Completed
kdramajudge
24 people found this review helpful
Jan 21, 2024
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

Raging comedic banter, battle and romance. I highly recommend!

Cho Yeo Hwa (Lee Ha Nee), lives as a dutiful widow by day and by night she's running across rooftops fighting criminals for the poor secretly. One night, she got into a chaotic fight, she landed in the arms of a palace guard, Park Soo Ho (Lee Jong-won). Unbeknownst to both, there’s a secret in the past left to be unfold. As Yeo Hwa continues living her lifestyle, Soo Ho keeps running into her, wanting to know who she really is… will she be able to keep her disguise?

This drama is consistently entertaining! While I expected the show to be as fun as it was, I didn’t expect to be immediately connected with our characters and their motivations. I love Yeo Hwa, her mother-in-law and her quirky friend, too. That she's widowed due to a tragic past, controlled by her mother-in-law and almost 100% locked inside her house, it all sounds depressing, but the storytelling is so so fresh. Also it's interesting to see like how our male lead, Soo Ho with his role to serve justice but he's bind by a lot of rules, while he sees this mysterious person just do it each night.

The intro and the epilogue scenes are A+! Each episode is meaningful with steady pacing. Interesting twists happened here and there. There's a whole lot of wuxia-style fight scenes; flying to the roof, hitting people by acorns, and I enjoyed a lot. The action scenes are funny, also the little gestures, sound effect, visual effect, they're all worked together perfectly. The romance is fun, low-stake, and heart-fluttering! Every romantic scene counts. Not much complicated intrigue until the last few episodes, where it was resolved but falters flat. Though so, the whole experience of my watching is truly entertaining!

-Feb 2024, Yovita
Find me on Instagram: @kdramajudge

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
unterwegsimkoreanischenD
18 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Cheeky, cheerful and heartfelt, drops of suspense included

“Knight Flower” is set in Joseon days, yet it is no epic, historical KDrama in a classical sense. It has endearing comedy to offer, the touch of a romance and even a touch of crime thriller, while the setting back then in Joseon is accounted for predominant neo-Cunfucian social ethics in those days. In particular, back then being widowed was bad news for women, whatsoever. (See side note). This circumstance is providing the hook for a cheeky and fresh-minded KDrama plot.

In "Knight Flower", the widow simply cannot get herself to merely spending the rest of her long life in honorable, virtuous seclusion, mostly invisible to the rest of the world, trying not to be too much of a burden to her in-laws, and otherwise mourning the deceased husband (whom she never actually met) in the afterlife.
No, this widow does her own thing. She is not interested in being reduced to the virtue of mourning. During daytime, her everyday life is that of a honorable widow and decent daughter-in-law. Yet, at night she is dressed in black, wearing pants and a mask, climbing over walls, jumping over roofs and helping the poor – as "Midam", a kind of Robin Hood of Joseon. Such is her double life. All goes well, until one day...

While the plot is drawing its dynamic appeal from the actually rather sad background of a dubious tradition of treating widows (not only practiced in old Joseon, and not only back then…), the good news is: "Knight Flower", as a production broadcast in 2024, is built on intelligent emancipation, too. What is called for is not compliant bowing, but rather self-confident, creative solutions in dealing with life. Obviously South Koreans are craving for such a role model these days. The show was quite a success. People there apparently enjoyed it. So did I.

"Knight Flower" is cheeky, cheerful, and heartfelt, drops of suspense included, thus with alluring wit offering an enjoyably entertaining genre-mix.








------------------------------------------------------------
SIDE NOTE: --- Yeolnyeo or Yeolbu, the virtuous woman of Joseon ---

A loyal subject can only serve ONE king and a virtuous woman can only serve ONE husband. This perhaps briefly summarizes the core of the moral teachings of the period between the 14th century and the beginning of the 20th century. Practically speaking, this implied a widowed woman could face death penalty, if she ever wanted to marry again.

