Completed
yeon
23 people found this review helpful
Jul 6, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I love every single second of this movie!
The chemistry between the leads were amazing and they look great together.
The storyline was simple but good. There are some funny moments.
The pacing doesn't felt too rushed. However probably because of the short duration, there's some unexplained plot holes.

I truly love the OST, especially "I'll Be There" by Johnny.

Overall, it's a short feel good drama.
If you want to watch this, I'd recommend this movie version rather than the series.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ShanTeaTime
16 people found this review helpful
Apr 5, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

Superior As A Film, Still Wanted To See More

I continue to have a bone to pick with Korean BL's or LGBTQ content. IT'S NOT LONG ENOUGH!!! Why dude, why you gotta dangle this stuff in front of our faces for literally 15 minute episodes!? That's not okay and it needs to change. These series are worth it! However, a slight solution to this is that they also released it in this film version. Which is 2 hours long all together, so it actually works better as the film! Totally recommend watching it this way instead of being broken up. Better flow, better overall experience.

Moving on. This didn't feel cheaply done at all. Sometimes you can tell BL's or lgbtq stories aren't done with much of a budget. This was shot nicely and has a lot of scenic shots of Seoul. The couple we get is a case of opposites attract, which is funny to watch and interesting. I liked their back and forth a lot! We see them start to bond more, where Ji Woo even starts to get protective over Seo Joon. I find it funny too that both these actors were in "Tale of the Nine Tailed", one as a supporting role and the other occasional cameo.

I liked seeing Seo Joon's struggle with losing fame. You can tell he's kinda lost, but still trying to keep up the luxurious happy persona. I wish we would've gotten even more of that to be fleshed out, because you can go so far with that alone. We got some of the drawbacks on screen of fame, but not enough! I also appreciated his characters confidence in himself. There's no question whom he's attracted to and he's not afraid of showing it. Though he will protect Ji Woo's privacy if needed, which I also appreciated seeing. Ji Woo was an interesting character. He's actually quite cruel with his words at certain parts of this series/film. To where you really feel bad for Seo Joon! However, he does it because he's so walled up emotionally and used to being alone. Literally doesn't know how to communicate with people very well, its totally understandable and he grows so much! Seeing him at the end, I felt so proud of him and happy that he finally had things to smile about in his life.

The whole plot with the controversy (like I briefly mentioned) was so Korea. Meaning that Korea specifically tends to take controversies (big or small) and run with them, potentially ruining reputations. It was done really well and when you find out the cafe owner was also a betrayer, it hurts! The price of fame is very large. I liked watching it all play out. Finally, hello last episode/end scene chemistry! Like dang lol but I wish it wasn't held off until literally the last part of this and especially during the last like 5 minutes! That whole couple exchange was so good and I was holding my breath. I think that might be the most I've seen from a Korean drama series thus far, let alone a BL concerning real sexual intimacy ("You Make Me Dance" was another one that showed more). Even if it was just some rolling around and flirtatious discussion about things. I know this probably won't get another season...but please give it another season/film! XD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mistress
20 people found this review helpful
Apr 1, 2021
Completed 7
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

Not Like Other Korean BLs That's For Sure!

I would say watch it if you're hesitant to do so, the actors had great chemistry and the story line was good.

I know Korean BLs existed before 2019 and gave us better kissing scenes(e.g: long time no see)than the recent Korean BLs(e.g: Mr heart and Where your eyes linger). To My Star set high standards for the next Korean Bls to come when it comes to kissing scenes.

I was expecting the characters to just place their lips on one another and just stand still, so imagine the high pitch scream that flew out my mouth when the boys gave us lip action. I fell off my bed and turned into a happy wiggling worm because WOW! I'm blushing as I write this tbh! To prove that they set the standards high, You Make Me Dance did not disappoint as well when in came to the kissing scenes(AND THEY EVEN DID A WHOLE: IT'S GETTING HOT IN HERE, SO TAKE OF ALL YOUR CLOTHES!! I AM GETTING SO HOT I'M GONNA TAKE MY CLOTHES OFF!)but enough of me talking about the kissing scenes, the show was more than that.

I'm not gonna lie though, I had to rewatch the last 2 episodes in order to understand what happened. Out of nowhere this reporter showed up to warn our main protagonist. I was so confused but after I watched it the second time it all made sense(not saying it'll be the same for you though).
The antagonist and the reporter talking in English was also very weird and somewhat funny for me. No let me be honest, I laughed my head off because it was so sudden and awkward.

I wish we found out more about why our main lead was terrified of breaking glass. That's (I think)the only thing they didn't explain and I feel it would have made the story even more wholesome.

