Ikemen Desu Ne

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.5 (scored by 6,019 users)
  • Ranked: #2035
  • Popularity: #271
  • Watchers: 10,764

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
7 edits
6 edits
6 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
amrita828
84 people found this review helpful
Sep 29, 2011
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a lovely drama.

I would very much like to review it in its own right, i.e. without comparing it to the original Korean version, but I found out it's impossible for more than one reason. First, because the majority of those who loved You're Beautiful were biased towards this remake from the look of the actors alone and didn't even give it a chance; second, because ironically my having watched the original made me appreciate this version a lot more. Therefore, I'll set my usual policy aside and write a comparative review.



I liked Ikemen Desu Ne more than You're Beautiful in many respects.

Despite having kept the plot almost untouched, the Japanese made some subtle changes to this drama which results in a completely different feel to it. This version has a younger look; although the Korean actors were in the same age range as the Japanese when You're Beautiful aired, the first looked somehow older. The aftereffect is that while Ikemen feels like kids playing kids, You're Beautiful is about adults being childish.



Because the Japanese remake lasts half the time as the Korean, they had to condense the original story and cut a good number of scenes. As it seems, they decided on cutting mostly on comedic scenes and secondary characters. I have missed some truly hilarious parts of the original, but at the same time I'm happy they skipped some and didn't linger on aunts, fans, managers and the like.



But what really made it for me is the female lead character. Mio is a sweet, generous girl out of her element, dealing with her firsts: first experience on stage, first friendship, first love. While in the beginning she unwittingly makes mistakes, she shows strength of will and some pride, which makes it easy to connect with her. Go Mi Nam was a über-humble klutz in the beginning and remained such till the very end, a trait which I personally found irritating to say the least. The fact that the biggest part of the comedy in YaB derived from Go Mi Nam's nth mishap made me very happy the Japanese decided to show a girl a little less frustrating and hen-pecked.

This leads me to the male lead. The difference is quite notable too. Ren starts as haughty and impatient, but shows his true colours very soon. He's a softie. The tormented relationship with his mother is stressed upon in this version, so that his yearning for affection and eventually falling for Mio comes out as very natural. Tae Kyung, on the other hand, is an arrogant young man who learns to think about others too. But we have to wait until the very last to see his transformation and even then he can't do without a couple of bravados or two.

This is why I loved Mio & Ren as a couple, while I barely tolerated Mi Nam and Tae Kyung.



The other "angels" grew on me. They may not be as good-looking as the Korean, but I believe they played their roles well and I refuse to start a debate on the most undebatable issue on earth: taste. As a group, the Japanese A.N.Jell look more like friends than their Korean counterparts. The relationship between Ren and Shu (Tae Kyung and Shin Woo in YaB) is better explored in IDN and I truly liked to watch them fight for the love of Mio.



I have a hard time rating the music. Some songs are the same as in the original, but in Japanese. I didn't care much for them and I think the Korean sang and executed them much better. On the other hand, I truly loved the instrumental music played in between songs. The piano piece is lovely, and used in just the right scenes.



This review has been long enough. I felt the need to write it because I think it's unfair to judge it without watching it to the end and I always get fired up when I read commentaries like "they are ugly" or "they can't compare". If you think you're an unbiased watcher and you like young dramas, give Ikemen Desu Ne a try. You may end up liking it more than expected.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
katiegal92
25 people found this review helpful
Oct 16, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Alrighty! So I absolutely love the original Korean drama, but I also absolutely loved Ikemen Desu Ne as well. I just completed this drama, when I first started it I attempted to do so immediately after watching You're Beautiful. That just didn't work, but after a hearty 6 months in between I can truly appreciate the loveliness of it. They changed enough of the story to keep one interested plus it is much shorter than the Kdrama. This is fantastic because it is painful to watch angst filled episodes when one already knows the outcome (well for me atleast :P ). I really liked how they fleshed out some of the side characters a bit more like Mio's aunt and the director of the company. I also think Shu's character had a bit more depth here. The only character I really wish there was more development in was Yuuki. Perhaps this was a good thing though as one's heart is not wrenched out here as it is in the kdrama.

Acting and Music wise it was extremely well done. A lot of the same songs were present but altered. The actors all did a wonderful job. The gal acting as Mio was just wonderful and brought a sweet spirit to her without coming across as a ditz.

If you've seen You're Beautiful, give this a shot. It is a Japanese drama through and through, don't look for something exactly like the Korean one, it is fun because it is different. I don't think one can say this one is better or truly worse than You're Beautiful because Kdramas and Jdramas have such different themes and stylings.

Anyway lovely drama, hope some folks give it a shot!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
_escapist
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 19, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I really liked You're Beautiful (Korean version) a lot, so decided to watch the Japanese version.
Story: This version is much faster paced, so a lot more events happen at one time, which made me less connected with the story. I guess because the story is almost the same, it didn't seem exciting the second round.

