If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.

Details

  • Drama: Loving, Never Forgetting
  • Country: China
  • Episodes: 34
  • Aired On: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
  • Network: BTV
  • Duration: 45 min.
  • Genres: Romance, Drama, Melodrama
  • Tags: Adapted From A Novel
  • Rating: Not Yet Rated

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 1,041 users)
  • Ranked: #916
  • Popularity: #914
  • Members: 2,605

Loving, Never Forgetting (2014)

Write a Review
palak
28 people found this review helpful
Feb 4, 2015
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I waited for this drama to be subbed for about half a year and it was worth it. The plot is a little similar to Autumn's Concerto and Autumn's Concerto fans would certainly enjoy, if not as much as AC. Loving Never Forgetting is not about two people in love who have a baby. It's about two strangers who have a one-night stand and the man doesn't even remember the woman. Imagine saving a little boy in an accident and finding out he's your son, even though you can't even recognize the mother! This drama follows these two people as they fall in love and truly become a real family. The plot has some ridiculous, rather-makjang elements but overall it's a heart-warming story.

Jerry Yan is one of the most handsome Taiwanese actors and I have watched him in a few dramas. His character here is quite different from the immature-but-funny-and-sweet brats he generally plays. Here, he's a cold, ruthless businessman who does not believe in love or marriage. I liked him here and he definitely stole the show! Wu Tong is really clumsy and at times, really stupid. She's the perfect damsel-in-distress, something that ticked me off a bit. I'm kind of used to strong drama female leads now and characters like her make me want to roll my eyes at them every minute. If I got a penny for every time she fell down, I would be a millionaire. But the woman is plain stubborn. She never got rid of those heels (and how did she afford them anyway since she barely managed to earn her living). But anyways her character wasn't entirely hate-worthy. I mean, she was the sweet, innocent, perfect lead after all. Tong Tong was alright. Nothing compared to Xaio Le obviously (Xaio Le was too classic). Supporting characters were fine. My personal favorite was the special assistant.

The OST was good enough. This was my third Chinese drama (I think) and although these dramas are longer in terms of episodes, they're enjoyable. I could rewatch Jerry Yan's scenes with his child and Wu Tong but the rest I would definitely skip in the second round (if there is one). It's a good drama overall and when it comes down to it, definitely worth the watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Jasmine
8 people found this review helpful
Aug 9, 2015
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I decided to watch this because I heard that it was similar to Autumn’s Concerto. However, I do not think it’s alike at all aside from the very basic premise that it’s about a secretly born child and the father tries to get custody of the child. The plot was really crazy and exaggerated. There were lots of confusing parts that just didn’t make sense, but that’s how most dramas of this kind are- overly done. There’s the usual disapproving mother, vindictive second lead, and comedic relief. To be very honest, I grew to dislike many of the supporting characters, and although they ended up trying to redeem themselves, it just felt very unrealistic- even for drama standards.

The saving grace of this drama is definitely the OTP. The two main leads, Jerry Yan and Tong Li Ya, had superb chemistry. They both had outstanding performances in this drama, and I was captivated by their scenes together. Usually in other dramas, the OTP is most important to me; in dramas like this one, however, the child is just as important. Unfortunately, the child actor was very average. He was cute, yes, but nothing about his performance stood at all. His dubbing severely detracted from his performance, and his acting was mediocre. The supporting actors were alright. Nothing particular. Zhong Mou’s(Jerry Yan) assistant was funny, and of course, Jerry Yan himself was just phenomenal. His acting was on point and his crying scenes were just so emotional provoking. I personally didn’t like Wu Tong’s (TongLiYa) character, although her acting was fantastic. She is a strong mother, but she is also such a pushover.

Some of the music didn’t fit with the scenes, especially the english songs played at the club scenes made me cringe. Jerry Yan’s ending song, and Jin Sha’s song, however, were amazing. I loved it.

