Pornographer

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 593 users)
  • Ranked: #1233
  • Popularity: #1964
  • Watchers: 1,395

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

21 edits
11 edits
7 edits
5 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Mr_Fink
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 1, 2018
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
I've been a bit iffy when watching Japanese BL because for the most part it never really delivers on the realism with lackluster kiss scenes and barely any action till the final episodes. After watching the first episode of 'Pornographer' I thought this would be the case yet again. But as the series commenced I was quickly proven wrong. With only 6 episodes at just over 22-minutes each, the story was filled with rich development that was brought to life by a phenomenal cast! The chemistry between the two male leads was excellent and the intimate scenes where beautifully executed that at times I thought I was watching a soft-core porno!

STORY: 9/10
The story of 'Pornographer' is more complex than it lets out to be. A young student crashes into a man with his bike who just so happens to be a pornographic novel writer. The novel author is injured and hurts his left wrist (which is suggested is his dominant hand). Since the young student has no money to pay for the hospital bills, he offers his services to the be the writer for the porno author till his hand recuperates. During this time together, the two develop a strong and meaningful relationship as the young student learns more about the author, who he calls 'Sensei', and becomes a fan of his writing style. He also learns that his Sensei has dreams of becoming an author outside the porno genre and that for now porn novels is what is sustaining his finances. The story sounds cut and dry, but there is a lot of mystery introduced into the plot as the young student gets Jealous of other characters that interact with his Sensei and when he starts imaging himself in the same sexual situations with that he writes about in his Sensei's novels. I would have given the story a perfect score, but unfortunately the ending left me without closure. I would hope there is a second season for this drama, but I'm not sure if there will be. Open-ended endings are nice, but I like endings where I am sure things have been properly resolved.

ACTING: 9.5/10
Every single actor in this drama gave glowing performances. Both main-actors played their characters amazingly well and their chemistry was through the roof. I especially enjoyed the editor character that came in later, he was extremely hunky and had a deep voice that made my heart swoon, All-in-all the whole cast was excellent!

MUSIC: 8.5
The music was good. It was a bit cheesy at times but it helped movie the story along and capture the feelings of the characters,

REWATCH VALUE: 8/10
I'd say this drama is good for one more watch but after that it may lose it magic. It's too short and there is no point looking into it much deeper than what is given to you unless season 2 is in the works. Other than that it would just feel incomplete.

OVERALL: 9/10
I really enjoyed this drama and I highly recommend it to any BL lover. Both main actors are not only easy on the eyes but have great acting chops. Their chemistry was also wonderful and the story itself is filled with twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 4/6
Janu-Rey Sebastian
12 people found this review helpful
Aug 20, 2018
4 of 6 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
To tell you honestly, I was skeptic in watching this series. The title itself sounds salacious. I initinially thought that this will be a cheap and improperly interpreted. However, I was wrong....

The plot and the story itself were well written. It's different from any BL movies that I watched. The way the story was narrated is superb. It is as if am also part of the movie.

Some scenes are indeed salacious, but the delivery has class. I'm reall surprised with the acting skills of these Japanese actors. Their character seems lit, as if they are not fiction anymore. The editing and the music is good. I do not think that each episode is short. Seemed to me like (the episodes) were intentionally kept that long to keep the viewers wanting for more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Michael
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 9, 2018
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
You have to look beyond the title which has more layers of meaning than it superficially suggests. Sounded quite heavy but the beginning was very funny and well done with two (later three) characters but got heavy again later. It's a weird tale but sucks you in (if you see what I mine). The rushed ending I find rather too "neat" and unsatisfying. Further comment under spoiler. "Cuts" in film are an easy option to jump time. They are risky and don't always work. One positive message suggested to me is that you do not have to "do" or perform a job, activity, vocation or whatever to "prove" your value as a person. Music - less is sometimes more and imo it would have been more effective to leave it out at some intimate points. Not one I'm likely to re-watch. It made its point first time round. Overall I'd go with the majority opinion of 8/10.

