Completed
HopefullyWell
49 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers

Korea once again delivered.

The poster captivated me into watching this and I couldn’t find the right words to describe the series as a whole – it was not perfect but far from bad. I do not know why but it feels like something is missing throughout watching. I wasn't that hooked up, unlike the other ones that I've watched. One thing is for sure, Korea served us one great plot.

For the story, I do not have anything much to say. It was cute and somehow fluffy. Once again, I like to point how most Korean BLs including this one stays away from a school setting. I love how each series produced by Korea explores or tackles a unique plotline. Far from cliches and third parties whatsoever. And given that Korea or most Koreans are conservative, I loved how they didn’t incorporate the idea of homophobia throughout the series, it felt like they were in a world without judgement. The story is cohesive.

I like how they incorporated dancing into the story. The character’s lives were completely opposite but they found the right spot to meet in the middle and change each other. The pacing was quite good given that the length of the whole series is just like a movie. They didn’t put unnecessary scenes as fillers to make it longer and they maximized the time they have to deliver a considerably good series.

The actors fit their roles, not to mention their visuals. But in terms of skills, they were able to portray their character nicely, I am satisfied with how they executed emotional scenes, it didn’t feel awkward at all. It seemed natural.

I do not have any comments about cinematography, camera angles, OSTs, and other technical aspects, they were okay to me.

Overall, this is a good watch if you do not have anything much to do. Korea once again delivered a good one. The title really fits the story because they do make each other’s heart dance.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sandi
33 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0

Something good, something for the summertime

This was a beautiful show, sadly i feel it was overshadowed by more popular shows airing at the same day such atoats and wbl.

The first 4 episodes were okay but nothing too exciting imo, i think towards the past 4 episodes the show started to set its foundation and it worked well in the end. Now that ending was skeptical cause that build up only for it to end because of a podcast was lazy writing but you gotta have something right. Actors were really good at their roles, i felt really emotional with both of them especially son oh and wow his dancing was great really wish he gets to shine more in bigger kdramas. Hong really did a good job too, his smile is so amazing omg i literally couldn't.

The one thing id say i didnt like about this show was the pacing was much more slower in the beginning than towards the end. But overall a really cute and good show i want to see more of them ik future k dramas.

7X KISSES PEOPLE LETS CELEBRATE THAT

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lovingit1962
17 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

An Interesting Unique Korea Drama

The title of "You Make Me Dance" caught my attention. Because I love dance movies/dramas. The story between the debtor and creditor was unique. I loved the chemistry between Song Shi On and Jin Hong Seok. In episode 6, Song Shi On had touched my heart when he was pretending to be have been talking to his mom on the phone. His mom has left him after she had gotten remarried and has changed her number in the process. Also, in episode 6, when he had injured his ankle by a jealous rival, I really didn't think that he would achieve his dream of getting the main lead. I am very please with how the director So Joon Moon illustrated the ending. I wish that the drama could have been longer than 14 mins and have more than 8 episodes. I really enjoyed the storyline of this drama, and I will definitely rewatch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kate Flower Award1
41 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 5.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 2.5

Setting that was impossible to execute well.

I want to start with the disclaimer that it's a completely personal and subjective review. For some strange reason the first two episodes just made me feel extremely uncomfortable and I cannot even explain why, but I was barely able to finish them.

My biggest problem was the set up for the two main characters which led to a questionable power difference that needs good writing and enough screen time to execute well. We didn't have it here. With that, the dynamics between Shi On and Hong Seok felt off. Everything was rushed and I could not stop myself from saying: this would never ever happen in reality. This is just ridiculous.

Many actions done by the characters were there simply as a lead up for cute moments and interactions or for the plot to progress, but from a logical standpoint, they should not exist.

I would be lying if I said I didn't like anything about the show. Some scenes were truly adorable and I found the chemistry between the two main actors quite nice. Sadly, all of that was surrounded by too fast of a pace with not enough content to make it make sense. The plot wasn't even fast-forwarded to ridiculous speed. We literally jumped through time and space and plot points.

The character that made the least sense to me was Cha Soo Ryeon. She flip-flopped and did some massive 180s here and there, and nothing was organic, cohesive and fitting the story.

