Completed
Macha
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.5
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0

Why ?

This drama is good if you don't expect : a storyline, character development or even logic plot. I mean, it's okay if you just watch it to empty your brain and to laugh just because there are too many dumb scenes and laughable ones.

Okay, it's low budget. And for a low budget drama, the production is not that bad. BUT. The acting : big nope, too much scenes where I am like "It's damn too fake", and it doesn't convey any feeling/emotion. The storyline : the whole plot around an alzheimer grandma who wants to sell her house is not " a bad idea" but everything around that is just random ; I mean, the girl and Din hate each other then after 5 episodes they get "married", we don't see anything about the gay couple (one episode, they don't know each other, the other they are in couple then the sister make them break ?), and so on. There is no logical thing...

So, if you juste want to spend 20minutes laughing about something that random and bad acting, go ahead. If you want a story and character development... Go watch something else. If you want a great lakorn with a gay couple that is airing right now, go watch A Tale of Thousand Stars - I wans't sure about this one at first but... Even the first episode make you fall in love with the story and the originality of the whole plot. Okay, there are still random scenes/dialogues that are not that great, like all gay lakorn, but it's still something great and the story is awesome ; the acting is really great too.

But hey, something that we can't take away from this drama : the ost is pretty good. I mean, it's not bad, it's light-hearted and really good to listen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Unpopularopinionbydemand
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 2, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Not Confused but Disoriented

I read the comments to get an overall audience view of this series, in which most of them were negative, but I was still willing to give this a chance. I need to start paying more attention to these opinions, cause I really sat through 5 episodes of complete garbage (and I say that in the nicest way possible.) Deal Lover had to be some of the crappiest acting I've seen in a while, with an unlikeable Het couple and straight-as-all-get-out BL pairing.

Let's Dive In.

I was actually pretty intrigued by the synopsis. I didn't hate the first episode; sure, it carried on longer than need be, the first 15 minutes are boring as hell, and the acting is already atrocious, but I looked past all that so that I could really dip my toes into the characters, and I actually wasn't too disappointed. Except it continues to get worst with every episode.

First is the plot. So different, something I was enthralled about before even watching, but sadly the execution is sad -- embarrassing even. I wanted them to do more with the grandma than they did. They kind of just made her look like a crazy old woman than a person dealing with Alzheimer's. They should've dove deeper into this disease and put parts of its attributed into the series. The grandma was passed as just goofy and forgetful, and it really did hurt. More with the plot, they had such a unique concept and didn't use it like they were supposed to. So boring, I mean EXTREMELY boring. I don't care to watch Milan vlog, or do anything, to be honest. Most of the het shit is them feuding and then not. I started skipping their parts mid-third episode. (They got married.... after 7 days...??)

That's another poor decision of this series. You can't take any of these relationships seriously cause they've all started in the span of three days, two nights. No one's relationship was nice to watch knowing that they just met only a few hours before. Both couples are rushed fast as hell and try to seem so in love, but it passes as delusional and lowkey obsessive.

Onto the BL pairing. I really have no words. Both actors look catastrophically uncomfortable around each other and like they were held at gunpoint to be in this. They had a good amount of BL tropes, but all were very poorly acted, and again, cringe as hell. I'll give props to Tam's actor though -- his acting wasn't all that great, but it was inferior compared to Tokyo's who looked like his dad dragged him there. So bad. So bad that I don't know how anyone else wasn't casted. Their relationship was rushed, all their lines were so bland and boring, and their acting was just the rotten cherry on top. The only part I found seemingly cute was when Tam grabbed Tokyo's face and THAT'S IT.

Production is last cause I have to scream about this. I've seen lower-quality budget films do 100x better than whatever the freak this was. Yes, this series was also low-budget, but that does not give this series an excuse for the poor editing and terrible amount of continuity errors. this series is really something else. Usually, production is decent, but with this series, it felt lower than mediocre. Sad, just really sad.

Some other things that might just be me: did anyone feel like they cut the camera to add tears to Tam's face?? Like his tears looked fake, I can't explain it, I really can't. Din does not pass as a chef at freaking all, more like a kid in a costume. Milan being a high-key homophobic?

Overall, I don't recommend this show. Had I also realized this was a side BL, I would've never tuned in in the first place. I love seeing small series like this with new faces, especially in Thailand when they have other series to go up against like ones from Studio Wabi-Sabi and GMMTV. I usually root for the underdogs, but this was just a complete disappointment. This series needed to have done some regrouping before this shit, Lord have Mercy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jpny01
3 people found this review helpful
Mar 28, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.5
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0

This is bad.

It's hard to imagine that someone would agree to finance this, so I can only conclude someone in the production had a rich relative.

The BL couple is cute, and you'll have an interest in them - especially the character Tokyo, who is extremely adorable. It isn't given enough screen time.

The main couple would have been OK with a better FL. I've been referring to the man as "bargain basement Zon" because he's like a washed out version of Tommy Sittichok in Why RU. The FL's acting is not great, but the writing for her character is so bad I'm not sure anyone could have pulled it off. Her interruption of her brother's relationship and her reasoning for doing it are so bizarre and out of character that it really slams the brakes on the show and almost everyone in the comments section wanted her to die horribly thereafter.

It's like BL writers have some irresistible compulsion to insert a toxic female into every single BL romance that exists, at exactly the same moment in the series. I'm becoming convinced there's only one BL writer, and she's either suffered brain damage that makes her write the same thing over and over, or she's being held at gunpoint by a homophobic madman. "I SAID MORE ACCIDENTAL KISSES! PUT IN AN EVIL GF! NEEDS MORE SCREECHING LADYBOYS!" In any case, whenever I'm watching a series, I need to take anti-anxiety medication before the 3rd to last ep, because I just know a misogynist stereotype will materialize to torpedo the ship.