Women had to be obedient to their parents and in-laws. They had to honor their husband. And after his death the eldest son had the say... The greatest asset of a woman, besides bearing children, was her virtue. And that was eventually all that was left, if her husband might have died before herself. There was even granted an official award for valuing outstandingly honorable virtuous widows with the reputation of being a Yeolnyeo or Yeolbu. Thus they had to be particularly determined with living as a commendable model wife even after their husband´s death – according to all the rules regarding morals and daily routines as set out in detail in the book about good conduct for virtuous women…

However, the pressure on widows to be respected as Yeolnyeo became excessive over time. At some point it was even common for widows to consequently take their own lives, too, thus expressing their praiseworthy being loyal to the husband until the bitter end. In this way, they could posthumously provide their family (or that of their deceased husband) an honorable glory of virtue in which all family members could bask. Eventually, suicide was even expected of a widow – especially if she became a widow at a young age...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
some random cool nuna
10 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

A Historical Marvel Fueled by Explosive Chemistry

Knight Flower isn't just a drama; it's a mesmerizing journey that has left an indelible mark on my heart. Each character, no matter how fleeting their appearance, was a revelation, adding layers of depth and nuance to an already rich tapestry.

From the passing poor citizen who graced the screen for mere moments to the seemingly insignificant characters who proved to be pivotal to the plot, every individual was a masterstroke of storytelling. The gray characters, neither wholly good nor evil, added a complexity that kept me enthralled, while the villain's cunning schemes held me in awe of their sheer malevolence.

What truly astounds me is the unexpected success Knight Flower has achieved. Surpassing even the most esteemed dramas of its time slot, this drama has defied expectations and set a new standard for excellence. Its rise to the top is a testament to its quality and the fervor of its audience. The scriptwriting was a stroke of genius, seamlessly weaving together intricate plotlines and witty dialogue that kept me on the edge of my seat. And the direction and choice of OSTs added an extra layer of depth and emotion that elevated the drama to new heights.

And then there are the performances. The lead actor, in his first major role as the sole male lead, delivered a tour de force performance that was both powerful and nuanced. His magnetic presence kept me glued to the screen, hanging on his every word and gesture. And the leading lady, a modern-day incarnation of the multitalented Honey Lee, brought a strength and charisma to her role that was truly awe-inspiring. With every scene, she commanded the screen, effortlessly capturing the essence of her character and leaving me breathless in her wake. What truly set Knight Flower ablaze was the explosive chemistry between the leads. The screen practically crackled with electricity every time they shared a scene, leaving me breathless with anticipation for their next encounter. And how tender and understanding they were towards each other... And it wasn't just the main couple; even the side couples were a perfect match, their relationships unexpected yet utterly captivating.

Knight Flower has cemented its place as a true masterpiece of a genre that can't be just put into a box for being either a historical, political, romance, or comedy per se but a bit of it all and the best of it all. It's a testament to the talent and dedication of everyone involved and a shining example of what can be achieved when passion and creativity collide.

I don't think I can ever be satisfied with finishing this review because I don't know if words can encapsulate how good this drama has been from the first minute to the last. And also how hilarious the drama is! it's the kind of show that brightens your day or week, leaving you unable to wipe the smile off your face due to the sheer cuteness and perfection of the deliveries.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Soryuu Aya Brea
4 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.5

enjoyable comedy/drama

This drama is a great blend of comedy and depth, captivating from the start. If you enjoyed the first episode, you will enjoy the rest of it as well. It maintains its humor even through serious moments, ensuring consistent enjoyment. Despite not having an explicit romance tag, the leads share undeniable chemistry, subtly conveying a believable love. Every character, including the comedic sidekicks, is given their own story, as much as possible given the limited screen time for some of them. I enjoyed the relationships between the characters, and the acting was good. It excels in areas where many more serious dramas falter. A delightful watch that exceeded my expectations. So, if you like the first few episodes, you will like all of it, but this kind of mix of humor and seriousness is not everyone's cup of tea. As well beware the fact there is no romance tag so you know what to expect from the love relationship in terms of portrayal

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Butterfly
4 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 8
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

"Keep your enemies closer"

Knight Flower was a funny, entertaining cross between a female Robin Hood and Zorro. The story may not have had any surprises, but in this genre as in most. execution is key and Knight Flower kept the action moving and the long boring monologues by the villains to a minimum.

Yeo Hwa never even met her husband who was killed on the way to the wedding and has been a cloistered widow for 15 long years. Stuck in the family shrine most days, never being able to set foot outside of her in-laws’ property she only has her maid Yeon Seon for company as she waits on her older brother to finally return and take her with him. What no one in the household knows except for Seon is that at night Yeo Hwa dresses in black and helps the helpless with her money and martial arts. Everything is going smoothly until she runs into the new Capital Defense officer, Park Su Ho. With lots of push and pull between the upright lawman and the vigilante, as well as the requisite romantic tension, the two find they have much in common as well as common enemies.

