Completed
the_sapio_nerd
157 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 17
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

A promise in front of the moon yet beyond the light.

Are you confused because of my title? Let's examine and resonate what, how, why, when, where and find the answers.

Note: It's a obvious that ITSAY is way better than IPYTM but will you actually discredit the work? NO, Never do that. Let's talk. If you haven't watched you can skip the 2nd part for now.

1st PART: REVIEW
ITSAY (s1) is indeed a game-changer in the world of Thai BL, being the best ever Thai BL ever produced; it is inclined more towards the LGBT pov of a BL, yeah! But If we are gonna compare it with IPYTM (s2), it's better to realize that we are on the wrong boat. The type of storytelling, as everyone can feel and see, has obviously changed from "an artistic narration of love that complements a soul" to "simple narration of love that doesn't want to be bound within limits" kind of story.

THE TITLE:
So when the title of the 2nd season along with the first poster was released, everyone was so happy but at the same time difference in interpreting the title was seen. Many people perceived it as 'one pledging their lover to do anything for them at any given cost' and others explained it as 'promising something that's difficult to keep or even impossible to achieve'. Despite of all the speculations, each of us wished for a happy ending even though we were in doubts. But as the series is over what we can conclude is, Moon that's full of spots as imperfection, is also a sign of love and perfection; because even the most perfect relationship has some flaws. Notably, the 1st episode started on a full moon and the 5th episode or finale ended on a full moon depicting how our lives are drawn in full circles, making us come back to the same different spot; but it's upon us to find our way out of it to achieve what we wish for. I am amazed the way the writers put symbolic meanings to it along with the use of various props with deep meanings.

PRODUCTION: There are bigger production companies in Thailand but when it comes to quality, Nadao Bangkok is the BEST among all. I have trusted in Nadao and the team it formed since ITSAY and this time even though Nadao changed the team, my trust still remained the same. I am sure they never compromise when it comes to producing. The quality of their work can never ever be discredited. P'Boss who was the director of ITSAY remained in IPYTM as a producer to supervise everything. I was a little disappointed when Goy was removed from the screenwriters' team but she was casted in the show as a character and I believe there was a reason behind it. After everything, I really wanna commend the entire team who has always believed in the immense study on life, critical analysis and putting best of their efforts in writing, managing and directing the series. People who are fool to misinterprete and jumped into conclusion thrashing and bashing you all for the story don't deseve such a precious series at all. Do not listen to them as I trust you guys must have reasons behind all these when you clearly knew that you'll have to face backlash once it goes on air. Thank you for the courage. Also, Bravo, Nadao! As someone who has always complained about the lil production value of Thai BL industry, ITSAY and IPYTM came as a revolution in the Thai BL history writing a chapter that no other can ever claim.

STORY: I am really not sure how to explain but let me tell you, you will never see such realistic approach in any other BL series as they've shown us in both ITSAY and IPYTM. I feel the entire crew that includes the directors, producers and the screenwriters are masters of storytelling on individual level and their combined efforts has been successfully paid through the series. Both ITSAY and IPYTM are more like "feeling-based romance" stories with very heavy plots and despite the obvious changes from one season to another, IPYTM still kept us going for the quality work put by the production and the cast. ITSAY was an awakening and realization of blooming youth whereas IPYTM is a reflection of struggles of adulthood or precisely the process of adulting as an individual and evolving in a relationship. Given both the seasons have 5 episodes each, there was no way to be bored or feel like it's going slow because every episode is filled with a lot of solid contents. I really don't know how to express my feelings for the fact that IPYTM is so very realistic and relatable that threatened the inner-self of lots of people. May be that's the reason a large no of audience are disappointed for they were shown their own reflection through the story, hence making them dislike it. Not just the main leads, rather each and every character we encounter in this series more or less represent us and our life who either run away from reality or chase after it. Both the seasons are coming of age stories set in different premises and involves different stages of life. They in fact have proved that how one's persona can define the other at points where two persons are in a relationship and what are the ways to come out of it. Just like ITSAY, IPTYM has been successful in showing the artistic pov of how the turmoil of conflicted emotions can shake lives which is both tragic and eye-pleasing at the same time and hence making the audience hooked up the complexity of the feelings that the character had to go through. Also, it's not an one year or few months story, rather a relationship of years so they had to go through all these anyways. Us being upset is totally unreasonable because people gotta get out of happy-go-lucly fairytale stories. PLEASE.

DIRECTION:
OOF! How many times I gotta repeat it? P'Meen and P'Boss are brilliant directors and stupendous creators of art and probably the best directors Thailand has ever produced. Given their age and experience, they can turn soil into gold which is reflected through this series, ain't it? If you're set to discredit them, please stop wherever you're because you're absolutely moving towards a wrong direction. The way they've set the entire thing and the kind of screenplay by drawing parallels and portraying contradictions between ITSAY and IPYTM is so very fabulous and worth the appreciation.

UNIQUENESS: One of the many peculiar things about both the seasons is that, the series is different from other BL series in which too many illogical plots are drawn. Plus unlike others, in ITSAY and IPYTM the supporting characters have not been portrayed as the sidekicks of the leads who always tag along with the main characters and keep teasing them. Also, the usual BL-fetish fujoshi/fudnashi stuffs have also been prevented from the series where others keep pestering the lead couple (I am in no way demeaning the BL culture since I too am a part of it, rather saying how it's not necessary to put the same thing in every other series). Even a girl like Khim's character was so mature and enough to move our hearts. Another thing is that unlike ITSAY, IPYTM is a time jump story. In five episodes we saw (i forgot) at least 3 or 4 leaps (?) and that included their entire university time plus the last episode was after the graduation and their professional lives.

ACTING: Do I really need to explain a lot about this? I mean give a huge award to the casting director. Nadao could be a small company with few artists but all of them are skilled and quality actors. BK and PP were so into their characters as Teh nd Oh-aew that it felt very real, it's like they've absorbed the entire persona of someone else and turned into real beings and not just mere characters of a series. There are scenes which could seem usual to you but the way they performed is just way beyond the cringeworthy acting of other actors. I mean the way they felt natural is wow and also their accurate facial expressions for every other emotions; in fact what makes ITSAY and IPYTM standout on the top of the pyramid is the performance. Apart from BKPP the supporting characters are also good as actors. Especially Khim (Goy) and Jai (Oab) are fantastic performers who were able to make a strong impressions upon us and I believe the Nadao directors have a part to play in how they've taught the actors in the workshops.

DIALOGUE WRITING: Well, as I have already told, the writers a set of brilliant storytellers and the part of dialogue writing has been so beautifully done that it compensates for even the tragic moments. Some were so simple yet so deep and meaningful, I must say they must have pull the heartstrings of millions. Teh who has been a emotional fool all along this season had not much to say but look at the lines of Oh-aew, Jai and Khim. I felt triggered at points and those things hit just right at my heart.

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Ummmmm, master quality skills of cinematography. I heard even the camera person were changed in this season but I still loved because as I have already told, we are not in the same boat as ITSAY this time. The camera angles were so very apt, particularly during the stage performances and the rehearsals that Jai conducted. The aesthetic views during their first meet on the foot bridge, the aquarium, the temple scene, in Oh-aew's condo scene; everything was done very beautifully and left me speechless. The colour coordination work has been amazingly done by the screenplay editors too and it's sometimes that had ITSAY vibes too. So a plus point for the quality editing too.

