Completed
Pinoy Ares
61 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

I WANT MORE!

What others think as its weakness, i think is its strength - for me the short length of the series is whats makes me yearn for more.

Lets cut to the chase - lets discuss the good things. First is the story, yes its nothing out of the ordinary but the non-school/university is refreshing for a BL. I also like shows which dont try to explain everything as if viewers are kids. I also liked the pacing.

Second, the cute charismatic leads - have you seen Kang in Soo's body? Third, the soundtrack. Fourth, the production and the photography.

The only bad part i can think of is that they left me wanting more.

The last few Korean BLs were all short and sweet and all deserve to be expanded into full blown series. For now, im just glad that they are producing more and more of these and hopefully the day for normal Korean series featuring LGBTQ characters will come sooner.

Overall, an 8! Easy to watch, easy to rewatch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Smurre
21 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 4.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Simple kdrama with no romance

This was a very simple and lighthearted kdrama but it's nothing special.

The story had potential but after the first 3 episodes nothing really happened. I was waiting for the romance and all we got was seeing them kiss in the end. They never talked about the kiss or showed a growing romantic relationship between the two main leads. I think this was more "bro love". Kinda disappointing. The story didn't develop at all and I cant see how this is a good ending.

The cast and acting was fine I guess, although the main lead couple lacked chemistry and the acting was poor in some of the scenes but I have seen worse.

I dont know what to say about the music, some songs annoyed me and they mostly played the same songs. It's not surprising though since this is a short drama but the music should be better. The drama is about music after all.

This drama is a waste of time, don't watch it unless you want to get disappointed.
For me this isn't wort rewatching and I dont know if korean bl drams are worth another shot. I've given them alot of chances and always get disappointed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kevin
37 people found this review helpful
Dec 26, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 7.0

A beautiful harmony made possible with great music and chemistry between the leads.

- STORY [6.5/10] -
The story is very cute and fluffy. However, it's pretty short, so the story had to be crammed into 8 short (10 min) episodes which made the pacing feel a bit rushed, but it's definitely understandable since K-BLs are fairly new, and it was filmed during the pandemic.

The story had a lot of potential to be great but it was cut short due to the short duration of the episodes. But if it was longer, it could've shown more on Insoo's side, family and background, since most of the story we're seeing on Sang Yi's POV.

But one thing I really enjoyed about this short drama is that it gets straight to the point and there's no unnecessary drama, every scene was important in progressing the story and the relationship between the leads. I also liked how it showed some realistic aspects of debuting as an artist and what it means to be a real artist (not doing it just for money or fame, but doing it because you're passionate about it and you enjoy it).

- ACTING / CAST [8/10] -
The entire cast played their roles well, and there's amazing chemistry between the leads everytime they interact. There's hardly any awkwardness at all, and the expressions and acting of the two main leads were great considering it's their first time acting.
(Fun Fact: Before filming, the leads spent over a month doing almost everything together like eating, working on the music) - Source: Wish You Talk Live

- MUSIC [9.5/10] -
The music is really the star of the show and the focus next to the romance. The OSTs all sound amazing, and after you hear it, you would probably want to add it to your Spotify and keep listening to it for a while. The duet especially just sounds amazing (sang by the leads btw, they are both Kpop artists).

- OVERALL [8/10] -
S. Korea has yet again produced abother great BL drama, there's definitely flaws, but it's still great nontheless. It's a story you should watch at least once. Give it a try, you won't regret it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
HopefullyWell
9 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers

Cute and fun! I loved it

(SPOILERS INCLUDED)

STORY
To start off, I am happy that SKorea is starting to produce and be open to BL genre this year giving us Where Your Eyes Linger and Mr Heart. Similarities among those are the short runtime per episodes, the whole length of the series is as long as a movie so some were cut short but still has good storylines.

The storyline is common but not common (haha I'm so confusing). But tbh, I really like the overall plot of this series, I liked how BL drama produced in Korea has its own unique plotline that differentiates from one another unlike some in Thai where stories get too repetitive. The production and cinematography of this are good, given the fact that it came from a country where a lot of good and top tier series are produced.

