paso... lo malo es que nos sigue mostrando que las mujeres tienden a enamorarse de los "patanes", sin embargo hay algo en los dramas coreanos acerca de ellos... estos "patanes" tiene un corazón amable y cálido, necesitado de amor y lleno de miedo de ser lastimados.
Las actuaciones son entretenidas, y muy diferentes a las que nos han acostumbrado ahora.
De verdad que este drama merecía una nueva temporada, y la hicieron hace poco, y volvió a ser un éxito, porque la historia da para eso, porque nos enseña que de nada sirve cosechar todo el dinero si no tenemos a una persona que nos ame a nuestro lado, que la familia es parte fundamental en nuestras vidas.
Desearía que todas las comedias románticas fueran como esta.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?