OSTs: This is something which many are complaining about but why do we need to do everything as we did in ITSAY? Season 1was definitely made to feel us overwhelming and content hence the old-style deep and pleasing lyricism was introduced. But in season 2, as I have already said that the kind of storytelling has changed, they changed the OSTs to simple and relatable lyricism that somehow felt deep and touched hearts too. I am so in love with the OSTs. One thing to note that, in ITSAY BK has more original tracks than PP and PP was made to cover one, whereas in IPYTM PP has more original tracks plus one cover from BK. Only common thing is in both the seasons, BK and PP has a very beautiful duet. Also, like ITSAY, IPYTM too left us awe with the sound effects that even made the subtle scenes beautiful; no unnecessary editing and no use of OSTs multiple times just for promotion sake.

ENDING: Not gonna spoil but if you're wary about it, please don't be because it's worth it. The series that has left us awestrucken all along during the entire thing deserved this ending. All that matters is the growth, development and the evolution in individual level as well as in a relationship that's been immensely picturized in this. Happy or sad ending, what actually matters is the journey that we have been put through. Believe me, we all are blessed to have ITSAY+IPYTM and we should definitely be thankful for it.

Let me tell you that if you're actually moved by the script, as in cried with Oh-awe, crused your heart out for Teh and hated Jai to your core, congratulations because that's what the team wanted. They've succeeded in their job when you are left with demeaning thoughts towards the entire thing. As already mentioned, ITSAY and IPYTM are nothing but revolutionary examples in the Thai BL industry that deserves much mote attention, recognition and attention. This too deserves a 9.5 if not 10/10.

In my 7 years of watching Kdramas and BLs this is the first time I paid to watch something with the anticipation to have all kinda nostalgia and art like ITSAY. Although it didn't have the same thing as the prequel rather I was hit really hard with reality, it is worth the money I have spent and worth best of the best appreciations.

2nd PART: ANALYSIS

(SKIP FROM HERE UNTIL YOU WATCH. If you want to read my analysis, you can come back after finishing)

Let's analyse!
Cheating is when you do things deliberately, with your full consciousness, without caring about your conscience. So from this, whatever Teh did, can't be considered entirely as cheating, because if being swayed from/getting confused about your feelings is considered as cheating, then more than half of the relationships of the world will fall apart right away as you read my review. Let's understand Teh's situation.

1) Firstly, in the Ep2 he saw his most dear person, Oh-aew growing away from him. It's not like Oh-aew's love for him was becoming lesser but just like many people Teh, who always finds deeper meaning to whatever happens with/around him, felt like with Oh-aew changing his major things between them might change too. He was insecure and afraid to lose Oh-aew whom he loves so much. But he was wrong when he mocked Oh during the dinner with his seniors, because it's okay if you're flustered but he should have taken his time to understand Oh-aew's situation for changing himself.

2) Secondly, after Goy and Top passed out of the Acting School, Teh was left with Jai Only. Because of the club, he never made friends from his dept nor did he hung out with anyone except these 3 people. Morever Jai was someone who was like-minded with Teh. Their field of study, their interest, their choice of career and their way of seeking meaning in lil stuffs; everything matched as if they were meant to be. We as human beings usually tend to get attracted towards someone with similar interest and thought process, isn't it? Many of us end up falling for someone with whom we spend almost all the time of our day, it's psychology. So Teh falling for Jai isn't something very big of a matter though he should has have control on himself as he's already in a relationship with someone else. He should have hold himself back even if he was intimidated by Jai's behaviour. Jai somehow was kind of a jerk even though Teh is to be blamed more for whatever happened.

3) Thirdly, the kissing scene. Yeah, Teh was at fault too but whatever happened was just a spark of the moment. Basically it was a rehearsal plus the scene's purpose was to depict intimacy. So while practising Teh, who was already swayed, ended up doing a mistake without consciousness and he was clearly out of his mind. He definitely did wrong but that can't be counted as cheating, again because that was so sudden during the rehersal and Jai had a part to play in the matter. Oh-aew as expected had to be upset and flustered seeing this and I totally cried all night, not because Teh kissed a 3rd person, rather Oh witnessing it was so tragic. I felt so poor for him.

4) Fourthly, the 4th episode that was an absolute tragedy. Teh who was caught off guard even though he did wrong over intimidation, he should have come to sense when confronted by Oh-aew. He should have understood that being seen kissing with another person by your boyfriend is not a small matter. He should have tried even harder to resist his emotions but that emotional fool! Everything went okay till the final play and was going smooth during the after party but that fool had to go out after Jai and confront him about whatever happened between them even when Oh-aew was present there, why!? He was given a very fair chance by Oh who himself was hurt to the core but Teh just couldn't draw a line and realize that everything should have a certain limit and committed a grave mistake. But still, would you call that cheating? NO! It still isn't because it's not like he did it deliberately behind Oh-aew's back. Oh himself was there and whatever Teh did was without his consciousness and everyone could clearly see that he was totally intimidated. So even if he had acquired some feelings for Jai, it can't be interpreted as cheating.

5) Teh never stopped loving Oh, even when he was swayed by Jai. He obviously was afraid of the fading relationship but he tried well to understand the situation and cope with it plus to make things better in their relationship. He was a fool to be intimidated but at the same time he never wanted to let go of Oh-aew.

6) Ep1 to Ep4 are the story's side from Oh-aew's pov whereas Ep5 and particularly Teh's thesis play which lasted for a short while is from his pov. Please try to understand that too.

On my last note, I wanna remind y'all about the conversation that Oh-aew had with his school friend,Boss. If you were carefully listening them and tried to understand what exactly it meant, then I am sure all my analysis and explanation wouldn't be necessary to prove anything. Also, Teh and Oh-aew's last conversation on the beach made sense to a great deal, if you didn't understand it, I am sorry you didn't deserve it. Life, love and relationships are always unpredictable. So accept it as it comes to you and embrace all the hurdles with grace, and of course, together.

Finally I just want to say that, when it comes to love stories, we only have very few options or let's say 2 options: "moving on" and "reunion". What matters is how that's represented and whether it's reasonable or not. I am truly happy that Nadao didn't let us down. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING.

I really hope my analysis, examination and interpretation would help you in better understanding the things and what the directors plus the entire team have tried to convey. If you still don't agree, I welcome any argument in the comment section. Thank you for bearing with this long review, I wish it helps.

Lastly, I TOLD SUNSET ABOUT YOU and I PROMISED YOU THE MOON will forever be in my heart as THE BEST THAI BL SERIES EVER PRODUCED. I am so happy, so content and so grateful I can't even express them through words. Can't really bring myself to say goodbye to TEH and OH-AEW as well the entire thing of 2 years but I will remember everything till the moment I die, I PROMISE.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SeikaRin
63 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers

"Love when you are ready and not when you are lonely"

What can I say? NADAO really isn't playing when it comes to the production of this series. Ever since the first season to this one, I actually believe they have improved and given us this delightful first episode, filled with many captures and panoramic views of the city, and also of course the always so aesthetically pleasing scenes with our main leads, Teh and Oh-aew.

The shots where they enter and the whole dynamic with the colors Blue and Red (just like in the first season), will be very significative along the series and probably has a plethora of symbolic meanings associated to them.

