Completed
virgievirgie
27 people found this review helpful
May 23, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

Cute and sweet romance with healthy and honest communication. Enjoy!

Completed - 5/23/2022

The rating of this drama is solely based on my enjoyment and might not meet anyone else’s standard of a quality drama. “Ase to Sekken” also known as “Sweat and Soap” is just what I need at the moment. An injection of sugar to pick me up after a few serious and depressing dramas. In order to fully enjoy this drama, you need to know what you are getting yourself into.

I recommend this drama for those:
- Are familiar AND like Japanese weird humor and over-the-top acting
- Want a dose of sugary cuteness with a side of cotton-candy fluffiness
- Simple but FAST-paced romance plot

Since this is a pretty short drama - 9 episodes at about 24 minutes each - there will be no dragging in the middle of the drama.

A few notes:
1. Great leads chemistry with pretty decent kissing and PDAs
2. Hilarious ways of portraying the deed in typical weird Japanese humor
3. Cute and innocent romance with a very healthy dose of HONEST communication (Hooray!)
4. Fast paced romance from meeting to getting married - no misunderstanding or love triangle.
5. Weird scent fetish that took me a couple episodes to get used to
6. Weird sweating that I still find weird throughout the whole drama
7. No annoying characters - quite lovable side characters/colleagues
8. Though female lead is shy and introverted, she is not a pushover
9. Can't help but keep staring at FL's bosom. :)
10. Getting relationship advice while sitting on the toilet is a thing, apparently.

Rest your brain with this sweet and cute romance. Don’t think too much and enjoy the ride!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ariel
26 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5
This review may contain spoilers

Healthy Relationships! Communication! (And... a fetish?)

What started out as a slightly weird and funny show ended up being really touching with an example of what a healthy relationship should be. I was incredibly surprised by how much I actually enjoyed this show, and encourage anyone who's curious about it to give it a chance.

Let's start with the characters. Natori is a man who can smell things really well, to the point where it is a little bit of a superpower. It helps him develop his relationship with Yaeshima in both obvious (how they met) and subtle (emotion-sensing) ways. Yaeshima has low-self-esteem, but while that would normally make me not want to watch the show (unfortunately women like this are often portrayed as pushovers or people without personalities), they actually portrayed it well in this show. She's got some trauma from being bullied as a child, and Natori and his fascination with Yaeshima's scent very much helps her feel a lot more comfortable in her own skin.

The side characters were very much just side characters, with none of them being fully fleshed out, but honestly I didn't feel too saddened by this, since by the time I realized this I was already invested in Natori and Yaeshima's relationship.

But honestly, my most favorite thing about this show is the communication! The show always makes sure to resolve the conflict of the episode in the same episode (with the exception of the penultimate episode) and there is rarely any miscommunication that isn't talked out in the very same episode. As a person who watches a lot of dramas, this was like a breath of fresh air. Miscommunication is often used as a trope and/or plot-device to create more drama, and quite frankly it's something I'm very tired of. To have these two flawed characters act like adults and talk about their problems in a healthy way just made my heart sing. Whoever is the screenwriter -- thank you!

If you can get past (or get used to) the sniffing bits, how often the female lead gets shown in a bra, and the unique, almost-metaphorical ways of portraying steamy scenes, you'll be in for a pleasant surprise with this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KassyFan27
11 people found this review helpful
Oct 5, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10

True love, the nose knows...

I really loved this show so while it's still fresh in my mind I'll list the reasons why.
*Healthy non-toxic relationship: I love how the main couple actually were honest and talked about their feelings. No several episodes of uneeded drama due to lack of communication here. It was one of the best relationships I've seen on screen. Very romantic and cute.
*Original storyline that is offbeat and often times hilarious. And the way this drama handled bedroom scenes was absurdly creative to say the least.
*I liked that the female side characters weren't backstabbing witches like we often see in other dramas.
*There's character growth for both the female and male lead. They both help bring out the best in each other. I loved that!
*Fast paced and addictive. No filler episodes. I binged this show in one sitting, something I almost never do.
This is definitely a feel good drama and will leave you with a big smile on your face. I couldn't see any fault in it. I give it a 10/10!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zogitt
7 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

Love it or hate it but you cannot unsee this show!

Quirky rom-com is a staple of j-drama nowadays. Throw fetish into the mix and you will feel right at home. Of course, that formula is not going to appeal to everyone, so consider this your standard disclaimer.
Still reading . . . Good! Let's get on with the review. :)

The synopsis summarised the basic background information succinctly so I’m not going to waste bandwidth. I will say that at first glance, the FL seemed very stereotypical for this type of drama. Young, naïve, timid and inexperience. The ML is handsome, suave and most likely a player. Now hold these thoughts while you read on.

This show is short. Just 9 episodes running twenty odd minutes each. It wasted no time and never slows down. Honestly, I didn’t have high hopes for this show because of the initial presentation and the subject matter. Shows like this can go dark or degrading in a heartbeat. How wrong was I!

Not only was the ML super nice and sweet, he is also totally devoted to the FL and support her in every way. Can we just clone him now, please?

