Completed
BL Compilations
28 people found this review helpful
Oct 6, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

sweet seaside romance

Overall: a refreshing seaside romance series. 5 episodes about 20 minutes each. Aired on GagaOOLala.

Content Warnings: maybe something at the beginning with a side character but it didn't bother me at all

What I Liked
- the characters felt realistic instead of caricatures, how both of them were confident in some ways but guarded in other ways
- flashback that hinted about why Amane was jaded about love and then the reason was shown in episode 2
- caring/sweet moments
- how Ryuji sought communication
- that Amane took risks to stay true to himself/what he wanted
- production value

Room For Improvement
- don't think physics would agree with what happened around 10 minutes in episode 1 lol
- it was only 5 episodes we definitely could have used more

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ando
19 people found this review helpful
Nov 3, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

MISSING THEM ALREADY!

I started this off with good intentions and I was right to do so! This series is just overall sweet and gives me what I've been needing after the toxic relationships in the past BLs I've watched. If you are unsure to watch it, hopefully my review makes you decide!

THE STORY:
Kaido Amane moves to Enoshima and decides he may want to actually find someone he loves, instead of just sleeping around. While there, he comes across Yamasuge Ryuji, a boy around his age, who works at a restaurant. After becoming friends, Amane quickly realized his feelings for Ryuji. But, does Ryuji feel the same way?

First off.. let's talk about the characters. Amane is bubbly, but a straightforward guy when it comes to his feelings. Ryuji? HE IS A GREEN FLAG! When I say a GREEN FLAG, I mean the GREENEST FLAG. He's probably one of the greenest flags I've seen in JBL. Ryuji is understanding, and nice. He didn't leave Amane even when he knew that he had feelings for him. He considered his feelings and didn't EVER act like he wasn't there. When Amane confesses to Ryuji, he doesn't really know what to do because he never thought of his feelings this way towards the same gender.

COMMUNICATION IS KEY!!
There was no misunderstandings between the two. Why? BECAUSE THEY TALKED IT OUT. When there was a problem, they talked it over. Why is that a good thing? Because some BLs, Japanese or not, always are miscommunicating and have all sorts of problems. And they never fix to probleme until EPISODESSS later.

THE 2 KISSES IN EPISODE 5??? I SCREAMED AT 6AM. They were so cute together, and even though it was so short, it was so enjoyable!

This series is so cute and I'll definitely be rewatching it! If you want a BL without any misunderstandings, with adorable leads and a adorable cat, watch THIS!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mimicat
8 people found this review helpful
Nov 6, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 2.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
The story was heartwarming and it unfolded beautifully without any unnecessary theatrics. While it may not be my usual cup of tea, I found myself enjoying it nonetheless. It was a good binge-watch, but I don't think I would revisit it. Overall, it was a sweet and simple romance that left me feeling content.




Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ellie
8 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

This is what communication looks like...

It's been months I've seen a relationship this healthy in a BL.

They both have their back story but help each other through it and it is so heartwarming.

I was so worried that they would ruin it with a stupid plot twist or the usual misunderstanding plot but this had none of that thankfully.

Story: Communication on point! It was such a breath of fresh air.

Acting: I enjoyed both of the main leads, I kept thinking that Ryuji is so loveable it is unreal.

Music: I enjoyed the outro, and added it straight to my Spotify

Rewatch: Totally! This is perfect to binge after a traumatic series.

Overall: I am so happy I gave this a go! I want to watch seasons upon seasons with this couple and their story!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Unpopularopinionbydemand
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 13, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Two cuties Falling in Love and They just Might Kiss...

Another one of the JBLs that just does it for me. Nothing jaw-dropping, nothing fresh and new, just a quaint little love story that put me at ease and in a good mood. Even If I Try to Fall in Love With You exemplifies the true meaning of catching feelings and going for it even when it might scare you.

Let's Dive In.

Oh, such a wonder little love story. Amane, who used to hooking up with older men due to his past trauma of coming out finds himself falling for the walking green flag that is Ryuji, his school classmate who works at his late father's restaurant. And eventually, through trial and error, through some awkwardness and being truthful, they end up happily ever after. This JBL is everything that I love about Japanese series: The plot, the dialogue, the inner monologue, the way they go about confessing -- it's put into such a perfect order that it's really hard not to enjoy it, even if the series isn't long.

