Too Beautiful to Lie

Details

  • Movie: Too Beautiful to Lie
  • Country: South Korea
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2004
  • Duration: 1 hr. 55 min.
  • Genres: Comedy, Romance
  • Tags: Con Artist
  • Rating: 13+ - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 7.5 (scored by 1,772 users)
  • Ranked: #2173
  • Popularity: #1203
  • Watchers: 2,816

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

5 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Rourou
21 people found this review helpful
Jun 22, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I remember watching this film in a "Friends night", I wasn't the one who chose it but I appreciated the choice.

2) Storyline/Plot:

Generally speaking,the film's story wasn't original or great but the script writers knew how to get the audience intention.

Positive Points:

*This film is directed to any type of audience since it has the elements that would keep most of viewers attracted.

*Main Genres:

--->Humor: It made this film cool and light plus laughter scenes were so diversified and frequently present especially at the beginning. It's the type of humor that keeps you expecting more, the funny scenes were hilarious especially for those who like comedy because when you don't laugh, you would be smiling.
Even though this genre wasn't present in the middle or near the end but it's considered as highly satisfying.

--->Romance: Since it's a romantic comedy, the romance was fair enough to the film's genre. I wouldn't say it's the most attractive romantic story but it was acceptable enough to consider it as a positive point.

Negative Points:

*I will mention that some situations were badly expressed in a way that would make you think that story lacked something.
*There were some blank moments during the film.
*The story wasn't really that special nor very captivating, it's the humor that gave it charm.

Story: 7/10.

3) Acting/Cast:

*Kang Dong Won:

I am always amazed by this actor's skills, charisma and the way he portrays his roles. Here he was a little different from his other productions but I would say that this film proved his amazing acting skils since he can adjust to any character.
Speaking about the character, I would say that it has the kind of naive personality but it gave me good laughter moments. I wouldn't judge Choi Hee Cheol deeply because its actions were set by the story so I rather praising Kang Dong Won acting.

*Kim Ha Neul:

I am sort of used to her roles, this actress is predictable somehow. Here, it wasn't any different but her way of expressing the character was appreciated. However, I have to admit that her way in portraying the role was a little weird at first then as the film went on everything was set smoothly.
The character is one of those independent females. Ju Yeongju lies and professional pretens made the character appealing and enjoyable most of the time plus it was really convincing.

*Other cast: most of them were acceptable exept Ju Yeongju friends, they were really annoying to watch. I speacially liked the grandmother, she was really funny because of the line that she always say.

*Relationships:

--->Romance: I wouldn't say there was a great chemistry here but it's all due to the storyline.

--->The leads relationship with the family and the village members: it was really cool to watch; it was sort of heartwarming and great to see how everyone treats each other.

Cast: 7/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

It was predictable yet cool.

Then ending: 7/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was giggling with my friends almost most of the time, it was fun.
*There weren't a lot of boring moments plus it was entertaining.

*Is this film memorable : If I will keep any memory of it, that would be because of the funny moments that I had while watching this film.

My impression: 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic comedies then you may want to watch this.
*If you would like to laugh then this is for you.
*If you're looking for an entertaining film to pass time with then watch this.

Overall: 7.5/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xeenatheprincesswarrior
10 people found this review helpful
Feb 4, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I was rolling on the floor watching this movie! it was so hilarious and I also cried at the last part!
The flow of the story is so perfect that you won't notice it's almost the end! I really enjoyed watching it even I am alone. My mom was staring me with weird expressions because I was like crazy laughing by all by myself.

I fall in love when Hee Chul sang in English! OMG! he really has a nice voice, so you guys out there, watch it out!!

I freakin' laughing how they mistreat Hee chul because of Young Jun!

The love chemistry between them is so natural and they really match!

Guys who love romantic comedy must watch this! It also show lessons in life so it's not wasting your time!

Anyway, it's a two thumbs up and must watch movie! I will again watch this and laugh by myself again!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sonkido
7 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
This movie was okay to watch once. Without revealing any spoilers, I must say the story was quite conventional: with a misunderstanding, turning into an elaborate lie, and then in the end ... Well, watch any romantic comedy on this recipe (Hollywood or not) and you'll be more than able to predict the ending.

In any case, it was a light, optimistic story. Don't expect too much, but it can turn out to be a cute date movie or when you need to get your romantic mojo working.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
reni
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 22, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
I cannot believe there are no reviews on this movie yet. I absolutely love this movie! It is so funny!! And I've watched this multiple times~!! When I first watch this movie, I couldn't believe how many lies she could tell and keep up with (If I were to lie as much as she does I would forget some of them...-_-)!! I gave up on her at first, thinking that she would never get out of the mess she created...but if you keep watching it's all worth it. You'll love the ending and you'll want MORE! (This movie makes you not want to lie ever again though...LOL)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
3 people found this review helpful
Sep 12, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is hilarious! Still thinking about it makes me laugh. Kim Ha Neul is comedic gold as always. I'm not really a fan of Kang Dong Won's acting so I didn't really liked him in this movie. He also didnt have any chemistry with Ha Neul which really ruined the romance portion of the movie. But still, watch for the laughs=D
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BitterSweetStunner
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Heartwarming story - how a lie became truth. how a person learns to value things which are inportant in life, how a person changes and does the right things at the end, even though the start wasn't good.
I've seen better movies, but this was fine. A comedy - not too sad, not childishly funny. At the end it touches your heart even thought at the beginning it seems like it won't.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lovegood
2 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is cute... I was smiling while watching 75% of the scenes... It was kinda heartwarming... A light movie to watch.

Kim Ha Neul was good in portraying her role. The guy was not bad as well... And the supporting cast also added spice to the movie...

A must-see-movie if you're feeling down. It will surely gonna make you smile... (^-^)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WonByungHoon
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 23, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
the movie was aiiight, lots of funny moments. kim ha neul did a good job acting as a pretty liar. the grandma though she dint say alot is one of my favorite korean show grandmas. she is very funny and in most shes always falling or on someones back or just looks funny. the liar carried out well and just when i thought she would be caught in a lie a misunderstanding keeps her in the family. the ending was so cliche but its a one tym watch
Was this review helpful to you?