The acting was nice. Fanny enough, my favorite performance award goes to Lex, who played Jung Hoon - Shi On's dance classmate. The few scenes he had, he has done justice to. I also enjoyed Chu Young Woo's performance in the last episode.

Overall, it's just a nonsensical show. The performances were nice, the editing was ok, but the writing and directing just left a lot to be desired. If you watch it for the two main leads and their fluffy scenes you will most likely enjoy it, but if you look for anything that has a good structure of the story and characters - this will fail your expectations.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zazza
12 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5

Short but mesmerizing.

Firstly, I heard that it's produced by the same company as 'where your eyes linger' and 'Mr. heart' but with a different director. And as I expected, they're properly made (not likely "high quality" content, but "okay quality"). Tbh, it feels like a fanfic or AU that brought to life.

The story, I do think that the main idea of a debtor and the owed is interesting, especially on EP. 1, it might look stupid for some reason, but I couldn't find this unique scene in any other drama. No shade. I heard that Shi On suppose to be a swimmer, but they changed to a contemporary dancer and it's a great choice. For the cast, I don't really have a problem with it, they're perfect. Acting-wise, some scenes look a bit stiff (it might be cuz the angle or other reasons). Also, their character and chemistry build progress is slow and confusing. But it doesn't make me lose interest in it.

The music, it's suitable but there is a phrase 왜 안되니 that make me quite uncomfortable hearing it (maybe I watch too much comedy-drama), but other than that reason, it's all inside my playlist by now. It supports the dialogue well, and I like it. Am I going to re-watch it?! Yes, I'm. The first and 2 last episodes are really right up my alley.

And, the main problem is it's too short, the 8 episode. It's kinda rushing at the 2 last episodes and feels kinda stuffy. IDK why a lot of drama choose this path. Also, I hope when they decide to make it as a movie, that really remake it (even though I know it will never happen).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PPBongi
5 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

A Captivating and Beautiful Love Story

This is a stunningly and beautiful series that is nearly flawless. It is so beautifully choreographed and great story telling as well. There is such a strong and amazing connection between the two characters that in reality affects everyone else around them. Such a deep connection exists between them that you want to believe it was destiny and 'the red string' that makes it all so magical. The two actors brought such life to these roles and a strong sense of believability and realism. To say that that they are stunningly handsome would sound not like a compliment . Those are inadequate words to describe both their inner and outer beauty. The title of this series ties in so well with the meaning of this series as well.

If yo want to review my complete review of this marvelous series, please read it at BLBliss.com.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ophelio
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 20, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5

You Make me Insane- “You Make me Dance”, you make my heart dance… they got me.

So… You make me dance drove insane cause I needed a least two more eps. It felt rushed, and it’s understandable, filmed during the pandemic and all. I’d rather this than “Ben x Jim” type of series.

This was good, THAT LAST EPISODE GOT ME ROLLING. I HAD ALLERGIES SO I WAS CRYING X2. I think two more eps would have push the series to a more developed type of script.

The acting was a little uncomfortable (?) at times, but hey! They had chemistry. I think the problem was mostly the running time. The friend/villain was weak and the woman too, but like it wasn’t annoying in the sense of, “I really can’t keep watching this” but more to the “they really are weak, lol”. Idk if y'all get me.The two actors are good, Chu was so good in that last ep. damn boy!!.

Now, the plot, it was… Rushed too. You can tell, expanding on the eps would have make the plot feel more vivid. The mother issue was kinda well developed, like they knew where it was going and how to make us suffer (yeah that’s me) but at the same time they didn’t…?
The direction as well, was a little doubtful, certain shots were just unnecessary, but something that I loved was that the director had both actors in the same frame, it felt natural and beautiful.

Would I recommend this BL? OF COURSE, FOR THE GAYS AND THE LGBTQ+ yes, of course. Would I say this is the best korean bl? No, but is it bad? No, I would watch those two last eps for the rest of my life. Would I give this bl an 8? Yes, cause it was good, not OVER GOOD, but GOOD.

follow alienwms on tumblr for other BLs reviews

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jpny01
8 people found this review helpful
Mar 20, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

Beautiful Story

Some people think this series is too short, but I don't understand that. I think everyone has grown used to a formula which includes a set number of side couples & plots and certain milestones that always occur. A story isn't necessarily better if there are twelve 45-minute episodes (of which .5 minutes opening disclaimer, 2.5 min opening credits, 3-5 minutes of "previous episode" scenes, 15 minutes of product placement, and 5 minutes of end credits) - in fact if we really look at "standard" BL series, they are a bit of a narrative mess with some huge artificial crisis inserted in Ep 10 which then chews up all the rest of the time so that there doesn't have to be any actual affection shown onscreen except a final kiss.

