I'm a Cyborg, But That's OK

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.3 (scored by 2,840 users)
  • Ranked: #2268
  • Popularity: #629
  • Watchers: 4,874

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
5 edits
5 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jeaniessi
19 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Do you like Quirky? Do you like Indie films? Do you really like Rain? Because if you do, you'll probably like this movie. This movie is so delightfully strange and weird. As I was watching I think I might have had a "Huh?" expression affixed to my face but now that it's over when I remember certain scenes I start laughing.

Set in a mental institution, this movie doesn't hold back on the crazy. The cast of characters is so delightfully nuts. Don't get me wrong, I don't take insanity lightly. There is always a sad undercurrent to insanity because the reality is the reason behind a person's mental breakdown. Those reasons usually being a horrible event or events from one's past or the unfortunate breakdown of the intricate workings of the mind or a chemical imbalance in the human brain. I have a close connection with someone with Schizophrenia and I can't imagine the struggle, the fight, the torture that goes on inside their own mind.

But this movie isn't really about the reality or the clinical aspect of mental illness. It's about the characters and their point of view of the world, how they cope and survive. Off kilter is an understatement. But at the same time it can be delightful. Especially the fantastical sequences that literally put you in the mind of the characters. You get to see what they think and feel; usually through their particular idiosyncracy. The one thing I took away from this movie was the Will to Survive.

Also I loved the way the two leads came together in their own crazy way. The way they sought out ways to accept each other. They weren't portrayed as stupid. They simply saw the world in a different way than you or I. I loved the way Il Soon protected Young Goon and made an effort to learn how she thought so he could keep her safe. He may have been crazy but so wise within that context. I loved that.

I am recommending this movie but really for those who have a great capacity for whimsy. Who may like a little weird with a side of fantasy and looking to watch something very different.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
notprettywords
16 people found this review helpful
Jan 22, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is a beautiful movie, at first you won't know what's going on, or what is happening but as the story develops you find yourself with your mouth wide open. The only reason I watched it was because of Rain, and his acting was amazing, so sweet, so different, so human and inocent. Su-jeoung really hit me, her acting was incredible and real. Such a beautiful movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WonByungHoon
9 people found this review helpful
Mar 27, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
this was just a weird and captivating movie. just from the beginning you are like wot is going on. every crazy goon has their own weirdness. one walks backwards, one eats alot, one is obsessessed, one steals emotions and one is a cyborg. i mean all this crazys in one spot. i love rain generally but in this show i loved the cyborg most. the two were the best but this girl is talented. i also loved her in a tale of two sisters she's awsome. and to think that shes 32 two years older than rain is incredible. she looks young. rain did a great job being a loon himself he cared for her and wanted to help her eat. the door scene on her back was so creative. the kiss scene gave me chills i had to replay only coz its rain. anyways this movie is weird, crazy and confusing but ul get hooked.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
simplysuju
8 people found this review helpful
Aug 16, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I found this movie really amazing. Each character had their own story, whether it was shown or not. Every actor in it was really into their role, like all of them had experienced something like that before.
I watched this movie think it was going to be a sci-fi movie from the title. I tend not to read much about something and just watch it. I'm actually glad it wasn't. It had a nice psychological feel to it and I would definitely watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Susu
9 people found this review helpful
Apr 28, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
First of all, this movie brought two persons to my mind: Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. (A movie could raise worse associations, I guess.) In this movie, I sensed an atmosphere similar to many movies one or both of them have been involved with. The concept of "normal" is questioned and twisted around. Imagination can fly free and being "weird" is acceptabale - and even adorable!

I think Rain had a really Deppish role in this movie. Il Soon is eccentric, peculiar and sees the world in his own way. He is kind, child-like person carrying deep scars from his past. In addition, he, too, has dark, beautiful eyes and he wears a weird "hat" - count all Depp's roles in which he has worn some extraordinary headgear!