Cast: I personally didn't find the chemistry between the male and female as strong (maybe perhaps it seemed too rushed that I didn't believe their attraction for each other). I found myself really rooting for Shuu instead because he seemed really genuine. Yuuki's character was less convincing, and he didn't portray Jeremy as well as I hoped he would have. The President and Manager were funny, but some parts were overdone and repetitive.

Music: The music wasn't too bad, basically a remake of the original.

Rewatch Value: I don't really rewatch dramas, only particular scenes that are compelling, but I'm not tempted with this one.

Overall: Because the storyline is nothing new, I didn't find it as enjoyable. I managed to make it to the end of the drama because I don't like dropping them midway.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rourou
16 people found this review helpful
Apr 4, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
As a remake of the famous "You're beautiful" this japanese version was fair enough. Honestly the story is almost untouched except little things that i liked them adding it especially at the bigenning and at the end. The korean actors are a little better than the japanese ones but i loved Mio better than Go Mi Nam.
Some characters differs a little from both versions but what insures me the most that the music is the same i mean of course they translated it to japanese but it was a nice move i was afraid that they would change it.
Finally, i prefer japanese over korean when it comes to the language issue so to end this i would say that each version is nice on its own way and let's not forget that the japanese version was faithful to the original one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 11/11
iindu
8 people found this review helpful
Apr 15, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Though I did try to see this drama on it's own merit, it's difficult to rate this without comparing to the Korean version 'You're Beautiful'.

There are many things I want to say,and I don't think I am biased, but..maybe I am.

About Ikemen Desu Ne:
The story, though the same, was fleshed out and more well rounded overall. This, within just 11 episodes is surely a great job.
The characters were handled well. We see less silliness and for-the-sake-of-humor situations,and people feel more real.
These are the points I really appreciated.

Now, the main problem I had with this drama is the main cast and the music.
The songs were literally the same, but it didn't work for me. I really missed the feel of the music. And truthfully, the songs just did not feel the same without Jang Geun Suk's voice. :(

Then the cast- Everybody was good, except the main leads.. Mio and Ren. I liked them in the beginning, but as the drama progressed I could really feel how lacking they were in emoting.
Ren came across as the perfect haughty, but sensitive and lonely character, but later on in the drama, his mannerisms seemed more forced and somewhat lacking.

The biggest disappointment for me was Mio. And I never thought I'd be saying that I prefer Park Shin Hye over anyone else.
Go Mi Nam was often silly, super naive, and had that shuffling walk that was so annoying. Mio on the other hand, does not shuffle, does not do goofy things and is just a simple and innocent character who does not intentionally annoy.
But Takimoto Miori as Mio also cannot/did not emote half as well as Park Shin Hye. I felt it in the first main emotional scene- I was waiting to feel her sorrow, and though she cried lots, I felt nothing absolutely. And that continued throughout for me. Her acting did not connect with me at all.
The thing about Go Mi Nam was that- annoying as she was, I could always feel her emotions. I literally smiled when she was happy and could feel her pain when she cried. I have to say, after watching this drama, I really appreciated Park Shin Hye a whole lot more. She was great in emoting.

And lastly, I was sad that there's so little bromance within the band. I mean, Tae Kyung, Jeremy and Shin Woo had a sense of brotherhood and friendship no matter what else, but here the feeling was missing. Ren and Shu didn't seem to have any love for the other; Shu was annoying for the most part and only Yuuki was fun enough to lighten things up.

Yeah, so- I really didn't enjoy this drama, independently or in comparison. I would pick 'You're Beautiful' over this any day for a fun watch with better music and acting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
alphrado
9 people found this review helpful
Sep 9, 2011
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I think that i like this show so much even i watched your beautiful the k-drama version and i think that the j-version is excellent too.when i watch it for the first time i did not think that I WILL LIKE IT! because i alraedy watched the super hit drama your beautiful but really it was a graet one and i watch it eagerly now!whats better than the korean version in my opinion is that the events is faster than the k-drama and their is no kind of (delaying)that happened in the k-version ,the events is more rasonable and exciting also the female main actress is doing her job greatly ,also tamamori yuta san is a great actor and he is as funny as jeun seuk is!so all in all you have to give this drama a chance and really you will fall in love with most of the characters and really slim shady events! .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
leahakiko
9 people found this review helpful
Jul 13, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Watched you're beautiful way before Ikemen Desu Ne was even talked about so I gave this a chance, i usually love Japanese dramas more than Korean ones especially if they have the same story, and even though i saw YB first i loved this version a lot more. partly because it was only 11 episode and got right to the point but not in a way that was too fast. (I get tired of Korean dramas easily for dragging on.)

I preferred this Ren & Mio a lot more. the actors chemistry was good and they acted well together. I actually liked them a lot more than the Korean actors.

The music was the same as the Korean version, just in japanese & there was an added song which is probably the best song from both versions.

All in All, it's a good drama. i rewatch it again all the time (:

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kori
5 people found this review helpful
Mar 27, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
So, it's been a while since I watch YB, that being my first drama. Even so, I just /had/ to watch the Japanese version!

