Completed
Mon
41 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5

A Short Drama Full of Surprises and Fun

Although I was unsure of what to expect from this drama when I first started watching it, it really surprised me for such a short drama. There were no drags in the story and the actors did a good job with their roles. Also, the main leads had good chemistry.
In this drama, the pace was fast, the humor was light, and the story wasn't boring. In three episodes, this drama managed to include interesting character development, beautiful costumes, and sweet moments between the main leads. If you are looking for a short and funny drama, I recommend this drama.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Archem099
10 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I didn't expect anything from this drama while I started to watch it. But this drama really surprised me.
The drama contains 18 episodes, 9 minutes each. So if everything is summed up it makes 3 whole episodes.
Most of the short Chinese historical dramas doesn't have a solid political background and plot twists. It mostly centers around the chemistry of the main leads. So like any other short drama I also didn't expect much. But surprisingly this 3 episode drama covered both political solid story as well as showed chemistry between the main leads which I hardly found in any 24 or 36 episode dramas.

Short dramas generally doesn't have that much eye-catching costumes. This drama also didn't have varity in costume but the designs of the few costumes that were seen were very good especially of the Emperor and the empress's.

Of course, due to the short period of time the story was not executed perfectly. Since the time was numbered the story had to go fast and it didn't get enough time to develop the characters. But if it was given a few more episodes to execute properly I am sure it would have make a wonderful story and may have become one of my favorite historical drama.

By the way, this drama is available in YouTube.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jina
3 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5

enjoyable short series full of all the classic tropes and fun

I started watching this because I heard that it was similar to other dramas in this genre such as "To Get Her" "Unique Lady" and "Love and the Emperor." Though this is a short series, it really does best at what it sets out to do.

Riding on the popular trend of "FL gets sucked into a historical setting (from a book or script or game or drama) and tries to survive while developing a love story with the ML," this drama is not about whether this drama is "original" or not or if it's super logical at every turn--that's not the point of this kind of series!--but how well it does in playing to these romantic tropes and still make your heart flutter.

For me, it worked really well! I laughed at her attempts to survive, enjoyed her comedic expressions, and her eccentric interactions with the Emperor, and essentially I was with them along for the ride. (I watched all three 1-hr-long episodes on YouTube in one sitting, which is the better experience and flowed better than watching each of the eighteen 10-minute-long episodes, I'd say.)

For every moment that I was supposed to feel the emotions, I was there with them. For every romantic scene between the FL and the ML--where the cameras are spinning and there are flowers or snow falling and music swelling--I enjoyed it. Loved the OST. Really felt the emotions from the two lead actors Wang Lu Qing and Cheng Lei. They were fantastic.

If you're a sucker for good ol' romantic tropes of a cold Emperor slowly warming up the FL, I think you'll like this drama just fine. Just don't expect it to be longer because it's really meant to be a short series!

NOTE: Do not watch this expecting it to mention the things said on the summary for this drama, lol. Some of the info that it said on here did not even appear in the drama so I don't know what it was talking about, lmao.
(It says "Liang Wei Wei, a track and field student with superhuman strength and an idolater, accidentally entered a historical drama starring the idol Jing Qing." But this info never comes through? We know she's a track and field student but that's about all that really shows in the drama. I didn't even know she had "superhuman" strength or that the drama she entered starred the "idol"...that would've made this drama even more interesting but it never comes up explicitly.)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
chen358
3 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama wasn't really what I had expected. For one, the actors and actresses of this show aren't really well known, so it's not that popular. The concubine legit just looks like a man dressed as a woman. This show could have done better with the acting and the costumes. The queen is really dressed like a queen. I think where it lacks the most is the love. Considering each episode is like 9 min, and a regular Chinese drama, one show is about 40-45 min. There are only 18 episodes. That's about 3 episodes of a normal drama if we add up all the 9 minutes. Because it was so short, the king out of nowhere starts to fall for her. I wouldn't really recommend this. It's not as interesting as I thought it would be, and I'm fairly disappointed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Drama Mama Lambanana
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

Don't question the flux capacitor

I actually like how SHORT this show is!

