Dear Sister

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 2,300 users)
  • Ranked: #546
  • Popularity: #687
  • Watchers: 5,083

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

33 edits
5 edits
3 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
neaa
25 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I haven't watched much of Japanese dramas, but the first episode got me hooked. It was a simple story, about two sisters. And for once I was more inclined on the family part than the romance.I started watching this because of Ishihara Satomi as I loved her in Rich Man Poor Woman, but I must say that all the actors have done a brilliant job in putting life to the characters. If you're looking for a small cuddly family drama with a pinch of romance, this is it.
The only problem with it was that they could have given some more time to some characters and the relationships. Somethings at times felt lost and unexplained.
But apart from that, this drama was sweet. I wish I had a sister. I won't say it is one of those extraordinary dramas, but its a simple story that you can relate to at times and which will move you to tears and make you smile all at once. Oh and I loved the music.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Misaki
16 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
The story might not be the most original out there but this series makes you love everything about it.

It's the story about 2, very different, sisters who deal with their problems regarding love, family, work and wealth. You can't help but fall in love with Misaki, Hazuki and all the other characters: their acting is simple yet natural which makes you feel like the story is real.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jdmcrazy
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I first watched Dear Sister just because I was bored but I never thought I would get so addicted and fell deep into the drama. Every week I would be excited for the next episode.

This drama is a very heartfelt story about two sisters and unlike many dramas I've watched before where I would only be interested in the romance, I became deeply involved with the chemistry and relationship between the siblings (Misaki and Hazuki). The story is so beautifully executed and many of the episodes will leave you with tears in your eyes. At first due to the quite long episodes I couldn't fully immerse myself into the drama but by the end of the first 2 episodes I couldn't stop watching it. The drama had a very real feeling to it; all the actors in the drama I believe really fit their characters and the acting was excellent. I also feel that the music was really suitable and perfect for the drama. Music in dramas are really important and I absolutely loved it.

This drama is like a special gem that is so precious and beautiful.The story and the relationships of the characters, especially the sisters, captivate you. By the end of the drama I couldn't believe that it was finished and it honestly touched my heart. It was one of the best dramas I had watched of 2014.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tofuramu
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 7, 2015
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was really cute but not only light-hearted.

There's strong sisterly love and a romance I supported. I did not enjoy the teacher-student relationship even after they lost that relationship. I hated the teacher.

The older sister showed tremendous growth and I enjoyed the younger sister's checklist. It was nice we had something to follow along to.

I love the younger sister, I found her independent and hot.

Generally the romances weren't that interesting but I would watch again because of the sisters and that's what this drama is about.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
canciochi
3 people found this review helpful
May 26, 2016
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0

So pure to the heart...

The first episode was already a rollercoaster - the ending definitely made me click "Episode 2" immediately.

Both sisters were cute and funny. I like Ishihara Satomi's (Misaki) acting in this drama - she was a natural. It was like watching my younger sister. Totally relate! Who else has an annoying little sister, who's lovable of course, but unquestionably irritating?

I really like Eito. That's how a boy in love usually acts.

It was emotional towards the end. However, I wasn't satisfied maybe because it didn't end as how I'd like it to end. I wanted it to be more emotional and tragic - as in heartbreaking, heart-rending, agonizing ending! (Haha you, wicked canciochi ;-) An ending like I just described leaves an impression that will take a long time to forget. It will tug... that's how I like my drama. Oh, does that make me a sadist or a masochist? Nyahaha! How about you?

This is an enjoyable family drama—a simple sibling rivalry drama with a hint of love story, sweet and crazy at times and yet so pure to the hearts of the audience.

The OST is perfect and fitting to each situation > Happiness by 云の泣 (Dear Sister OST)

If "Misaeng a.k.a. Incomplete Life" is your kind of slice-of-life drama, then you'll like this one, too.