Not important but the younger guy did not look Japanese - OK I know I should not "stereotype". Avoid if you object strongly to cigarettes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
coa-chan
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 7, 2018
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I went into this series with a renewed sense of hope for Japanese BL dramas because of the good things I've heard about it. I was not disappointed.

I'll just say this ahead, in this series: there is no laughing, cute, perfect couple; no unrealistic problem-free relationship; no flat, emotionless actors-who-cannot-act; and most importantly, no shot of two lips touching and staying so painfully still for over a minute. All of these, in my humble opinion, are very good things.

I love the character interactions in this series the most. The short humorous exchanges the characters sometimes have are precious. Not only do the characters have chemistry, but they are also entirely natural and believable. There is a certain quiet atmosphere all throughout the series, punctuated by the beautiful soundtrack. The cinematography is also wonderful and aesthetically pleasing. There is just this one point in Episode 3(?) where the transition was so abrupt and ridiculous that I laughed out loud. Other than that, I have no complaints.

To be honest, I had no idea who Izuka Kenta was before this. Now, I have no idea why he isn't known more. His acting is smooth, there is almost no 'acting' but just him being the character. On the other hand, I didn't fancy Takezai Terunosuke's acting at the start. I felt it was too monotone, until this one turning point in the series where we see a different side to his character and I realized his acting was actually pretty on-point from start to end. Izuka may have stolen the show, but in at least two scenes Takezai completely stole the moment.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
J100
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 2, 2018
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.0
If you looking for fluffy sweet drama it's not, more for older audience , it's have a vibe of cinema film (also it is in a movie lenght 6 episodes contain 20 min) i didn't watch drama in this level for ages

After you read the manga (and dislike it) it's surprise me and it's up brighten the story and solve the low quality of the manga, if you want to read the manga, read it after you watch the movie

Ep 1-5 where spatacular!!!
First the editing and filming are number one, cinema quality on the aspect of light and shadows, colors, background, every word and every angle is calculated.

And they don't stop themselfes for filming intimecy scenes

Cast: 10 /10
The actors are amazing in every way, their skills is on the top , i love them, i can feel a lot of emotions, esspecially from Takezai Terunosuke that he's sexy, vulnerable yet firm and strong, his look so different from his character but he is so convincing you fall in love with him very fast, he is a king.

Music 10/10
The music is nostalgic, like the editing and filming also the music, the song called: "twilight dreams" by Chihiro Onitsuka she is also not young singer, with old voice, so also here it's remind some old vibe and emotional , fit perfectly for the background

Rewatch 3/10
Although it's fabulous i don't watch it again, because there is no mystery or something to figure

Episode 6 was moving and good also, again Takezai Terunosuke nail it, he was so great in express his emotions that it was even more real than real, it was like i move into his head, this is something that not every actor can do,

i confess i sympathized with him deeply

It's not that i didn't like the ending, but in the manga it has a nother chapter, and i wish they would add it, but i'm not so sure it will be. it's just can close the story better,



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
_mortala_
0 people found this review helpful
29 days ago
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Soo... true to its name it is rather explicit, but not in a bad way xD
Its a short intense serie. Yep, that basically explains it all, it has only 5 ep. they are around 20-30 min. each, and boy... oh boy.. it is the literal definition of a rollercoaster of emotions.
It starts in the most romantic way xD... a crash.
Instead of the student paying the medical fees, he gets offered to help the person he crashed into... a writer, to copy his books since his arm is injured, or is it??
So I really liked this serie, it was well filmed and had some great scenes xD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rikku
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 2, 2018
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
I gave relatively low ratings (at least for my standard) to this one not because it wasn't good, but because it was too short and it was originally going to be longer, which was a disappointment to me.

The story is not your typical BL: it's not bright and funny, nor about teenage boys looking for answers.
It's kinda mature in a sense (the kisses are definitely worth watching), but it doesn't give porno vibes.
Classy in its own way, I wish they could've given us a better ending.
The acting is so so good and all the darkness suits the story very well in my opinion.

I know i may sounds redundant, but the ending and the overall shortness guttered me.
It could've been a masterpiece in my book.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?