Completed
meighy
44 people found this review helpful
Apr 22, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is the sweetest thing I've seen in months. It's not complicated, and there are no huge twists and turns to the story, but it kept my interest the whole time. The actors were just adorable. The one thing that distracted me a bit was the music and sound. It felt very amateurish. Other than that, it was a pretty perfect coming-of-age coming-out movie. The friendship and acceptance was one of the best things, which you don't always see in these type of movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Demy_Martin
15 people found this review helpful
Sep 1, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Probably the best gay movie I've ever seen from any country. While the movie spends a good chunk of time on showing us how the friends try to get Gump to admit he is gay, it makes for an entertaining first act. The way the build up is presented to us is cute and while it was generic romance movie stuff it felt fresh. The final act was sweet as it brought the friends back to focus and they again were amazing. They even gained a new friend. Only con, and it wasn't that bad, was the way it looked a little low budget but that added to the charm.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ebryetas
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 1, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
This was honestly a beautiful and heartwarming movie.
I've only very recently gotten into asian BL shows, and this is the first movie that I have watched so far, and it definitely did not disappoint.

Plot: It was simple and sweet. I'm sure you got the gist from reading the synopsis, but the story jumps around a bit between the perspectives of Gump coming together with Nai, and between Gump's group of (hilarious) friends as they try to prove Gump and Nai are in love with each other.
It's a low budget film, so don't expect a God-Tier production, but the homemade feeling the film gives you is just part of its charm⁠. I do want to say that logically speaking, the feelings between Gump and Nai developed really quickly considering if you take into account they'd only known each other for a little over a week. But for the flow and development of their relationship in the film itself, it did feel very natural.
As for the story, besides being heartwarming as hell, all the characters were just so wonderful?
Gump's mom was supportive and loving towards her son, Nai's (ex)girlfriend was honestly super super understanding for the situation that she found herself in, and Gump's friends are literally the most supportive people in the world. They cheered Gump up when he was upset and it was refreshing to see friends in a BL series do that.
However, the end of the film was sweet of course, but I don't understand why Gump woke up on that tree?

Acting: The acting overall was pretty good. Again, it is a lowbudget series and I'm not actually sure what company produced it, but there were sometimes when the acting was a little cringe due to the inexperience of some the actors (I think>>), but for the most part the actors did their jobs really well!

Music: The sound effects and foley could be weirdly off at times, but the music that was used, especially during the more adorable parts of the movie, was perfect.

All in all, I wanted to write a review for this film because I really want more people to watch it, it's what the movie deserves!!! Everything about it just makes me smile!


Also, this has nothing to do with the movie really, but that giant tree that Gump woke up on was absolutely beautiful

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sirencall
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 21, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
I loved the story of Nai and Gump and their friends. However, I felt a lot of their story was a bit rushed and I can understand, since it's a movie and not a series. There is a sequel and the only thing so far that I don't like is that the actor that plays Gump isn't the same actor in this movie, just be warned.
The story made it seem like Gump was only Nai's tutor, until he gets into a fight, and then magically Nai starts to like Gump. I only wish they made the movie longer and had more moments with Gump and Nai.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kawaiikawaiianimegirl
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 25, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10

This movie is Goals

This is such a happy feel good movie! It is BL but that isn't even the star of the show no the star of the show is the friendship between these boy. Like 99% of this movie is them trying to figure out what's up with there friend and being 100% supportive while totally being realistic teenage boys in there ineractions. The characters in this movie are so good. The story is sweet and makes you happy and jealous of these wonderful young dudes and the friendship they have theough out. I have watched and rewatched tis movie a half dozen times at least if I need a smile this movie does it for me:) would fully recommend.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AthenaTheStorierX
1 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

A coming-of-age story that's more adorable than outdated

This is an adorable coming-of-age BL, with a strong focus on friendship and acceptance. It's a great movie for queer youth who are going through similar struggles of just wanting to be who they are and love who they love - or even adults reflecting on that time in their lives. The majority of the comedy is really cute and innocent, without being cringy or facepalm-inducing. It had me smiling widely on more than one occasion.

However, this movie is by no means perfect. Some of the elements did not age well at all. Especially those moments centered around Kathoey individuals in the beginning portion of the movie - where they were heavy-handed with stereotypes attempting to be played off as "comedy." Fortunately, these attempts at comedy did not stick around, and one of the main individuals to which this was applied to was given a chance to become a well-developed character by the end of it. I also think that the characters act rather immature for a group of so-called 12th graders.

I am actually extremely happy that I got reunited with this movie. I remember watching this movie on YouTube one night in rather grainy quality, probably close to when it released actually. I have since watched many a Thai BL and was very happy to see a young Mild.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Eduardo Bittencourt
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 18, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10

Good, but a little bit confused

Love's Coming is a good movie, very funny and the cast is very likeble (maybe some Gump's friends are annoying ). We root for the discovery of their love and smile when Gump and Nai are getting closer. Tha blackout scene was one of my favorites, the way Nai looks at Gump is so sweet.

But, not everything is working out in this movie. The beginning is very confused. The storyline in the future takes too long until we start to know how Gump and Nai become friends and how their feeling between them blossom. But it's certainly worth it your time to watch, and rewatch when you have nothing else to do.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ziugae
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 13, 2023
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.5

realistic to a fault

though it is dated, with some rather questionable language, this movie was easy to fall into. all of the boys did a great job and fell into their roles pretty seamlessly. The lack of a significant budget was visible (and audible) but they made it work. And though it likely was not part of the plan, this made it feel like you’re there hanging out with them too.

Overall it was enjoyable, though at the end I wasn’t really sure what was going on. Still, I think this is a good watch if you’re just looking for something to fill a boring night. Found myself laughing at some of their antics, reminded me of my high school days as well with some of the crazy ideas we get as teenagers lol

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Trinicoconut
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 29, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 9.5

Perfect - A must watch

This movie was worth the time I spent watching it. Despite maintaining the innocence of the characters, their development seemed natural. The lack of teen drama in this teen drama was sooooo refreshing, taking me on a ride I didn't know I needed. The cinematography wasn't epic, but it did set the scenes extreme well. The candle light scene being my favourite, and even though there were many moments where I thought they were going to ruin it with a useless sex scene, it never came. Just playful banter between the two male leads and silly antics from the supporting friends, and when I say supporting friends, I mean, SUPPORTING friends. You will know what I mean when the scene comes on, because no matter what happens, they are still friends and even if he has no one else, it is something he can depend on. The progression was well done and I appreciated seeing the characters grow into love, without realising it.

The casts' acting was on point throughout and while their were no major scene for truly top of the line acting to be showcased, the entire cast did very well. Their chemistry lead me to believe that these were a real group of friends. The laughs, the foolery, the concern, the love, ain't nothing better than the wholesome relationships that existed here.

One more thing... They (his friends) shouldn't have been trying so hard to push them together or get him to admit something that he wasn't ready to admit. The wrong thing done for the correct reason is still the wrong thing, but I will give them credit for not pushing to hard.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love's Coming (2014) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.0 (scored by 3,934 users)
  • Ranked: #9141
  • Popularity: #1804
  • Watchers: 8,893

Top Contributors

10 edits
8 edits
7 edits
5 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2826 loves 46
Thai BL Master List
688 titles 1512 loves 11

Recently Watched By