Cyrano Agency (2010) poster

Details

  • Movie: Cyrano Agency
  • Country: South Korea
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2010
  • Duration: 2 hr. 1 min.
  • Genres: Comedy, Romance, Melodrama
  • Rating: 13+ - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 7.2 (scored by 3,789 users)
  • Ranked: #3122
  • Popularity: #565
  • Watchers: 6,519

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
2 edits
2 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jeaniessi
21 people found this review helpful
Jul 2, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I liked this movie a lot. I heard about it last year on a blog somewhere and it piqued my interest right away. When I wasn't able to find it with English subs I sort of forgot about it for a while. Then I started to notice Uhm Tae Woong. I'm glad I did.

Like the synopsis say,s the movie is about a troupe of down on their luck actors who open a dating agency and utilize their skills to help people win the object of their affection. It's fun watching the tricks they come up with to hook the prospective mate for their clients. Things take a complicated turn when a man comes in hoping to acquire their services and the woman he fancies is the ex love of Byung Hoon (Uhm Tae Woong).

The story obviously plays on the theme of Cyrano De Bergerac and it's done quite well. But this is not a re-telling or even a moderization of the old classic.

The set design is wonderful. I wanted to hang out in the old theatre where the troupe has their head quarters. The dynamics of the troupe and their interactions were some of my favorite scenes. Although this is not strictly a comedy, there were times when I laughed out loud. I consider it a success when a movie can draw a spontanious loud laugh from me rather than simple amusement. Uhm Tae Woong does a great job here as well as Park Shin Hye (that was a surprise).

The main themes of this movie are love and trust and which is more important? There's also friendship and learning to let go.

The director did a good job of setting the mood of this film and telling the story in way that flowed at an even pace. It is a fairly light movie and I can see why it did so well at the box office.

If you're looking for a fun movie to watch that isn't too dark and yet not overly light and fluffy, this one is a great pick.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rourou
30 people found this review helpful
May 17, 2012
Completed 1
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was hunting down Lee Min Jung's films and so I found this plus the rest of the cast seemed great so I end up watching this with great expectations.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story wasn't attractive or somethingspecial, it was sort of average.

Positive points:

*I really loved the opening story. At that moment, I thought I would rate this fim with a 8-9 but then everything didn't went the right way.
*I really can't seem to think about any other positive points.

Negative points:

*The story wasn't captivating which created many balnk moments.
*The leads mixture was really unnecessary because it was obvious who's going to end up with who.
*The general plot wasn't pleasant to watch.
*The story's development didn't deliver anything memorable.

Story: 4/10.

3) Acting/Cast:

*The only thing that counts for this film is the acting departlent. Although it wasn't impressive but the cast was pretty good.

*Park Shin Hye: she lead the stronget character here, (I kept remembering how she looked like in you're beautiful but I believe that's a normal reflex): she did a good job and her role was the only likable one.
*Lee Min Jung: I was unsure about her character here but the acting was well done.
*Uhm Tae Woong: Although I like the actor, his character was so much resentable that I almost hated the actor but his acting wasn't bad.
*Choi Daniel: No comments on his acting but as a cast he was okay.

Cast: 8/10
Acting: 7.5/10

4) The ending:

The ending is something good too, it was nicely made and fun to watch especially the last scene.

The ending: 8/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I didn't enjoy this film. In fact, I was counting time until it ends because I don't drop films.
*I was bored and regretful for watching this.

My impression 2/10

6) Overall:

*If you're rom-com lover then you may want watch this..
*If you like several cast films then you may like this.
*If you're not a fan of any of the lead actors then don't even bother about this.

Overall: 5/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sindsoron
6 people found this review helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
One of the biggest surprises of 2010. The low-budget romantic comedy, director known for his movies about baseball, and under-the-radar cast... despite this, the film was a huge success and attracted, in two months nearly 3 million viewers and making the actors playing the main roles into real stars. Loosely based on the play Cyrano de Bergerac from 1897, was the first romcom of director Kim Hyun-Seok (YMCA Baseball Team (2002), Scout (2007)), maybe because of his fresh view he managed to make create almost perfect romantic comedy.

The entire film is based on a simple, but at the same time, brilliant idea. A successful romantic relationship is something necessary but not easy to achieve, especially in today's busy world, thanks to that there are many opportunities for anyone with talents and skills for fulfilling that need to show up. This led to opening of Cyrano Agency, where a group of theater actors using technology straight from Mission Impossible and ingenuity make the "target" of operation, thanks to the planned "accidents" and "random events", "naturally" fall in love with their "client". This ingenious team includes: scriptwriter Chul-Bin (excellent as usual Park Chul-Min), dress coordinator Min-Young (played by Park Shin -Hye, currently one of the best young actresses) , "spy" Jae-Pil (Jun A-Min), and director/diction coach Byung-Hoon (Uhm Tae-Woong formerly know for his supporting roles and the fact that he is younger brother of the well-known singer/actress Uhm Jung-Hwa). In a funny "prologue" we have opportunity to meet all members of the Cyrano Agency, during one of their missions. They helping a funny football fan (Song Sae-Byeok) and make female cafeteria employee (Ryoo Hyoun-Kyoung) fall in love with him. From the intro story goes smoothly to the main thread. To agency reports a handsome but somewhat dorky, Sang-Young (Daniel Choi), whose "target" is Hee-Joong (beautiful as always Lee Min-Jung, who thanks to this role, on three festivals got award for Best New Actress).

