I Saw The Devil

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 2,533 users)
  • Ranked: #515
  • Popularity: #642
  • Watchers: 4,528

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

73%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

19 edits
17 edits
11 edits
9 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
reni
22 people found this review helpful
Jul 22, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I watch this movie a few days ago. I thought it was amazing!! I love a good revenge movie~! (And trust me...after seeing what this villain does...you'll want to jump in the movie and kill him yourself!) The action scenes are GREAT!! Especially towards the end...and it had what many would call a "bow-tie" ending. So, If you like Koreans, action, revenge, a little mystery & suspense....WATCH THIS. But I warn you...The only reason I couldn't give this movie a 10/10 is because the graphics are "Saw" level and made my stomach turn...I had to look away a few times...soooo i guess you'll have to like gory movies as well...LOL

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Go-To-The-Extreme
12 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This is definitely not for the weak hearted. It is absolutely horrifying at certain scenes where I just had to get away for a bit and breath. The storyline is gripping and the acting is just great. In fact it was so great that I detested the bad character! This is not suitable for everyone. It has sexually explicit scenes and nudity, much to my surprise. Can't say I didn't see it coming though. So if you're set on watching this movie then be ready, you're in for a bumpy ride.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
devitto
8 people found this review helpful
May 19, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
If you're very lighthearted, you should not watch this movie. It has some pretty horrible scenes I had to look away from.

The story is basically a typical revenge story, but in a way I haven't seen yet. It goes back and forth between the two main characters, keeping the suspense really high and managing to surprise the viewer again and again.

The acting was really good and seemed natural. Everything looked extremely real.

It stayed on the high suspense level up until the ending which was amazing in itself. The title definitely fit.

Overall, a great movie for fans of the genre but definitely not something I'm going to watch again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Freezeframescreenkiss
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 14, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
The great director, Kim Jee-won does every genre he takes on justice. As expected, acting-veteran Choi Min-shik easily turns stomachs with his darkest performance since his Sympathy for Lady Vengeance role.


This movie should have been a typical take on revenge executed in a typical 'cat and mouse chase' fashion and cushioned with a tons of gore and sexual violence.

HOWEVER!

It managed to be SOOO much more than that. Surprisingly deep and every act of violence has a purpose and a consequence. A story ultimately about how pain and grief can push one to the edge of humanity. Lee Byung-hyun makes us weep for him and not because of what he lost...but what he is willing to forsake just to get even.

Stellar cast, incredibly well plotted and an ending that stirs your soul.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
cupicakefarah
4 people found this review helpful
Apr 25, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
THIS MOVIE IS GENIUUUSSSSS
how did they come up with a story like this
this was the first movie in my live which i found scary !!!
every thing is so well acted !!!
the story is a 10 in my opinion
there is one thing that i dislike about the movie and that is the part were that killer uhhh...XXX. if you watch the movie you'll get what i mean O.O'

EVERYONE WHO LIKES DRAMA AND A SCARY MOVIE WITH GOOD ACTING SKILLS AND A GOOD STORY .YOUU NEEEDDD TOOO WATCCHHH THISSSSS MOVIEEEEEE !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Steve
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 3, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I Saw the Devil stars well-known Korean actor, Lee Byung-Hun and is directed by the amazing Kim Jee-Woon who has done nothing but great films so far. I Saw the Devil is the ultimate Korean revenge movie. When the daughter of a federal agent is killed by a serial killer, he goes on a mission to exact his revenge and becomes a monster himself in the process. Despite some gruesome scenes, this movie explores the mind of someone who will do anything to get even. Some great performances by Lee Byung-Hun and Choi Min-Sik, this movie will always be at the forefront of what I consider to be great Korean cinema.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Troy Feldman
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 20, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
Intense and dark thriller starring two of Korea's best action stars. Don't watch if you have a weak stomach. Or do. Because it's amazing. Whole movie kept me on the edge of my seat, from the shocking beginning to all the twists and turns, I could never expect anything. Definitely watch.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Eintagsfliege
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 12, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
A brutal and painful movie to watch. It makes you think... what would you have done? Would you easily hand this psychopath to the police? It's not like other revenge-movies, where the protagonist tries to do the right thing and his goal being to just kill the antagonist - he wants him to suffer, to feel the pain and angst the victims must have borne.
Outstanding actors.