The FL did start off timid and all that but she is nurtured by the relationship and grows to be stronger and managed to come to terms with her condition. It wasn’t like a 180 turnaround, but her development was nice to watch.

Of course, we can’t ignore the “fetish” angle, but the show handled it well. It was never degrading or nasty. The ML is so earnest that it is hard to see it as exploitive or manipulative. The attraction is mutual and their chemistry is undeniable (cue heavy breathing).

The pacing is good (it has to be!) and the Show is totally focused on their love story. This brings us to the best part of the show. While it would be foolish to assume the OTP will live happily ever after, the show went out of its way to provide positive case studies on how to handle CP problems. Every episode tackles an issue, such as jealousy, insecurity, etc. It was gratifying to see a lot of the time the solution comes down to plain old talking and a good dose of trust. Communicate openly and honestly. Tell your partner what is bothering you and the other party acknowledging it and change for the better. It is not rocket science, but it is refreshing in how well this approach served the OTP. Where shows would pile on the angst, this Show just say, we have a problem, let’s fix it and now it is Sexy Time!

Ah yes, there is no shortage of skinship and sexy time. Nothing R rated but the FL is prone to display her "assets" at every opportunity. The ML wasn’t shy either. The way the show approach the raunchy bits is....interesting. It is very stylised, a bit cartoon-y (because of its manga roots?) but it is consistent, like a signature move. After awhile, you knew what is coming and just roll with it. It is too cheesy to get worked up about.

There is no point in comparing this little show to a big budget drama series. It is fluffy and a bit cringy at times but within its little niche, it is a good show. So give it a go. A few hours of your time is no big investment and it can bring a smile to your dial. I certainly had more fun watching this than some longer and bigger budget shows.

Finally, a shout out to @Ariel. I so agree with your review. It convinced me to watch the show. Cheers!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
tintin92
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 15, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5

Decent and fun

This drama is literally fast-paced, to the point that in a span of 9 episodes major events happen. It's not draggy, there are no loopholes, no love triangles, and most important of them all No sadness :)

The leads have great chemistry together. There are decent skinship/kiss scenes. We go in-depth into their relationship and we get to see how they evolve and dissolve into each other's lives. The ML is cute and caring. The FL, on the other hand, is a bit socially awkward, but she is not cringey or anything. In fact, she does grow and mature as the drama progresses.

If you are already familiar with how Jdramas go, you won't get surprised, but this drama is based on a unique sort of fetish. You will see fumes and vapor, and hear the world Smell and sweat a lot, but not in a bad way lol. It's sometimes silly, but funny at the same time.

The drama is adversary-free, fun, and romantic. you will enjoy it overall.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PurpleMetalMonster
4 people found this review helpful
May 29, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Sweet Couple: Love at First Smell, Mature and Healthy Relationship

I honestly did not expect to like this drama, but I find myself enjoying Asako’s and Kotaro’s love story. Once I was able to get past some cringey moments and second-hand embarrassment, this story has so much to say about love, acceptance, and loving oneself. Kotaro’s obsession with Asako’s scent may seem at first to be kind of creepy and perverted, but the actor does such a nice job in making those scenes to be actually sweetly romantic. Kotaro is one of those MLs who is popular, outgoing and handsome, but kind and warm-hearted. No one, especially their colleagues, would think they could be romantic partners: he’s handsome, she’s plain; he’s popular and friendly, she’s introverted and keeps to herself; he’s confident, she’s insecure. However, once he falls in love with Asako, his love for her never wavers. This sweet couple, when problems or misunderstandings arise, they’re able to talk to each other and work through them together, unlike so many other drama couples. They’re young and unused to a serious relationship, so they may hesitate to speak honestly at first, but in the end, they muster up their courage to talk about their troubles with each other. I like that: an honest, mature, respectful relationship between two adults. The one episode that I will remember for a long time for its humor is when Kotaro loses his super sense of smell due to a cold, and as a result, he finds himself having to navigate the every day life without “smelling” people’s mood. He becomes most upset when he is not able to read Asako’s feelings. In the end, two mismatched people found their match in each other, and deservedly, have their happily ever after. This is what love is about: bringing the best out of each other, and supporting one and another through good and bad times.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
iliterallylovethis
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 15, 2023
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10

Weird but good

Sometimes I just expect weirdness from a Japanese drama because they be having some outlandish plots. This is no exception
The plot is weird in a kinky kinda way but they manage to make it wholesome and heartwarming while also still keeping that sensuality. The show is also funny due to the ridiculous of the characers, especially Natori, but they also know how to balance in the seriousness. I liked all the characters and I liked the conflicts seen in the show. Overall this show was a good watch and I'd recommend it. Like this show is definitely a guilty pleasure.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jordysheartbeat
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 29, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10

READ THE MANGAAAAA fun and cute watch :)