Intro in a neat way shows us how the movie will be: whimsical, a little corny, but very sincere and surprisingly romantic. Director Kim Hyun-Seok is quite wrongly considered by many to be capable only of making movies about baseball, when in fact he is one of the few Korean directors who can make a gentle, playful melodrama without applying the forced emotions or shanks straight of soap operas. He have very good sens of boundary between natural comedic scenes and exaggerated slapstick that we see so many "comedies". The amount of artificial or unnecessary misunderstandings and lies is kept to a minimum, so the movie is not boring and does not irritate the viewer with it's artificiality. The only thing i think is unnecessary, is intrusion from a loan shark (although the actor Kwon Hae-Hyo is always welcome sight).

A great benefit for the film, besides a great script, are the characters and the actors playing them. Hee-Joong is far from being a dream girl, of a typical Korean guy, but she still is incredibly appealing . Her relationship with Byung-Hoon is so authentic that I would be inclined to believe that they really felt something for each other. But for me the biggest surprise is an excellent role of Daniel Choi, even though he played Sang-Young who at the beginning is not the most likable character, he ultimately ends up as a positive and popular figure. Total climate and the charm of the film is completed by the lighting and the work of the camera. The whole movie is decorated in gold, warm tones and gives the impression of a beautiful dream from which you do not want to wake up.

Cyrano Agency is very good romantic comedy, and it's hard to dislike it. Good actors, funny dialogues, "realistic" plot and fairy tale like atmosphere makes it perfect movie for cold winter evenings.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Becca256
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 25, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This was an interesting movie to watch. It didn't turn out the way I expected. I like it because it shows that sometimes love isn't enough, or that even if we love somebody a lot there are still a lot of problems and obstacles.



Story-I liked it, even though I didn't really liked how it developed. It was a fun idea, it reminded mi a lot of Alejandro Casona's play "Los árboles mueren de pie" which translated would be something like "Old trees die standing (?)".



Cast-Park Shin Hye and Uhm Tae Woong, I think that they were the ones that made the movie interesting. Choi Daniel and Lee Min Jung I didn't really like, but it wasn't their fault, I just didn't like their characters, I think that they were flat.



Music-It didn't stand out at all, I didn't even think about until now that I have to grade it. It wasn't bad, it just simply wasn't noticeable.



Rewatch value-This is the kind of movie that I'd watch again with a friend, it's very funny and interesting, even though it's not the best

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
To be honest the story is quite average. I found myself bored in some parts mostly with the romance storyline between LMJ's & Daniel Choi's characters. They didn't have any chemistry so it made it hard to root for them and the way it was written made thier "love" not that believable. There were quite a few funny scenes though which I appreciated. The ending was surprising and cute.

The acting was really well done by everyone. I really loved the cast! I really was impressed with PSH's acting. I liked her character the most=D Wish she had more screen time though!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
itsmekrischa
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 29, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
This was the last movie i thought i wouldn't watch. But a friend told me to give it a try. To me it wasn't that much appealing, but as the story goes on it became more and more interesting. What's more surprising is that the ending made it very unique. i don't want to be a spoiler, so i'll just stop her. better watch this on your own:)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
GaoNou
5 people found this review helpful
Jan 5, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Everything was great about this Movie . It was SUPERB ! One thing I REALLY disliked is that Shin Hye wasn't the LEAD LEAD ! I was kinda sad when the main guy fell in love with another girl ! I so thought that Shin Hye deserved to have him ! But hey ? It's cool ! I really liked her style in this Movie and really think she should keep up that style !!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
uenorie
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 24, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
The idea was promising, but the story irritated me. The ex-couple conflict was trying so hard to be heart-wrenching but it wasn’t poignant at all. Not one bit. Surprisingly, I was actually more interested in the development of Sang Yong and Hee Jung’s relationship though its foundation was mostly staged. To be honest, the pretty cast and impressive acting saved this one from going downhill. And while the ending was quite unpredictable for me as I didn’t know who’ll end up with who, the movie gods must have heard my prayer and thankfully, it ended the way I wanted it to.

I’m not sure if this is a must-watch or not. The plot kind of bugged me, but the acting was gorgeous. Anyway, the movie’s quite amusing so I guess it won’t hurt to watch it. Oh, and did I mention that Daniel Choi’s too adorable for words? He’s officially on my radar now.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
snow_white
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 20, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I have only one word for this movie: BORING!!!!
I went for it with not very high expectations, but i thought may be it will be your average romantic comedy....but it has a very slow pace.
i patiently watched the first half, but after that i just fast forwarded it....
acting was good, but as i said, the movie itself is boring. Very boring indeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 2.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This one wasn't a bad movie. Though the romance was not as powerful as it could have been, there was a tragic mood in it and eventually, you kind of feel sad for the character, even though you must root for the other guy. The whole idea of the agency and their projects is interesting, reminding me of the inception team that prepared for the big operation before entering the guy's dream. Sure, the projects are too few to get a good taste of what is happening, but still, it's interesting to see how they operated. After the first operation, the movie focuses more on two or three characters and leaves the other guys aside, as they only play side roles. Though the flashbacks aren't that confusing, and the performances were good, the big mystery behind the lead character's past relationship wasn't that big of a mystery after all, as it wasn't enough to create a thrill mood for the audience. All in all, not a bad movie, so 6 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MomoSukkie19
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 6, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Drama Dating Agency: Cyrano brought me to watch this movie. I actually don't have a chance yet to watch the drama yet, I just read the reviews every episodes. :D

I think this movie is smartly entertaining. I like the plot and how it written based on the Cyrano's story. And make it more interesting at the ending.

And I like all the casts. I always like Park Shin Hye and I think she's very good in here. Lee Min Jung is so pretty and Uhm Tae Woong is always with his awesome acting.

I think I have a very good Saturday night by watching this movie.
Was this review helpful to you?