For me, re-watch value isn’t that high. I would re-watch some scenes between the OTP, but I don’t think I would watch the whole drama again. In the end, I do recommend this drama if you're in the mood for a heavy melodrama. Even with all the ridiculous plots, it still managed to make me tear up in some scenes. If you also care about an amazing OTP, like me, then I recommend watching just for the OTP. 7.5/8.5

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rule
8 people found this review helpful
Jan 14, 2015
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
2014 I feel has been a slump year for korean drama. Either its me or there were not many addicting heartwaming drama. Im not saying all, as surely there were some cute and adorable ones but by far they were few as compared to the previous years. Ive been searching for something which would hold my intrest and make me fall in love with the characters.
LnF was certainly an unexpected find. I loved the story which was heartwarming and addicting. The acting was good and chemistry was great. Especially the love scenes were so natural as compared to korean drama, it shows how a couple should and do act when they discover they are in love.
It was also a pleasant change not to have any evil baddies creating constant friction.
The only negative was the length, wish it was shorter, maybe 20 or so episodes. I loved the first half of the drama more than the latter, especially I hate the writers putting in fillers to keep the drama running for so long.
overall good romantic and addictive. I would definately recommend to watch if your are looking for this genre.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
dramarian
6 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2015
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
While watching the final episode, I was torn about giving this drama a perfect score or not. I get easily entertained and pleased with a drama or a movie so giving a 10 is never an issue even if it has its own flaws. LNF seemed like a heavy melodrama at first but I actually found myself enjoying as each episode passed by. There were so many cliches in the drama that came up randomly and made it seem like it was developed poorly. However, the drama managed to tug at my heartstrings because of the chemistry of the family. It made me realize that I get easily attached to stories like LNF and Autumn's Concerto have but I won't compare these two since I only judge a drama on its own. To say that Tong Liya and Jerry Yan acted so well in this drama would be an understatement because this drama would make one realize that acting is both a skill and a talent that only (perfect) people like them would be blessed with. My other honorable mentions would definitely go to Liang Rueqi and Lin Jiandong because of the very enjoyable comic relief that they provided in the drama. I just wish that this drama wasn't dubbed but of course it was an impossible wish given that Chinese productions are almost always dubbed.

For the music, I just love the soundtrack especially the instrumentals and Jerry Yan's Having One of Me as both an ending and an insert song. I may have not heard his beautiful voice in this drama but at least his song was still playing in it ;)

For the rewatch value, I believe that there are only a few dramas worth rewatching since I'm also not a fan of rewatching. However, I'd love to rewatch some scenes because of the emotional impact that they gave me when I watched them for the first time. Overall, I haven't watched so many good C-dramas and I already consider this as one of the few good ones so I recommend this to anyone who's willing to try a good Cdrama. And for Jerry Yan fans like me, you definitely shouldn't miss this!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
JADE1300
3 people found this review helpful
Mar 17, 2015
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
Although similar in some aspects of the storyline to Autumn's Concerto, each drama is different. Autumn blew me away, but Loving was also very good in it's own way. Absolutely loved Jerry Yan. This is my first drama by him, but judging from people's comments of his usual characters, he played the cold, rich businessman to a perfection. What woman watching this type of drama does not want to be the one to tame a cold ruthless rich alpha male into a loving partner who swears to take care of you the rest of your life?
I would have given this a higher mark if not for some of the pissed off moments I had watching a really naive to the point of being stupid female lead. It was really annoying seeing how many times she did the damsel in distress moments by physically falling down in front of her man. Aside from that, excellant drama, my first China drama, I look forward to seeing more dramas from there now.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Alyce
4 people found this review helpful
Feb 28, 2015
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
To be hell honest I started this drama in spur of moment because I was too bored but as I passed episode 1 I was hooked on it. I completed the drama in 2 days with my studies & stuff. But whatever it was worth it. I mean whole 34 episodes I didn't got bored & I didn't drop any episode while I usually drop episodes of dramas when it becomes a drag but Heaven & Hell knows it wasn't a drag. Total 34 episodes kept me saying, "1 more, 1 more". There are tears somewhere & sometimes I couldn't stop laughing.Well you'll know if you watch it.

Acting: If I have to say something about acting here I would say only one line, "The actors satisfied their characters." I loved acting. There was no extra drama & the emotions were very well expressed. The actors didn't let the drama to be a drag & I didn't abandon it. Seriously it was good.

Music: There was only OST but it was great!!! <3

Story: Well I just started on the spur & read the plot after watching one episode. The story perfectly depicts the parental love & how a single unthoughtful step in life can change everything. I liked how Wu Tong & Zhong Mou relationship established. It wasn't like love at first sight & here & there & everything's set. But something that took time & they understood each other. They overcome different problems together & alone. I loved that part a lot. It has a unique charm in it!!! The ending was most satisfying.

