Hot Young Bloods

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 4,981 users)
  • Ranked: #1559
  • Popularity: #313
  • Watchers: 9,067

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

11 edits
8 edits
5 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
jollibee
22 people found this review helpful
Jun 26, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I don't get all the negativity about the movie...

It reminded me so much of Lure of the Wolves with a clash of the Classic and the old school Korean movies I watched and fell in love with.
The chemistry was amazing and everyone played their part really well...

I guess people who has not seen movies of the early 2000's will not appreciate it as much as I absolutely love it.

You could compare it to Sunny, it had the same emotional pull but a little more fun in the story.

~STORY~
...was really simple. It wasn't complicated at all, no twists and turns. It made me question if what I think was going to happen was really going to happen in some parts but I'm not complaining...it's all fun parts for me.

~ACTING~
LJS needs to be a comedian... he was just hilarious but his actions were also very heartwarming.

The rest were really great too. They were so believable.
KYK was such a heart broken bad ass.
I already knew PBY was great but her cold character without being cutesy is really daebak.
LSY had very few lines but her acting as a~meek~sheep~with~all~the~crazy~inside was believable.
Everyone was amazing and their chemistry was just great.

There's a lot of comments about the cursing but I liked it because it gave the feel of the reality of the era in that area.

~MUSIC~
Brought me back all those Sundays my dad would turn up the radio...nostalgia at it's highest.

~~~~RE-WATCH~~~~
D-E-F-I-N-I-T-E-L-Y!!!

Watch the movie with an open mind and I suggest not to think too much. It's not the kind of movie that requires you to think but just simply enjoy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rachel
14 people found this review helpful
Oct 9, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I can see what this movie was attempting. It was trying to pay tribute to the 80s, and the days of our youth, when we were passionate, energetic, and constantly searching for our identity and the meaning of our existence.

But the movie felt slightly directionless - probably due to a combination of the writing and the directing. The character and relationship development were half-hearted, especially between Lee Jong Seok and Park Bo Young's characters.

I was expecting Kim Young Kwang to have a more significant role in this movie, but unfortunately he was greatly overshadowed by the two leads, Lee Jong Seok and Park Bo Young. Lee Jong Seok's bumbling lover boy character did deliver some laughs, especially when faced with Kim Young Kwang's gangster character. But the standout was Park Bo Young - don't be fooled by her baby face, she can strike fear in the heart of any man with her punches and vulgarities. Quite a transformation from her previous roles.

I enjoyed the Korean and American music from the 80s which helps set the time period.

Still enjoyable in parts.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sharry
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 30, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I found this movie shortly after I finished watching Strong woman Do Bong soon. Both, Park Bo Young and Lee Jong Suk, are great actors and make an awesome couple. I haven't seen many (korean) movies so far, so I can't judge it based on other korean movies, but to me this piece was a perfect mix of romance, slice of life, comedic Moments, a good amount of cringe (the right amount) and bittersweet high School relationships (at least in my opinion). It's definitely worth the two hours of watching. I was a Little sad about the ending and would have wished for a more detailed ending but that does not mean I'm dissatissfied with the ending in general. It's the right ending. Usually I feel really uncomfortable when watching movies or series' about the past (idk why) but this movie made me feel warm inside rather than uncomfortable. It cheered me up. I loved it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dancingpups
5 people found this review helpful
Jun 19, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
Initially, i thought the story plot was quite interesting and the cast seemed great. Yet the film turned out to be a bore, with a lot of fighting scenes that did not seem to have any significance and just swearing. I watched this for Lee Jong Suk yet i can't help but still skip certain parts of the movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PKsuperfan
6 people found this review helpful
Jun 13, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Seriously I would not advise anyone to really spend time watching this movie. I kept wondering half the time when the plot would show up and then I realised it was suppose to be the romance. Yet, the romantic plot line was really quite dull to say the least and not really that interesting or entertaining eventhough I love romantic movies.

I only watched it for Lee Jong Suk and even he could not completely save this movie.
Plus, they made him wear weird outfits and his hairstyles until the very end were quite bad to say the least. Plus, most of the time we did not even really like his character. I wished that his character was similar to the one in School 2013 or Doctor Stranger, the story would have ended a lot sooner if that was the case.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jia
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
It's probably one of the movies you got interested in once you take a glimpse on the plot or the casts, and I'm proud to say that this is one of my favorite movies in 2013, it might be directionless but Lee Jong Suk's acting saved the whole movie, He seriously needs to do more rom-com movies, it totally suited him!
For people who havent tried watching all the Reply series or movies with old school vibes then I dont think they wil like this theme, although the plot is tempting, maybe you will just end up dropping it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mobosies
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie was everything it looked like it was going to be. I enjoyed it because it was so ridiculous. Loved the acting, and the stereotypes that were portrayed, very interesting. I think my favourite part was the main chick being such a B.A. character, beating the crap out of everyone! I like characters who dont take crap from anybody, and garner a bit of fear along the way ^__^
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
justinconfusion
8 people found this review helpful
Apr 5, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
To be honest, I am very very disappointed with this movie. I was actually really looking forward to watching it because I loved the casting and I found that the story sounded promising.

After watching it, I wonder if the synopsis was misleading or if they simply failed in implementing the the idea they had of this movie.

Although I was bored (and sometimes irritated) while watching most of the movie, I can't deny that there were a few funny scenes that kept me watching. Otherwise I would probably have dropped it (note: I NEVER drop movies).
In the end I was glad that I didn't drop it because apparently the ending was the best part of the whole movie.

Like I said, this movie was a huge diappointment for me, but there were actually some people who seem to have enjoyed it. Maybe you're one of them and like it. Who knows? Maybe this was just not my cup of tea?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
chloe
4 people found this review helpful
May 25, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Lee jong Suk is absolutly gorgeous in this movie even if he can be ridiculous. The plot is quite interesting and it's really funny to see Kim young Kwang and Jong Suk otherwise that in pinocchio.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BlueMcFlurry
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 11, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is the kind of movie that you just watch, laugh along to and simply feel. You're not supposed to think about the story or whether it makes sense or not, because it's not trying to tell you a cohesive story per say, and it probably won't show you every single detailed plot point that could be added in order to explain the story to the viewer. It's more of a "Hey here are some characters, just follow them around and don't ask questions."

I honestly really enjoyed it and also the fact that it let me turn off my brain for a bit and just feel rather than think. I laughed a lot too. I definitely recommend this for when you just need a chill movie to watch with a group of friends, especially after final exams or something.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zoe
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 18, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
Park Bo Young’s character is hilariously badass. The way she rules the neighbourhood across multiple schools.
I like the idea of the story being about the king and queen of the school that don’t really cross paths. Young Sook leads the girls and Joong Il leads the boys and there is clear segregation.

The girls have a very structured hierarchy and order to their gang. The boys are rather scared of them.

“You’re Gwang Sik’s girl.”
“Who says? We just have an alliance.”
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OhSoEnthusiastic
1 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This is a movie that understands teen angst. It’s portrayal of gang culture is a little suspect, but with great camerawork, acting, writing, and serious heart, this movie just gets being a teenager right.

(Music is 1 because I don't remember what the music was like.)
Was this review helpful to you?