This is a very artistic show and I think people are harsh on it because they are so used to clique-slow shows. This show moves very very fast but in a good way, no dumb misunderstandings things graze along in a more slice of life how our relationship got more serious type of way and not in a how things HALT our relationship growth before during and after.
I think this seriously helps the show A LOT as this is 9 episodes I think that moving quickly makes you root for a healthy relationship vs root for the relationship to even begin ( so silly even tho I love me a clique )
Acting is A1 which makes everything work in this and seriously work... SO WELL.
Reading reviews I see people call it weird but weird isn't always bad it can be VERY VERY fun and I think that is shown with this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pash
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 6, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Similarly to "Tsumari Suki tte iitai n Dakedo", I've watched this drama because of the FL, despite the fact that it's not really my genre, normally...and surprisingly ended up liking it quite a lot!
True, the premise is as weird as they come, let's face it; but they managed to develop it in a quirky-but-funny way (LOL, those *literally* steamy scenes! ^__^;;;...), and apart from that, the story itself is a lot more wholesome than one would expect at first (heck, it's a lot more wholesome than 90% of other romance dramas, as far as I'm concerned! >__<).
Two nice characters that it's impossible not to root for, in a sweet, healthy relationship (yep, they share a...ehm...unusual fetish which I honestly would've done better without...but hey, they're consenting adults and nobody gets hurt in the process, so, like, why not...?) that advances through mutual selflessness, love, respect and honest communication.
The leads both delivered very convincing performances (besides, Ohara Yuno here is the very definition of a perfect GF! - and I suppose Sato Kanta will have the same effect on the female audience), the music is nice too, and so is the production value.
It gets a lot better after a few episodes, so my suggestion is, if you feel like giving it a try, don't stop at the first episode(s) but watch a few more! ^___-

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
safa
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 7, 2022
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Weird, funny, cute and wholesome. I'm glad I watched this

I recommend it
I'M SO GLAD I WATCHED THIS
DRAMA. I MEAN I WAS ALWAYS
SMILING AND LAUGHING. Comedic
timing of ML was so great. He
was so hilarious, he has so many
expressions
It was weird at times but really
worth it. Their relationship was
so good, they communicate and
also never broke up and trust each
other.
The weirdness of this drama made
it enjoyable

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️??❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shiro
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 7, 2023
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0

Steamy, Spaced out Hot Romance...

Woow this was something I had never seen before, yes it does have some cliches here and there after all it is a romcom but it is a fast paced spaced out romance that truly feels like it is from somewhere way out of this world... oosing with creativity, fun characters, artistic stuff, emotions and to be fair there is not a lot of plot, but who needs a plot when there is steam and deodorant?

The male lead is as obsessed with the scent of the female leads, he may come off a bit too forward , scary and to be perfectly honest a bit of a pervert/sex offender. Which should have raised a huge red flag... and send people running, but it is done in a way that ensures the viewers see those actions in a horror movie fantasy type way and not really as part of his character, I know this sounds completely off, but you will have to watch it (the whole drama) to see that he is actually one of Dreamlands most green flag male leads out there... . Seriously there are very few male leads that are as considerate, tuned in, self aware and able to reflect on their own actions as this guy,

The female lead is timid (for good reason), but she is smart, uses actual words (and scent) to communicate, honest and lovable. She experiences great development and breaks out of her shell the further in we go but she does not lose her introverted core or bra for that matter and I love her for it.

There are also a bunch of nice friendships, collegial interactions done right and a feel good aura all the way through..

The pace of this drama is rocket fast! So you may need to buckle up! and each episode provides a unique show of intimacy/ sex scene I am not going to say it was tastefully made even if there is use of rice, fruit and a whole lot of steam... but it is not rated R either in anyway as the most nudity we get is a sweaty chest iside a push up bra and a guy in boxers... Okay a whole lot of moist, sweat and symbolism.. But definitely more funny than sexy in anyway possible qualifying those scenes to the WTF Quirky Sex scenes hall of fame only topped by Ashes of Love...


So if you are in the mood for a decent relationship, good chemistry and something different where office rom com meets horror and fantasy this is definitely a good place to find it. Just make sure you can handle the sweat. Also the leads are indeed HOT in every way possible... I honestly think they were burning up in this...

Another way to define this would be to say that it is a bit likeStrangers From Hell when it comes to creating fantasy vibe without being an actual fantasy drama but instead of murder and horrible colleagues and friends this one shows the polar opposite... Romance and, good people and Fluff....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MG Mayre
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2023
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I think I have watched an episode of this before but forgot about it until I just bumped into it and realized I have read some few chapters of this in manga and read the first episode back then. I think it does not have a proper english subtitiles before that is why I have not watched the next episodes.

The story itself is not new to me since I have an idea of it before having read the manga. This drama really shows how Japan made their dramas, and showing their culture especially when it comes to dating and romance. This drama if you are not prepared is really weird at first because of how they presented it but I like how they portrayed the story overall. It's pretty fast paced.

The main leads chemistry is top notch. The male lead is the greenest green flag and the female lead's character development is really good as well. I really like the female lead, I think she is so beautiful.

I also like the friendship aspect that is seen in the drama. I cried.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ase to Sekken (2022) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.4 (scored by 2,158 users)
  • Ranked: #6747
  • Popularity: #2992
  • Watchers: 4,660

Top Contributors

56 edits
15 edits
9 edits
5 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Manga Dramas
411 titles 261 loves 4
No stupid BREAK UP *SPOILER*
142 titles 325 loves 437

Recently Watched By