Completed
Nikki
50 people found this review helpful
Oct 3, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10

CUTEST THING EVER

This drama just warms my heart! <3

When I heard a Korean bl was coming out I knew it was going to be good. With “Where Your Eyes Linger” still fresh in my mind I was so ready for another amazing Korean bl, and “Mr. Heart” didn’t disappoint. I feel like they could’ve had a better name though, maybe something do with running...but that’s besides the point.

I just finished this drama, and let me tell you, I’m still recovering from the huge amount of adorableness in this drama.

I was so excited for this drama, so I did something I rarely do— watch a drama while it’s airing (because I hate waiting for the next episodes) but I just couldn’t wait! Every episode left me wanting another, and when I finally finished, I was sad that it was over.

The leads have good chemistry and they’re both so adorable! The storyline wasn’t that deep, but obviously the main focus was the romance. I found myself getting attached to the characters, and smiling at the screen allll the time.

I’m definitely rewatching it in the future when I want to feel happy, and I highly recommended it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kate
100 people found this review helpful
Oct 3, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 16
Overall 5.5
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
This review may contain spoilers
I love Sang Ha, I do, but this was painfully mediocre.

My biggest problem was how Sang Ha's story and the romance were disconnected. They felt like two different shows. We had fun comedy and fluff between main leads, and punches and threats with debt collectors. Both put next to each other just didn't click well, since they almost always were presented separately.

The characters were also quite a mess. Sang Ha and Jin Woo had both half a brain cell that they must have shared. The bad guys told you they will ruin Jin Won's chance to win by throwing water at him? You tell Jin Won about it. It's that simple. It's not like his debt was a secret. They could have easily prevented it from happening, without Sang Ha going after first place (good for him tho). Why did he even cut contact with Jin Won after the marathon? His whole logic for winning and paying the debt was to protect Jin Won and be able to keep running with him (as he "passionately" screamed at his face in the last episode)... but then he just left? LoGiC.

Jin Won with the whole "go buy yourself proper new running shoes" when Sang Ha already told him he is running early mornings to deliver milk, because he ain't got money, but he needs to pay the debt. Something didn't click right in Jin Won's brain I guess. Not to mention that punch in the last episode. WHERE THE HECK IT CAME FROM? Not once they hinted that Jin Won might be a one to react aggressively with physical force. And here he is punching a kid in the face. This is called bad writing, ladies and gentlemen.

The debt storyline was truly the worst part that ruined the whole show for me. Why they couldn't keep it simple with a sweet romance is beyond me. The debt collectors went from punching the kid in the face, to crying when he finally paid it off, giving some bullshit, out of place, emotional reaction. Not to mention, apparently in Korea, when your parents die when you are in middle school, you don't go to an orphanage or foster family. You are left alone to deal with it... Go figure

It had some cute moments, I'm not gonna lie, but instead of watching the whole show, you could watch the highlights on youtube. Even the last scene had to be ruined by making them run in semi formal clothes ON A DATE. We get it, they are runners. Damn the writers... Why?

Get rid of the debt angst story, use the few minutes you gained to develop the relationship a bit more, and it would be easily 9/10 for me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kas
21 people found this review helpful
Jan 28, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Open your damn eyes please!!

(Only minor spoiler) All the BL fans here rating it 9 and 10,, I just–
don't get how?

The storyline was such a mess. Characters weren't even properly contructed, it was like too many things coming together but making nothing out of it? Unnatural. Yes, that's the word.

I had such high expectations after seeing all the reviews but man, sorry to say but such low standards guys really!

The cringe was real and the ml Jin Won was really living on just one braincell.
The flashbacks and episodes were so confusing, atleast for me and most of time I was just wondering, "why the f*ck do we need that situation?"

Like the whole loan shark case really disturbed the show for me. I didn't feel anything for that angst. And again, Jin Won really made me frustrated like boi Sang Ha told you his whole life story but in the end again you still stayed dependent on that one braincell of yours rather than paying attention.

They could've just developed a sweet fluffy genre of the drama and it would easily cross more than 8 stars but sigh..really poorly written. Just cuz it's a BL, it doesn't have to 'SO AMAZING AND CUTE', I hardly could bare watching those 8 episodes of 10 minutes. So, yea, please consider the plot and background too!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Julicia
17 people found this review helpful
Sep 27, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 6.5

Lee Se Jin is extremely cute.♡

So, ofcourse it is a BL Korean Drama and my first time watching Korean BL dramas. I usually watch Thai BL dramas but this one is extremely sweet and refreshing. I really like this one even though it is very short for each episode maybe because the company is new but this drama really needs more episodes. The pair really intrigued my attention. HE IS SO CUTE (sorry for shouting).
This review is not about the plot. The setting is really original for me. Most bls' settings are mostly similar. Jinwon is a runner and has problems sleeping and pacing himself and that is where his soulmate comes in . He is a pacemaker because of Jinwon^_^. No spoilers..
In conclusion I am waiting on the next episode.
So to conclude watch it because why not,plus ur bored and I am new to writing reviews.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
yoonthethicc Flower Award1
11 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
in summary, this is a fluffy drama that could've done well without the gangsters debt plot that didn't do anything to the relationship between the main leads.

