Jinx!!!  (2013) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.6 (scored by 1,341 users)
  • Ranked: #4030
  • Popularity: #1455
  • Watchers: 2,804

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

22 edits
4 edits
2 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Live Action Shoujo Manga
149 titles 100 loves 1
Favorite Movies
188 titles 29 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
Ashu
18 people found this review helpful
Jun 24, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Jinx is the story of two shy students trying to live their life, and a meddling korean girl being a bit too involved and nosing around in someone elses business.

Or is it?

Yamaguchi Kaede is shy, and when approached by other people, a bit dismissive and rough. She likes to eat alone and being by herself while sneaking glances on her crush, her similarly shy classmate Nomura Yusuke. Feeling ignored and shunned by him, she quickly lets go of any hope of being with him and tries to forget him.

Enter Ji-Ho.

Ji-Ho is a seemingly simple girl, and the complete opposite of Yamaguchi. She's overly friendly, and puts her emotions on display. She makes it her mission to help Yamaguchi find happiness, but is very secretive about her own past.

This movie is, without looking any deeper, a cute lovestory that is kind of predictable. But if you look a little deeper, you'll see there's a lot more to it. It's all about character development, and how to help someone else in need whilst helping yourself. This movie shows changing oneself doesn't have to be a bad thing, and that some memories just aren't meant to be forgotten.

If you're looking for a lighthearted and silly lovestory, I'd steer away from this. However, if you're looking for something a liiiiittle bit deeper, this would be a fine match.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
neaa
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 31, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
A very simple story wrapped beautifully.
It's a story of two shy people who are unable to confess to each other despite their obvious feelings and an exchange student who plays cupid and is also struggling for a closure to her own love story.
It is a slightly slow paced romance but it is really warm and comforting and a little sad at times. I loved the acting and the external movie references to some of my favorite romantic movies.
A perfect pick for an idle day. I don't think I'll rewatch it but I surely enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ren
2 people found this review helpful
May 30, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
I'm a complete sucker when it comes to anything that stars Yamazaki Kento which brought me to Jinx!!! Although my anticipation was high simply because of his presence, Jinx!!! did not let me down whatsoever.

What completely reeled me into this movie was the chemistry between the characters — which is also the movie's strongest point. Kaede and Yusuke both are amateurs when it comes to romance as they boy are more geared towards action movies while Ji-Ho is more like the expert. While these characters are polar opposites, they grow with each other. The character development in all three of them is stunning and really captivates the audience into the movie.

I also saw a lot of myself in Kaede and Yusuke (mostly Kaeda) which is also why I enjoyed the movie so much.

While Jinx!!! did have hilarious moments, it did provide tearjerkers as the story progresses and as more of everyone's story gets told. You get a mixture of emotions out of this movie, but it isn't hitting you like a truck. The changes in atmosphere is subtle and you easily immerse yourself into the moment.

Background music isn't something I usually remember, but it definitely added emphasis to those serious moments, the lovey-dovey moments, and the sad moments (you'll understand when you watch it).

Overall, Jinx!!! was a warm-hearted movie which I feel anyone would like — especially if you're a sucker for romance and friendship as I am.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Deeheartsdramas
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 15, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This is a beautiful movie that wound up really surprising me - the summary doesn't do it justice. I was half expecting a rom-com, and it definitely has some rom-com/comedy of error elements. There were several moments when I laughed out loud, because the students Ji-Ho has chosen to school in romance are both completely hopeless from the get-go. Her frustration with them is hilarious; I love the way she fusses at them in Korean so they can't understand what she's saying!

But this story is about much more than the romance between Kaede and Yusuke. A very large part of it is the friendship that slowly develops between Ji-Ho and Kaede as Ji-Ho manages to draw Kaede out of her shell, and between Ji-Ho and Yusuke, too, as she helps him try to overcome his own shyness. And part of it is Ji-Ho's own story - she's struggling to overcome tragedy in her own life, and helping Kaede and Yusuke is her way of trying to come to terms with her own pain.

Fair warning - by the end, I doubt you will have dry eyes. The movie that starts out as a rom-com becomes more of a tear-jerker - but in a good way, as I found the ending really touching. If you're a fan of romance and/or movies that focus on female friendship, but don't mind shedding some tears along the way, you'll probably enjoy this film very much.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ryanell
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 2, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Story: I saw some people say that he story is too simple but for me the plot being simple and just conveying its message make it wonderful. You can sometimes relate yourself to the happenings cause it's simpleness makes it possible to happen in real life.

Acting: What can you expect from Kento? Of course he nailed his character again even before he became so famous. About Hyomin she tried her best even though sometimes it still look awkward. I really find it awkward when Hyomin is Crying in a drama or movie.

Music: The OST is awesome It's hits right in the heart <3

Rewatch Value: this movie is good to be re watch when you want a mild story telling movie, no exaggerated plot twist just a simple movie telling you a story of three persons involve.

Overall: I really recommend this movie. I watched this 3 years ago and I still can remember the whole story. That's the impact off the movie for me.

Enjoy watching

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 16, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I've watched some seriously bad japansese romantic comedies in the past, but this one is for sure not one of them. Even my sister, who hates these kind of films, said that it was okay, so I'll roll with it. The movie has many layers. And, although, the romance wasn't that good, the whole friendship and past love tragedy was very interesting and presented nicely. The performances were really good, especially from the korean leading lady, whose performance was very emotional. Being a fan of Kento, of course I would have watched this movie just for him, but this is not one of the typical manga like cheesy movies. Sure, some parts were a little corny, but the whole Korean Japanese cultural difference and the constant mentions to movie scenes were entertaining. So, 7 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
arashinta
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 9, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
Yamaken is the main reason why I watched this movie (^_^) But! This movie is so sweeeeet <3 <3 <3 Ji-Ho is so cute and I think she's really a tough girl. Although a lot of people hope that Yusuke will fall for Ji-Ho, but I'm grateful that he still fall for Kaede. I'm deeply moved by this movie, especially for the confession scene. It's really funny when Yusuke ruin the mood with saying that his back is cold (^o^) But the confession turns out perfectly sweet after that (^_^) I’m also happy that Ji-Ho not take advantage of the situation, that she’s still being friends and support Kaede, not stabbed her in the back.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?