The first episode felt slow to me, but it picked up the pace as it went along and never slowed down again until the last episode. Given the prison-like existence of the widows and pressure to commit suicide for the family honor, it was a whimsical release to have the heroine running over rooftops and rescuing the male lead on occasion. Of course, only women were held to these standards. Widowers were free to go about and even encouraged to remarry. Repression reconfigured to look like honor.

I enjoyed the story, but stumbled some with the casting, or perhaps the writing. Full disclosure, I enjoy a good noona romance so that wasn't an issue . Nor do I have a problem with an older woman being an action hero, much older men do it all the time. Lee Ha Nee is a beautiful woman but at 40 she did not look 32 nor very athletic. Her character was someone skilled with living a double life for years, but Yeo Hwa could not manage a poker face when needed. Yeo Hwa was quick to act but often slow to catch on to the bad guys’ plans. Lee Jong Won looked like a sweet puppy who adored Yeo Hwa, but added little depth to his character. A quick glance at the cast list and it was easy to pick out who the baddies were going to be. When one used his kind grandpa voice instead of putting a character at ease, chills should have been running down their back. And Jo Jae Yoon can always be counted on to chew up the scenery maniacally.

Knight Flower, aside from bringing up the appalling way widows were treated, was for the most part a romantic action comedy. While there were some fights, they weren’t bloody or deadly. Most of the deaths occurred 15 years prior to the current story. The one murder in the present story actually felt quite deserved. So, if you like your historical dramas light and funny, with a little romance and a little action, this might be a good fit.

21 February 2024

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Aimen
5 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

?SPEECHLESS?

I canNOT find perfect words to describe this drama....LEE HANEE rules my heart for a reason....She always chooses THE BEST script and delivers what we all needed the most..A PERFECT DRAMA....
I don't know why is it that we get the MOST perfect chemistry in a non-romantic dramas...
The OST was HEARTWARMING, definitely adding 그 사랑 to my all-time favorite songs....
The cast was FLAWLESS...
Our main LEADDDDD, sirrrrrrrrr🔥🔥🔥🔥WHY DO YOU HAVE SUCH AN IRRESISTIBLE CHARM?
Overall, this drama delivered everything that I needed, I don't think we'll get a better Sageuk than this, this year....HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Here4DaDrama_00
4 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 5.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

I come bearing a review...and its not a good one.

So I was pretty intrigued by the drama when I read the synopsis but I was extremely let down on all fronts. This came as an immense shock to me given the higher overall rating and all the other really good ratings and reviews. I have not seen a single bad one leading me to think maybe I'm the problem? But here me out and see if you agree.

Romance: Don't fight me because I know how you girls like to tussle! I think the FL/ML were cute but I just do not think this drama was suited for either of them. (She was really good in Shine or go Crazy!) I think FL was hilarious and did the best she could with what she was given. ML I didn't care much for. There was an age gap not only irl but also in the story which no one seemed to point out? How can there be stigma around widows and all that other stuff but not a younger guy wanting to be with an older woman? And I am a firm believer that whenever there is a Noona romance the chemistry is always so poor. (ToT) Truly take a moment to think about it. I think of newer dramas like "My dearest" where the age gap was huge irl but there was so much angst and unwavering romance and chemistry!! But in here the leads did not spend that much time together to warrant the love they had for one another even by kdrama standards. Also some of their cuter moments were left to epilogue?? Like why not leave that in main ep to develop the romance more. I feel like besides their trauma what did they truly know about one another? Nothing! They seemed so mismatched, forced almost. Also for FL to proclaim so much that she doesn't want to be seen as someone's belonging, ML still chose to be possessive of her(even if jokingly)?? And it only took 1 year for her to fold and them to get together?? Laugh if you want but personally I think her and her not dead husband had more chemistry than her and main male lead had the entire drama. ML was telling FL's husband to get to know her but its like do you even know her my guy?? I don't think any one except the FL husband actually listened to what she wanted and actually helped her achieve it. They all spoke and thought for her down to the merchant lady.