i was actually enjoying this for like five episodes because everything was cute, sunshine and rainbows with just a tad bit of angst sprinkled in there. it's nice to shut your brain off for a short period of time and this was the perfect moment to do that.

the romance was pretty underwhelming ngl... it was just the usual cliché scenes where the leads have convenient moments where they're on top of each other on the bed or the "oH i suddenly lost balance uh oH he caught me by my waist"
is it cute? yes. did i like it? yes. but is there more to their romance than just them teasing each other and suddenly falling in love for some reason? idk.

but like i said.... this is just a non complicated fluffy drama anD it could've been just that!
buT No they had to insert these gangsters that literally didn't do anything to the main leads' story... it was there for the tension and that's just it
ya know what would've made a good angsty bit? if they focused on jinwon and his past with his dad... so it'll affect his running practices and it'll also create an emo convo between the main leads... that would've been a good scene of the two learning about each other

jinwon's character was honestly dull as heck... i do like me some tsunderes but danggg that scene of him pushing that carton of milk causing it to spill on the floor pissed me off.... dude ya do know sangha spends everyday delivering milk to make a living and you are aSKing him why he does what he does and then waste that carton of milk???? boi you ungrateful af i would've left your ass right then and there

it made no sense why sangha didn't talk to jinwon after the marathon? i don't understand at all. please explain it to me like i'm 5 because i fail to comprehend why after sangha wanting to be by jinwon's side and now that he's finally done with his debt issue, he changed his door password and stopped interacting with jinwon?

okay last episode.... why did jinwon slap/punch sangha? bruh i get that some peeps get aggressive with cute stuff but geez chill
they should've cut that part out and left it with last minutes of that scene with them being cute sigh...

the ending scene lmaooo it was cringeworthy it almost felt like it could've been an ad for a shoe company

if you're watching this, just remember this is nothing out of the extraordinary. it's simple. it's cute. it's what it is.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JakeThomasWarner
8 people found this review helpful
Oct 5, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 5.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0

This had so much potential but the writers messed up big time!

I was excited that there is one more BL from Korea. And after Where your Eyes Linger, I had high hopes because that show was fantastic! But boy was I disappointed!

The only plus point of this story was the character of Sang Ha, rest everything didn't click. The other male lead was just not good.

The story and writing was everywhere and a big mess! Multiple plot lines without any connection between them. Plus there was no chemistry between the leads - it felt that they were just acting since it's their job. Where your eyes linger had everything going for it - great chemistry between the 2 leads, and equally good storyline as well as the supporting cast. But Mr. Heart was meh!

You can watch it one time when you just want to kill time - as the episodes are only 7 to 10 mins long (had it been long like Thai BLs, I would not have recommended even to watch).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KimKam
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 3, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Short, sweet, to the point

This show checked all the boxes for me. Casting was a hit, OST got stuck in my head, and the story was refreshing and cute. I understand people not giving this a full 10 stars because it was short and I feel there was some room for more development, but for me they nailed it.

I really loved the development of the relationship between Jinwon and Sangha. It felt really natural to me to see Jinwon slowly realize that what he was feeling for Sangha was love after getting to know him and realizing that Sangha had been silently supporting him for so long. But then the scene at the end where he says that he didn’t understand why Sangha was so wrapped up in his life and that’s why he had trouble accepting his feelings?? That felt SO authentic for me. I think that in a relationship between adults it’s so important for both parties to have their own dreams and aspirations. For me that’s what really differs between relationships between kids/teenagers and relationships between adults, they have to find that middle ground where they love each other and want to be together while still having their own lives. It’s not healthy to live only for the happiness/success of your partner, and I feel that this show really handled that so well.

That being said, I, too, wish this was longer! I’d love to see some content of Jinwon and Sangha training together as rivals and then racing together but against each other. I also wish that there had been a little more drama after the race with Jinwon finding out about the moneylender guy basically forcing Sangha to run. I’d have liked to see him get real defensive when finding out that they basically snatched Sangha and beat him up a little. I feel like that was a bit of a missed opportunity, which is why I gave the story 9 stars instead of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lemontime
4 people found this review helpful
Feb 16, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
This review may contain spoilers

A filler drama series

It's a cool short drama, the story was indeed all over the place, I keep questioning myself about things they should do if they had the mental capacity to think about it like Sang Ha should've borrowed money from Jin Won and things but I guess he doesn't want money to defined their relationship which is understandable but unpractical, I'm pretty sure Jin Won would know the situation and understand it cause Sang Ha pretty much told him already and besides he's filthy rich and all. But I guess the series is not good because of the short time, I don't know why it was short? Is this like just a special program or something for gay viewers lol. Anyways, It's a so-so drama, I'm not that new to BL series even though I am gay and I think it's just a filler drama for me to watch.

