Sprout (2012) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 6.9 (scored by 2,916 users)
  • Ranked: #13516
  • Popularity: #662
  • Watchers: 5,821

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

5 edits
4 edits
3 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Live Action Shoujo Manga
149 titles 97 loves 1
WATCHLIST - J
89 titles 10 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
gongyoyo
19 people found this review helpful
Sep 14, 2013
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
I have to start out by saying that I am middle aged and thus may have a different tolerance for slow, slow, slooooooooow dramas, especially those that make me feel nostalgic about my own youth. Sprout is really nothing special, the simplest story about a girl who falls for a boy who is dating someone else, and how the relationship unfolds over a summer vacation. The reason why I give it such a high rating is because the show delivers exactly what it set out to do, and that does not happen as often.

I loved Sprout because it really captures the essence of that first love, and it does so with great cinematography, beautiful piano music, catchy rock tunes, and lots of eye candy. The intense feeling that you're destined, the incredulity that you're not the one for the one you love, the fact that you can feel both agony and exhilaration at the same time when you catch a glimpse of the person you like when you're going down the steps in school. It also shows quite well how one refuses to accept that one has stopped loving someone and moved on to someone else--that first disappointment in oneself and in love in general.

The show is very slow, but I think this is because with the fixed images, the piano music, the seemingly simple scenes, they want you to savor how intense and unique the commonest of moments may seem to you when you're first in love. Perhaps this series works better for those over 30 who know love changes flavor after a few years, who knows.

The acting is a bit off, particularly in Jesse Lewis, who is gorgeous but has much to learn. Miku is awkward, but it does not go poorly with her character, and Chinen Yuri displays all the warmth and charm that one would need to fall for a boy in high school. All in all, I think this relatively young cast did a pretty good job.

I encourage you to give it a try if you enjoy romantic stories that are slow, understated, and emotionally honest. But it is certainly not one of those exciting shows that have you gripping the edge of your seat.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
HAVA-RAVA
32 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2012
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Just finished this one. I gave it 5/10 yet still I really liked this. Why 5, you ask? Because I think this would've been a lot better if it was a movie instead of 12 episode drama.

The acting... really bad. I felt like I was watching stones :'D The music... it fits the drama but it's repetitive. I hope there would've been more variety to the music. The story... slow slow slow. Like I said, would've been better as a movie.

This is very short review but... yeah.

This drama is cute indeed but... that's all.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
butterfly
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 6, 2013
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I remember being excited about this drama because I really loved the manga it's based off. Unfortunately, this drama just didn't do it for me.

The first few episodes were good. The actress who plays Miku is really cute! Miku and Hayato were my favourite characters...and I wanted them to end up together because I felt like Hayato deserved a happy ending. I couldn't really sense any chemistry between Souhei and Miyuki or between Souhei and Miku...

I wish the drama had stuck to the original story - there was more depth to the side characters Takki and Kiyoka - they actually have background stories and plot! But none of that was shown here. I actually like the character development shown by both Miyuki and Miku in the manga, but, again, this wasn't really shown in the drama.

It was a real struggle to get through the rest of the drama because I kept comparing it to what the story could've been and found the plot and characters utterly lacking. I'm really disappointed in this drama. :(

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
inspirit44
9 people found this review helpful
Jun 21, 2013
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I was really excited to watch this drama because Chinen is in the drama so I decided to download it HQ to see his face clearly.

Things I liked:
-Yuri Chinen
- Jesse Lewis

Things I disliked:
-The story is slow
-Predictable twists
-Bad acting
-Uzamiyu...

This is only my opinion, Tastes differ :)
Rewatch? NEVER.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Taylorgg12
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 4, 2012
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Being a fan of the manga Sprout I was interested to see how this drama would go and if they would give this a better ending then in the manga. Sadly the ending was the same amount of disappointment, not saying that the ending isn't good it just I feel it falls flat compared to the rest of the show. That being said I would like to state that I did like this drama. It's a story that shows us just how hard and unsure first loves can be. The constant questioning of your feelings, the butterflies when someone mentions your crush, the pure innocence of young love. Was the acting great? No, infact far from it, most of the actors in this drama are fairly new to the art but their innocence helped make their characters many blunders at love more believeable. The story is not overly original but sadly not many J-Drama's are now a days, and at 20 mins per episode it is a good watch. It's young love, romance, cutesy, basically bubble gum that could have been made into a movie but chose to be a 12 episode package, but it's so cute you just have to keep watching. You end up falling for the characters and laughing at their mishaps. So what are you waiting for? Go spend the 2 hours and 40 minutes watching the drama and find out for yourself! I recommend this drama to anymore. Happy Watching :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sobu
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2013
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 4.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Ok.. I first want to say that this drama could have been a very good drama, but I was disappointed and it didn’t reach my expectations. I don’t think it was very bad, but it wasn’t as good as it could have been… I’m going to try to explain why. (it may be a bit long, please forgive me ^.^)

Story
It had been a very long time since I watched a J-Dorama and I was really excited for watching this drama after reading the description. It seemed different from what i was used to, and after watching the first few episodes it started to grow on me. I really liked the idea of a house where everyone’s welcome to join at the dinner table and everyone seems comfortable, even though people have their own issues and problems.