Ok. This doesn't allow for deep simmered flavours to develop but treat this like fast food and it can be enjoyable. Quick fix of rom com tropes.

Don't question the how and why the universe jumping happens. Just root for the FL and laugh at the ridiculous characters.

At first I got 'Mr. Queen' vibes and then ended up with 'Extraordinary You' emotions.

The acting is not bad and the annoying characters are supposed to be, which makes their comeuppance all the more delightful.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
santisiMaria
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 15, 2022
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10

Queen of Attack S1 and S2

-- these time travels dramas worth watching. Nether long nor short which for me was just right.
The Season 1 pique (one's) interest from ep 1 to 18. It really worth watching and some parts were really funny.
-- S2 was also funny. The first episode starts with "you are a devil wears Prada" --- OMG -- ehh heeee can't stop laughing.
I liked it because the leads are the same actors and actresses etc, etc . The acting s were greatly appreciated, and all cast members did a good job portraying their own characters. Another comedy dramas worth watching.
Reaallyyyy, reallyyyyyyyyyyyyyy you got to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Anonymouslawstudent
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 31, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0

Absolutely unexpected terrible.

I m sorry, but this review is going to be blatantly honest. I had decently high expectations of this drama. It has been on m watching list for a little while and when I found out it has two seasons, I was a little intrigued with anticipation.

However, my expectations was not met. The damn drama is lesser than 14 minutes per episode which is pretty much three episodes of 50mins. I was confused at the first episode because it was really quick, it felt like kinda rushed and like I can’t help have the feeling that I am missing something.

The love hate relationship between the leads are good. But then again I didn’t get how and what and why the male lead starting falling in love. It was like out of nowhere.

The story was kinda all over the place it was rushed for sure. So I generally don’t even like it and make it all worse it was three episodes only. Same for the second season as well.

The acting was decently alright but the casting of some of the supporting actor and actresses could have been better. The second male lead why does he have to be a big question mark? Like HUH?

Would I watch it again? Absolutely not. I skipped through all the episodes after making these little discoveries and it wasn’t hard because there’s nothing much to look forward to except the growing romance but even that there is not enough sauciness to make us viewers hold onto the edge of our seats.

I am only one person. My take on this drama does not reflect the vast majority of the audience that wants or have watched this show. So you gotta see it for yourself.

But hopefully, this review can be helpful in some way if your choosing what drama to add on your watch list. I rather be rewatching old dramas then watch this train wreck.

Again, nothing personal just a honest review.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Theflash
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 22, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Captivating and Intriguing

One of the best cdrama that is under estimated, I loved every minute and still wanted more.

The storyline was well written, the acting was above and beyond my expectations, its overly under estimated maybe perhaps because the actor's are kot well known, but let me say, they ML and FL had crazy chemistry, I only get butterflies only when I am watching a very good well written drama,

All in all ,I loved this drama, the pacing was good and I loved every minute.
The comedy is so good ,the Lead actress made me want to see her more. Is this drama really good, yes, go for it you won't regret it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lady P
2 people found this review helpful
May 26, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

A delightful surprise

This was my first time watching a short drama, literally, each episode is about 9 mins or so long. The condensed 3 episode version is a bit over 50 mins each.

Before I started watching, I read some reviews so I knew going in that this was going to be a very fast paced drama. Despite the dizzying pace of the drama at times, it wasn't hard to grasp onto the main story. However, because it is a fast paced drama, the plot lines are not greatly expanded on, so you are left filling in your own answers for certain storylines and events.

Nonetheless, acting by the main leads was solid, so is their chemistry. A lot of unexpected and humorous moments that manages not to come across as forced and cringey, so that is a delightful plus. If this were a longer drama with a more fleshed out story I can see it doing very well. Nonetheless, this drama offers a nice escape from some of the more mundane repetitive and dragged out dramas out there that just wastes your time and leave you feeling unsatisfied by the end.

Would highly recommend as a short and entertaining drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
thatgirlsagenius
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 4.5
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

tl;dr: Interesting concept, poor execution, ridiculous romance progression, awful audio

I watched this legally on Youtube, where they condensed it into three episodes.