I would recommend this bl.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mil
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 29, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

Yes you earn some stars

In appearance To My Star is exactly the same as the other 6 or 7 BL Korean dramas in this “miniseries” format, but in reality it is much more, I am not saying that those other series are bad or not very entertaining or anything like that is simply that they have repeated the formula ad nauseam and it seems that they do not create these types of stories because they have something to contribute and it is simply because they are popular and point to a booming market at this time. Despite all this, if it is a miniseries/film which limits some aspects by having a short duration, I think it is superior to its peers.

The story, Seo Joon and Ji Woo have very different lives seen from one angle and very similar seen from the other, one is a celebrity who is struggling with defamation and harassment, the other is a not very successful chef; both men live lonely lives, have small social groups and have a hard time trusting people, but once their paths cross, things will never be the same for either of them.

One of the cliches of these Korean BL series is that the characters always end up living together for one reason or another, and this is no exception, Seo Joon and Ji Woo are forced to live together and in the first instance receive a kind of lesson humility on the part of the other, even though Ji-woo's personality is not very pleasant initially, Seo-joon is intrigued by him and does what he can to get along especially when he realizes that he is a trustworthy person and out of the facade Ji-woo is a good boy so he doesn't make things too difficult either.

Having established this point, the characters actually coexist a lot not only due to the fact that they live in the same house but also because they start working in the same restaurant since Seo-joon is looking to learn new skills while solving his problems with the press, gradually learning from each other and they feel hopelessly attracted.

One of the successes of the series is the rhythm, unlike others the revelation of feelings does not happen in the last chapter more or less a two thirds of the narration the characters begin to develop feelings directly, which makes the plot more interesting.

After going through their respective dose of drama, the characters can finally be together and in fact lead a peaceful and beautiful life, as the two complement each other in many ways.

The acting is good, the chemistry is one of the best I've seen in the Korean BL, the personalities of the characters feel natural, at no point are they over-acting and you manage to connect with them, plus their dramatic moments if it feels genuine. And despite its short duration, they still include important topics such as the fragility of fame, the harassment of famous people, loneliness, extortion and how easy it is to lose or win the love of the public by mere rumors. Even so, the character of Ji-woo deserves more development. There are a couple of things that are not clear about his life at the end of the series.

The production quality is also good, although this is a section in which it is difficult to find a Korean series on any subject that fails, in that sense they are very neat, at least for productions that go out to the international market, the photography, the assembly and the ost comply, they make the story more enjoyable and the dialogues are very good, they are not uncomfortable or anything like that.

In general, I like this story a lot, although it is nothing to write home about or something that has never been seen, it is well told and well acted, I managed to connect with the story and the characters.

And bravo for a kiss well given, generally I do not care if the series has kisses or not, but if it is going to include them, do it well, make it look natural and credible.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
virgievirgie
4 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

Better than the average Korean BL

Completed - 3/19/2022 - 8.25

It's nice to watch a Korean BL about mature adults and not in any school setting. This is a very short series/movie and I usually prefer the movie version, as the short weekly episodes could feel disjointed at times. I find this drama/movie better than the average Korean BL I've seen. To me, it's better than "You Make Me Dance" and a LOT better than "Tasty Florida".

For a low budget web drama, the production quality appears pretty decent. Nothing feels cheap at all and all the food scenes look good and delicious. Looking at the filmography of both male leads, it's no wonder I quite enjoy their acting. Both are quite experienced with other movies/dramas under their belts, and not newbies to the industry. Most of the times, acting seems to be weakest in Korean BL dramas. Comparatively, I think the acting in "Where Your Eyes Linger" is a little better.

The story is quite simple, but I don't find it cringey or cliche. The romance progresses well and I don't feel that it happens suddenly, esp. when this is a very short drama/movie. My only major criticism is the English-speaking girl. I can understand the debt situation but who is that girl? She seems to be a very useless character and doesn't add anything to the drama/movie at all.

Overall, this is a light-hearted and easy watch and I would recommend if you needed something short to watch to kill time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ina_2021
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 30, 2021
Completed 4
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Charming, feel good, refreshing, mature characters, for adult BL viewers

The current MyDrama plot summary sounds to me a bit off in relation to some details. Thus it was more interesting to watch. I wasn't able to predict one or two turns of the plot (refreshing for BL!) and this, among other things, made me fall in love with this lighthearted movie (it's basically the same as the series).

My take on the plot summary: a bit spoiled, self-obsessed, but kind-hearted and easygoing famous actor has to cohabit for some time with an aloof, gloomy, strict disciplinarian young chef. As they say, opposites attract.