Plot: The plot for me was pretty weak I feel like there were not enough motivations for any of the characters all across the board. They all share this same measly tiny plot point. When truly none of them should have anything in common. Dare I say this drama needed more villains or a stronger villain. I just couldn't understand the motivations behind the Left councilor. Yes we have mean ministers in dramas but like there was no rhyme or reason as to how he go to that level of power. Was he that strong when the kings father was still king. Does he have a band of ministers behind, him does he embezzle money? Does he want to be a shadow king? Like Kang Pil and Lady Oh were scheming for him but it seemed to be more so for themselves than the councilor. It's not like they were feeding a cohort of money laundering, scheming ministers just one! Like yes they were kidnapping kids but not for the councilor lmaoo just cause! The councilor was a classists thats all XD! And if the current class structure was so bad and unjust dont you think more ministers would be tagging along with? I guess in summary what is the villains stake to claim?

Her being a widow for 15 years was too long they should have done maybe 10 for her to be the person that she was I find it hard to believe she would have stayed like that for that long just because she was waiting for her brother. The character the writers tried to sell was someone who was hot tempered, impatient, and could not stand injustice. So why would she wait around for her father in law and outsiders to help her find her brother when she had all the skills and resources to do so? It also didnt make sense why her husband would be away that long it seems like he intended on always coming back so why 15 years? I mean sure we could speculate but they could have explained it. Then was her husband just never going to tell anyone how he was sent away? They kinda glided over that on the list of crimes of the councilor.

Also since we did not know the family of ML it kinda seemed like his character was just there serving no purpose. His position was of no substance or value because he wasn't the best fighter, ran to his brother whenever shit hit the fan or ended up having to be saved by FL. If I don't tolerate this for female leads I won't tolerate it for a male one either. Like he didn't push the plot at all. For someone's whose entire family was slaughtered, man wouldn't there be hell to pay??

The same can be said for the king. 15 WHOLE YEARS just waiting for some info to plop into your lap while your people are starving nah? Then what did he even do once he got the info nothing! People were still pitying FL because she was either going to stay a widow or be a divorcee which are equally bad in society. After all she did for the nation why wouldn't the king think to do something about his own laws?? Isn't the lesson that all people have value and purpose too? Instead they allowed a child to expose a loophole in which the FL can escape the perils of the patriarchy. LAME! What I saw from this drama was a whole bunch of people being able to enact change and not doing a single thing except waiting for a woman to do all the labor. Then still not changing a damn thing! What world was everyone trying so "hard" to create?? With a time lapse we still didn't see it. We only get a snide remark from that policeman's daughter about wanting to be single longer to keep her own identity longer. Showing us that nothing has actually changed in their world.

If you let me retell it we would scrap the ML completely, work with the missing husband as main male lead, make them younger so when he returns no one recognizes him as he is older now, he should also be a vigilante/merchant/some field that will give him real estate to meet her, they bond not knowing who is who. Reduce 15 years to 7-10. And actually send her to live by the husbands grave so she doesn't have the constraints of living with her inlaws and can move more freely. More bad ministers with fleshed out evils plus left councilor. FL family should be killed off instead by the ministers rather than the ML and king's families this way we can kick out both king and ML from the plotline and focus more on FL!!! King will only serve as plot device to enforce law at end. Also throw in a competing FL/ML or porque no los dos? I just think the writers had a possibly really good story on their hands and they wasted it by not digging deep enough, fleshing out their characters past 2D and cleaning up plotholes. It was just a confusing and lackluster follow.

Music: Not very memorable or outstanding but that is almost becoming the norm for new dramas.

Rewatch: I'm sorry I wont be rewatching and don't recommend it it was hard enough to get through it the first time and it was only 12 eps it felt like 20.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 8/12
Kate_735
10 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
8 of 12 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers

Tantalizing Encounters at Knight (Lol)

For Yeo Hwa (Honey Lee) life is extremely narrow. She is locked away from the outside world, her beauty covered in voluminous white fabric and her every movement spied on and scrutinized every day...which makes it all the more shocking to see how she gets around at night! She has more of a nightlife than any avid bar hopper on vaca in Paris.

