Hello all: 

I want to learn video editing. I will do it mostly for making FMVs and personal work related videos. I got inspired by so many talented creators out there. Unfortunately I have limited knowledge of the technicalities. So, please someone help me to find the ropes. I have Adobe Premiere installed and I am looking at tutorials online. But I wanted to hear from actual creators about their process. Which softwares are user friendly, where to download music and video clips from (if not recorded) etc. etc. 

Please help!

Like Maxxx17   said, the program you choose depends on the specs of your device. If it's a powerful computer, you can choose something more professional, but for mobiles/tablets and old laptops ect there are less heavy options. You can compare the requirements for the installation with the info about the system and hardware of your device. On youtube you can check which edits you like more and what program(s) the author uses. Sometimes they do "how I edit my videos" videos. Also check out "top 5 editing software for (insert your operating system)". How user friendly you find it to be really is very subjective and depends on how much experience you already have with other programs (because the mindset of how the menu works, shorcuts ect is similar, especially in graphic programs). 

Emara,  won't call myself a proud creator, as I'm doing this for fun mostly but here are some tips.

The main problem is still music. If you're going to upload this somewhere, be ready to fight with mods about copyright claims. Back in time, it was easier.

As for software, emma already said that it depends on your PC/mac. With your specs, it'd be easier to recommend something. I started off with Windows movie maker (like many others, I believe as it's so basic). Then switched to Sony vegas (it's trickier, but I'm sure, you'll figure this out as I did, hah). Now I use Movavi.