Stars in the sky is a beautiful metaphor of the series/movie. The series are directed in a way that there's always something untold and it adds cinematic value. One of the main characters is charming, lively, decisive (no prolonged dragging of the story). Great chemistry between the leads. Strong acting from all the cast. No black-or-white characters, less typical supporting characters. No ubiquitous supporting couple. Cuisine is one of the coolest areas of human expertise to watch (though I doubt any person employed in the culinary industry is in the habit of dealing with cuts in such a way.) Overall, short and heartwarming BL series/movie about mature characters for grown-up audience. I wish there was such a subgenre.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Selma
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

My favourite....

Ever since I saw the series for the first time, it has been my favourite. I rewatched this movie numerous times. In fact, every time I need cheering up, I watch this!
Nevertheless, even though I love this story, I am not blind to its many flaws especially where writing and execution are concerned.
The story is nothing new: two people, an actor escaping from a scandal and a chef barely making ends meet, with opposite personalities, meet but they start on the wrong foot. The second meeting doesn't go much better but since they are forced to live together, actor's cheerful disposition melts the iceberg that is the chef. And there's all, folks!
Both main actors have great chemistry and are really skilled and play their respective characters to perfection.
The dynamic between the supporting characters (agent, journalist, manager) was excellent and often very funny!
The issue I have is mostly with writing. I watched this on Viki so I guess the translation is rather accurate. The story is full of clunky and illogical dialogue. For example: when they meet for the first time in the restaurant, as the actor is leaving, the chef stops him and tells him to stop bothering him and leave. Considering that the actor was doing just that BEFORE being stopped, I do not understand the point of this dialogue. And that is just in the first 5 min! There were few more moments like this in the movie! And don't start me with a few scenes of US fan, completely superfluous and nonsensical (i.e.they are in front of the restaurant but she takes photos of them leaving on a motorcycle?!? or the photo she takes of them in the night looks as if it were taken at noon!) On the other hand, the scandal subplot was treated well!
Production was mostly on the cheep side: empty scenes, no extras, cold and unnatural. It is obvious they did not have a lot of money but that does not excuse ugly cinematography (see Thai Wayufilm Production short movies to realize what a talent can do on a shoestring budget!). To be honest there were exactly two scenes where cinematography stood out: nightime basketball game and walk in the park and the chef's run through the autumn park/city towards the end. The rest of the movie is gray, lit up only by the main leads' smiles! Quite literally!
The movie has two hummable songs, nothing extraordinary!
A special shout out to the director of this movie: she is definitely hugely talented storyteller. I have loved every one of her works: Where Your Eyes Linger was the first bl I ever watched. She is amazing. I hope she will regale us with many more stories in the future and not necessarily BL ones!
To My Star stays firmly at the top of korean BLs. It is a sweet movie, full of clichés and misunderstandings but those are not annoying. It is a must watch for any BL enthusiast but as well for anyone who appreciates a good romcom!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PPBongi
2 people found this review helpful
May 24, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0

Surprisingly Poignant

It is packed with very good storytelling and believable human drama. Two somewhat dichotomous individuals meet by chance and get to explore and see each others qualities and flaws in a different light. This is a surprisingly well written movie with some excellent dialogue that helps move this story along fast and furious, but it still does not feel rushed. This is a good solid story. The screen chemistry between the two main actors was palpable and very good. This flows much better as a movie than the series but both are the same. It is just easier to follow in movie format. You can read my full review of this good movie at www.BLBliss.com.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
NordicFox
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 30, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers

A beautiful romantic movie with predictable storyline

I started to watch this movie because of all the hype around this series. Even though I generally love slower and calmer romantic series, this one was a little bit too slow for me. I did love all the acting, camera work, editing and music, but what didn’t work for me was the story. It was too simple and predictable for me. Everything that you thought would happen actually happened. I didn’t have any surprises or wow-moments. I won’t watch it again, but I recommend this to anyone who loves beautiful and simple love stories with very good cinematography.

As previously said, the story is very simple and quite often used in the romantic genre. The celebrity gets in trouble and ends up meeting a common person and of course they fall in love. Their personalities are often clashing with each other as one of them is a more blunt and open extrovert and another one is a more quiet and reserved introvert. Their love evolves quite naturally for this short series. The only problem I had with their story was Ji Woo’s harsh and homophobic language used in order to push other one away from him. I wished that Seo Joon would call him out on this, but it didn’t happen. Still Ji Woo's character was the most interesting one to me, but I would’ve loved to get to know him and his past more. I felt like there were some pieces missing in his story. As for Seo Joon, he seemed quite a stereotypical character. Maybe if we would’ve gotten more about his past, we would’ve seen him in a different light.