I gave Rewatch Value "only" 7 points not because this isn't a great movie, but you definitely need some time to process this heavy topic.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kerry
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 27, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This movie is crazy and could possibly be used to scare people into never talking to strangers again much less taking a cab ever. The talented actors are off the chain and great, thumbs up to the actors. I think this is one of the movies that could haunt you in your sleep. It is gruesome, has action, slight sick twist in the comedy area, suspense and next to 0 on the romantic scale. lol. But it is worth the watch and may have you covering your eyes in certain scenes. Still great watch though. Just makes me scared that there may be actual people out there that commit these types of crimes. The question kinda lingers though, who was more crazy?Ahhh revenge will make you do some crazy things. Goes to show you though, you should never poke a sleeping lion.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Reza Hedi
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 21, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
It is one of the rare masterpieace of Korean cinema , narrated a serial killer story and his crimes. The film delicately described and illustrated his offence. Its prime is when he kill a prognant beautiful woman berutally even though her entreaty for mercy!
I strongly recommend watching this movies.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
yaddle_t
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 2, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie was something else. The story is interesting and the actors are top notch. It's pretty interesting to see a once law abiding agent lose his marbles and go over the dark side to get his revenge. There are many visually disturbing violent scenes but that's just to show you how evil one can be or how crazy one can become if perturbed. The whole story unveils very well too, with an awesome ending.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PrashastSingh
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 25, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I SAW THE DEVIL is a kind of revenge story that one would hardly have seen before at all. It's really very gripping from the moment it begins. One gets to see the bare minded madness of what one can do. Sadly, since in India we never got exposed to such films, the initial reaction was "it's amazing but too explicit." But as I realized the real intention behind this film, I found I hadn't exactly seen the real intention of violence, profanity etc too. It intended to show everything realistically. And that's why it engages you fully.

The film has some minor flaws, perhaps not really flaws because they don't hinder the progress the film makes from the beginning. But really, a few sequences needed to be a bit shorter and a few subplots could've been avoided. But what takes over these flaws is the performance by the lead actors, Byung-hun Lee and Choi Min-Sik. These two men drive the story to an extreme and keep you interested all the time.

I SAW THE DEVIL is well adapted and executed by its director Kim Jee- Woon. I don't have problem with violence, since I have been habitual of seeing such kind of violence in many action movies and being an action film lover, I couldn't resist myself from watching the fight scenes again and again. But due to the excessive obscenity in a few scenes, I recommend it's better to watch this film alone or with someone of your age group who is interested in such films, not family. It's definitely not for kids, unless they grow up of course.

There are a lot more positives to list here. The film is well shot with good production values, due to which it's recommended to catch the film on Blu-ray instead of DVD. The visuals are excellent. The film is never hindered by any songs and the BGM is terrific, especially in the action and dramatic scenes. It has brilliant action, but it also has a riveting drama. Byung-hun Lee is very handsome and a brilliant actor who fits the role. Choi Min-Sik as the villain is a total firecracker. He gives a brilliant performance close to perfection. Other actors do their part well.

Overall, I SAW THE DEVIL is a good action thriller that nevertheless keep you riveted despite of mild editing flaws as the overall film is very gripping. It's recommended for those who like dark action thrillers and without minding the language barrier. I know it's not 100% perfect, but then who gives 100% perfection always? For movie lovers who can see a lot more than just violence and vulgarity, this film is a must watch and definitely thought-provoking. In other words, an action packed thrilling delight!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?