The chemistry was off the charts. It detailed perfectly the awkwardness of dating for the first time and going about having a crush and someone you like at such a young age. Ryuji saw through Amane's mechanism of smiling and laughing as a way to shield himself from getting hurt, along with Amane noticing the hurt and exhaustion that Ryuji was experiencing because of the loss of his dad, and keeping up with a restaurant he has no passion for. I think what makes or breaks a couple for me is when they can notice details, they're usually very subtle, yet when it's noticed/called out, I get all gooey on the inside cause -- omg you're paying attention. But most importantly, I just loved them as they were. Amane, although being afraid of his past experiences, is right off the bat open about his sexuality and not afraid to be blunt and honest about what he's feeling, only afraid of the aftermath of his truthfulness. And of course, Ryuji is just a sweetheart, letting it be known that it's okay to feel what he's feeling, there to listen and to tease, and to care. They were just such a delight to watch and such a joy seeing them start off their relationship all giddy and clumsy-like. I only wish that I could see their relationship develop even more (omg when Ryuji asked to kiss him again?? Hello that was so stinking adorable??).

With how short this series was, I'm glad we didn't have any secondary plots or otherwise, this would've been messy and felt rushed. But with saying that, I do wish this had maybe 3-4 more episodes so we could have a more fully fleshed-out series, go more in-depth into their past lives, and maybe see them build that connection even more.

Ratings:

Story: 8.5/10 - Just pure fluff filling my screen. I would've liked it to be more fleshed out, but what we did get was still really good.

Acting: 9/10 - Both leads did a job well done! I loved how expressional Takato (Amane) was with this character.

Music: 6/10 - It wasn't distracting.

Recommendation Value: 10/10 - It's just pure fluff so I don't know anyone who wouldn't want to not watch this. So good, so pure, so lovely, and I'm going to miss them.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
smileyky
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5

Short and Super Sweet ♥︎

Biggest Spoiler: it’s a happy ending.

I adore this BL for a few reasons— It’s only 5 episodes, ~23 minutes per episode, but it still feels complete. They did a terrific job in adapting a storyline to this run time without making anything feel unnatural or rushed. The 5 episode run also made it so that each episode was important and meant something to the story. With many shows (looking at you Thai BLs), they have 10+ or 20+ episodes and it feels like you could skip half of them and not miss anything important (if you get one to two important moments per episode and want to skip the rest). This show made every moment count.

The actors did a FANTASTIC job, especially the actor of “Asume”. His emotions felt real and raw, and I so enjoyed watching him throughout the 5 episodes. The actors had great chemistry, and it really felt like a sweet, innocent first love.

The setting of the show is also gorgeous with the sea, and the music choices were also great.

My only negative for the show is that I would love to see them more as a couple, as they don’t actually get together until the end of the last episode! I’ve seen some reviews that were disappointed by the kiss at the end, but I think it was fitting for the “first love” theme.

Overall, genuinely enjoyed this series and I would watch again the next time I want to watch something super sweet :)

9.5/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shiro
1 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.5

When in need of fluff...

This is a sweet and fluffy story about a slightly lost teen who hides behind an a bit to bright smile and fake laughter to shelter himself from the homophobic eyes of the world... And the mature, kind, pondering type of guy who calls the lost boy out and tries to get him to relax and just be...

The mature boy has had to grow up a bit to fast and seems to shoulder the responsibility of his very loving and sweet family, all things that made him to be this slightly cold yet very understanding guy. As opposed to mr lost and slightly spontanious this guy takes his time to really think things over....

These two complete opposites have lovely dynamics and great conversations. However though the lost boy has a beautiful smile he felt just a little bit to child like and over the top which kind of bothered me, he also has a lot more screen time than any one else in this show.

So basically the side characters and one of the leads are lovely but the main lead bothered me a bit to much to be able to give this a full score. That said the rest make up for it and so does this sweet fluffy story and setting making it an overall ok watch when in need of fluff

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Heracin
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 11, 2024
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

A BL with a quiet and meditative charm...Not very memorable but harmless and sweet

This drama is a sweet and summery BL coming-of-age story with a really appeasing slice-of-life feeling. The romance is very platonic as well as heartwarming as the feelings evolve between the two protagonists. It is a subtle and quiet series which is likely to brighten your day with his luminous character and almost meditative charm. The counterpart of this is that the drama lack ambition and punch, and its short lenght makes it difficult to go deep into the turmoil and feelings that the protagonists could be facing. It remains relatively surface level on a lot of ways in an amicable and agreeable approach.

