@liddi

Please don’t take my desire to clarify Chinese grammatical constructs as questioning your expertise in the Chinese language. As evidenced by all the amazing translations you’ve generously provided, I understand you are highly proficient in the language. Your skills in the language far exceed mine since I’m barely fluent and wouldn’t even consider myself literate. My main method for reading Chinese is to put the text into Google Translate and then read the ping yin and translations :) I appreciate all the explanations you’ve provided about the language. It’s helpful to my learning and understanding of Chinese.

As an engineer, I was taught to validate solutions instead of relying solely on a single expert opinion. Although I’m impressed by your knowledge of the language, I cannot assume that your knowledge of Chinese is complete. For some questions, I will cross-reference your answers with other expert opinions. Generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT) is very powerful, and usually a good starting point for research. That said, I’m aware that GenAI can sometimes hallucinate responses, so I generally validate those responses with the knowledge of experts, such as yourself and/or other expert sources.

For the specific phrase that we are discussing, I tweaked the question to ChatGPT 4.0 to be more specific. The question and output can be found below:

Can "情人蛊已经被王母解了" be interpreted to mean "The Lover's Gu had already been explained by the Royal Mother”?

Yes, "情人蛊已经被王母解了" can indeed be interpreted as "The Lover's Gu had already been explained by the Royal Mother." In this sentence:

• "情人蛊" (qíng rén gū) refers to "Lover's Gu," likely a concept from folklore involving love-related magic or a curse.
  • "已经" (yǐ jīng) means "already," suggesting that the action was completed before the current point in time.
  • "被" (bèi) indicates a passive voice, pointing to the action being done by someone else.