Considering it's much shorter, with only eleven episodes and the average length being 45 minutes, a lot of the scenes were cut, though honestly, I didn't mind, as most of it was the comedy. Some great scenes were cut though, sadly.

The story is obviously the same, and it's a great story. It was faster-paced, and while it was natural in some points, at others it went by far too quickly.

The character development was differeing in comparison to the Korean version, obviously due to the time constraints. Something I really didn't like was Shu's character though.

We all know how heartbreaking Shin Woo's scenes were in YB (it's really ridiculous how much that guy made me feel so heartbroken), but I didn't get the same impact for Shu as I did with Shin Woo. I think it's due to the huuuuuuugggee lack of Shu-Mio talk time. We got a ton of adorable talks between Mi Nam and Shin Woo in YB, but there just wasn't enough sweetness coming from Shu. I didn't get that super adorably nice feeling from him.

The acting was pretty good, but nobody can beat Jang Geun Suk's experience. I think the Korean actors were better, putting all appearance biases aside.

A majority of the music was the same, except in Japanese, and while they were good, I like the Korean version better. A few songs were not translated/included from the original though.

I personally wouldn't rewatch it, but I can see watching some parts of it over. Maybe just for Jang Geun Suk's cameo in episode eight. ;P

Overall, it was pretty good. If you liked YB, you should definitely try watching this version out. It's fun, and it puts a Japanese spin on some of the scenes we all know and love.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
EzzeZe
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 3, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Story: Because it is a remake of the korean drama "You're beautiful" the storyline is the same, the plot ofcourse the same. My expectations were set pretty high because i really loved the korean version, and because i did watch You're beautiful, it was almost impossible to not compare the two versions. There are slightly different scenes but overall it does stick to the original version very closely. This version has 11 episodes so the storyline goes by a faster pace but it still feels like the story is fulfilled nicely.

Acting/Cast: The acting really resembled the ones with the korean version , which is not bad at all, but i think it would have been a bit more interesting having different bits of characteristics that the actors could have incorporated. This would have helped give the actors more ownership to the characters , instead of seen them as the second Jeremy or the second Shin Woo. But if it is your first time watching the drama the acting is pretty good, it is fun to watch and entertaining.
The cast was okay, but they all seemed to lack a bit of chemistry together. it would have been nicer to see them more in a friendship kind of matter, the connection between them was not as tight as it could have been.

Music: the music was good, it was mostly a remake of the other version, but (again) if you haven't seen the korean version, the music was also very nice, it set the mood for the scenes right and it helped the drama move along, and it is a bit catchy.

Rewacth Value: i think its fair, its not as catchy as it could be for me to watch it again, but is does go by fast so if you do decide to watch over again it it will go nicely.

Overall: i'll give it an 7/10 , the korean version was one of my favorites, and it was impossible for me not to compare the two. But to be fair without a comparing both, this drama was good, but it wasnt great, it lacked of some charisma, chemistry, some ownership between the characters, but the story line was very good, and the acting was entertaining.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
the_Queen_of_Hearts
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 30, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
this drama is really fun.
It has the perfect mixture between love and family, making it more interesting. Even if it is a remake, it was as good as the original and Tamamori Yuta was really good acting the part of Ren, and could show really well the tsundere-like personality of the protagonist. I liked it because the love story is not the typical one, and it's full of suspense. Besides, there are not the usual romantic drama's cliches that make you know the end halfway.
So in the end, if you want to watch something fun, romantic, unexpected and that will keep your eyes on the screen, this is the right drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ulilah
6 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
I just had to sign in to this site to write this review. I must say when I first watched You're Beautiful I loved the story, maybe except from some overacted parts that I feel weren't due to acting skills - cast was doing very well, the story was too much sometimes.

What Japanese remake did was like editing a good story to make a great one. Or rather to turn great drama into outstanding.

So yeah, this is why I gave 10 points for Story - thought in Ikemen Desu Ne we can find a lot of parts exactly the same, the story goes a bit faster, seems far more natural - you believe in the characters, they are alive, while in You're Beautiful it's more like fairytale.
And the ending in this remake, I LOVE it! wait and see for yourself :)

Acting/Cast I will give 10 if not for amazing acting in Korean drama - JGS was just splendid, you have to love him. On the other hand I won't change the leading role in here - the chemistry between Ren and Mio (Miko) was so...well, sometimes it gave me shivers, love was in the air. And they were lovable and natural and altogether with the upgraded story it made such a great drama! I will rewatch it and rewatch and rewatch :)

The only thing that wasn't really special - Music, but to tell the truth after all this Korean musical dramas it was refreshing. And it worked well with the story plot.

Enjoy watching, and make sure you have enough time booked - it's impossible to stop once you start watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
karura17
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 8, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I just loved it!
It has been a while since I don't feel my heart beating so fast! Not just once but repeatedly!
I sort of felt it like a little bit when I saw Hana Yori Dango, maybe because of the resemble of the main character's personalities...
I have never saw the actors before, but at the end I totally felt in love with the main character :)
If you like romance doramas you should watch it!
Was this review helpful to you?