What I do love about this story is how realistic and relatable it truly feels. Teh and Oh-aew really do represent all of us in terms of chasing our goals and dreams, while questioning our own sexuality and passions, to graduating high school and applying to college that not always is close to home, having old and new friendships, and many more... all in all, the ordeals of a lifetime.

Am sensing that a lot will happen this time around too...

The first season was more like an awakening. Like a realization of a blooming of youth.
Meanwhile in this, it will depict the changes that come with college life and access to adulthood.

BK once again awe us with his skills in conquering both of our hearts with the way he takes the character of Teh, the always avid dreamer and aspiring actor and then we have PP being his adorable self, taking us in an emotional ride by how well he shows Oh-aew struggles through the screen. The way they can draw emotions in their roles is truly amazing. PP with just his expressions alone can really makes us see the pain and suffering that his character is going through, that talent hasn't changed from the first season to this one, on the contrary their acting has only gotten better. Am looking forward to see more of it.

Teh is a constant, while Oh-aew is a variable.

That is only reinforced through the outcome of their own life changes and decisions within their personal journey here. Hard not to feel empathetic towards the characters when they give us an insight that we can without a doubt relate. Not everyone is set on their dream so passionately as Teh is, some of us are lost like Oh-aew until we do find our own dream. Changes are always the hardest to accept, mainly when the fears speak louder than reason. However some are inevitable.

What I do love about the episodes of this second season is the fact that we are able to witness their coming of age, along with how their personal choices affect others and their own perceptions of what is right or wrong, bad or good, and the maturity they need to overcome the obstacles that might settle in their own way.

And somehow, I like those odds.

"Love when you are ready and not when you are lonely"

It's a phrase that can easily apply here and also when it comes to temptation. Still, it's quite enthralling the way they film the turmoil of conflicted emotions within the scenes between Teh and Oh-aew. Every single scene is made with the sole purpose of pleasing the artistic eye, therefore to engage the viewers with the complexity of feelings their characters are feeling, all through their intimate and personal journey and paths.

If we go beyond and past all prejudice here, we might see the levels of maturity this season and characters deal with when it comes to the ordeals of life and relationships, be it love, betrayal and even friendship and family. It teaches us valuable lessons if we are able to see between the lines, if we manage to decipher the symbolic value of each and every scene.

People keep on commenting and comparing about ITSAY and IPYTM, from my point of view they are both masterpieces in their own unique way. Both series are different but with the same characters, they are shown to take a step towards adulthood while making mistakes and losing the moon while counting the stars, but it's also shown how to overcome obstacles, how to change paths and chase new dreams, how to deal with breakups and failure, the bittersweet feeling of loneliness and the good friendships we make in life we do carry in our hearts. To not give up on ourselves and on others, and most importantly to learn our own worth and to love ourselves first before opening our hearts to love once again.

It's a trial and error this thing called LIFE.

We're never too sure of whatever our decisions be won't uphold consequences of appreciation or regret.
Sometimes we have to swing it, be bold, learn how to overcome our mistakes. Be mature enough to admit them or to forgive them. Not everything can be forgiven, that's certain, when it comes to relationships communication is one of the most important things to have, without it there's no foundation to begin with.

Teh and Oh-aew have shown that they have come a long way. And it's okay.

Coming to the start point is not always a step back. The beach in Phuket is always their start point.
It's the place where they matured from boys to men. Where they shed uncertain and sorrowful tears, and where they discovered themselves and their over growing feelings towards one another, their sexual awakening was written in those grains of sand and witnessed by the crashing waves, and their very first time was shared and covered by the blanket of the twilight sea as the beaming moon testified up in the night sky above them.

It was their safe place, where they started it all and I found it was the perfect place for them to end their final scene.

They did it, they fulfilled a full cycle ever since ITSAY all the way until here and now in IPYTM. And I am one to admit I would love to have a third installment but at the same time am pleased with how this one ended as a whole in all the symbolism.

Both of them were able to show that it's okay to have new interests, new paths, different dreams and goals, and jobs. It's not okay to cheat in anything or anyone in life, but there are those who overcome it, those who regret it, and those who don't mind at all.

I am just glad that Teh and Oh-aew were able to show where they stood in both of their point of views in that matter.

Don't blame one character, to err is human. Humanity is bound by several mistakes it makes, no one is a saint in this life. And not everyone have or deserves any second chances. For some mistakes it does not take one person but two. If people blame only one in a scenario, then what about the other party? It was the trouble the minute it showed up and the way it used it's own way and merit to climb up top too success without caring about the lives it would ruin by allowing so...

Meanwhile let me add another thing to this long review xD sorry not sorry...

The only flaw I might point out to this, or rather my expectation when I learned that ITSAY was going to have a second season. I was looking forward to have a better insight of Oh-aew. In the first and last episodes we are somehow granted that. But in the middle it felt off. Almost like Oh-aew was a support and not a main character because the attention seems focused on Teh once again just like it was on ITSAY and although on that one it's totally understandable, here it would be better to have both or more screen time for him to shine as well. Nevertheless, they tried to include a variety of characters each one with their own struggles and at the end they even brought the old friends from the first season into the screen to show their roots and connection between the series and the main characters. It was a nice touch I give them that.

The OST is cute, to have BK and PP song as an intro makes it even more special.
They made this one for this and the lyrics are all about Teh and Oh-aew.
And I also like the fact that it has an instrumental version too. They have outdone themselves with the OST of many songs for this season and I am loving them all. NADAO really spoilling us with MVs from the songs and promotions that I can't complain.

I might change the ratings at the end, but so far I am given a high score even though I know they will make me suffer :')

Visually appealing, the emotional scenes are nicely done too, not to slow or fast paced, it doesn't dwell on too silent moments and it also doesn't have those overbearing music scenes. Cinematographically they give us plenty of good shots, while playing with angles, taking advantage of the natural and artificial light and even using the zoom in such a smoothing way that it's very pleasing to see. In certain scenes it gives us a warm like filter, and in others a cold filter which makes me think again of the colors they are paired with, Blue and Red (detail on that also on the plushies they have, and also their college ties ;3)

This drama is the reason I will be anticipating the next few Thursdays of the moon cycle schedule.
Because this season started on a full moon and it will end on a full moon :') therefore completing a full cycle.
And I really wonder if both Teh and Oh-aew will complete their own cycle as well after everything they will go through...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
benebbx
17 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Where do I start

wow.
I have never seen a sequel that was as good as the first season, let me tell you why.

Let's start with the acting.
They could not have chosen better actors for this series. The chemistry between them is immaculate, you can feel it through your screen. You can see their emotions, and you feel with them. When they cry, you cry with them and when they're happy, you're happy for them. Not a lot of actors can make me feel like that.

Then the story...
My favorite BL is I told sunset about you, so I had very high expectations for this sequel, and they did NOT disappoint. In the first season they showed what a gay relationship can really be like, and here they did it again. It started out amazing and my heart was making leaps of happiness, then it took a turn.

The way that it's really displayed how Teh felt and how Oh-Aew felt, wow. When Teh kissed Jai, I was kinda angry, then I started crying when Oh-Aew saw it. It was more than just the producers deciding to put in a storyline about cheating, I understood why Teh did it and how he felt.