Her life took a dreadful turn when she married into the Left State Minister's household. They are among the wealthiest and most powerful families in Joseon. Her father-in-law has deadly secrets and a consuming lust for power. Her mother-in-law is a cold woman..enamored with her own reputation. They plan to use Yeo Hwa and her widow's piety to gain them prestigious rewards, thus they are determined to control her every thought.
But Yeo Hwa cannot be controlled. She appears as innocent and obedient as she is commanded to be...yet juxtaposed against that pale version of herself is a woman so vibrantly alive, it is impossible for her to go unnoticed.
She is fearless and capable, her keen brain focused on staying just a step ahead of her jailor's.
Thankfully, she has found an outlet for her pent up life, and she expresses it by saving others. And because she doesn't live in the main house...she is allowed a few precious hours to be herself. Without thought for her own safety or exposure, she throws off her white robe to don a black one and leaps over the wall for her latest nocturnal rescue.

What I Love:

The FL. Honey Lee.... as Yeo Hwa
She is not just a pretty face, she is also a very gifted actress. Her height and strength only add to the authenticity of her role in this series. She is a feisty heroine and a very entertaining one. Her funny bone must be natural because it makes its way into her roles often. It is a welcome relief here as mourning is a deadly serious business to this family. Ppl have complained about her age...but she owns this role perfectly in my view. I love this trend of strong and capable female leads.

The ML. Lee Jong Won....as Park Soo Ho
Naturally for our mistreated and precious FL, there must be a gorgeous ML, right? And oh my...Lee Jong Won is perfect. If this is your first time watching him as it is mine...I predict you are gonna love this guy. I am also loving his role. As Park Zoo Ho, he is this very calm masculine man, capable of handling his enemies without breaking a sweat. He is unflappable... until he meets her. And despite her being covered from head to toe... she makes a shocking impression on him anyway. He is so drawn to her...that he feels compelled to save her from herself. Maddeningly aware of the risks she takes, he nearly unravels trying to protect her, in fact, his arms often end up around her ...just to help her of course. Lol.

So a very fascinating start to a tantalizing series, one I wholeheartedly recommend.
As always I will be back to update you.

Happy Watching!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 8/12
dreamfull78
8 people found this review helpful
20 days ago
8 of 12 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0

A hidden gem : Robin Hood with a Twist

I went into this drama with no expectations, however, I quickly realized why it is so famous in Korea: These dramas incorporate comedy and mystery, however the most impactful of them all was romance, which wasn't even enlisted as a main genre.

The drama is so good, with each episode it just keeps getting better and better:

- Plot: I felt like the female lead would be shadowed by the male lead, however, this drama proved me wrong!

The female lead is a total badass, helping people like Robin Hood. Matter of fact, the twists and turns that it has will keep you watching! Also, omg the chemistry between the leads was AMAZING! Why is it always the non-romance drama that makes such a strong impression?! I'm shocked this is not listed as romance as that's how good it was.

The drama was also very educational as it brought light to the heartbreaking ways that women were treated throughout history, especially widows. And I liked that despite those harsh conditions, the female leads were still able to become strong and fight to make the world a better place.

- Actings: I do not know who these actors were, but honestly, these dramas make me fall in love with all of them (especially the female lead and male leads).

Both leads did a good job of portraying their characters and were not overshadowed by one another. The age gap did not bother me at all. Also, the way they were looking at each other with their eyes?! Got me feeling butterflies and they hadn't even kissed.

The other actors also did a great job at portraying the characters, and I was not expecting the villain to be who he was?! The way the mother-in-law treated her made me so mad!

The pacing, chemistry, the plot keep you at your edge, and with each episode, the drama keeps getting better and better. Truly a hidden gem that deserves a lot more recognition. So honestly, go ahead and give it a watch!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
chaitra 555
3 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0

Good time pass show

The show is a one time watch, it is not boring. But if I have to take seriously about issue which the story is all about I find it bit illogical. FL, ML, the current king all are tied up as one team to fight against a evil scholar, aka the villain of this drama. What I never understood is that the villain motivation for which he killed many people is very weak. His motivation is nothing but his stubbornness that he is always right. On the other hand the Villain, time to time speaks very rudely to the king. The king just smiles and ignore, because he is waiting for the evidence to prove the villains crimes. But in my opinion I still don't understand how the Villain is more powerful. He only has one another minister support, he doesn't have more financial wealth than the king, nor does he have influence on many ministers to start rebellion or a private army to feed so. The villain could easily be killed at any time by a simple assassination. But the king keeps saying he wants to prove his crimes first, which is the whole reason why the story of this entire drama exists. I found the story of the king and the villain very weak. It doesn't have the gripping substance to feel the political immorality. It is just alright.

