Paradise Kiss (2011) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 9,310 users)
  • Ranked: #1482
  • Popularity: #206
  • Watchers: 14,303

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

13%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

13 edits
7 edits
3 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
addicted2dramas
23 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Paradise Kiss had been in my to-watch list for quite some time and it was a good movie. I have not seen the anime or anything so just as a movie, it was a good watch. I have a thing for chick flicks and this movie is just that.

With quite a simple story and even simpler characters, it was delightful to watch. This is another no-brainer, but a nice one nonetheless. I am not fond of anime humour getting injected in every Japanese film or drama, so this one was good for a change in that aspect. The actors were good and I really liked the chemistry between the two leads. Also, this movie lives upto its name 'Paradise Kiss'. It has a couple of kissing scenes which were the best I have seen in anything Japanese so far.

The film primarily focuses on fashion, so the clothes were great in this one. While it drags out longer than required, it is a relaxing movie. Just grab a bowl of popcorn and watch it when you're bored. It will surely provide you with good humour and some cute romantic moments.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rourou
19 people found this review helpful
Apr 30, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
1-The reason I watched this : I watched this film with couple of friends who already watched the anime.

2-Storyline/Plot : To start with, I never read the manga or watched the anime, so for someone like me everything was a first time.
The story was set in a good way because it was something different: I didn't watch many shows or films about fashion before so the general concept was appealing enough.

3-Acting/Cast : I just like Kitagawa Keiko as an actress but I can't say the same thing about her character which seemed to have many flaws. On the other hand, George's character was well done.
Other character were okay, no special feelings about them.

4-Music : Kind of cool; it's not a bad music.

5-Rewatch value : It's possible for some cases.

6-The ending : My friends who already watched the anime told me that the anime's ending was really bad. All I know that the film's ending was a fluffy ending.

7-My impression : I never lost interest while watching this plus I appreciated the fashion-love combination. It didn't touch me deeply but it was enjoyable.

8-Overall : As a person who watched this film for itself not to compare it with the manga/anime, I believe that it was good enough to waste my time on it; an acceptable film overall.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
13 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I don't know what it is about Japanese movies, but I seem to really get into them. This movie is no exception. I like how it is kind of light hearted, but has a deep meaning in it. You have to find your own way and be happy within yourself. I really like that kind of message especially since this seems to be geared toward young people just starting out in life. A little struggle all wrapped up in a beautiful ending.

Mukai Osamu is really adorable and his acting isn't bad either. I like how his character George seems to be comfortable with himself and makes the people around him comfortable. Kitagawa Keiko as Yukari (Caroline...lol) was just beautiful and I really felt the character's struggle to find herself. Did I mention she is gorgeous??? The other actors were great also especially Igarashi Shunji as Isabella. I absolutely adore Isabella.

The music is really good too.

I will probably rewatch this at some point.

I recommend this to everyone. :-)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Crazy4You
9 people found this review helpful
Oct 28, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I wanted to watch this movie because I've heard a lot of people loved the anime/manga. I haven't read the manga or seen the anime [yet] so my review is solely on the movie itself.



I liked the story - a girl who doesn't even know who she is finds love in something she never thought about before. I loved the dresses and the the world of fashion that they introduced in this movie.



The cast was good - I can't compare it with the manga/anime but I thought that they played their parts well and the acting was done just fine.



I liked the music - from "Hello" by Yui to the songs by Sweetbox. I've been a fan of Sweetbox for the past few years and I loved actually hearing her in this movie!



I will definitely rewatch this movie again. I enjoyed it, plus since I downloaded it I've just decided to keep it on my computer so it'll be right there whenever I wanna watch it again (:



Overall - it's not the best movie out there, but I found it to be an enjoyable film with a nice story and a sweet love. I also loved how they didn't use any of those cheesy special effects I've seen in other Japanese movies based off a manga [High School Debut, Lovely Complex]. Sure there were cheesy parts in the story, but in a more believable way and not totally out there.



My personal opinion is I think it's worth watching (: It's a cute story!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Becca256
14 people found this review helpful
Oct 28, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
After listening to korean for such a long time, it was great to see something in jap. I really liked this movie, I've been waiting for a lot of time to watch it, and it was definitely worth it. It is a fun light movie.



The story was great, the cast too, although in some parts I regret to say that Kitagawa's acting wasn't so good. The music was very according to the movie. I'll definitely rewatch this movie sometime soon with a friend. Overall, a seven.



I enjoyed watching this movie so much that I'll watch the anime, because I've heard that the anime fans weren't happy with the outcome of the movie, so I'll watch to be able to make a good comparison

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sammyx3
9 people found this review helpful
Sep 1, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
We all know the all too popular phrase, "The book is so much better than the movie!" but I'd have to say in the case of this, the movie & comic sort of go hand in hand.There are differences between the two but the main storyline stays the same, and it wasn't unbearable to watch - it was actually fun! I enjoyed this movie from start to finish, which usually doesn't happen for Manga turned Movie for me. The actors/actresses did a great job at conveying their characters and they were dead on choosing who they did for the roles. I loved this movie - It gives a wonderful 'life' lesson about chasing your dreams while still being realistic.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Isinuyasha
6 people found this review helpful
Feb 15, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Since I have neither read the Manga nor watched the Anime I was completely unsure what to expect.