Anyway, the other plot element that's this series' schtick is the old woman with Alzheimer's. Yes, Alzheimer's is super-funny, right? Let's pick a terrible disease that almost everyone has personally experienced within their families in a painful way. But surely they dealt with this sensitively, right? "I SAID BELITTLE PEOPLE WITH TERRIBLE AFFLICTIONS!" I kept hoping she was pretending to be senile in a plan to get all the ships sailing, but no.

The show is not 100% terrible. The production quality is reasonably good, and most of the acting is at least passable. If you're bored and it's Thursday, it might be worth it to watch this and ff through everything that's not Tokyo/Tam, because they are cute. And BB Zon is sexy and cute, too. Hopefully some of these people will get better roles in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
labcat
1 people found this review helpful
May 13, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This review may contain spoilers

Not the worst ever, but really quite mediocre

This is not amongst the worst or the most incoherent series I have watched. I watched it because of the BL, and relative to the BLs being produced in 2021, it is rather mediocre.

There is something of a story--you know, there's conflict (a forgetful old lady agrees to sell her house to two different buyers at the same time), some development (the female buyer's brother and the male buyer's friend fall in love with each other at first sight, the two buyers fight each other, the old lady asks them to live with her for a week so that she can decide whom to sell the house to, the buyers fall in love) a bit of a twist (one of the buyers is offered a good deal to sell the house to another person), a rather exaggerated climax (the female buyer's brother leaves her because she tells his boyfriend to leave him) and a happy ending.

The series would have been better if it had just gone all-out nonsensical but it tries to be more serious than it should. The editing makes the story confusing. Some scenes are shown before they should (without any indication of whether it is a preview of the next episode or whether there is a flashback). To make matters worse, the BL couple is shown making one plan to get the sister to accept their relationship but somehow carries out an entirely different plan. Major issues with flow and coherence could have been avoided with a series that is so short.

In the end, the only character who is really worth watching is ............ the old lady selling the house. The lack of character development is fine because her character is the type that doesn't require it. And she's quite endearing in the way she loves her house so much she interviews the potential buyers so that she can sell it to someone who will care for the house well.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hamster Linnie
1 people found this review helpful
May 13, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
This review may contain spoilers

At least Tokyo is cute right?

I do not like Milan's character. She seems like a homophobic which was a no-no for me. She should not control her brother's love life. I watched all five episodes because of granny, Tokyo and Tam. I did like how cute Tokyo and Tam are as a couple. Milan seem like a character people would dislike really. I did notice that Din did change the way he view the house. Of course he made the mistake of wanting to sell it to that guy. At least he did have a change of heart. Milan had to rat him out to the granny. I wonder who plays the granny she did make the show enjoyable. I gave it five stars because of the granny and the Tokyo x Tam couple. I was going to drop because of Milan. I decided to keep going to see end for Tokyo x Tam couple. They are so cute together. I just wish the acting and character development was better. I would have like seeing more of Tokyo x Tam. It would be better if there was less of Milan.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kajirae
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 11, 2023
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 2.0

Not very good, but not the worst either.

I want to start by saying that unlike how others felt, I did not get the impression that the sister was homophobic. She even said that there was nothing unusual about a man with another man relationship.

So, what was her issue then? I would say she's trying so hard to give her brother a "normal" life with no complications or hardships, and in the culture they live in gay men are not an accepted. They are often ridiculed, talked down to, gossiped about and discriminated against. That's just not what she wants for her brother, she wants his life to be easy and for everyone to like him and accept him. It's not that she's against him being gay, she's against how their culture treats gays and she doesn't want her brother to go through that hardship.

As for everything else -- the story is okay, basic and bland, but okay. The acting is sub-par, but not the worst I've seen. Overall it was just a fast and easy watch when I wanted to watch something without investment.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
18months
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 4, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.5
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.5
Music 1.5
Rewatch Value 1.0

pessima

De longe um dos piores roteiros que eu já vi em um drama, eu com certeza não assistiria outra vez, não tem uma atuação boa, a historia é totalmente desinteressante, tem alguma ost? Eu me esforcei muito pra assistir por que achei os atores fofos, mas foi uma serie muito mal trabalhada, poderia ter sido muito melhor e eu não estou falando só do casal homo, estou falando em geral mesmo nem o casal hetero tem química, eu não queria dizer isso mas nem a senhorinha atuou bem. Nos primeiros eps é essa comedia de baixa qualidade e ainda tem aquele plot super previsível e que não funciona nunca.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Apaixonada por BL
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 9, 2022
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers

O auge da falta de química

Não vou dizer que foi uma perda de tempo total, mas é uma série bem fraca. Sempre me interesso por histórias que ocorrem longe dos ambientes universitários, mas essa não teve graça, muito sem tempero, e eu diria até sem lógica. Me pareceu aquelas séries com orçamento super reduzido, poucas locações, apenas o núcleo principal de atores, nada de inovador, fotografia comum, sem uma ost marcante...

Os atores são jovens, mas nem por isso vou passar pano para essa péssima atuação. Até o casal BL, que normalmente é meu ponto fraco, dessa vez foi totalmente desinteressante, até pior que o casal hétero. A melhor atuação foi da velhinha e só minha opinião importa.

Enfim, não falo que não recomendo, até pq gosto é algo indiscutível. Mas eu, particularmente jamais assistiria de novo.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Deal Lover (2021) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 6.2 (scored by 628 users)
  • Ranked: #10354
  • Popularity: #5439
  • Watchers: 2,040

Top Contributors

33 edits
26 edits
21 edits
9 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Thai BL Master List
688 titles 1521 loves 11
gay/bl (Thailand)
564 titles 461 loves 2

Recently Watched By