Completed
XiaoMei
15 people found this review helpful
Aug 27, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I know Nana thanks to the anime, which I love. Both, the movie and the anime are good. It is certain the movie length needs to cut out some threads and in my opinion, this is a great pity. I suppose I would be satisfied if they made a drama, which was true copy of the original.

However, I should praise the stylization and characterization of the main characters. They took care of every detail.

Of course, the music is amazing too. Now, I know many Itou Yuna's songs!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Taylorgg12
14 people found this review helpful
Apr 8, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Being a lover of NANA, I did enjoy this movie. although a lot of the storyline was cut out due to time considerations, the movie does follow the manga somewhat. I was impressed by the actress who played the main characters. I felt they displayed the different personalities very well.
I also love the OST. The music sang by Nakashima Mika were very inspiring and emotional I really enjoyed her performance.

I would recommend this movie to anyone, especially NANA fans.
Happy Watching :)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 18, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I wanted to watch this movie ever since I read its synopsis. It is a somewhat serious movie but has an amazing story.

Both the girls- Nana and Nana share a special connection and in spite of their polar opposite personalities, they manage to become true friends. I really liked how they bonded and were able to understand each other throughout the story. Plus, the support they had for each other was marvellous. This movie does show that sometimes even friendship is a part of our destiny.

Although it is slow and it took me three sittings to complete it, I'm glad I gave it a shot. The direction of this film was alright. There were some boring parts also but it ended nicely. I didn't feel its writing was up to the mark, but it manages to give the viewers a good story. I understood what they wanted to show but this movie fell flat on a lot of other levels.

The music is the best part of the movie. All the songs are catcy and have a great feel to them.

I don't think I'll ever be watching this movie again, but I'd still recommend it to every one who loves stories based on true friendship and human growth.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Grapejuice
3 people found this review helpful
Sep 4, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
The movie Nana is simply put great ! As long as you can take sad movies you should definetly watch it ! In fact I would be suprised if you havent yet.

The Story is mesmeriezing ! First of all it felt longer then it actually is. There was always something happening through out the movie. And when it ended it made me feel so empty but so satisfied yet wanting for more. A better ending perhaps.

Acting was definetly good.

Music was super! Everytime I heard Glamorous Sky I litterally jumped in my seat out of joy yet sad tears came to my eyes.

Movie is definetly rewatchable. I dont know whereter or not I would rewatch it though. It was a really sad movie for me. Probably because I had grown so much for all the characters that i felt sad in the end of the movie. I was a kid back when i watched it and therefore more emotional.


Put together it was a marvoulus movie and worth in your list !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
4 people found this review helpful
Feb 1, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I really love this movie!!! The bond between the Nanas is really beautiful. The story of Komatsu Nana (Miyazaki Aoi) and Nana Osaki (Nakashima Mika) with such differences in life and character that understand and help each other is just awesome. I really can't explain it, but I felt really deeply while watching this movie. The music is boss too. I'm about to rewatch this with my sister, then watch Nana 2. I recommend that everyone watch this movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xBBBLUE
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 28, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

I haven't read the manga, so...

First of all, I haven't read the manga so I can't compare the movie to it. I haven't watched the anime either, but it has been on my plan-to-watch list for a long time. And after watching the movie, I will definitely watch the anime, maybe I can find a manga so I can read it.

Two girls with the same name, want to live in the same apartment, but differ in style, character, and ambitions. Their friendship gradually helped each other develop. However, in this movie, one of them overcame her past, and the other was given some hardships in life.

I liked the whole movie. The fact that Nana didn't want to talk about herself was shown because instead of talking about her past, we got to know her through flashbacks. The rest of the movie was mainly shown from Hachi's perspective, and she was the narrator.

I don't know why, but I shed a few tears during the scene on the train between Nana and Ren.

And I can't forget about the main point of this movie either. The music was very good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
XingBack
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 13, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
the actresses were on point, I think Nakashima Mika really captured rock nana's feels and attitude really well, and cute nana was nice too, though for the mls, non of them met my "expectations"
Ren kinda looked cold composed and stoic, but here he was slightly sleazy looking, he did not look ROCK ;) I hate when equal's change the actors (and 2 mains) but I hope he's better there xD

the sismance between the nana's was adorable, and their characters were solid enough but I hated the focus on cute nana's cheating boyfriend ;/ and his new gf just passed "cute" into creepy clueless territory ;)


it was even way way before I got into anime/dramas that I was on love with nana's art style just from googling it, but I never watched the anime or read the manga xD
I kinda liked the aura/feel of it, and not reading/watching it made it more mysterious and deep? (now I tried to google it and the drawings kinda looks, childish? xD but it brings back memories.. I even loved drawing punk rock fashion, I probably still have my drawings with nana inspired looks..)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lolita
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 17, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

TOUCHING

Nana to me is a touching and sad movie, even though it has a happy ending.
In the first half of the movie, we deal mostly with cute, girly Nana's love life and her relationship with her boyfriend. She seems to be your traditional Japanese female who dreams of being married and handling the household. It is good that her bf doesn't seem to agree with this as he pushes her to find her own place and job. Ultimately, it proves to make her stronger.