The drama pacing is good, and it is a good drama among the one's that are airing currently. Just a one time watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
alina2405
2 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Captivating characters and plot

I would have never thought, that I would end up loving this series. I'm glad I started it, even if I wasn't totally interested in it. This drama makes so many things right and has everything I want in a drama.

What I liked:
- The Characters. They felt real and engaging. They had their own problems and were realistic. I fell in love with them. Especially the two main leads.
- The chemistry was incredibly captivating. Before watching it I was wondering how they would handle the two age gap couples. Because sometimes it can feel a bit forced in dramas. But not in this one. The age didn't matter, no need to think about it. Lee Ha Nee and Lee Jong Won suit each other and they characters were mature and on the same wave length. It was a delight to watch them on the Screen. The fight scenes between them were full of chemistry.
- The acting was phenomenal. All actors and actresses made a great performance. Especially Lee Ha Nee and Lee Jong Won. I saw Lee Jong Won in the Golden Spoon, but that drama was lacking and I barely noticed him. But in this drama... he was outstanding. I never noticed how beautiful he is. He looked ethereal in this one. Props to the costume design. Sageuk dramas suit him. And as for Lee Ha Nee, I never saw her before which is a surprise since she's been around for some time. I loved her acting, it felt experienced and secure.
-The comedy. I am very picky about comedy. But the comedy was great in this one. The timing felt right, the editing and the actors are talented at conveying the comedic scenes.
-The romance. Oh I love a slowburn. No need for a kiss if the characters have this much chemistry. It was way more exciting this way. It just felt natural and made me want to see more.
- I was even interested in the politics and the plot was really good
-The ending was really good and fitting to the characters.

What I disliked:
-I rarely say it but... nothing. Nothing at all. I would have wished for more scenes between the main leads but on the other hand I don't, because it was great the way it was.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Oni
2 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

The flower that blooms at night

Here it is, the flower of the night is blooming 🌸
Knight Flower left me wondering how to describe it to you

First, if you're looking for romance, look elsewhere. This drama is a comedy in a historical guise with some mystery based on the secrets of the past. It gives you only a touch of romance (a touch to titillate and attract) and then it will leave you in the end without any kiss.
But open another bow, there was a butterfly of chemistry fluttering between the flower and the knight.

What is certain is that Lee Ha-nee is the prominent, dueling and blooming flower in this show. This series would not have been good with others, and as usual, its series, especially those with a sense of humor, do not achieve high results for no reason. There is something to watch and/or enjoy.
Of course, without ignoring the rest of the crew, each one of them watered this flower with his important role, goal, and lines or appearances until it bloomed, because the show is basically based on the widow and her personality between day and night.

Now what I want to say, which is the most important...
The story in its first half was good and entertaining in terms of comedy and dramatic atmosphere because the focus was on the lives of widows in that era, and therefore the historical and cultural sense was present. However, in its second half, the story quickly turns to a slow pace and becomes heavy with some ridiculous comedic situations.
It also lacked strong plots and knots, and then again with the final episode we enjoy the same energy in the first episodes because they left everything until the end and it was resolved with absolute ease. The fact that the ending was completely expected and cliched is because this type of story that comes in a historical guise focuses more on the journey and not on the destination or the path.
In general...
This far from perfect drama is just the right show to have a good, entertaining time, because there was a lot that I enjoyed. It started off very well with a light story, nice characters, and a heart of humor and then started dragging its feet and throwing everything at the end.
As a historical drama, it lacks the typical sajok features with a repetitive story of political conflict.
Overall, I finished this drama feeling satisfied either way. If you are looking for a good time and love the heroine, I will recommend you try it, but if you are like me, a fan of historical series, do not expect much from it.
If I wanted to exaggerate and flatter her, I would describe her as a simplified female version of a drama (Iljimea 2008).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Knight Flower (2024) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.5 (scored by 2,361 users)
  • Ranked: #457
  • Popularity: #1756
  • Watchers: 8,539

Top Contributors

167 edits
45 edits
27 edits
16 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Short KDrama
2080 titles 417 loves 15
Upcoming dramas
408 titles 141 loves 4
Sageuk
224 titles 19 loves 6

Recently Watched By