They portrayed the relationship, the ups and downs and the love so well this season.
The final episode was so heartwarming. I was so happy when Oh-Aew said that he finally loves himself, I felt really proud. The evolution of his confidence was amazing to me. When he found friends, and when he found his clothing style (which I'm in love with by the way). This was a rollercoaster of emotions and I loved every second of it.

I just want to say that this is definitely a must see, if seen the first season.
Also can we talk about Oh-Aews hair for a bit, cause OMG!

I hope from the bottom of my heart that there will be a special episode (with maybe a wedding???)

I promised you the moon, you did everything but disappoint.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
chiha
28 people found this review helpful
May 29, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
There's lots to say about “I Promised you the Moon” but I have to begin by saying how it's close to ITSAY. While comparing IPYTM to ITSAY (which is but natural, considering they are sequels), many have pointed out how IPYTM fell back while others loved it more than it's sequel. I belong to the grey zone where I loved both for what they were.

The biggest parallel or similarity between these series was how Teh and Oh-Aew's relationship progressed. In itsay, they start out as friends, not best friends or bosom friends–these two boys were attached at the hips. They new even the most minute details about each other and the details they didn't know about each other, they were ready to learn. Similarly, in ipytm they start out as boyfriends. Not flings, not the questioning phase. Boyfriends in the truest sense of the word.

But all good things don't last and so it ends for Teh and Oh-Aew in both itsay and ipytm. In itsay they fight when one questions the other over whether they'd be ready to give up the thing they love for each other. In ipytm the struggle is different. It comes first in the form of Oh-Aew’s change in faculties which makes Teh feel betrayed; while Teh becomes closer to his own friends and his work, Oh-Aew gets closer to his own friends and his new faculty. Things hit the fan when Teh develops an attraction for Jai, his friend and then the director of the university play he acts in.

The problem with both Teh and Oh-Aew is that they don't stick together. The moment something happens they switch off communication, cut cords, ignore each other completely. But they can't let go. They keep thinking about each other. Both can't happen simultaneously, you either care of you don't and their conflict is that they do care but are forced to show that they don't. In itsay Teh texts Oh-Aew but he doesn't send it while Oh-Aew waits to talk to him in person. In ipytm Teh texts him again but Oh-Aew cuts him off.

The fact that they can't let go is highlighted when they meet each other for the first time after their fight. In itsay, they stare daggers at each other, unaware of what they will mean for each other in a month's time. In ipytm Teh and Oh-Aew meet at least two years after their breakup. Teh is heartbroken and guilty; Oh-Aew is heartbroken and angry.

It's ‘Shangxin’ all over again. Two people applying force against each other's hearts.

They take comfort in knowing that the other is okay. Seeing Teh flourish in his career on TV makes Oh-Aew smile. Teh texts him to know more about him, but stays away without imposing himself on Oh-Aew. The first thing he asks Oh-Aew on meeting him is whether he's okay.

“No one can replace you for me.”

Teh and Oh-Aew aren't just friends to lovers. Their connection runs deeper than that. It runs so deep that Oh-Aew knows he has to comfort Teh on learning about Tuty’s death. A small detail, but it really stood out to me. Because regardless of how many boyfriends Oh-Aew has and how many partners Teh dates, nobody can take take the place of Oh-Aew for Teh and nobody can take the place of Teh for Oh-Aew.

The series ends with at Phuket, with Teh’s brother getting married to his long time love. Teh and Oh-Aew, now with the sunset at their back, a calmer sunset–not the glaring brightness of the Promthep cape at Phuket–they get together again.


Direction • script and storytelling • cinematography & soundtrack
━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━
CINEMATOGRAPHY:
In terms of cinematography, the quality is still maintained. Apparently the 4k release on Vimeo is the best experience ever, as has been said by those who purchased the Vimeo package. While we don't get to visit the quaint spots of old town Phuket, we have amazing shots of the characters with the Bangkok skyline in the background.

Aesthetics aren't about how much scenery you can clump into an episode–the colours matter. I never knew there were so many shades of blue.

In episode 3, where Oh-Aew first sees Teh and Jai kiss, the colors work perfectly. The drama club room where Teh and the other's practice have a light brown shade to them: Teh's shirt, the close-ups of Jai's face all meld together but Oh-Aew's bright pink and red don't match.

Again in episode 3, during the floating in water redux scene where Teh sadly backfloats on the water, the color is sea blue but this time it's artificial and lonely unlike the waves of Phuket where Teh and Oh-Aew swam in their childhood. The Bangkok skyline is navy night, not black. I can't help noticing all this about ipytm.

The most important usage of the color is the counterplay between cool blues and warm reds. Itsay was a whirlwind romance which shook me as an audience. It left me feeling raw in places, ugly sobbing and emotionally drained. Ipytm was considerably different–it was meant to be different. This is Teh and Oh-Aew after six to seven years of their relationship. They are both older, calmer and their story is sadder.

The final scenes of both these series have a sunset but where in itsay it's the bright radiance of Promethep Cape of Old town Phuket, in ipytm it's a calm sunset with small waves. There's even an ornate pier which wasn't there before. Phuket has changed, Teh and Oh-Aew have changed, Mama Sui has changed (she speaks slower and softer now, stressing more on the syllables)—but that's the point of love. Unchanging and forever. In the end, it's not the sunset that convinced me that these two people were meant to be, it's the people.

SOUND EFFECT:
The sound effects of IPYTM don't sound like normal sound dumps in most dramas. Where the OST is just dumped during long agonising moments of 'romantic' eye contact, or during the kiss scenes–no, the tracks have been perfectly timed.

There are three particular beats in the OST which have never stuck out to me before but at the moment when Jai tells Teh to recreate his first memory with Oh-Aew (read: sleep with Oh-Aew again) in episode 3, I could feel the weight of those three notes, they perfect hinted at the impending sadness.

In episode 1, one of my favorite parts was the ending scene where Oh Aew was sitting alone on the couch, closing his eyes an hoping to conjure Teh in front of him. When he opens his eyes and sees Q who makes him join the party, the crescendo rises in the background before coming to a still.

TIME SKIP:
If you've been keeping up with the news on ipytm since March, then you might know that Nadao had announced that each episode will be dealing with a year of their lives at the university. Needless to say, this worried me A LOT. Time slips/jumps always feel like meaningless plot devices but I'm just beginning to understand that it's more about how you use it. In IPYTM, each year hasn't been summed up in one episode, instead key incidents from each year have been woven together to tell the story.

Thanks to P’Meen's direction, we can see all these actors at their best, bringing the characters to life. IPYTM (like itsay), is not a sci-fi or fantasy or historical production. Its a largely ‘feeling based’ romance, as in the emotions it conveys to the audience are very important. To convey sadness, an actor doesn't just have to be good at crying, the build up to that emotional precipice has to be guided well and the director, scriptwriters and everyone working backstage have done that.


Cast & Characters
━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━
1. OH-AEW & TEH

Both Teh and Oh Aew have changed slightly—the cognitive changes which accompany the beginning of adulthood—but at heart Teh is still the enthusiastic boy who saw Yongjian on his television screen and realized what he wanted to be and Oh Aew is still the soft boy who fell in love.

But after episode 1, we begin to see significant changes in their characters. To anybody who complains about this, people do change. People change enormously, especially during the transition during university. Oh-Aew and Teh face lots of emotions–lomeliness on their first week when they had only each other for comfort, rejections during cast calls, the fear of not fulfilling their aspirations, new friends, new lives–they both change, sometimes for the better and sometimes for the worse.