Note: "Misaeng" is a Korean drama about the life of office workers—regular and contractual.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Saruman
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 29, 2017
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Oh how much I wanted for this drama to be good. How much I missed a good Japanese drama in my life. I was so grateful for this drama it was unbelievable. It is basically a no romance drama, at least romance was not the main this,  Matsushita Nao and Ishihara Satomi were just wonderful. They had a great chemistry and their portrayal of two sisters with a mainly conflicted relationship and many life problems was spot on. I loved this drama for its sincerity, incorporation of real-life problems, humor with a hint of seriousness when needed and mainly for an impressive and very realistic portrayal of family bonds and the relationship among siblings. It was a drama that I the least expected to tear up while watching. This is definitely the drama I would recommend to every drama watched no matter the age and no matter if you are a romance only lover. This drama will make you rethink your life choices and your life path and open your eyes with it's truly wonderful, fulfilling and emotional ending.

Saruman loves and approves!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sky1427
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2016
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers
First, i really want to say how pretty is Satomi in this drama lol. I started watch this drama because so many people recommending it an saying that this drama is really good. So, here is my review. (may contain spoiler!!)

STORY.
i really interested with the plot, at first. Honestly expect so many things happen. I don't want to deny that the plot is really refreshing. It is new, never i saw any drama with plot like this. Basically more focused on the sisters' relationship and the romance is really didn't have any impact for those who searching for romance based drama plot. I felt like even though this is new, the story didn't have any impactful climax. All the problems are settled really quickly. I don't really get the emotional effect like it should be with all those sad emotional scene. Maybe because i never or rarely watch japan's drama, so it could be japan's trade mark with this kind of emotions.

ACTING-CHARACTER
even though i am not really get the eye-candy face from the male the female cast are really pretty. i feel like this drama character aren't strong enough. it feels they are just changing to different personality as the drama goes towards the end. Like in the beginning it said Hazuki are really meticulous and clean freak etc but turns out to be clumsy later. Misaki suddenly turns into cry baby but it told that she is kinda tough girl and stuff. The acting deliver, well i am not a pro, but i really don't get the emotional effect as it should. i already said that before the plot and the acting didn't really blend and it didn't have any impact for me.

MUSIC.
i don't really pay attention to this aspect, as usual, because i am more focused on the plot and stuff. The song that really catch my ears--and the most played in the whole drama is titled Happiness and it is really good! :D another good point.

OTHER STUFF
First, i don't really get why the character in the drama are not really...emotional? like where the scene when Hazuki money is stolen by her mom and turns out her mom's 'boyfriend' scam her, she didn't really get angry like ???? okay, she express the anger but it feels like it was really plain. When something big/bad/sad happened they just got a lil bit annoyed and it past like nothing happen. And the next day they were like 'oh nothing happened everything is okay' . And on the positive sides, the places they take to shoot are all really pretty! especially apple seed cafe. IT IS REALLY CUTE lol


p.s: the scene where misaki deliver her baby is fucking weird (i am sorry because i was like wtf????)

WILL I WATCH IT AGAIN?
maybe later, when i don't have anything to watch.

OVERALL THOUGHT
this drama is recommended for you whose not into heavy conflict or dramatic emotional roller-coaster, and not seeking for romance type drama. I wanted to give this drama a high point IF it's for a light typed plot and family oriented category. It feels at some point the progress is too rushed and it will be good if this drama have longer episode the elaborate the character and the plot as well.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PastelRose
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 21, 2018
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Story: 9.5
This story made me wish I had a sister. The plot wasn’t very complicated which I enjoyed, and its a simple 10 episode drama that you can binge in a day/night. The story had me laughing and crying all at the sametime. This drama is a definite for anyone who likes a strong female cast, and enjoys the family dynamic that comes with sisterhood.

Acting/Casting: 10.0
This was so well casted! I can not tell you how much I enjoyed the two female leads in this. The only question I would have had would the casting choice of Sakuraba Soichiro just because he seemed a lot older than I thought he was supposed to be. The overall acting kept me wanting to click to the next episode. I truly have become a fan of both leads, their bond between the two showed on screen.

Music: 10.0
The music in this fit perfectly. It kept me into the story and didn’t take me out once. The intro song was very well with the drama. I’m not a music expert, but it was really well done, and they knew when to not play any music.

Rewatch Value: 10
I wouldn’t hesitate to rewatch this the moment I feel lonely because it left me feeling happy and appreciative of the family I do have. This is truly a jem and added to my favorite list of dramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?