Evergreen Love

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 1,489 users)
  • Ranked: #1097
  • Popularity: #1110
  • Watchers: 2,862

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

17%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

6 edits
5 edits
5 edits
5 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
missripley123
16 people found this review helpful
Jul 27, 2016
Completed 5
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Finally got to watch this movie yesterday !
the story was very cute and warm <3
I want man like Itsuki to appear suddenly in front of me too ~ but I bet it will be creepy.

he's very cute when saying " miss , can you adopt me ? I won't bite "

so , this movie is worth watching ! you'll also learn about plants too !
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RisefromBlackAshes
9 people found this review helpful
Jan 7, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I was so upset when this was released in Japan, and I didn't have the chance to go see it. I'm a huge idol fan and Iwata Takenori is one of my favorites. After seeing him in "HiGH&LOW"; I wanted to see him take on a different role.

This movie story was alright. I'm not going to sugar-coat it and just 'cause Iwata Takenori is in it does not mean it's do all end all. The plot is pretty 'meh', rather typical of most shoujo stories with the side plot of plants and identifying them thrown in to mark it different. My friends remarked on how absolutely ridiculous the basic premise is. If you're looking for realistic, this story is not it. If you're looking for easy watching/not complicated this is for you.

However, it is light hearted and funny at times. Iwata Takenori (Itsuki) is 100% quality eye candy and his character is a perfect match. Takahata Mitsuki (Sayaka) is relatable, and honest, with plenty of faults and positives to make her well balanced. It's unfortunate you don't get to see either character really develop just based on the pacing of story, and the type of acting. The side characters don't see much screen time or development, but they're a solid background foundation rather then a hinderance.

The music overall is okay. Nothing spectacular about it, and at times the timing seems a little off/inappropriate for the mood. Not to the point of being unwatchable, but noticeable.

Again, I love Iwata Takanori. I love Takhata Mitsuki, so for me this movie was a no-brainer to watch. It's not complicated, but it's not boring. If you're looking for something light-hearted to watch without getting teary-eyed this is it. I'd rewatch just to see the eye-smile prince smile again, but it won't be frequently.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ece
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Every scene of the movie was my aesthetic. The plot gives you cheerful nostalgia. The movie was about pure love which makes me feel fresh. You can understand the background of movie easily and you can watch it in your free time to get relax.

Music was so beautiful and I downloaded it to my phone. I think music matches with the movie a lot. Movie and music shares the same emotions.

Cast was as pure as the love in the movie.

I'm sure that I will watch it again and again.

The movie gives you the fresh cheerfulness of the spring season. And also you can feel nostalgic, too.

And also, I learn a lot about botanic.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RaquelMaia
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 10
I love watching a movie without any expectation because I did not know anything about this one. But I was really glad I saw it.
The story is very beautiful, and have fantastic details, it gave a little hunger when he cooked, which is good. I loved the way he dealt with her, how he explained everything about the cooking and how he should do it.
Personally, I also liked his connection to plants and the way he talked about them.

I advise everyone, because it's not just another romance, nothing cliché * I think * deals with small problems that we have in love, in relationships.

I just think the song could have been better.

Will I see you again? most likely.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
POLARIS
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 2.0
The back ground music is so so so amazing, this is the review.
>>>>>>>>>>>>
it's green. i felt that i'm reading a novel of 150 pages that you can finish quickly but keep remembering it.
i hate how the female lead was treated in the end really! but the story is warm and there are alot of good quotes and informations about plants.
however i just watched it for the back ground music tbh and that's why i decided to write a review.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PastelRose
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 10, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
Overall: 9.0

Story: 9.0
The premise of the story is suspended on disbelief that a woman in this century can let a complete stranger into her house without knowing anything. Take that aside, you have yourself a story plot that is simply a romance film or a ‘Chick flick’. I don’t like that term, so we are going to call it Romance Film.
If you enjoy light hearted films, that mostly just revolve around two people and their relationship, this one is for you. It’s quite simple story plot of a man moving in with a woman, wins her over by cooking, and breaks her heart only to make it up for in the end. Though I wish at the end they could have added more drama to how she reacts to seeing him again, I think compared to other Japanese films dealing with romance it was a nice change from the dark and dreary endings.
The thing that made me fall for this film was the simplicity of it all, yet had deep meaning behind every word, every action. It was simple, yet dealt with real mature emotions such as going through a heartache, dealing with falling in love, jealousy, and love. Easily in one of my top 10 favorite Japanese films.

