I'm fairly new to the Asian Drama world but I love them! since I stumbled upon Kdrama's first that is what I know. I've watched one Japanese Drama and loved it but can't remember the name (lame) and one Tiawanese drama (MARS).

I need some advise from the experts on recommendations of some really great Japanese dramas to start with? Genre's I like: Romantic Comedy, Romantic Melodrama, Action/adventure and historical.

Any help would be very appreciated!! And also, if it's not a "no-no" maybe you could message me or post where I can find them to watch? Thank you so much in advance... Jeanie
oh to have an edit button... "Pros to a Newbie" no apostrophe "s". duh.
watch my list and you'll become drama guru like me............................ XDD

DON'T EVER WATCH ANNA-SAN NO OMAME! it's TOTAL waste of time
Hotaru no Hikari and Hotaru no Hikari 2 its a pretty good rom com..
Thanks to both of you! HR ~ I will check out your list. Phoenixtearz ~ I'll search for those on DramaCrazy!
jeanie65jh: I don't feel like a pro but maybe you would like Hanazakari to kimitachi e? It's a great commedy but the romantic part is better in TW version :) I don't know or I don't remember any melodrama but try Kagen no tsuki, it's twisted but it's Yazawa Ai's story after all :) And Tsubasa no oreta tenshitachi series?
Try Atashinchi no Danshi and Mei-chan no Shitsuji xD These really caught my attention xP

Oh and watch the new J-Drama called Muscle Girl too xD I don't know if you'll like it but the plot caught my attention :)

Taiyou no Uta(Movie) is good also but kinda sad... won't tell why xD

Nodame Cantabile will crack you up for sure xD Both the leading actress and actor are realllly good :D

Buzzer Beat is kind of sport-ish drama but it has some good romance you can look forward too... xD

Well, I'd love to add more but it seems that your thread will be flooded if I do xD I was trying not to add any spoilers but... I tried my best xP
Thanks! I have all weekend to get started watching!