Had some really great potential with the concept of her trying to break a time loop, but the execution wasn't so great. Also seemed ridiculous that she never once suspected the Emperor of trying to kill her lol.

The worst aspect was the fact that partway through, the murderous emperor suddenly had a change of mind and fell for her. Before this, he was intent on killing her. At the end, somehow the second lead realised her existence in another universe and decided to help her leave the loop because the happy end kept causing the timeline to short (which is an interesting concept that was explored too late and for too little).

Also the audio was TERRIBLE. It kept cutting out completely, or becoming muffled.

tl;dr: Interesting concept, poor execution, ridiculous romance progression, awful audio

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
huimin
1 people found this review helpful
May 30, 2021
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10

Super fast-paced Short Story!

First time giving a review here so pardon me if I give too much explanation cos I'm super hyped after watching this show!

I was intrigued by the plot since I LOVE HISTORICAL SHOWS and furthermore, it's time travel!!

I was scrolling through the reviews and was shocked to see that most of them says that its only 3 episodes with 50mins+- duration at most.

I was like why not give it a try to see if its a good show or not. I mean there's no harm, right? HAHA

After watching, I felt like the start of the show was just meh but it slowly progressed and I fell completely in love with the show! AND THE SHOW WAS SUPER FAST-PACED! I freaking love the fact that there were no nonsense fillers and the draggy plots lol!

I love how the story revolves around the leads and showed the really good chemistry between both of them.

Female lead is very bubbly, optimistic, resilient and very funny! I can never get enough of her because she's so likeable and I could totally relate to her!

Male lead is more of a wary, paranoid, full of motives kind of monarch, understandable since he grew up in a political environment. There were some great character development here as he eventually warmed up to her and turned into a loving husband.

As for the supporting characters, I just cringed throughout their acting maybe because they weren't very experienced and couldn't portray the emotions much. So, it didn't make me focus on them, rather I was focused on the main leads instead.

There's a good amount of harem plots, jealousy, plotting for the throne and what not but what excited me the most was the female lead just trying to survive amidst the flying arrows aimed at her and she adapted in the new environment relatively quickly!!

Their love scenes are simply amazing and I'm a sucker for such lovey dovey expressions so the production really did a great job at it. Plus I could feel the emotions that the leads are feeling, which is simply amazing!

Costumes are really well-designed for a seemingly low-cost production like this show, not that I'm complaining because I thoroughly enjoyed the entire show!

The music was superb, I love historical chinese songs in general so the selection of soundtracks fitted well with each scenes. Have to say editing was great as well despite the short duration per each episode, very smooth but there were one or two scenes which were abruptly cut so the transition didn't felt too smooth.

Other than that, I would say that the show is overall fantastic and I would recommend anyone to give this show a try! I, myself would rewatch again HEHE.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xiaoyezi
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 15, 2022
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

Fun when it does not take itself too seriously

This drama requires a low expectation to be enjoyable.

With a short 8mins of 18 episodes, there isn't a lot of time to flesh out the details of the plot. But it works precisely because of this short format.

The humor is light, playing around the female lead's determination to escape her loop of not dying and maintaining her modern personality in an ancient world. The main leads' acting is good and have believable chemistry. I enjoy this troupe of bubbly female lead warming the male lead's lonely heart - enjoy it enough to not nitpick too critically of the few plot holes here and there.

I presume this drama took inspiration from Romance of Tiger and Rose's plot - all shorten to 3 full length episodes. It's perfect when one wants to relax the brain and wind down.

For an idol drama to work, audience has to buy-in the main leads chemistry. If the plot wasn't too bad to the point that it distracts us from the chemistry, the idol drama is good enough. I presume most idol drama production team can consider to adopt this format in coming years rather than assembling a team to produce 16 to 24 full length episodes, only for audience to skip two thirds of them.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Queen of Attack (2021) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.6 (scored by 2,414 users)
  • Ranked: #5321
  • Popularity: #2698
  • Watchers: 5,302

Top Contributors

29 edits
20 edits
14 edits
9 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Chinese Historical Drama
418 titles 533 loves 3
Itty Bitty Time taker uppers
847 titles 215 loves 5

Recently Watched By