My only issue here is pacing and the length. If I were to make changes, I would like to see more of their relationship development because 2 episodes (Ep5-6) with only 20 minutes is too fast on how they became that close which eventually led to their kiss. If the series was longer, it would have also explained the issues of In Su with regards to his family. I would like to know deeper about their character and development. It just seems so short to me to the point that I want more

Other than that, this series has a typical good cute storyline with the incorporation of music and I am glad that the characters are not students and we left the school setting. The story is really good and full of fluff. It somehow shows passion and how music should be taken. I just wish it would have been longer to explain more of their character backgrounds.


ACTING
The cast was okay to me, this is the first time I've seen these actors because I rarely watch KDrama but I know that they produce such good series and I'm thinking of watching one while I'm on break. I find Sang Yi really cute and he fits the role perfectly. Both leads can act and give life to their characters. Their chemistry is okay for me, I would like to see more emotion between them but nonetheless, the actors are great.


MUSIC
I love the OSTs of this series. The English songs played is my go-to vibe when I am stressed and I actually want to know the title of the songs used and include it in my playlist. I am in love with the songs presented here, it gave the scenes a great atmosphere which fits perfectly to the emotion they want to portray. The OST (for me) is the best asset of this series and they did great


OVERALL
This series is good and overall I enjoyed it. There are certain things I would change, not gonna lie, but it was really cute and fun to watch. The cinematography, acting, and the storyline was good since it was produced in Korea. I love the OST and it is my vibe.

If you are hesitant about this, give it a try. Cuteness overload and I loved it.

I wish for you <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AudienceofOne
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 29, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
There are some stories where you're just left wondering - what was that about? Why does this exist? What is it even trying to say?

It's not that it's *bad*. It's more that it's kind of nothing.

It started off quite well. Kang In Su and Yoon Sang Yi have a mutual love of music and a mutual attraction, though each is oblivious to the others' interest. When Sang Yi's record company scouts In Su, they end up cohabiting and... nothing.

While the first episode is interesting and well-paced, the show's pacing then slows to a crawl. The two don't even speak to each other till the end of episode 4 and then the shows veers unexpectedly into a cohabitation drama full of lens flare and little else.

Being Korean, the production values are high and some shots are truly beautiful. The acting is however a little wooden and awkward; both boys seemingly uncomfortable around each other in an awkwardness that doesn't seem cute or deliberate but just due to both of them being green. For a drama about music, a lot of it was quite banal, although there were a few nice pieces here and there.

It seems as though the writers wanted to write a story about the love of music and keeping your artistic integrity but were forced to torture parts of it into a classic BL. One day someone will learn that a gay love story can be both of these things at the same time but today is not that day. Instead the drama is stuck somewhere in the middle being not much of anything.

That is to say, there is little wrong with Wish You and if Korea had made this first I'd have been praising them for doing BL at all. But after this year that ship has sailed. Still, I can say that the relationship between the two boys seems quite functional and is built on mutual interest and respect. So it has that going for it. In the end, I guess it's the story's potential to be much more than this that is the most disappointing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
akosirowell
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 1.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Great music but poor storyline

I expected too much from this short series. The episodes are too short that they weren't able to do the story line justice. I didn't realize they were in love until the last 2 episodes and it happened so fast that it was too unbelievable. They could've added a few more episodes to show their romantic sides, how they actually fell in love and minus the dramas about the father which was too irrelevant anyway.
the music was spectacular, the only good thing about this drama. I downloaded the song!
Acting was so so. In Su was portrayed nicely but the rest were horrible.
I'll rewatch if they reboot this with better justification.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
nenasspot
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 26, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Very cute! The story wasn't that strong because it had to stay pretty surface level. This is why BL dramas need to be longer! The plots, characters and relations always have loads of potential, but because they need to be shorter it can almost never get fulfilled. I liked the music company plot fine, but the conflict never gets deep and thus feels a bit ungenuine. The main leads are amazing! Sang Yi portrays his crush very well and is absolutely adorable. In Su shows a great arch (even more so in the last 2 episodes) and his inner conflict is well performed. For a drama centered on music, the title song didn't disappoint! It's a cute and mellow song that easily gets in your head and the duets in the drama are lovely.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
joy-jo
6 people found this review helpful
Jan 3, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0

Warm, cozy, and a lot of potential

I'm so happy that there's a sudden rise in BL dramas by SK! This drama was short and sweet with some nice fluffy moments between the leads. It had a lot of potential to be a full-fledged 16-episode drama. I found myself curious about both leads' backstories and wanted to know how they got into music. The chemistry was alright between the leads but a lot of potential to be developed if the episodes were longer than .. 10 minutes. I'd give this drama an 8/10! The visuals were astounding and warm as well which was a great touch to this short.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
m' lady
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5