Around half way through the movie, we focus more on the tough Nana's story that is only hinted at in flashbacks. This is where the movie really got to me. I'm not sure why, maybe because it speaks to my own/our own experiences with heartaches and pain that can come with love? The love between Ren and Nana seems so pure, so giving. It makes it all the more sad to see them fail at first, due to being proud people. You just feel that theirs is the kind of love that is really one in a million and hard to find.

Tough Nana isn't your typical Japanese girl. She isn't super cute or overly attractive. But her vulnerable side that shines through makes her very attractive, because you can feel that hers is a love that is as pure as the beautiful snow we often see in the flashbacks.

A scene close to the end where she suggests that they one day grow old together, after they have outgrown their pride and vanity made me cry. I guess that's where film has real life beat. In real life, no beautiful or sad music is playing over those special moments you share with others and no beautiful speeches are addressed at us.

The film might have been stronger if Nana and Ren didn't seemingly get back together in the end, but rather kept their melancholic distance. That's closer to real life, I think.

Still, I think Nana is a beautiful movie, not just for women, but for all of us who ever went through a heartbreaking time or felt they once had true love...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
imnothere
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 9, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
J'ai longtemps évité cette adaptation par peur d'être déçue étant très fan du manga et de l'anime. Et franchement ce n'était pas si horrible. Ce n'était pas aussi excellent que ça aurait pu l'être mais ça se voit qu'ils ont fait des efforts surtout visuellement. Les scènes sont très fidèles à l'oeuvre d'origine. Ce que je trouve dommage c'est que c'est un peu plat, ça manquait un peu de rythme, de piquant, de frissons et de fun comme l'oeuvre d'origine. J'ai déjà souri et pleuré devant NANA et ce n'était pas le cas ici. Je sais que c'est sorti avant l'anime mais la bande-son était moins marquante aussi. Je ne recommanderai pas spécialement ce film pour un fan de NANA mais ce n'est pas une totale perte de temps.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
CaluuDente97
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 28, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0

A los fans les va a gustar

Este es uno de esos live actions que evitaba de forma consciente, porque como persona que no veía este tipo de adaptaciones en el pasado, me generaba mucho rechazo. Bueno, ahora que les agarré el gustito a las películas en imagen real, la vi con otros ojos y, para mi gran sorpresa, me gustó muchísimo.

El live action de Nana hizo muchísimas cosas bien: las dos actrices que le dan vida a las protagonistas son absolutamente perfectas (Mika Nakashima como Nana Osaki es espectacular y me niego a escuchar lo contrario), los looks y vestuarios de todos los personajes están recreados maravillosamente bien, la estética de todo es prácticamente igual a la del manga y en general siento que supieron resumir bastante bien el principio de la historia.

Creo que lo único que no me terminó de convencer, y aún así entendí que fue por falta de tiempo, fue que los guionistas de la peli claramente tomaron una postura a la hora de contar la historia de algunos personajes. Digamos que hay situaciones que no las dejaron en una zona "gris" como en el manga, sino que directamente las mostraron como blancas o negras (esto pasa sobre todo al principio en relación a Nana Komatsu y su novio Shoji).

Pero bueno, dejando de lado esos detalles, todo lo demás me gustó un montón. Eso sí, claramente mi cerebro fue rellenando con el material original todo lo que no profundizaron tanto en esta adaptación, así que no sé qué tan bien funcione esta película como un producto independiente al manga. Si son fans de Nana, posiblemente les guste, ya que como adaptación está re bien, pero si no consumieron nada de esta historia previamente, no creo que la película pueda considerarse buena en sí, ya que le falta profundidad a todo.

•IG DE RESEÑAS CORTAS: @altoplottwist

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Nana (2005) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 5,865 users)
  • Ranked: #4493
  • Popularity: #1479
  • Watchers: 10,660

Top Contributors

7 edits
7 edits
6 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Live Action Shoujo Manga
236 titles 337 loves 6
japanese movies;
101 titles 239 loves

Recently Watched By