PP Krit and Billkin have grown so much as actors. PP's soothing voice was perfect for the osts and mvs released for this series. He has really controlled tears, those single tear lines in episode 5 just shook me. Billkin deserves lots of love for his role. I hated to see people thrash the actor for the nuances in Teh's character. Billkin is a wonderful actor and nobody can change my mind.

2. JAI
JaiHe is so much more than an intriguing side character. First of I want to say that even though Jai told Teh that he wasn't sleeping with Ms. May for grades, I don't really believe him. His manner was secretive, not confidential while he told about it to Teh, as in he's hiding something.

Does that make him a bad person? I would say yes. If you've been to university, you may have encountered such individuals who to resort to such techniques. Does it make him a completely bad person? No, everyone is capable of growth. Does it make him a bad director? Definitely not. Judging from the way he interacts with the crew, it's evident that he's not a bad director. He pays attention to details, he reads through logbooks, he's considerate when he has to be.

A clear example is how Teh interacts with him. At first Teh was enamoured by Top but Jai was the one who told him to work backstage. Who opened up options for him. I'd say it's really natural for Teh to feel those signals from him. What stood out to me most about Jai was his dedication and secondly his insecurity. He tells Teh that he broke up with James because he was afraid how long they were going to stay together. He's afraid his portfolio isn't good enough for the New York university, which is probably why he's sleeping with Ms. May.

We get to see one shot of Jai in the end of episode 5 when he smiles on seeing Teh and Oh-Aew's post on Instagram. Regardless of what he has done, he's a character who left me rooting for him till the very end.

OAB is a splendid actor. If anyone has seen Blackout, you might appreciate him even more. He captures every emotion perfectly.

3. OH-AEW'S FRIENDS
Can we appreciate how unassuming Oh-Aew’s, Q, Mang, Plug and Au’s friendship is? In the fifth episode, when Mang and Plug (now dating) have a small argument which Oh-Aew and Q happen to witness, Q tells Oh-Aew to look after Mang while he will do the same for Plug and then they have a small squabble with Q finally conceding that he will take care of all of them. They will not judge their friends on the basis of who breakup and because of whom and will extend the same support regardless. When Teh comes on tv after the breakup, we see Au looking constantly at Oh-Aew to gauge his reaction to it. In this way we get too see how closely knitted they are.

4. OTHERS
If someone asked me what is the best part of IPYTM then they'd probably expect confusion but i have my answer ready: REAL CHARACTERS.IPYTM will convince you that the people they show are real. They are friends, partners, exes, sons/daughters—real people with aspirations and dreams and responsibilities. Even the side characters have a story to tell. Like Top who despite reaching his goal suspects that he isn't truly good enough. Khim, who isn't ready to forsake her dream yet but her duties compel her to. Teh, who is afraid of being alone. Oh Aew who gets judged for being who he is.

Everyone from itsay was reunited at Hoon's wedding. Teh’s brother Hoon finally–finally–gets married to the love of his life and that brings everybody who left Phuket, back to their scenic hometown. We get to see the MoRaoYuLok a final time, some of them are dating, some have a job, some want to return to Phuket, some want to stay in the places they have built for themselves outside Phuket. We get to see Bas, handsome as ever. We get to see Mama Sui, and she is sweeter than ever.

Also, are Top and Khim dating >·<


Cast & Characters
━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━
1. Romance
We get to see a lot of romantic gestures from both Teh and Oh Aew. In the first scene we see Teh with the milk bottle in his hand. Even though its been a year, Oh Aew still heats up milk for him. He gets a small tattoo too. Teh may be more subtle but his emotions are there. I was particularly touched in the scene where Oh Aew was drunk and Teh, instead of taking the bed, sleeps on the carpet beside the couch.

2. Coming Out and being open
Five minutes into the episode 1 I was grinning like an idiot because Teh’s mom just got the best mom ever award. She's not only supportive but a romantic at heart and she had handmade gifts for both Teh and Oh Aew.

Then comes the aquarium kss. I think it was perfect that their first public kiss was after Teh’s mom accepted him. Even in LTIP, while they're on a nearly deserted street, they don't kiss openly. It's Teh's family's acceptance which gives them the courage to be open and it is Teh's love which let's Oh-Aew be free too.

3. Diversity
Itsay as fans know, took diversity to a whole new level in terms of ethnicity. Teh was partially Chinese, his friend was partially of Western decent. Ipytm took it to the next level with a transgender woman as Teh’s manager. It was the most natural thing ever and I hardly even realized it while watching the series. She was written in as a side character, thank you to P'Meen for not writing a cliche bl with horrendous transgender representation.

Also, kudos to Teh our bisexual king. He has dated other girls and boys but he's never struggled to find a label for himself. Then there's Oh-Aew who's comfortable in being gay. When Teh was not-so-subtly trying to find out whether he has a partner, Oh-Aew confirms that he doesn't have a 'boyfriend'. Some people like labels and some don't, giving space to your partner and understanding them is the most important part.

4. Phuket vs. Bangkok
The reason cited previously for the director change was that P'Meen would be better at framing a script which showcased the problems a student from a rural area would encounter in Bangkok and these were realistically portrayed: homesickness, cost cutting, sticking out in the crowd.

Teh, despite his avid interest in film making has no idea of how it works and is fascinated with even the simplest backstage tasks. The drama club members playfully laugh at his interest.

Oh Aew too faces difficulties, he is unable to make friends at Anantsart. While Teh immerses himself into the drama club, he is unable to toggle between reducing transportation cost, late nights backstage and making time for Oh Aew. When Teh thinks of resigning, Oh Aew encourages him to continue with his drama saying that he will be fine. But what was supposed to last just a month, stretches into two.

5. Reaching your dreams
Every character in itsay and ipytm was working towards a particular goal. While Teh is one minded and confident about his choices, Oh-Aew wavers. But in the end, both are successful. Even their mutual friends from Phuket have jobs or are in relationships. But we also have Au who decides to take a break which is encouraged by Q and the others.

Reaching dreams is hard and there are many obstacles, in some cases like Oh-Aew's, the obstacle includes discrimination for his slightly 'feminine' nature. This made me appreciate seeing a transgender woman in a strong job even more.


8.0/10 for an awesome story which fell a little flat sometimes but worked for the most of it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Promuchu
14 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0

" it has different mood, different storytelling, it's like a whole different colour " - billkin

This was deep and realistic. Personally i really liked part 2 cause it clearly showed the fact " the only thing constant in life is change " . Now points everyone should keep in mind before watching this
1. Don't compare it with ITSAY
2. " it has different, tone,storytelling... It's like two whole different colour " - billkin
3. It's not for kids and desperate ppl who are here for some cheesy/fantasy romance



* VERY VERY MINUTE SPOILER AHEAD*
THINGS I LOVED : 1. MUSIC : it is as amazing as ever starting from the osts to bg score i loved it.
2. END
3. OLD CASTS
4. story as a whole
5. PRODUCTION AND ACTING
THINGS I DIDN'T LIKED :
ep 3 end , yes that's it i don't like only this except that i love the rest.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sapphicdisaster
14 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Growing Pains

I absolutely adored the first season of I Told Sunset About You. Actually, it Is in my top 5 of all dramas I have ever watched. This show just touched me in a way I still can’t quite explain. I watched those five episodes, no exaggeration, about ten times. My mind was consumed by it. I told everyone around me to watch it (with minimal success), I wrote quotes of it in my diary, I made it my wallpaper, I listened to the OST on my way to work. Point being, I was obsessed, and still am, kinda. ITSAY has a grip on me like not many other stories have, maybe because I felt so very represented by both its protagonists. Still, when I heard that they would make a second season, I wasn’t excited at all. In fact, I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to watch it.