Anyway, on to this show. The story is succinct, sharply-written, well-paced, thematically disciplined, and backstory remains backstory, e.g. it doesn't matter what exactly happened to anyone's mother - her absence is what's important and the impact it has on the character. The only thing perhaps lacking was some resolution with the film's villain (not the CEO, who really isn't a villain - I mean the other dancer), but this is not really important. It might have been fun to see more development of Hong Seok's modeling "career", but again, not important.

The acting is very good, the chemistry is excellent, and this is something you can binge, as the run time is roughly 105 minutes, which is a long-ish film. Highly recommended. There is also progress here in that this doesn't shy away from physical aspects of love - it's not graphic by any means, but the kisses are kisses, and very natural, as opposed to the creepy rubber-lip connect with eyes open you see so often. I'm really impressed that this is Chu Young Woo's first role - he has a real charm and presence. Not hard to look at, either.

A few minor criticisms:

The music was at times too overpowering - especially when there are lyrics and conversation happening at the same time. I think maybe the Hong Seok role was played a little too dry - it worked most of the time, but I would have liked some subtle expression to show his inner feelings - this was mostly conveyed through actions, and while that's fine for the beginning, it might have connected me more to the story to see directly into his mind (through his acting). Also, the shaky-cam needs to go. In that confrontation in the last episode, I was getting sick - if you have to use that effect - not quite so violent, please. I think the same thing can be accomplished through irregular camera angles, but whatever. Also, they should get some space heaters. You'll know what I mean when you watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Paffy
5 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers

A great show but could've been better

I must admit that I quite liked the show. Mainly for the acting of the two leads. They were really great and communicated a lot of the emotions really well, even without words... What was lacking was the pacing and story of the show.
I mean, it starts quite slow - which is not a problem, if the show is at least 10 eps and the build up pays off, but here it is eight 15min episodes... SO SHORT! - and in the final two or three episodes it is all soooo rushed.
We do not have the dancing school developed at all, not even the relationships at the school. We just see one lunch scene and then the one douchebag (being a douchebag like two or three times) and that's it. Nothing more. It just kinda ends without any depth or resolution. There is not much attention to the bullying or rivalry, it just disappears. We do not even see the rivalry at the final dance competition... Nothing.
I was also confused when our ML hurt his leg, was visibly limping and then just aces the audition? Like, hello?
As for the relationship of the two men, it was nice, cute even. But the series should've been longer. I mean, in the last two episodes so much happens that I was just baffled at the development. They kiss (also, I am afraid that the kiss from To My Star will not be topped for a looong period of time... here it was quite lacking, but whatever - physical contact is not everything), then they are quite cold to each other, then they touch, kiss, presumably have sex (YAAAS! Finally, not just a smooch), then they "break up"... Like, what? I mean, it was so rushed. And the end was so forced for them to have a happy ending. I feel like we could even get a bad ending and a possibility of some second season... please? Where they would meat a few years later. Still finding out they love each other... hm? No, here the plot device is a literal podcast. Which is cute but also so weird. Like, how the loan shark boss is okay with our ML just going for the debtor when a few episodes back it was such an issue...
Please, make your series longer so that the plot development makes sense. OR make the story way simpler so that all the complications and "rising action" reaches climax and also a resolution... then we, the audience, are satisfied. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
EMINA
5 people found this review helpful
Mar 20, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0

A good idea but average execution.