Acting/Casting: 9.0
I think the casting for this drama was great when it came to the two leads. We didn’t really get to see so much the supporting characters, they were mostly just used as sub plots in order to show the feelings of the two leads. But the choice of leads for this drama for me was spot on. This film relies heavily on chemistry, for me, I could see it. It had me giggling and laughing, crying and wishing to see more. Both actors did a fantastic job, though this is the only film I have seen either of them in, I thought it was very well put together acting wise.

Music: 9.5
I really, really, really, loved the fact that they didn’t use lyrics during the film. They only waited till the end to add music with lyrics. I find lyrics slightly distracting when they don’t fit with the film, and something such as this would have ruined the moment. The instrumental music helped make the film flow, and keep emotions high for the audience. I enjoyed the soft tones of the piano, and the way it fit with the overall scheme of simplicity of the film.

Rewatch Value: 8.5
For myself, because I love pure romance films with happy endings, I could find myself watching this again on a afternoon, or introducing it to a friend who loves romance films. Its one of those films that leaves you with happiness and a completed storyline, that will make your toes curl and you smile. A feel good film that is worth re watching over and over again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tatiane
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 12, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Woah, I really don’t get why is so low rating in here, please ignore this and watch it. Why?
It’s a simple, fresh and beautiful love story. So pure and precious. Every detail is so cute and mature. At first you will ask yourself “How? How the girl let a totally stranger come into her house?”… Yeah, actually a bit weird, but at the end you will kinda get it. She was totally broken and depressed (in my point of view) and that stranger will slowly put light into her life with his love for plants (weird? Not at all, is so cute and you’ll start wish you know better about it).
It was a long time since a saw two people falling in love in a form so beautiful and pure that my heart melted all the time, smiling and wishing a love like that. I’m so tired of these tipical cliché and I swear this movie is not like that at all (even tho “the stranger living in my house” is common).
I really love this one, I think is my favorite japonese movie I ever saw. Please do yourself a favor and watch this one! Itsuki is an amazing character you’ll fall in love and Sayaka is a sweet girl you wish you’re friends with (or fall in love as well haha).
Well done, Japan. Seriously, well done!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
cassey
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
Evergreen love is a very laid back easy breezy simple love story. Quite slow-paced, very slice of life, that can be likened to the changing of seasons, and growing of plants, that our characters bond over. Before you pick this up though, you have to get by the weird premise of her adopting him as a roommate when they just met. Now I laugh at all the outrageous theories I have behind Itsuki’s personality (I thought: does he turn into a plant, is this secretly a fantasy genre lol!). The leads look cute and charming together (Iwata Takanori looks like the hot long lost brother of Running Man’s Kim Jong Kook), but the plot didn’t really stretch anybody’s acting muscles. As I was looking forward to seeing more of Takahata Mitsuki’s projects after her excellent turn as Kahoko, so in that aspect I was disappointed. Overall I still appreciated the warm feel of the movie and how it tried to be different in the way it told the usual love story.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BlackJin
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 19, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
This was a very fluffy story, typical japanese style.
You learn about the small edible plants that grow on river banks, and how to make them into delicious food.
Overall this film was really cute, something to keep for a lazy rainy day. It will exceed your expectations but it wasn't something super punchy.
It has that soft Japanese vibe, if you could compare this to Kdrama, I would call this herbal tea and Kdrama triple shot coffee.
No matter your jam- this film pauses time with a simpler approach to life.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jessica Mirador
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 20, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This romance movie was very pure and innocent, however in my opinion i thought that the progression was very slow unfortunately. I didn't want to leave the movie unfinished, so i watched till the very end, but there was not much excitement going on for me. The plot was too simple in my opinion.
I did enjoy the cast however, and definitely loved the food scenes. Those scenes were enjoyable and definitely made me crave food!
Was this review helpful to you?