Why is that?

I've never been interested in what comes after the happy ending. Because what follows, is just another day, on which things might suck again. I never cared for the drama that happens, AFTER two people enter a relationship. This has gone so far, that I will oftentimes just stop watching a show or reading a book, after the couple gets together, because the idea of conflict is terrifying to me. I like things to feel settled and comfortable. And the end of ITSAYs first season conveyed exactly that. It was short and sweet. And I wanted nothing more from it.
However, I still felt some kind of moral obligation to at least check it out. I heard that they had changed the director, which worried me deeply. The trailer dropped and I dreaded the show’s release date even more. It looked exactly like I what feared it would be: melodrama that would drag a short and sweet story down. Still, I decided to give the second season a chance. Even if I personally, didn’t like relationship drama, that wouldn’t have to mean that the show was going to be objectively bad, right?

So, as a huge fan of season one that went into this with loads of doubts, what do I have to say about I Promised You The Moon?
Weirdly enough, even though I wasn’t excited for this at all, I don’t think I am as upset with IPYTM as everyone else seems to be. I think some people are mad at this show for having its leads screw up, which I find a bit absurd. Just because you disagree with a character’s actions doesn’t have to mean the story is fundamentally bad. As long as you lay the groundwork for said decisions, characters are obviously allowed to make mistakes.
I don’t think I Promised You The Moon is a love story, which is probably the thing that caught most people off guard. But I don’t purely consider I Told Sunset About you a love story either, I would rather classify it as Coming of Age. To me at least, ITSAY was primarily about finding yourself, and considering that, the second season felt very much in spirit of its pre-successor.
I have my qualms with this sequel, but a lot of the “criticism” of this series I have seen, just comes from people that wanted some romance scenes between the two lead actors and were disappointed that there would be angst between them.
Admittedly, some of the things I enjoyed most about ITSAYs first season, mainly the innocence of your first love, were missing here. In fact, if you’re looking for something as overall wholesome as the last season, or if you just want to see the two leads be cute together, don’t watch this (or stop after the first episode) because this is very much not that.
But okay, let me start with the things I really liked about this follow-up:

The cinematography was one of the best things about ITSAYs first season, hence why I was so concerned about the change in director. But as it turns out, I had absolutely nothing to worry about in that regard. I Promised You The Moon looks stunning. Every single shot felt well crafted and meaningful. Dare I say, this season looks just as good as the first one, sometimes even a tad better. The camerawork felt just as poetic as this season’s name and was rich with symbolism. I have to especially mention how effortlessly the director made the imagery of season one his own. There were many visual callbacks to the first season but instead of simply being references, the director made sure to always add his own twist. Like how the couple's first kiss in season one was underwater, where they hid away from the world, and their first kiss in season two happens in an aquarium after Teh officially comes out to his mom. The scene is referential to the underwater-kiss but instead of hiding, the couple is now in a public space, open and comfortable with themselves. And that is just one of the many ways I Promised You The Moon kept the spirit of its pre-successor alive while still being its own thing.
I really enjoyed all the new characters (with one exception, you can probably guess who, I will get into that later). Especially Oh-aews new friend circle. It’s nice that they actually have personalities this time and we get a much clearer picture of their dynamic with Oh-aew than with the side characters in season one. When I first watched the second season’s trailer, I feared that the supporting cast would solely serve as a bad influence to drive the leads apart but I actually thought that most of them added something to the story and also added depth to the personalities of our leads so that was a pleasant surprise.
I loved Oh-aews arc here, trying to find his place in Bangkok and also rediscovering his self-worth as his relationship goes all kinds of wrong. Him changing his university degree, is the thing that resonated most with me this season. Realizing that what you might not be cut out for what you dreamed of, is a really difficult, heartbreaking process, but the show does not punish him for changing his plans or “giving up”. Instead, he thrives when he allows himself to do what feels right to him. And that was honestly just really nice to see and the kind of story this burnt-out university student needed.
This is also such a minor thing, as it’s one of the first things that happens in this season, but Teh “coming out” to his mom, or rather finding out that his mom knew about him and Oh-aew all this time, was such a good scene. It brought tears to my eyes. While I really loved how the first season dealt with “queer trauma” such as internalized homophobia, I really wasn’t up to see another five episodes of this couple suffering simply because they’re gay. So it was refreshing to see that bigotry, wasn’t a hindrance in their relationship at all. In fact, they became noticeably more comfortable with being out in front of people. I mentioned the aquarium-kiss, but there were also minor things, like Teh smiling when he first meets another gay couple for the first time.
The acting is probably the second season’s strongest selling-point. I was impressed by the leads’ chemistry in ITSAY but dare I say, the two actors have improved a lot since the first season’s release. Maybe they have simply matured, maybe the director did a better job directing them, but I was in awe by how strong the acting here was. PP Krit as Oh-aew especially took the cake here, he was absolutely incredible. I found myself really looking forward to the documentary episodes of this season and seeing how invested both actors were in their characters was really fascinating. You can’t help but notice that Billkin and PP Krit have a really strong idea on how these characters work and should behave and the strong bond the two actors have is the reason the main Teh and Oh-aew’s chemistry is so believable. They’re obviously very comfortable with each other and trust each other a lot and you really can tell as you watch this show, no matter how much their characters hurt each other.
For the most part, IPYTM managed to keep the realism, that came with season one, alive, which I greatly appreciate. I mentioned how I worried about the second season being full of needless drama to up the stakes and while this definitely is pretty melodramatic, it’s still on the believable side. It is true that I could not relate to the second season like I did to the first one, which, as an angsty gay kid, touched the deepest darkest corner of my heart, but I was still left with a plot that somewhat resonated with me. Noone likes to think about the idea of drifting apart, but it happens. Quite frankly, I do not know a lot of stories that dare to tackle that topic, as it is such a downer, so I found this almost sort of refreshing, even though I dreaded the concept when I watched the trailer. I thought the process of them growing apart was done well, it felt like the natural conclusion given the circumstances the characters were in. The show didn’t go over the top to gives these two a reason to break up, they simply didn’t work anymore. Though there is an emotional climax in episode four, things were going wrong, way before the couple’s big fight. It’s hard to maintain a relationship when you’re both drastically changing and I thought this subject matter was explored in a mature and convincing way.

