Hi all! I'm looking for my next kdrama and I read a lot of recommendations saying "this is not your typical kdrama storyline". I'm relatively new to the kdrama world and I would like to see one that IS typical but good. So I'm curious whats your favorite typical full-of-cliches-non-original kdrama? Thanks!! :)
Typical K Dramas would be love triangles with jealousy, rich arrogant boy falls for the poor but bright kind cheery girl, contract marriages/relationships becoming real, birth secrets coming out etc... Some dramas (typical in some sense) I found very good are: Princess hours (Teen romance.. really sweet!) FUll House( fav. of many with overseas popularity, although I didnt find it too good) The Heirs ( full of eye-candies.. celebrities in cast) Lie to Me Playful Kiss (dumb girl crazy and obsessed with the most popular guy) My Girl Boys over Flowers ( poor girl coming to school for the rich) Delightful girl choon Hyang I have intentionally recommended dramas that are not something different since you are a beginner to dramaland. There are a lot of dramas that are different, and quite good :) Happy viewing!
Rom-Coms: I Really Really Like You
My Girlfriend is a Gumiho
Sungkyunkwan Scandal

For the melos/other genres:
Crazy For You
King of Baking
Shining Inheritance
Stars Falling From the Sky
Will It Snow For Christmas?
You Are My Destiny (daily drama)

Boys over Flowers, Coffee Prince (its a gender bender but great!!), Sungkyungkwan Scandal (also a gender bender), Princess Hours
I'm not 100% sure what you mean by typical. I'm assuming you mean story lines (drama concept) is typical. I know three big ones that are pretty popular in dramaland.

1.) Biscuit Teacher Star Candy- Noona-romance (Young guy, older girl relationships).
2.) Protect the Boss- Chaebol romance (Rich guy falls for poor girl).
3.) That Fool- Contract relationships.