The highlight of the drama is the OST of "Fly high, up into the sky" , and the other song too was good, even if this drama is forgettable, I think the main OST will be the main reason why I will remember it, It's so good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JiaYou
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 3, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked it. I actually find it cute. It's really not the best out there but it's a good watch to pass time. This is way too short to put on more details and substance into it but they made it work anyhow. I wished this was longer though so that we can see the characters more fleshed out. The acting is serviceable. The guy who played Sanha carried this show. He was the one who displayed a wide range of emotions in this very very short series. Chemistry-wise, I think the main couple looked good together.

It's a fluff-fest and no-brainer watch.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KAVO
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 23, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Sets the Gold Standard in BL Dramas

"Mr. Heart" sets a new gold standard among the BL dramas I've seen. It hit all the right notes. There are some minor issues with the way the sub-plot of the loan sharks doesn't quite mesh with the rest of the story, but I'll give them a pass on that. Somehow "Mr. Heart" manages to dodge the usual pitfalls in these stories. For example, in formula BL stories there's always a scene like after a drunken night out the two guys wake up the next morning in bed together then freak out when they see each other naked. These scenes are just nonsense. Ironically, "Mr. Heart" overcomes this cliche perfectly with the two guys hanging out in a Jjimjilbang (spa). Excellent writing. What can I say about Lee Se Jin as Sang Ha. He nails this character. When he's not in a scene, you can't wait for him to appear again. While he's slightly less masculine than the Jinn Won character, he doesn't cross into the Uke stereotype. Cheon Seung Ho has the always thankless role of the bully love interest. Thankfully his character gets in touch with his feelings early on and doesn't go down the usual dramatic path of overcompensating. In fact, Jin Won's private enjoyment of Sang Ha's affections, as in the couple of bed scenes, is beautifully directed. We rarely get to see through the bravado of these bully characters until late in the drama. In full disclosure the English subtitles stopped working about 2/3 into the story, so I had to guess what happens from the action on screen. I hope to see the rest of this drama with subtitles some day. Korea could take the crown away from Thailand for BL dramas if they can keep this high standard. Update: I did get to see it with the rest of the subtitles. The film is cinematic enough that I guessed what the dialogue was pretty closely. The sub-story of the debt still seems like an afterthought, never fully in sync with the love story. Jin Won punching Sang Ha in the face in the final scene is out of character and undermines the audience's support for his character. No doubt the director wanted to show Jin Won's frustration but that could have been done just as well with a shove to the shoulder. Violence and love are an incompatible mix, like oil and water. That said, the final scene is very sweet. The movie is worthy of multiple viewings. I hope they'll release it on Bluray or DVD.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rachell 3210 Flower Award1
8 people found this review helpful
Oct 2, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 5.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0

Your Basic Fluff Story

For only 8 episodes, I don't expect much as Korean BLs are new to the market. Following the success of Where Your Eyes Linger which I find it pretty decent and okay (nothing special about that for the plot) this BL decides to go on another route providing us with a more light-hearted and fluff love story between a pacemaker named Sang Ha and a marathon runner, Jin Won who's very passionate about running and wanting to become a superstar, something I can never relate to because running doesn't exist in my dictionary.

I'm probably one of the minorities who aren't a huge fan plot-wise. The plot is messy and tried to add many things all at once which made me pissed off. For an 8 episode series, you don't need to ruin it, It felt like a bad taste of mashed potatoes. Super fluff stories are not really my thing because I like to give myself pain and angst when watching any shows basically (BL included) and go through the roller coaster of emotions with a happy ending included.

I didn't care much about the characters there, their relationship happened with a blink of an eye which made me not interested in their relationship LOL and it was so cliche. It was probably due to the lack of time given in the series so I can't blame them. The overdramatic debt scene ruined it and hence, I felt like their love story makes no sense.

Overall, I find it okay and I'm glad it's not unproblematic and it sticks to what the story plans to be all about for their theme, FLUFF. It's not my thing I guess. The music is good though. Korean BLs never fail to not impress me with that. BL Superfans can give this to support the Korean BL market but don't expect too much from it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Grimmz
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 3, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
That was very common. Just a light-hearted story.

Acting was decent but I never really felt for the characters and the scenario didn't help on this point, the story had no real stake.
The subject was interesting but with not the better built for me. I have seen better korean sport drama as Skate (the one release during Winter Olympics Games).

Soundtracks were not my cup of tea . Sometimes the "violin classic kind of music" seems to be there just to fill the lack of stakes.

I won't rewatch it but I'm sure that will find its public.
Was this review helpful to you?
Mr. Heart (2020) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 26,074 users)
  • Ranked: #4443
  • Popularity: #270
  • Watchers: 42,719

Top Contributors

31 edits
26 edits
24 edits
16 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2790 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
220 titles 946 loves 6

Recently Watched By