But I mentioned having my qualms with this sequel, so without further ado, let us get into them.
Teh is a villain.
As I read some opinion about this season, I came to realize that a lot of people never liked Teh, not even in season one, which honestly kinda shocked me. Because personally, I could relate a lot to him. Yes, he hurt Oh-aew on multiple occasions but I always understood where he came from. I understand that internalized homophobia can mess with you. So I have always been a Teh-apologist, because I saw a lot of myself in him, especially in his flaws. I could relate to his angst, to his pride that so often got the best of him, to his inability to communicate his feelings clearly, down to him making passive aggressive Instagram stories directed at his crush because he is a coward . But man, do I have a tough job defending him in season 2. I have mentioned how your characters are allowed to make mistakes. How them screwing up, doesn’t make a story bad but is the thing that provides conflict. But someone tell me: Why does it always have to be Teh screwing up? All the time. I mean, Oh-aew is a literal saint here, while Teh practically does nothing else but make questionable decisions.
You saw the spoiler warning, let’s talk about the infidelity. As someone, who found immense comfort in this relationship, watching the infamous theater practice kiss scene, definitely made me feel uncomfortable. Made me feel weirdly betrayed even. But I actually don’t absolutely hate the concept of it happening. Not meaning that I think cheating is super cool or even excusable, but I don’t mind it as a plot-point. I mean, it does happen. I think it was set up properly, it didn’t come out of left field or anything like that. But here is the problem: for this show to work, the audience still needs to like Teh. He is allowed to screw up, obviously. But he needs to stay redeemable.
“But user @sapphicdesaster”, you might say “Surely cheating is one of the worst things you can do to another person, how could the show have possibly redeemed Teh after he made such a grave mistake?”
Well rest be assured, I agree, infidelity is gross, and I think Oh-aew breaking up was the punishment Teh deserved. But I still think the narrative could have done something to make this feel less like a gut-punch. First of all: Let Oh-aew hurt Teh once. Like properly. Let him be the immature one for once. Make Teh’s worries about Oh-aew leaving him feel more warranted. Then make his feelings for Jai feel more grounded. Basically, let Oh-aew make a mistake that makes Teh flee into Jai’s arms for comfort. That of course wouldn’t excuse the infidelity but at least soften the blow, if that makes sense.
I mentioned not liking one new character. Shocker, it’s Jai. But the problem for me, isn’t him being a bad guy, I found his reasons to seduce Teh just kind of childish and like a cheap way to explain Teh’s actions away. To me, it took away Teh’s agency in the whole thing. Like “Oh he couldn’t help it, he was manipulated by an evil guy”. Like he had fallen under a spell. I would much have preferred it, if Teh’s feelings for Jai had been completely sincere, if he had simply fallen for his mentor for the person he is. I still would include the scene of him getting turned down, mostly because after watching him break Oh-aews heart, seeing him get played was very satisfying, but I would still change Jai’s motive. Instead of him having this master plan all along, maybe he was genuinely into Teh, but was in a secret relationship the entire time. That would give Teh a taste of his own medicine, without trying to rationalize his behavior away.

Conclusion:
As someone who watched the documentary, I feel like it’s at least safe to say, that no one walked into this half-heartedly. This wasn’t some cash-grab to profit off a beloved first season. I feel like this is a story the director genuinely wanted to tell. It might have not resonated with everyone but that is a risk you just have to take as a filmmaker.
I saw the term “toxic relationship” get thrown around a lot. And I agree, these two did lead a toxic relationship at some point. But like, a story simply being about a toxic relationship, doesn’t make it bad. The question is, does the story endorse a toxic relationship? And I don't think I could accuse IPYTM of said crime. There is no merit to Oh-aews suffering. He isn't put in a position where he has to change his boyfriend. Both characters change drastically but they change apart and seperate from each other. Teh, while the show tries to make the viewer sympathize with him, gets punished by the narrative for his mistakes. Because he is unable to make up his mind, he loses both guys he is interested in. And he can only get his love back, after growing as a person.
I didn’t feel let down by IPYTM, but maybe that’s because I went into this with a pretty pessimistic outlook on what it would be. I understand why this is a somewhat controversial season. It was not the story people were signing up for. Fans were invested in this couple, they wanted to see them happy. And I get that, so did I. In fact, if they made a third season called “Teh and Oh-aew: But this time they’re just in love and nothing bad ever happens” I would probably watch it. But I don’t think that would have been a story worth telling.
Obviously, I expected Teh and Oh-aew to have their problems in this season but I was quite surprised by how heavy they were. And while it was heartbreaking to watch them in this state, it is something I have to praise the show for. This was pretty daring. It’s not often a story tells us that sometimes love, doesn’t conquer all. Sometimes life gets in-between. Sometimes loving someone isn’t enough. Those are scary ideas, but they’re worth exploring.

Still, I am glad that in the end Teh and Oh-aew got their happy ending. Many people said that they didn’t want to see the couple together after the events of episode three, but I still kind of did, provided they both had the time to grow. Does Oh-aew deserve better? Maybe, I don’t know. But love isn’t really about what you deserve. It’s not a rational thing where you can calculate a break-even. It’s doing bat sh*t crazy things, like getting the name of your boyfriend of few months tattooed. It’s also realizing when you need to take a step back, which Teh did. As they met again, I was reminded of the lyrics from their theme song of season one: “If we are set apart by time, I'll be pleased to wait- But if we are set apart by destiny, I have to give up, don't I?” I never doubted that the two leads loved each other, even in their worst state, but as I mentioned, sometimes that isn’t enough. It’s simply the foundation. When Teh told Oh-aew that, even after he fell for Jai, he never once thought of breaking up with him, I believed him. But it was still important that the two of them got the chance to spend some time apart. In the last episode, I saw a couple I had faith in. They were less co-dependent and more well-rounded people. And I think that’s the real story of IPYTM. How time changes everything.

Obviously, this will never do for me, what ITSAY did for me. It couldn’t touch my heart in that way and I also think, objectively speaking, that it simply isn’t as strong as its pre-successor. But I didn’t expect anything else. It had a lot to live up to. I still think this is worth watching. Or maybe you just have to know what you’re getting into. If it’s really important to you to just see the two leads happy, maybe skip this. If you’re looking for a new take on a contemporary relationship as the two leads figure out who they are, this is definitely worth a try.

It seems like I run into this show whenever I need it the most. I watched I Told Sunset About You when I was coming to terms with the label "lesbian ". And now this aired, the year I am supposed move out of my childhood home. This drama kind of forced me, to get over my fear of “the day after the happy ending”. Because while I like the idea of comfortable neat clean conclusions and closure, what happens after the happy ending is simply life. And I can’t escape it forever. Yes, tomorrow might be painful. But it could be beautiful as well.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sandi
8 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

The 2nd Season Curse: cheating edition

Oh wow just wow where do i start with this review. This show set such a high bar for bl shows last year and with the second season announcement we were alm skeptical but excited to see where the show may go. Personally id say this was a good season if not the best 2nd season I've watched in a bl show ever.

People were pretty upset with the tone and plot chosen this season *coughs cheating* but i feel it played a bigger role in showing us how strong teh and oh love is even if the break was like 1 year but nonetheless their love prevailed.

Cheating is a very common trope put in place in second seasons for bl shows so it wasn't uncommon to see it done in this show. As much as I agree with the audience in them being mad about the cheating plotline nothing can change we just have to except the choice the writers made.

Now in terms of oh and teh and how they have changed drastically i can only say it was for the better cause the person you are in high school isn't gonna be the same person when you in the real world. I loved how the show managed to capture that is such a beautiful way.

Fav characters :
Q ( love of my life)
Top ( he could get it anyday)
Khim ( such a beautiful girl hoping she has an amazing life)

Tbh im not to good with reviews but i hope you got what i was tryna say. This was a good season regardless of the cheating element it still gave an excellent performance and cinematography.