The casting was good overall. The chemistry was not really overwhelming but the script did not require a lot of demonstration of affection or overpowering passion...Therefore the acting was totally appropriate at depicting a very youthful first love kind of story. There was a bit of imbalance in terms of skills level, as Hyuga Wataru did in my opinion a better job than Okura Takato in conveying the story and adding additional layer to his character. Overall, both did okay but it could have been stronger in terms of nuances.

I love the soundtrack, it was totally fitting the drama. The production value as well was lovely: there was a lot of pretty picturesque sceneries in addition to mouthwatering food scenes.

I would recommend this to people looking for a BL with a really appeasing slice-of-life feeling. It depicts a sweet coming-of-age story with a platonic and heartwarming romance in a summery setting. If you are looking for an angsty show with passionate characters and a lot of turmoil, this is really not the series you should watch. But if you are looking for a charming and calming drama, this might be a good pick for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AEROROR2
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.5

A serene of young love

I have my doubts about adding this one to my list solely because of how misleading the poster was. It was far different from what the actual vibes of the story were. The poster is somehow dramatic and I thought that it would be a devastating series with a lot of pain but thankfully, I came across with non-spoiler comments of how beautiful the setting was.

Characters are fluff and sincere. I love the innocence and kindness that Ryuji-kun has and how he manages to embrace Amane’s feelings in the end. A short BL that did a remarkable way of flourishing the main character’s growth the moment he finds the one with letting go of his past lustful intimate fling with others.

The story being produced in a seaside city was indeed an appealing sight to see and gives the highlight of being covered in warmth and affection that the story is trying to tell its viewers. I wanted to try the summer season living in that beautiful rural town.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rikku
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 3, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers

A fluffy story

I wasn't expecting much, but the story started as a fluffy cute teenagers friendship, and ended with a fluffy cute teenagers couple.

I loved that they didn't make it too complicated, and relied more on honesty and clarity between the 2 leads.
Both are extremely cute and soft hearted in the series, and even though it was short, it was beautifully depicted.

A good 2 hours and a half to spend with joy and cuteness, without anything rushed or shoved down the viewer's throat.
Amane has a lonely past, but Ryuji-kun makes up for it. And it's lovely.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PPBongi
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 20, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 2.0

Could Have Been A Masterpiece

What a joy this series is to watch. It is soft, gentle, touches the heart with its warmth, child-like innocence. Yet, there is something initially very sad about it. It makes you think about how fast children must grow up and sometimes miss out on their childhood; only longing to want to return to it when they discover its pleasures. Its message is a bit cryptic and hidden behind a façade of childlike behavior, but underneath is hiding a child really wanting and needing to be – a child. But the flaw in what otherwise would have been a near perfect series is the astonishingly clumsy and deflated kissing scene. It is awkward and deliberately filmed so as to not show the mouths touching in either kiss. That was a cheap shot and diminishes completely the caliber of this series and its intent. I am not a fan or artistic trickery to show a kiss.
You can read my full review of this otherwise great series at BLBliss.com.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kenneth Carl Vega
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 9, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers

A DREAM ENDING FOR EVERYONE WHO HAVE ONE SIDED LOVE

I like the most is the story of this drama, it is more of reality, coz you can not always be liked back by the person you like right? As what dramas out there shows to us.
The story is simple and good actually, this drama is easy to love and understand and cute ! I like the character they built here, no confusion, it is what it is, the characters are also established like the progression is goo, Ryuji is such a green flag ! Love the actors, they are like the more you look at them the more they look handsome !
They just got a bit awkward on their kissing scene, but it is okay it is just enough for the story, just enough for everyone, and off course the romance is giving, I fluttered so much here literally gave me a good vibe !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kimi to Nara Koi wo Shite Mite mo (2023) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 5,840 users)
  • Ranked: #2359
  • Popularity: #1400
  • Watchers: 11,389

Top Contributors

42 edits
12 edits
12 edits
10 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Japanese BL Master List
211 titles 902 loves 22
gay/bl (Japanese)
132 titles 158 loves
Japanese BL/LGBT shows/movies
147 titles 117 loves 6

Recently Watched By