ITS A YES FROM ME

The drama was so sweet!! although it was short, which I command for a season 2, I really loved it. the music chosen was so beautiful and so was the storyline and the acting of the actors were well shown. If you want a watch something similar to Mr Heart as the only thing that is different is that this is about music. But it looks the story has not finished it, so I am keeping my hopes high for this drama. Plus it is very quick to watch, sadly in 10-14 minutes each episode. Overall yes if you are kinda bored and you want some sweetness into your life for about 80 minutes, this is the drama for you!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kate
11 people found this review helpful
Dec 25, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

It was a simple story, simple romance and a simple watch.

Sang Yi helped In Soo hold onto his dream, In Soo helped Sang Yi step out of his comfort zone, and it was all done in a quite subtle way. We never get to actually meet the big bad guy, and his presence is introduced later on, but didn't really have that much impact on the story. Or rather, it had a huge impact, but it didn't feel like it.

It's a sweet story about two boys that fall in love with each other (and each other's music). There is a vague background about going against other people's expectations and chasing your dreams no matter what, but in only 80 minutes, the plot is not explored enough to have an actual emotional impact.

The acting was nice? Overall Lee Sang did a better job than In Soo, but none of the actors convinced me during their "sad" scenes. The emotions just weren't translating onto the screen well.

The production value was quite good. The shots had a nice indie vibe to them and the music was definitely one of the strongest points. That said, for a show that centers around music production, the audio quality in the beginning episodes was questionable...

It was an easy watch that never really got me excited, but I wasn't bored either. Watching it won't be a waste of time, but skipping it would not be much of a loss either. It is what it is: a short cute BL romance with a simple plot and pretty leads.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bex
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 26, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0

This show had the potential to be so much more

I feel like the story was cute but it was honestly... kind of boring. Though, it was nice to see In-soo's and Sang-yi's relationship develop over time. A problem with the show is that it had the signature 10-minute-long episodes like all other Korean BL dramas (or at least high-production ones). It made the show feel too rushed. There wasn't enough time for the plot or proper development. I have to admit I feel like the episodes got a little worse over time and the ending was quite underwhelming.

The acting was okay for a short drama. I have to admit I kind of fell for Lee Sang's acting. He did an amazing role portraying Sang-yi and was great at expressing his emotions. Even though I don't know much about acting, I was touched by his ability to act like this, especially when it's his first main role. Admittedly though, the general acting level in the show was kind of subpar. Lee Sang did a better job acting than Kang In Soo (but, to be fair, it was his first acting role).

Music-wise, it's evident that music had a big impact on the storyline. The songs were good and I have all the songs from the OST on my playlist. But (as mentioned before) when the episodes are so short, the music just fills up too much of the story. At least 3 out of every 10-minute episode would be a song, which only gave time for 7 minutes of plot. And that honestly just isn't enough when there are only 8 episodes. As much as I love the song "Wish You" it also got overplayed a great deal.

Overall, the show was okay. I just wish it had been more... complete? If you are interested, go for it since it's so short. You could binge it all in one evening (or wait for the movie version to come out).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Unpopularopinionbydemand
3 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Incredible OST

I'm not a fan of music/singer BLs, but this one get's an exception. While this is far from my favorite BL (or even Korean BL), I still believe that it was a good watch and I highly recommend it.

Let's Dive In.

I loved the OSt track in this. Usually, I don't pay attention to the music, but in this, it was beautiful. Both actors have a beautiful voice that wasn't hard to listen to at all. Finally, a show where the actors that are singer can actually sing. Talking about actors, while the acting was far from the best, it got better by the end. I think Kang and Yoon's setup was really unique, and it made for a nice love-at-first-sight moment. While their chemistry was very obvious, I will say that I felt like it went away closer to the end.

The best thing about this series was also the scenery, I was memorized by how beautiful these settings were, and how much i would have loved to be there with them. I really liked this series, and I highly recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Wish You: Your Melody From My Heart (2020) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.5 (scored by 16,892 users)
  • Ranked: #6179
  • Popularity: #463
  • Watchers: 29,201

Top Contributors

29 edits
28 edits
27 edits
21 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2791 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
220 titles 959 loves 6

Recently Watched By