P.s BAS BABY IM STILL HERE AND I WILL ALWAYS LOVE YOU. Q AND U CAN SHARE ME AS MUCH YALL WANT.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sho
11 people found this review helpful
Dec 11, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

this is not a review, it’s a rant because i’m angry

this is my first review and i am doing this because i am angry. i notice that a lot of people enjoy cheating tropes because they enjoy the angst but that’s just not my cup of tea. i enjoy angst too but i can’t tolerate cheating at all and the fact that ohaew forgave teh truly ruined the show for me. i genuinely enjoyed season one but this just ruins it for me :’) i feel like they ruined teh’s character just to make the story more dramatic and angsty which is disappointing. i don’t see the love that the couple shared during ITSAY in this season anymore and teh just doesn’t deserve oh-aew at all here. the fact that the cheating was not an accident but teh was actually falling for another person just ruins everything. in short, i’m pissed that they ruined teh’s character and that oh-aew forgave him like wtf HE CHEATED ON YOU BROOOO. sorry if this was harsh im just angry, if u enjoyed the show, good for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SimpleGirl
9 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

This is how a perfect drama should be !

I've watched the first season "I told sunset about you" and I loved it so much , that's why I decided to watch the second season and I am GLAD I did !
This is how a drama should be ; and I am not exaggerating if I say that this (along with the first season) are the BEST Thai drama I've ever watched ( my drama list is long btw ) . Thai Bl directors : PLEASE TAKE NOTES .
=> The acting : Billkin and PP excelled in their roles . The way they talked, looked at each other, cried and hugged each other made me feel like I am watching the real Teh and Oh-aew and without any doubt their real story . Also all the supportive actors were amazing and convincing .
=> The story : I loved the realistic approach this season has taken . Changing and making mistakes are natural processes during our main journey : The journey of discovering ourselves . As time goes by , people change , feelings change and relationships may face huge challenges, only people with strong bounds could face all of the obstacles ; and came back together even after being separated.As they say , we realize someone's worth only after loosing them. I also loved how the story highlighted the value of friendship and it's power of helping us grow stronger and more confident .
The cinematography was a success too , professional and innovative .
Finally , I would like to express my gratitude towards the directors, the screenwriters, the producers, the actors and all the staff for giving us such a masterpiece that we will remember for years to come .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ourpeachscones
9 people found this review helpful
Jun 25, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Everything I Wanted

HOLY FREAKING CRAP. This hit me like the first season did. Everything about this series makes it a masterpiece. The execution of a pure and realistic love story makes it relatable and the emotions easy to comprehend. The acting is always superb from these two. It made me cry and want to throw fists just like the first season did— BUT ON A MUCH HIGHER LEVEL. I was so anxious that this would end badly— and so sad that my favourite love story ever would comes to a sad closing. I won’t overlook the cheating that occurred— nothing excuses cheating, but it’s really such a natural thing that occurs, and I’m not sure i can be mad about it. I personally haven’t been in the position to where I would cheat— but I can totally understand why some people do it. I can even imagine myself doing it to be honest, though I’ll never commit to someone to where I then feel trapped and want someone else that way. In Teh’s position— I completely understand what he did— of course, i hated him for it, but I under him. I have to agree with what another reviewer said— ‘Love when you are ready, not when you are lonely’. I wasn’t disappointed at its beautiful conclusion in this sequel. The music in these series work very well with the emotions that are being acted out. I am a huge fan of the lack of music in certain scenes, which allows for me to focus on the characters and their actions without distraction. I think this use of no music in some scenes is something that brings me into a world of reality, as though what I am viewing something real and not fiction. It’s something that I don’t ever notice being done in other dramas, and if it is being done, it’s not done well enough for me to care for it. The storyline is a super simple one, and it made me think about my own life and experiences, future and present, with love, which is something I like to have from shows. If I can connect what is being shown to me to myself, it makes the experience about both reflection and enjoyment. The editing, choice of camera angles, and scenes with little to no talking are SO GOOD. Like these actors and the people that chose how to execute everything that makes a good show did a damn well job. They can say more about their feelings with no lines and only their faces/actions than any other actors and their dragged-on lines can. I’ll never forget this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
QueerDudeGermany
7 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

An Outstanding Drama ,that is unfortunately compared to its previous part

First of all, you can't compare „I told sunset about you“ with „I promised you the moon“. They are both different from the atmosphere, storytelling, and even from the genre. While ITSAY is a coming out/coming of age drama, IPYTM is a drama about a relationship, that slowly falls apart...

And when you see that IPYTM is a masterpiece with an emotional force that leaves you speechless and exhausted.
Music, Cinematography, and atmosphere are always on point and it’s hard to find a series that convinced on that level.
But this series needs no big drama effects and it’s more the slow subtle emotions that make it so wonderful. Like the scene where Oh-Aew and Teh are performing on stage, then the music fades and you see only the face of Oh-Aew.

Let’s talk about the acting: Everyone is doing a great job and even the side characters are unique and give you emotional feelings. Billkinn as Teh bares the series with his „not so perfect“-personality and even when I didn’t support all of his actions, he’s always acting plausible. But I appreciate PPKrit more for playing such a fragile and still powerful Person like Oh-Aew, so multifaceted but also so realistic and besides that so far away from toxic masculinity. The Scene where his acting was too girly, was for me a critique on the common stereoroles, but also an important message for the LGBTQ+-Community.

This Series shows anyways some critics of the acting genre, broken dreams of young actors, manipulative directors, or managers who are controlling the social media of their talents. And even in that way IPTYM is far much better than other series.

Unfortunately in some parts its’s far too rushed and the whole series could have at least 1 or 2 episodes more to avoid the time jumps which was the low light for me.

But still, with that flaw, it’s an outstanding series, not for a BL, but for the drama genre itself.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
littleshypeach
18 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 4.5
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Why?

People said that the sequel is often not as good as the prequel and yet, I still placed high hope for the sequel and ended up, everything that others said become real.

1. The first episode is alright. Was very glad that Teh's mother accepted Oh Aew and supported her son.
2. I expected angst but never did I realize the angst is cliche (with the cheating) and for the angst, I don't feel sad at all. But instead, I'm super pissed. I didn't cry when the angst happened and instead, I rolled my eyes and saw this coming.

People said that this is reality, people's feelings fade when they get together for a long time. Teh's feelings faded for Oh Aew but the audacity he has to confess to someone when he didn't even clear things off with Oh Aew.

I don't know and I will definitely get scolded by the fans who supported the ending.

I feel that the ending is....too forced?

Like the scriptwriter is trying to force this s*it and make them patch back.

Everything changed in this sequel.
Teh's feelings, the art, the cinematography, everything, and there's a lot of things missing that I can't even put out with words.

Giving this a 4.5 is already counted as fair enough because I actually wanted to give it a 0.
10 for the acting/cast because of the upgrade and the amazing improvement of BKPP along with other side characters!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I Promised You the Moon (2021) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 13,564 users)
  • Ranked: #1873
  • Popularity: #427
  • Watchers: 31,288

Top Contributors

73 edits
45 edits
36 edits
35 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Thai BL Master List
664 titles 1424 loves 10
gay/bl (Thailand)
541 titles 444 loves 2

Recently Watched By