Hello everyone.  Thank you for taking time to help me out. 

So I need a Chinese Drama as I am studying Chinese at the moment. So far I have seen old "A Step into the Past"(9/10), "Queen in Hyun's Man"(9/10), Scarlet Heart(6/10), Gu Family Book(9/10), Princess Agents(Started and did not like the plot), Nobunaga Concerto(9/10), You Who Came From Stars(7/10), Faith(8/10). 

1) I don't mind politics, as long as there is some romance(although not too much romantic stuff, characters need some sanity and practical reasoning) involved. 

2) I don't want womanizers , men with concubines and etc. Also no big age-gap, more than 10 years is already starting to get pervert. 

3) Historical, Time Travel, Action and such dramas are preferred. But not sci-fi. I did not like the new Step into the Past, because of gadgets and stuff.

4) Nobunaga Concerto was actually brilliant, it would have been 10/10 if it took itself a bit more seriously in the middle. Old Step into the Past also could have been 10/10 if not for some things. 

Any suggestions? Thank you in advance. 

Candle in the Tomb

Nirvana in Fire  - there's an emperor with his concubines but he is not the main character

Nirvana in Fire 2 - The sequal has it's own story, it doesn't require previous knowledge

Surgeons - this is a modern day drama but has great acting and sufficient romance

I second all of @Momoi's suggestions (all except Candle in the Tomb because I haven't seen it, but it is produced by the same production company that produced all the other dramas on her list along with Battle of Changsha, so I reckon it should be pretty good)

others: 

• Battle of Changsha (WWII, family-focused)
  • The First Half of My Life (modern, pre and post divorce)
  • Ode to Joy / Ode to Joy 2 (modern, focuses on lives of 5 different women in modern-day Shanghai)
  • My Huckleberry Friends (modern campus/youth but more serious/heartfelt than most campus/youth dramas)
 Momoi:

Candle in the Tomb