Completed
addicted2dramas
16 people found this review helpful
Sep 10, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
When I looked at the cast of the movie, it caught my attention. Ikuta Toman, Yui Aragaki and Makai Osamu all in one movie sounded so promising. However, since I had seen mixed reviews for this film I had a feeling it would be bogus, but watched it anyway. The only reason to watch this was for its cast. And boy- it was so boring! I couldn't even finish it properly. I had to skip so much of it.

The events and incidents in this film were so pointless. It was just to show that two people can love each other even after going through crap for 10 years of their life. It was completely bogus and predictable. No enjoyment came out of it. Rather, it felt like a never-ending saga. The characters were all terrible and all the actors were under utilized in this movie. Most of all, there was no purpose to include Makai Osamu's plot in their love story. As I said- pointless.

When the movie ends you are left with your mouth wide open. And that is because it ends abruptly after all the garbage you had to endure for more than 2 hours. This, and also the actors were of no help since the story was so bad in itself. In fact, they came off as annoying. Sad to say, they were a victim of poor writing and bad direction here. Also, it has to be one of the worst love stories I have seen in Asian movies. I thought the Korean movie Classic was boring, but compared to this that could probably win an award. This one deserves an award too- a 'Challenging to Watch' award.

By the end, it is so boring that it makes you laugh. So to all the fans of these actors- spare yourself and rewatch something else. But DON'T watch this movie unless you are bored to death and want to be bored further.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
myungsooo
10 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Well this movie was a big disappointment. With established actors being casted (Gakky, Ikuta Toma, Mukai Osamu), I thought that this movie would be overwhelmingly great with the acting power and fascinating storyline. However, Sae and Kouhei spent 3/4 of the drama casting each other wistful glances. Seriously? Wistful glances? Grow up, you two, you're adults already, just admit your feelings!


The Dogwood Tree was a pain. The story seemed to revolve around it (hanamizuki being the title and all), but it was just... a tree. I expected some drama over it and more... spice, but the tree just remained a tree. Ok, it's a tree and will be a tree forever, but the story is just like, oh this tree is special! Oh, I'll take care of it for life! Oh, the flowers have bloomed! Oh this is so magical! Wow! Well that's all.


Sure, this movie had its heartbreaking moments, but the 3rd party (Junichi) just served the purpose of making the couple drift even further away. 3rd parties are supposed to make the couple appreciate each other, not the other way around! Urgh this is so frustrating. And Junichi's conclusion in the storyline was so disappointing; I was just like... What? What just happened? Why?


And that's all I remember about the movie. Expected much better from a production which casted up-and-coming actors, really.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ElliShrax
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 3, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I see a lot of people didn't enjoy this but in my humble opinion it is worth a shot.

Not a lot actually happens if I'm honest; but even so it manages to carry itself for a full 2 hours. It's a very simple story about love & life getting in the way.

I am not a huge fan of Ikuta Toma but his acting is really good here & I think he suits his role perfectly. Aragaki Yui as Sae is also lovely to watch & listen to, she has a really soothing voice which helps with the overal tone of the movie.

Not 100% sure what to take away from it but all in all not a bad watch if you have nothing better to do.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rheadreamshigh
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 6, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a story about first love. The story is good. It tells about a girl who dreams of studying in Tokyo and a boy who dreams to be fisherman. It was amazing. This is worth watching and gives me a hope.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Faara
2 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 3.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
From what I understand, this was a rather buzzed about movie. I cannot say that I enjoyed it at all. It took me three weeks to complete, because I didn't want to continue watching it.

I remember seeing Ikuta Toma in Hana Kimi, and I thought him rather good. But, what can I say. He's a Johnny Boy. It might have been the most shallow and boring acting under my entire drama obsession. The only reason why I'm giving the acting a 3, is because the supporting actors did such a good job, trying to hold it together.

The plot was rather interesting, but at the same time boring. The same thing happened over and over again. And the things I wanted to see more of were barely there. Everything was shallow and unexplored.

The music left no impression on me, whatsoever. I can't remember it at all. That usually means that it was mediocre and boring.

I would not rewatch this even if I got paid. I was really disappointed with it. If you are hesitating about viewing it, don't! You will receive absolutely nothing from it and you will leave with a taste of beige in your mouth. Grey-beige.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sewitches
2 people found this review helpful
Apr 7, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
It's really touching story. I cried in the middle, but it was worth. When you are looking for story about love and dreams, this is the best choice. The actors are amazing too.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Val Sunbaenum
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 23, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0

Warm and cozy

The story does not bring any surprises, the only doubt is if they will be together or go in separate ways.

From the beginning, you already know that it is a very difficult relationship, and probably they wouldn't stay together all the time, and you already are waiting for they will break up. But you hope that they could find each other again, or if they don't, they could be happy anyway.

And the end brings exactly what we want, a delicious feeling warm and comfort. It's not a movie with big pretensions, it's just a simple love story for those people who like to believe that first love lives forever in our hearts.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
arashinta
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Not the best movie of Ikuta Toma in my opinion, but you can call this a slightly heartwarming movie. The pace is a little bit slow at the first, also it’s feel less systematic and actually those made me kind of boring. Although, since the time when they’re grown up and the problem starts to occur, I start to enjoy it.

To be honest, I dislike the conflict like which occur in this movie. And I dislike more the solution made by Toma. But then, the ending erase all the dislike and it’s warmed my heart ^_^

Despite the pace and the conflict, the casts' act were superb, so I was somewhat entertained watching it. Oh! And the soundtrack is nice too! ^_^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hanamizuki (2010) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.4 (scored by 2,683 users)
  • Ranked: #6697
  • Popularity: #2769
  • Watchers: 5,148

Top Contributors

7 edits
3 edits
3 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Romance JDramas
172 titles 125 loves 3
Onde assistir?
6453 titles 80 loves 2

Recently Watched By