So I was going to do this  on my website but frankly I think it will be of more use here.

As a lot of you know i am teaching myself Japanese as far as I can get before paying for lessons (Cause I am cheap).  I have been using these apps for roughly 7 months now, so I have to back track but i will walk you through what I learned to where I am today.

I will do a separate post for each lesson.

So The first words I learned with out the apps and my avid anime/drama watching were

Ittakimasu
Ero-sensei (thanks Naruto--miss you Jiryah)

Sensei, Aniki, Kowai and baka. (I giggle every time Asta gets called Bakasta in Black clover..like every time)

yes I englished all of those..you get to see the Japanese versions later in this thread (except ero -sensei  I dont think the apps will teach me "pervy sage")

So lets start with lesson 1 review for me

Duolingo first module review

Hiragana:

San  3 さん  

ichi  1  いち

ni  2  に

chi  ち

n  ん

I  い

sa  さ

yo よ

pretty simple right this app relays on repetition, so you get to match pairs and identify each symbol over and over and over again.

========================================

Lingo deer Lesson 1 (Apparently I Did the Alphabets with this one too, but since I am reviewing it says I don't need to do that)

Nationality:  You get 4 pictures ..chose American

Katakana

Choices are -アメリカ人 (uncle sam top hat), 日本人(kimono), イギリス人(beefeater hat), and 中国人 (t-shirt with dragon waving red flag)

American, Japanese, British and Chinese.

人 the end indicates person not country and in this instance the 人 symbol is pronounced “Jin”(other times it sounds like hito (hee-toe) but thats much much later)

So we choose American because that’s what it wants. And then do the same for Japanese and American again.

Next is listening skill

It says "nihonjin" and I am to chose out of the same choices as previously given 日本人 this time I am given the hiragana to compare にほんじん

Pictures again and I am to chose British イギリス人 and then Chinese 中国人