P.S: It's really worth your time!!
P.S.S: While watching it you'll definitely notice the phone & it's no use complaining. The only person who has phone according to 2014 is Xaing Jun!!! I was like "why are they using those phones!!! why!!"

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mitta
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2016
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I don’t remember the last time I cried this much over make-belief, fairy-tale characters and story-telling. Over the years of drama watching, there were many, many moments where my heart fluttered, my voice cracked and the tears threatened but rarely over and over, and over again.

And yet, Loving, Never Forgetting managed to do just that.

A story of a one-night stand that changed the lives of the Li and Xiang families.

A tale of custody fights, gripping parent-child relationships, sibling rivalry and power struggles. The pacing is excellent. Show offers a nice blend of introspective moments between mothers and sons. Similarly, underneath the surface, we see simmering bondings between the fathers and the sons, foreign and yet familiar — quiet, scary but endearing.

Jerry Yan is superb playing the aloof and tough businessman Zhong Mou but his skillful acting makes me empathizes with him despite the cold facade he puts up in the custody battle, yanking his son away from the only mother he knows and loves. The tenderness he shows towards Tong Tong in the moment of need is pure magic.

Even though Zhong Mou grew up without experiencing maternal or paternal warmth, he is innately capable of seeking deep within himself to shower love for a son that is suddenly thrust into his otherwise lonely life. Sworn never to fall in love and marry, his impenetrable wall of bachelorhood gets melted brick by brick by the generous, loving, and open-minded Wu Tong. Initially skeptical of her motives, he keeps her at arm’s length but finds himself increasingly drawn to the woman whom, despite not remembering their moment of intimacy, bore him a son.

Tong Liya is perfect in the role of Wu Tong. She’s strong-willed but in a feminine way. Her maternal instincts are powerful: protective, unselfish but realistic. Some viewers feel she’s feeble which is somewhat true given that she's naive to a fault but her flaws are understandable and do not detract from the overall story arc. She makes me feel her pain and I cried alongside her when she has to part with Tong Tong, struggling to balance her own needs against what’s best for Tong Tong.

As a family melodrama with its angelic female character, Wu Tong is someone that believes in the good of everyone and naively thinks she has the power to effect change. Despite being told time and time again, that 30 years of hate and bitterness just doesn’t go away overnight, she continues to march on inside her own cocoon thinking somehow she can be the catalyst that will propel family unity.

The chemistry between Zhong Mou and Wu Tong is off the charts earth shattering. I don’t know how many times I re-watched the scene where Zhong Mou broach the elusive subject that he is falling for her. This OTP is undeniably a match made in heaven.

Tong Tong is adorable and just perfect for this role, maybe too perfect (said some) but then again, I didn’t mind that at all. His delightful interactions with Wu Tong and Zhong Mou warm my heart and put a smile on my face.

As for the supporting casts, I must say this is one of those few rare times when I’m hard pressed to complain about any character. Each has his/her own honest story to tell. Kudos goes to Personal Assistant, sidekick extraordinaire, Lin Jian Dong whose loyalty and affable demeanor gives the show light-hearted moments. His dorky affection for Liang Yue Qi is subtle, like a tree-lined vista, providing much needed shades to its oblivious passersby. The most villainous of the characters, Xiang Jun, sent shivers down my spine for a few episodes, making me feel the hate for him brewing but the hate slowly withers away as the show winds down towards redemption. There isn’t a moment where I felt like fast forwarding. Instead show kept me up late and made me waste away whole weekends drooling for what’s next.

If I had one complaint, it would be the ending episodes which felt like scene fillers. I could easily do without these last few “dramas” — my heart did not pound as much as it did in the beginning as Zhong Mou overcomes one crisis after another. The ending could have been wrapped up a few episodes earlier.

Loved the OST especially the one by Jerry Yan.

A heartfelt melodrama that touches two generations and the bad blood that binds the Li and Xiang families, and ultimately a woman who wants to unite them all. One that moved my soul. A must-watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
saycheese
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 31, 2016
Overall 3.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This is my 1st review and I am very tempted to write because all I see are positively inclined reviews.So here's a negative one, because I didn't enjoy it. The ratings here currently is 7.9 and a really good drama can usually go up to 8.5-9.1.This drama just isn't the cup of tea for me, and maybe for some who watched or am going to.

