Sotus S: The Series

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.8 (scored by 1,884 users)
  • Ranked: #89
  • Popularity: #828
  • Watchers: 3,538

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

60%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

29 edits
15 edits
10 edits
9 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Tee
25 people found this review helpful
Mar 10, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I had high expectations for this series because I loved the first season, however, that was a mistake. Don't get me wrong. I still full-heartedly enjoyed this season. It's just that it didn't live up to meet its predecessor. What I loved about Sotus was that it didn't rely too much on clichés. This season, it felt as if the show only relied on cliché. It just follows your basic romance storyline.

We have the setup where they establish who the characters are. We can tell who is going to end up with who because it is hinted at. Then there's the conflict: the overused, one-sided crush. I say overused not just because I see it in too many shows, but because that was the whole premise of the first season. There's no point in concluding a story if you're just going to bring back the same exact conflict again. This is practically the main conflict between most couples other than Kongpob and Arthit.

Now, I'd hoped that their conflict would be the most interesting since they're the centre of the story, but that's not the case. They don't even have a main conflict. It's just a bunch of small misunderstandings that eventually lead to the climax of the story — the classic "falling out" (another cliché). And wouldn't you know, the use of small misunderstandings is also an overdone concept in the romance genre.

The first season wasn't perfect. It had too many unnecessary flashback sequences, music that felt misplaced at times, scenes of silent staring that lasted too long, etc. However, whatever it lacked in these areas, it made up for through the story. The story felt real and relatable, yet not too much so that it was no longer enjoyable. It taught the importance of friendships and collaboration. It showed personal growth in many of the characters. But this season, rather than bringing something new to the plate, it played it safe and did the same thing. And because of that, it did not have the original impact the story of the first season had. I feel they simply rode the coattails of the previous season's success because they knew the majority of fans would watch no matter what.

Another thing is, everything was predictable. I knew exactly what would happen long before it did. Literally. I wrote this entire review after watching only the first episode and was able to predict everything. Anything after this sentence was added after more episodes came out.

So, I have one correction to make. Kongpob and Arthit had a main conflict (not wanting others to know of their relationship) which was sort of the root of many of their misunderstandings. However, it was also an overused conflict that they even briefly used in the previous season.

Now, I realize that many fans of the show may hate this review. That's why I want to make it clear that I love this show as well. There are many things I loved about this season! However, I'm not going to write a biased, unhelpful review. I want to critique this show properly. I truly believe the plot was too clichéd. Yes, I still enjoyed it, but this is the biggest thing the show could've improved on. The best thing this season had was the "cute moments" between couples. However, a cute couple should never be enough. It's easy to make a couple look cute. But without a good, cohesive plot to carry that couple, it's not a story but rather a few scenes placed in chronological order.

I would like to state one final time… I loved watching this season. I even gave it a good rating. I just couldn't rate it as highly as I did with the previous season and everything I've said so far is the reason why. This isn't me hating on the show. I'm simply critiquing it as a fan.

Well, now that I've gotten the story out of the way, I'll quickly go over the other categories. The acting and cast were all amazing but I think there were too many characters. The music was great. Especially songs sung by the characters. As for the rewatch value, well, I definitely will be watching again multiple times.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Annarwen
16 people found this review helpful
Mar 10, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
What a wonderful series! It definitely took a while to get to the good stuff but when it did, whoo boy. They did not disappoint. The music in the 12th episode was amazing, and the story was great! One of the side character couples seemed a bit forced but all in all it was entertaining. Will definitely be rewatching this in the future. Big step up from the first season. I liked the flashback scenes ...wouldn’t mind if they dedicated a whole season just to that, so we get more of those moments. Hopefully there’ll be a third season. Maybe tackling the parents of Kongpob and Arthit? That would be very interesting to see. Loved how Arthit redeemed himself and their relationship. He stepped up in a big way for his man and himself! Great job all involved!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Janu-Rey Sebastian
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The chemistry of the lead actors is just perfect. I love how they carried their character from the first season. Their acting is more believable and on point.