As for supporting characters they were okay and acting was good. I liked the reporter Yoon Seul the most. She seemed like an interesting character and she was the only one whose actions were a little bit unpredictable. I didn’t really get the manager Ho Min’s character and at times he seemed to not have any place in the story.

The strong suit of this movie is definitely cinematography. There were many beautiful scenes where I would admire the shooting location and camera work. One of my favorites were the park and basketball court scenes. But also the way they showed cooking and food was very good. As a former cook, I can say that the way they portrayed kitchen work was very realistic.

All in all, this movie was not for me story wise, but everything else was very well done. I wish they would’ve put more effort into the script to make it more original and fresh. It is definitely better than a lot of Asian series I have watched, but not a ten point show for me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
i watch too many dramas
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 31, 2024
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Even three years after its release, this is still one of the better Korean BLs.
In a lot of other Korean BL dramas, something is always off -- either the story doesn't make any sense (or only had old-fashioned and even harmful clichés), or the acting is stiff or the production (sets, audio etc.) lacks details or the directing is lackluster etc.

This drama has none of those problems.
The plot is is solid, if a little predictable. What's making it special are the little hints at more backstory -- especially for the two main leads, who are wonderfully vulnerable and both have scars from earlier events in their lives, which we only get hints of -- and they both accept these vulnerabilities and the weaknesses of each other.
The acting enhances this further. There are many small moments when you have to look closely at the actors, they often express their emotions through small changes in posture or even just with their eyes (I loved these moments when Son Woo Hyun shows how his character is hurt by Han Ji Woo's harsh words, and equally, how Kim Kang Min can say whole paragraphs by just averting his eyes.) Both main actors and the supporting cast are obviously invested in making this drama into something good.
The sets feel real, and with much attention to detail. In the beginning of the story, Ji Woo's home seems a bit bare -- except for the kitchen, which is clearly well loved and often used. This is the only place in the whole house where Ji Woo has left traces of his own personality -- until Seo Joon, that is. Then suddenly, decorating items start to show up (and it's clear that Ji Woo put them there for Seo Joon).
The directing puts all these things into a cohesive whole. For me, it feels as if the director had a clear vision of the story, the characters, and their backstories.

Yes, the budget could have been higher, the run time could have been longer. But I think they did what they could, and it doesn't even show too much that it was shot during the first autumn/winter of the covid-pandemic (I suppose that South Korea had quite a few restrictions back then, as did other countries).

I recommend that you re-watch this after season 2 -- there are several scenes that hit differently after you know more about the characters.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kiyois back scrubber
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

life changed. the most worth watching thing ever

i dont usually write reviews but i just rewatched this show for the 8th time and have to talk about it. this show is SO good the casting is perfect the ost is perfect the story is adorable the camera work is pretty and its just so cute. the actors are amazing and their chemistry is actually INSANE like. as i said im watching it for the 8th time and yet it still took me 20 minutes to get through the last scene !! got me having butterflies giggling like a school girl and smiling like an idiot the whole show. their development is so sweet to watch, all the characters played a part and everything about it is just so precious. scenes from this show run through my mind every day and i doubt ill ever get bored of it. im also so fuckinhgexcited for s2 im loosing my minddd the actors are both sweethearts and incredible at their job genuniely two of my favourite people they also have the most precious bond :( this is is in my top 5 kdramas and things i've watched in general. i cannot express my love for this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pinnokino_kai
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 11, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers

“SOFT”

I feel “soft” sums this drama up well. Ji woo is instantly annoyed by the superstar because of their differing backgrounds. He believes he’s nothing but a pretentious superstar and takes everything he says as offense. But this doesn’t stop Seo joon from showing immense kindness. He also sees through Ji woo’s tough exterior and falls for him quickly. This moves Jin woo of course but he’s reluctant to get involved due to his past heartbreak.(I felt he liked him from earlier on also, he notices he has a hearing issue and looks out for him) Seo joon, being the sincere, forward and understanding character he is, has patience with him until he comes around. It’s a really sweet love story.

I love how they continued the character of PilHyun from “Where Your Eyes Linger.” That was a nice touch. The cast had a lot of chemistry as well which was nice to see in the behind the scenes clips. Woohyun is not only a total babe but he’s literally the same outgoing, friendly and social being as his character.

This also has one of the best kiss scenes from the very few BL dramas (Viki originals specifically). That last scene was… oof

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
To My Star (Movie) (2021) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 6,256 users)
  • Ranked: #1090
  • Popularity: #1258
  • Watchers: 12,828

Top Contributors

28 edits
25 edits
20 edits
14 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users

Recently Watched By