Acting falls short of my expectation. I think both leads did an ok job, but not to the extent to be impressed. I know the female character is trying to portray her deep and touching love for the child, but she acts too hysterical and crazy by constantly worrying and crying at the earlier episodes. I pity her though, because she has to cry a lot for those scenes. Her crying skills is good, but overly excessive which loses its appeal.

I didn't like the slow pacing of the show and they focused quite a lot on side characters (the 2nd male lead, 2nd and 3rd female lead, the male lead's secretary and mother to just name a few..) which wasn't interesting but in fact feels like fillers. I prefer drama that focuses on the leads and properly develop their relationship. The main leads' lovey-dovey scenes were cute and had sufficient chemistry, but sadly, the drama didn't had a lot of this.

Development wise, I can't see how the male lead develop feelings for the female lead. He kind of suddenly transited from "I want nothing to do with her" to "I like you, please be together with me."

In conclusion, with average acting, slow pacing with fillers and poor development of characters, I would give this a 3/10, just for the main couple's chemistry. Otherwise, I don't recommend the 34 episodes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Alexis
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 1, 2017
Overall 3.0
Story 2.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I hated this drama for the reason I often hate dramas: the male lead was a jerk. He treated the female lead badly (really really badly), but was still forgiven again and again. Actually, pretty much all of the characters treat the female lead badly but are still forgiven. The whole series is a train wreck of mistreatment with occasional romantic breaks. This woman should be in a domestic violence shelter getting help filing a divorce, not living "happily" ever after with the male lead.

Ladies, being too forgiving only makes you more attractive to the kinds of men who mistreat women and therefore need to be forgiven a lot.

Content Warning: contains a sexual assault scene while the female lead is unconscious. The assaulter is forgiven instantly and never truly held accountable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Peafigther13
11 people found this review helpful
Jul 3, 2014
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is very addicting, story line is GREAT.. Must watch.. !
Was this review helpful to you?
sharreb
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 21, 2016
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 1.5
My fav character is Tong tong, the 4 year old.
That should suffice to hint what is the strengths and weaknesses of this drama.
Tong tong is really cute and adorable both in appearance and the sweet things he says to the mum. It is testimonial that a child brought up with love even though they lack in material wealth blossoms to a lovable person.
Wu Tong character is quite pitiful. I really cry during the first mom-child separation. Too often in real life the kid is given to a parent who seems more capable.
Jerry Yan's character is cold calculating, cynical and does not know how to love thanks to his mother. Wu Tong shows him the bettee side of humanity and also digs out the warmth inside him and his capability to care. So far this plotline looks good. But then theres the annoying famous girlfriend, the horrible mother and step brother who is also a love rival. I dont even know when the brother became Wu tong boyfriend. The flow of the story is a bit off.
Jerry yan has improved alot since him Meteor Garden days but in scenes where he is sad or about to cry he twist his mouth, seems to pout like a petulant child so i dont always feel him. You can actually see scenes where he's good and scenes where the acting is unnatural. Chemistry wise with Wu Tong is there. But i didnt like how they write the characters behaviour the last third of the drama.
I love all father and child, mother and child bits. I also like the Secretary. Focus on these bits and the drama is quite good. But theres also a lot of tedious scenes to skip.
Ive finished watching this over a week ago and instead of reviewing straight away like i usually do.. Hmm i guess this drama is quite forgettable. And definitely not rewatching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kalahara
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 25, 2015
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 2.5
Rewatch Value 1.5
Jerry Yan's performance is this is truly outstanding. It took me a while to get a grip on how he chose to convey this role, his reserved logical character in that he always had to remain strong to protect his family.
How his mothers role in his life made him jaded to relationships and how only after learning he is a father himself and witnessing a different perspective of motherhood over his own child does he begin to change in his dealings / relationship with Wu Tong.
After growing up in the shadow of the stigma of being a illegitimate child and not wanting the same for his own son to suffer the same loneliness he slowly develops a relationship with the child's mother.
I would say this is more of a adult drama it's not a giddy little romance it's more about mending relationships and finding happiness. I would recommend this drama it does have a happy ending. I tend to prefer stories where in each episode you get to learn the makeup of why the characters are they way they are and that no one is without redemption or forgiveness.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?