The storyline is good but incomparable to the first series. I somehow felt that series 2 was created just to support their fans and endorsers. Well, nothing wrong with that. Sotus is one of the foundation of BL series. Regardless of the plot, the connection between the characters will carry the storyline.

The plot this time maybe cliche to others - but you see, as long as you get satisfied that's good enough for me.

Episode 12 is the best and one of the most iconic episodes for me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mark
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 18, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It's commendable that SOTUS S continues the realistic depiction of the struggles of non-het people, which we've seen in its prequel. Arthit's reaction when Kong flirts with him in public is highly understandable (been there, done that), and I'm glad that his character developed by the end of the series. However, the conflicts Kong and Arthit faced are easily-solvable by communication. Kong and Arthit as a couple facing society is a good focus, and I hope in the next season, they will face their families. (Here's to hoping there will be a third season!)

Tew and Dae are a nice addition, but I'm not sure what to say regarding Yong and Nai. It is unclear if they are just developing a bromance or a real BL, and their story has no development. They should have developed M and May's relationship more or explored Prae and her girlfriend.

SOTUS S is a nice sequel to SOTUS, so if you enjoyed Kong and Arthit in the first season, you surely will enjoy this one since it has a more fluff.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Odessa Jones
3 people found this review helpful
Mar 16, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I'm coming from a different point of view than the other reviewers so far: I didn't like the first SOTUS series (because of the amount of time spent on hazing, it's right there in the title!). But a friend convinced me to check the sequel out, because it focuses on the workplace environment. And they were right. I enjoyed this installment more. The characters make more sense to me now, perhaps because the actors are experienced in these roles. I can understand the small conflicts that they have in trying to maintain a relationship. The most important story line is about coming out to people at work, and it was nice to see a BL drama address real world issues like that (though the denouement is more fairy tale than realistic).

SOTUS S is a good series for people who want their BL to be PG-rated, innocent and sweet. Though there's less conflict in this season than in the first season, the characters are arguably more likable. I got bored by some of the workplace stuff in early episodes, but later episodes had good pacing. Not one that I'll rewatch, but it was worth my time once.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yoan Nastor
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 16, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I've already done watching Sotus S and its so hard to say goodbye to this series knowing the fact that this is the end of the story. But I hope that the production and GMMTV would give another series of Sotus cause its one of the most realistic gay movie I've ever watched. Im begging to have sotus forever. . Im still couldnt imagine my life without sotus and all I can do is to cry. Nothing is really good the way Khrist and Singto play the role. There is so much chemistry, not awkward to watch and even my sister really loved the movie. It is so impossible for you to fall in love with the story. Also the music, the message of each music is really depicting each scen. Good job to all...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
tteokbokki
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 9, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Why couldn't it been longer like Love Sick S2 36 episodes? Main couple's chemistry is like no other and their portrayal of characters were spot on and more; their acting skills far superior. Best part of each episode was the Special Scene toward the end, left me satisfied but begging for more.

Season 1 was start of everything: getting to know each other, the plunge into unfamiliar territory, fight for control, and adapting to new environment. Emotions were in full high with passion and excitement. Season 2 explore main couple's relationship while throwing in new challenges in another unfamiliar ground, their interactions and influence on each other. I appreciate how they stayed away from triangle romance cliche. While there are plenty of other interesting characters and additional cute couples, Kongpob x Arthit overshadows all. Especially Arthit's character developed sweetness and charm since dating Kongpob; such change & progress in a character is always fun to watch. Again, there are so many more possible events that can effect their relationship that I wish to see more!

Main & support casts, director, editors, and writer... I thank you! Please bring it back with Season 3. ^^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
gabija
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 23, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
I really liked this series! I dont really mind fluffyness or cuteness in dramas and there is a bit in here. The acting had improved a lot since season 1 especially for romantic scenes, theyre less awkward and you can see krist and singto look a lot more comfortable here. I wasnt fond of the many new side couples especially when characters seemed to get left behind from season 1 such as prem and wad, it is also seen that praepailin has a girlfriend and it would have been nice to maybe see their story :( but overall i loved the scenes with arthit and kong and i think its a very decent sequel, it made me cry a lot in happiness and sadness so be prepared for that!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
togetherwme
1 people found this review helpful
May 6, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
NOTE: This season is NOT consistent with the time jump at the end of season one, so it's best to pretend that never happened.