I was hoping that this drama would be more or less focussing on that aspect, but Miku’s destined lover was what had the main role in the drama. And that’s what kind of ruined the whole story, because it made the drama just like any other typical high school drama, with moments of people being jealous and having aimless arguments. It made me even more disappointed that they choose such an ordinary ending. The fact that Miku ended up with her destiny was kind of in contrast with what i had hoped was the theme of this drama: Growing (just like a sprout, which was a subject that came back every once in a while) in life and accepting changes.. If the story had had a bit more depth like that it could have been so good!!

Acting/Cast
The acting was not that good.. But its understandable; some of them haven’t done a lot of acting yet.

Music
The music was great! They used some songs by the band Grouplove, which I think is a great band. The music gave a great vibe to the drama. They could have used more songs though.

Rewatch value
I don’t think i’m going to rewatch this one. Maybe one day when my ptw-list is empty lol.

-
If you are looking for something light and simple to watch on a lazy day, you might like this drama. If you're looking for something with good actors and a good story, I would not recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
EzzeZe
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 24, 2012
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a short lovely drama. Shows young love and the possible hardships it can have in a very innocent yet heartwarming story line. the acting was sweet, fresh yet straight to the point. One of my favorite so far. I really recommend.! ^^
the music is fantastic like the drama is sweet sounding but very heart felt. i just down loaded their OST :)
i would watch it again even though I don't watch dramas once im done.
The cast where young which helped a lot in the story, really hooks you in tremendously, the type of chemistry is very innocent like yet very strong.
overall a 9 because..well it was great
should definitely be watched.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lully13
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 19, 2012
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I was so excited to watch this drama ! For sure, the 3 first episodes were very interested and i could fell a real freshness. BUT ... the rest of the story ..OMG !

For the story --> A 4 ! Like i said... The beginning was interested but the rest ...! It's a real mix! It no longer has to follow! It's too confusing! Finally... Everybody loves everybody and everybody is Happy !
No ... seriously... It's a mix that i hate !

For Acting/Cast --> A 7 ! Personnally, i hated the main roles ! Except Jesse Lewis, who was more interresting ! The character of Souhei particularly annoyed me!

For the music --> The Music ! That's the only thing i want to remember ! A very freat music !

Rewatch Value/ Overall ---> It's just a mediocre drama ! Maybe could i appreciate it some years ago ! Maybe ! But That's too Mixed !... for me, that's not a real Love !
Finally I'm So disappointed !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
levinialdora
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 6, 2013
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
It's unexpectedly amazing! Such amazing high schooler's love story which reminds me of my lame high school time (it's right now actually). I watched this randomly but it got me want to watch over and over again. And I watched this drama in 1 day, and wow, it's like that kind of feeling when you finished watching and your heart still want the story to continue. Hehe.

Afterall, I think this drama is recommended for a teenager, it's really good and for Hey!Say!JUMP lovers, you must watch this!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
fishhead
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 18, 2012
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Beautifully filmed with sweet characters and a simple but very watchable story line. It basically makes you want, no, YEARN to be a teenager experiencing your first love in Japan one hot summer, walking barefoot in the grass and listening to the cicadas on your balcony.The soundtrack is excellent and the leads are very pleasing on the eye! If you like high school dramas that take pleasure in focusing on the "little things" (eye contact, hand holding, lovely surroundings) then you will like this drama though it may be a little slow for some.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
tatyangel
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 14, 2012
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This is the type of drama I wished I have seen when I was a teenager so I can relate the most with the characters. It's cute and the actors are pretty good. What really got my attention is the pace of the episodes, there are not many rollercosters in the action, nevertheless everytime the main characters have a revelation, everything slows down and its right there in writing. A lot of teen and love angst, self discovery and some laughs, but cuteness above all.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jennifer
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 23, 2015
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Sprout is a strange one for me.
In one sense it feels likes nothing really happened in the drama. That there was not much of a story line or much character development to speak of. But, weirdly, this is what I like about this drama.
It is nothing that will change anyone's outlook on life or top anyone's best drama lists, but even years after watching this drama I still think about it. It had a relaxing pace and with each episode being only half an hour it is a good drama to wind down to. The music was also lovely and fit the drama's atmosphere really well.
The drama reminded me so much of summer and that slow summer pace with the music adding to this feeling, like a short lived summer romance. It won't be a drama for everyone, but give it a try and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?