Nodame Cantabile: The Final Score - Part II (2010) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.5 (scored by 3,305 users)
  • Ranked: #362
  • Popularity: #676
  • Watchers: 5,512

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

20%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
5 edits
2 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jeaniessi
11 people found this review helpful
Feb 27, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Nodame Cantabile The Final Score II is really a continuation of the first movie. I wrote a review for The Final Score I and my thoughts there are very much the same here.

The continuation and deepening of both Chiaki's and Nodame's talents and relationship are the focus. And they both have to decide what they want and what is important. The story is told in the same funny, silly and charming way the whole series has been told. This movie is the best of them and usually with sequels, you can't say that.

More of my thoughts are expressed in the other review and I'd only be repeating myself too much.

The music is a 10. I can't give it any lower. I think I am more of a classical fan now.

I give the re-watch a 10 because I just got done watching a 2nd time.

I recommend the whole series highly.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
alphrado
8 people found this review helpful
Feb 2, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
((((IT IS REALLY A MUST WATCH DRAMA))))
yaaaaaaaaaaay i am lucky to watch this golden show with this short time!(drama-comedy-fun-originality)

i am sad coz it ends i need more >< sayonara chiaki(tamaki hiroshi) and nodaime(uneo juri) you were so great ^^and i give my full respect to the directors of this super show keuchi Hideki, Kawamura Yasuhiro (????), Tanimura Masaki
also of course the manga writer for her brilliant work Ninomiya Tomoko
this show sure deserves what it gots of awards,the best japanese drama ever ,even i have only one complain that tamaki hiroshi did not get any award >< he realllly deserve it!but many thanks from his fans to him^0^
ueno juri is the first japanese actress that i really like ,she is suuuper actress ^^
the cast is a respectable one,all of them are full of energy,power and admire acting ^^thanks from the bottom of my heart for the whole stuff and cast in japan and france because they reveal to us one of the rare respectable show ever!

for the first time in my life i do understand and appreciate orchestra and musical instrument ,nd love piano as well as conducting ^^

what make this show distictive and differ from other shows is the balance between drama,tragedy and of course comedy and fun and this ,in my opinion,is the secret of the success of this excellent show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Luly
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 10, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
What an amazing finale for an extraordinary drama! This was definitely better than Part I, let me tell you.

Storytelling wise, this movie goes deeper than ever before and touches some subjects I was hoping they would discuss, such as Nodame's actual feelings for music and her initial life plans being changed, and Chiaki's constant need to have Nodame by his side while never accepting it himself or to her. The rest of the characters also get resolutions, Kiyora's and Mine's being my favorite scene out of all of them.

The music here is as amazing, as it always was, yet it was used much better than in Part I. Here it does always help move the plot along, as it did in the drama, and it does so in a way that it never feels like it drags for too long, or at least, it never did to me.

The photography is outstanding and some moments were like postcards on the screen. The use of CGI for some moments gave them a more maga-ish effect which connected the story back to its roots and lightened up the mood by offering balance.

The performances here are at their best. Kudos to Ueno Juri and Tamaki Hiroshi for being not only amazing on their own but also having such incredible chemistry together and creating a couple that you can root for yet see its issues very clearly too.

I couldn't have asked for a more deserving ending to an amazing series and I'm sure this is an undisputable classic (pun intended) among jdramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I loved this movie! Although I liked the drama I think this movie tops all the Nodame interpretations. It was a bit more serious and angsty. I was frustrated when Chiaki & Nodame had to be a part. I do liked though that she stood up to him and he had to see what he was missing in order to appreciate her. The ending was simple. I need another sequel to tie up lose ends!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Javier97LJDHfan
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This is a review of the ENTIRE Nodame Cantabile series (drama, SP, and movies). At first I wasn't sure of what to expect from this drama, but I ended up loving everything about it.

The story is amazing. It's very funny, and it never gets boring. The movies are a bit more dramatic, but they are just as amazing. The characters are very well developed, and I love each one of the them. It was very cool that story was set in Europe from the Specials on.

The cast was GREAT. Ueno Juri is brilliant as Nodame, and it's arguably the best performance of her carrer. Her expressions are priceless. She was even better in the movies.Tamaki Hiroshi. did great as Chiaki too. Takenaka Naoto was EXCELLENT as Stresemann. His performances is very exaggerated, but extremely funny. The acting, in general, is over the top, but it fits the tone and style of the story perfectly. The entire cast is fantastic.

The music is OUTSTANDING. This is the best soundtrack I've EVER heard. I mean, it includes music by Beethoven, Mozart and other geniuses of music. Simply spectacular. I think I've become a fan of classical music.

The cinematography was beautiful, since the films were shot in Paris and Prague (which is one of my favorite cities).

Nodame Cantabile is a very funny and delightful story, with amazing characters, great acting, and a spectacular soundtrack. You won't regret watching it. I'll definitely watch it again someday.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nyah
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
The orchestra scene The competition are Superb! You really must watch this movie!

My heart racing and cry during Nodame playing piano with orchestra band, everything was touch and so powerful. Wow!
The production done so much good job, the main cast to support role everything were great that I cannot explain well. After watched Nodame series, this movie is the ended of the story of Nodame so I was sad but it ended in beautifully way, even the romantic part for little as always lol, anyway Nodame will remain No.1 Jdrama & movie for me so you have to watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
John1122
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 21, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
I must say the second part was the star of the show, not that the first part wasn't good but this was just on a different level.

Both Part 1 and Part 2 are continuations of the main drama series: Nodame Cantabile, so I suggest watching that series first before touching the movies.

Just some quick thoughts on the story and the characters. The star here was definitely Nodame, in this second part we could start to see her mature, her thoughts deepen and her emotions much richer than ever before. We could physically see her technique improving and the depth and emotion growing with every piece she plays. I must say, that Chopin Piano Concerto #1 she played was superb, not just musically but her acting, her emotions simply shined throughout the piece. As usual, Chiaki was brilliant, and his realisation that he should treat Nodame a bit more seriously finally surfaced in this second part.

Brilliant, absolutely brilliant - what a great end to the entire Nodame Cantabile series...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SagharJalali
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
WOW.....i recommend this to every one who loves classical music.you could learn a lot about master peaces of great musicians.and the struggles they go through to make those classical musics and stories behind those great arts of music.specially part II. because it emphasis on the people who doesn't even realize they have a great talent even more than the people around them whom they are envies about.
Was this review helpful to you?