I didn't have very high expectations coming into this. Don't get me wrong, I loved the first season, but it didn't move fast enough and always felt like there was something missing in the way that it really didn't address a lot of what I was hoping it would.

Boy, was I surprised. I absolutely loved Sotus S. The story was amazing, the acting was better than the last season, and we actually got to see them in a relationship and struggling through everything that entailed, as well as some unpredictable obstacles that really contributed to some major (and majorly necessary) character development. Everything that had been niggling at me from the first season was addressed and resolved, and I was actually interested in the side characters for once. It was so nice seeing those same characters we loved from season one move on to such a different chapter in their lives and deal with the new challenges and difficulties that arise from it, and it was very rewarding to see them flourish and really grow into themselves. I would have liked to see more of Dae and Tew, but ultimately everyone got the resolution they deserved, even the minor characters who had only had a few scenes here and there through both seasons.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
J100
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 12, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I waited for season 2.. don't know why, maybe that's because there's not so much Bl drama with average production. (usually it's bad ending or rediculous story)

The actors:
Krist is a great talnted actor, i like his acting he have skills , on the other hand Singto is immature actor that not convincing so much and he's character even less convinsing. so it was probably worse for him.

The chimistry between them was bad and the characters not realistic whats so ever, their relationship is a fiction, there was no affection or communiction like a normal human being. It's been 3 years since they started their relationship and still they are not comfortable with each other and not talking so much. even not hugging or something normal dialogs occurred.

The music:
Not to my taste like most of Thai dramas ost its banal , i don't know why all the ost in gmmtv sound the same.without connection.

The story
Boring and plain without emotions, they are in the office most of the time with no interaction between them , the characters around them also plain, it's almost like a long commercial

I try to watch this again ...but i just can't!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kahame
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 9, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Where do I begin, honestly this show has been so lovely, it was not too sensual it took time for the characters to develop and grow which I most definitely enjoy and love about this series. It?s honestly so beautiful, there was a time period where I started to watch BL series and movies but stopped because I have been so busy. I recently have come out, and have had a relationship with a boy for almost two years. Watching all of these shows is truly inspiring . To see all the different stories of these people, has made me feel hope, and a sense of gratification to be the way that I am. This series was such a blast from start to finish.

The character development between Kongpop, and Arthit from start to finish has made me feel like I was growing with them, Its hard to describe how I?m feeling. The acting of Singto is so believable, having watched some of his interviews he has become one of my very few small list of actors. The chemistry he?s built over time between Krist?s displays perfectly onscreen as well, at times it feels like he?s so sincere with the lines he?s been given which I find mesmerizing because it?s only acting. Once you give this series a chance, you will most likely know what I?m talking about.

Although, during the second season of the SOTUS series I felt like it was a bit rushed. Not too much, but in a way that we did not get to see the smaller characters develop throughout the season. There were only little cameos once in awhile but It did not get to truly show how those characters got their in the first place. This series to me, is beautiful and a good watch. If you have the time, I definitely recommend this series above all the BL series I have ever watched.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Demy_Martin
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2018
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I notice a lot of people prefer the first season. I have to say I like this season a lot more. While I was disappointed with the sotus hazing aspect of the story, the interesting take on the workplace was surprisingly fun to watch. If you go in expecting to see familiar faces such as kongpop's gang and the former hazers, you won't be happy . Again, my biggest problem was the lack of romance between Arthit and Kongpop. For a couple together for years it felt like they were strangers. It can be argued that the tension of hiding is the cause but no. For whatever reason, at least to me. No sparks fly between the leads. It felt like I was watching a painting get together not maintain a relationship. They do warm up slightly by the end. The side pairings, particularly Tew and Dae were well executed and were what kept me invested. I do think the story suffered some transitional elements as time jumped like lightening. The season was an improvement for me and could honestly serve as a stand alone if no one wants to bother watching the original.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?