The idea and concept for this drama is actually really good and mature. however its execution is unsatisfactory.
The actual drama and action (basically the interesting parts) were crammed in the last 2 episodes while every other episode in the beginning is just boring and a waste of time. Maybe if the storyline was balanced out abit more it would be more interesting. i think its worth a watch if you have 2 hours to spare but theres no rush to watch this.
the acting was good, i think the writers could do a better job in keeping the personalities of the characters more consistent but other than that i dont think the cast and characters are a problem.
(also theres alot of unnecessary "flashack" scenes, the time could have been utilized better. i noticed there are weird skips and transitions from one scene to another due to lack of time but it could have been fixed by lessening the flashbacks.)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Unpopularopinionbydemand
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 13, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Cute and Simple Love Story

You Make Me Dance was a magical love story between a debtor and a creditor. Once again, Korea is serving with these amazing BL love stories that they have been putting out lately, and this one is not short of that at all. Shi On and Hong Seok are brought to the screen with so much story to tell, and they executed it beautifully.

Let's Dive In.

The only real argument I have is that it was too short. I believe that they have recently turned it into a movie, so good for them, but I still wished for there to be either more episodes or a longer running time. However, the showrunners did an amazing job at the pacing of the show. Nothing felt too slow or too fast, and there weren't any filler moments or extraness that wasn't needed, and because of that, the plot flowed very easily and nicely.

The actors did an amazing job, and I could really feel their emotions through the phone. Young Woo would have to be the better actor in my opinion. Especially since this was his debut series, I can't wait to see him in future projects. The only negative I can say is that while this is supposed to be a story about a dude following his dream of becoming a dancer, Young Woo was obviously not one. Most of his moves were very sloppy and not put together at all, but again, this is super nit-picky. (It might've even been pretty neat if they used an actual professional dancer..?)

The chemistry between the two wasn't all too noticeable up until about episode 4 and then it starts getting better. Granted, the pinky scene on the bus was the cutest moment ever between them. I liked how they were both completely different, yet when they were together, they balanced off of one another and created really nice moments. My only argument would have to be the last episode. only twelve minutes to go, and all of a sudden Hong Seok just ups and wants to break up. Obviously, it was because of his boss, but I wish I would have seen more of that conflict in his emotions, specifically when he was in bed with Shi On would've been perfect cause it would've led the audience to believe that something was about to happen. I think the ending was super cute even though it was a bit too "Disney" if that makes sense.

Overall, this was a really easy watch and a quick one too. I would definitely recommend this for someone wanted to see something lighthearted and happy. While I really did enjoy this, I think this series doesn't stand out too much from the others that we've seen like Mr. Heart or Where You Eyes Linger, so it'll probably be forgotten about, but for the time that I spent with it, I've had much fun.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lyson
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 9, 2023
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

They Understood the Assignment

I'm surprised this isn't way more popular. It's short yes, but in that short time these two ML's played out a story with more feels and chemistry than most full length BL shows these days.

THE GOOD:
- The two ML's seemed very comfortable with each other as actors, but as the episodes go on we also see the characters become more comfortable with each other.
- The writers and directors seem to know that a lot can be conveyed in simple touches, looks, smile and sweet kisses, far more effectively than any heavy petting, and they took good advantage of that.
- The dancing theme doesn't overwhelm the short story, it's only shown to a necessary degree.
- I don't know if Shi On's actor is a dancer irl, but he looked and played the part well enough to be believable.
- Once they got past their respective hang ups, the acceptance of their relationship was easy, no hemming and hawing and dragging it out.

THE (not so) BAD:
- Obviously, the episodes are very short, but this only really affected the final episode, because Hong Seok's leaving and returning happened in a rushed space of time. But that ending bit was the only real part where it felt rushed for me. Nothing major though, because the show still tied up very nicely.

Nothing ugly here, not even the 'bad' characters were really that bad. Just general crappy people.

HIGHLIGHT:
- In Hong Seok's office, that first lean in kiss, and the follow up kiss after Hong Soek pulled Shi On back, had a very intense and charged atmosphere. It was a really great first kiss scene. Too many first kisses in these shows are all slow mo, close up, too drawn out and focused on bright lighting and perfect aesthetics, but in this show, it looked like a natural scene and I felt it was acted and timed well. It achieved the feeling of the moment between the characters and it flowed smoothly.

I would recommend this for watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You Make Me Dance (2021) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 22,196 users)
  • Ranked: #3838
  • Popularity: #330
  • Watchers: 37,905

Top Contributors

41 edits
32 edits
22 edits
19 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2791 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
220 titles 949 loves 6

Recently Watched By