The trailer caught my attention immediately. Great soundtrack, good cinematography, interesting story.

When I saw the movie I was so glad that it met my expectations. While the story may not sound special I fell in love with the characters (as much as it is possible during a movie) and their unique qualities. The fashion itself is beautiful and the way the story is told as well.

It is unusual and (fans of japanese dramas/movies will maybe understand this) I was more than just happy about the ending. While I love my japanese dramas, they tend to not make we want to rewatch them, not as much as korean dramas do, since they have not yet mastered the art of finishing a drama the way I want it to. They like to make it all philosophical and deep but I'm simple, I only want to feel happy afterwards...I'm easily satisfied. But that's just my personal opinion.

I really recommend this movie, it is funny and cute and different and happy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hoyatic4you
6 people found this review helpful
Jul 28, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is my first ever review so I don't know how it will be.... I truly enjoyed watching this movie and would recommend anyone to watch it as well. I don't like it when shows or movies are too predictable, so if you are like me, this is also a good pick for you.(unless you watched the anime or read the magna, then of course you would know what would happen)
The chemistry between the two main actors was pretty good(it had me squealing in some parts but I tend to overreact), it is never a good thing if the two mains don't have chemistry or else you can feel the awkwardness between the two (or at least you feel awkward) Trust me, it is not like that in this movie. Overall the cast itself was pretty good, but I haven't watched many Japanese dramas or movies so it is only based on what I have seen already.
The story is one that you might see quite a bit, but only in certain aspects. I would give an example but I am afraid of spoiling it.
I didn't quite pay attention to the music so I guess it wasn't very appealing. If it was, I would have definitely remembered. I only remember the typical fashion show music.
I think I will rewatch this, perhaps with a few friends. After you see it, you might also want to share it because it really is a great movie. Enjoy! I hope this helped make up your mind on watching it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xeenatheprincesswarrior
7 people found this review helpful
Feb 22, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie has light story but very entertaining! I love the songs they use to it, it matched the theme.

The clothes, the designs, those fashionistas out there will surely love this movie. It's a good movie, about knowing yourself, about achieving dreams, fighting for what you like and finding love!

Well, it's a school themed movie, showcasing schools in Japan, the hardships of each students, about friendships. I really like it, and hearing that the anime is good to check too, I think I will.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sarichitza
7 people found this review helpful
Jan 5, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
After watching the anime i was really happy that they made live action of this show & even with my favourite japanese actress, Kitagawa Keiko, They could've put someone that looked more like George but still Osamu did an awsome job portrating him :)

I was expecting more intimate scenes between Caroline & George but it's still gr8. The music was okay, could have been better.

I really liked he chemistry between the main leads.
The only thing i didnt really liked was that it was a bit rushed. They could've made a drama that has at least 3-4 episodes, and describe better the love devolpment between George & Caroline.

Over all, the story was good, in my opinion the acting was gr8 even tho i think maybe Ikuta Toma would've been better but Osamu still did awsome job portrating almost the exact personality like in the anime, Keiko was also g8 and she even looked similar to the girl in the anime. Busing was okay but not really my taste but when we look everything together it definatly a 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
love4kdramasonly
7 people found this review helpful
Jan 21, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
So just watched this movie for like the 10th time i bet and wondered why haven't i written a review based on this wonderful movie. This movie really appealed to me than any other. It had a beautiful story and had a wonderful message to share through both the leads character. Mukai Osamu especially did an amazing job in portraying his character. I would say this is better than the anime itself. In my opinion Mukai can camouflage into any type of character very easily, and here also he seemed flawless. I couldn't help giving this movie a 10 on 10. The music too had captured my heart from the very start with it extremely catchy opening song. The story was different and left me a great impression on it. Personally i don't have much of a knowledge about the fashion world or its whereabouts. But seeing this movie made me realize its beauty. The ending was wonderful, and i like it how they summarized a huge anime /manga into an 1 hr 54 mins movie. I'd definitely recommend this to everyone here. You can watch this in dramacrazy.net . Thank you! I hope my review has encouraged you to watch this amazing movie ^_^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
inactive
7 people found this review helpful
Dec 11, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I haven't watched the anime but surely I enjoyed the movie because of the cinematography. I love the concept of the movie which is all about fashion,style and also it focused on pursuing dreams. Keiko and Osamu looked good together simply because they are eye candies though their relationship could've been developed more in the story. I particularly love the music or the OST by YUI. It really went well with the story. I will definitely re-watch it again and I do recommend this to fashion fans for ideas. It may not be the best but it's great enough eye candy with romance to entertain you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?