Lim Su Jeong does a superb job in the main role as well. Her Young Goon is indeed a very cyborg-like girl with great expressions. There were some very cute scenes with these two characters and you just have to love them both. If you know the American movie "Benny & Joon", here you have Korean Sam and Joon.

I really liked this movie a lot. I have to admit that I didn't like it as much when I watched it the first time. I thought the beginning was a bit slow and it took me some time before I realized where the movie was heading for. I had also some difficulties to follow the plot from the subs and I think I missed something because I can't understand Korean. When I rewatched this movie I understood a lot more from the start and noticed new little details that were part of the big picture.

However, I couldn't fully love this movie because I couldn't help but to reflect on the reality behind the film - how mentally ill people have been - and are - treated. How "normal" people judge others as mentally ill and close them to institutions, out of sight. This wasn't the main issue in the film, though it was touched upon. I think there would have been the potential for more.

The soundtrack was excellent. The music was in an important role creating the movie's atmosphere. In some scenes the music was in a strong contrast with the action on the screen and thus made the viewer to view the scene in a different ligth.

If you want that everything is logical and reasonable and you don't like fantasy elements, don't watch this movie. If you like movies with a little twist on the weird side, movies that are about people who don't see the world like "the normal people" do, you might really like this movie.

P.S. If you don't get the ending of the movie first, don't worry; I didn't get it either. I missed the crucial point but fortunately I found the explanation in some comment and then everything made much more sense. Just watch the last 10 minutes or so carefully. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Missloomz
8 people found this review helpful
Jun 9, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
the reason why i've seen this movie is because of my little sister , she was randomly clicken until i found my self watching it ,,, i dont know why peaple dont know about this movie its sooo great , its just the best Kmovie i watched ,, i saw this movie 5 times , its saved in my laptop & my hardrive ,,there is no reason you'd hate this .. belive just give it try and ya'll never regret n_n
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Melwill28
6 people found this review helpful
May 6, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I rly loved this movie. It's like seeing crazy from a crazy person's perspective. It was great. I thought that it was acted rly well. The fact that Rain's character steals things was cool, b/c u figure out that he doesn't steal just items. I rly think that korean writers have studied psychology & that is y they r so good at showing things from such amazing perspectives. I suggest that u don't pass this 1 up b/c it has more to it than just crazy ppl in a mental hospital. It has a rly human connection. I enjoyed it & think others will too.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Wrennnns
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 10, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
So I have watched this movie 3 times, and i still don't know how I feel about it. I want to like it, I want to see the humour and be able to laugh at the silly things they do... but its hard.

What I like: I like the way the movie portrays love, it shows that everyone can love, and it isn't restricted to certain people. We definitely need more films/dramas looking at different ways to love.

What bothers me: I am sure people realise that this is not a very realistic portrayal of Psychosis/Schizophrenia/Psychiatric Hospitall. It bothers me in a similar way that many movies show love in one light. However, I can handle that, what I don't like is making everyone that has illness seem like full on crazy weirdos. I understand that Psychology in Korea is quite taboo and there are a lot of stereotypes all over the world but there isn't any need to create a film to back up the stereotypical 'Schitz'

It was a cute and refreshing love story, but it portrays this unrealistic vision of mental illness that is simply not true. This deludes the perception of people who don't understand as much about the conditions.

I wonder if this movie had been about two incredibly unsociable people who fall in love, would I like it more and would it be more popular? If it was set in a dormitory instead of on a ward at a Psychiatric Hospital and the characters were all students finding out about life and love and freedom. Hmm...
Thanks for reading~

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jo-hannah
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 12, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Ok, the moment I finished this movie I immediately felt the need to write about it, so here it goes...

Guys, before watching this movie you should know something: This is NOT a realistic movie, it has a little bit of fantasy, a little bit of crazyness and if weird is not exactly your favorite word, then DON'T watch this movie, because you'll feel so lost and bored and won't find the sense of this wonderful film. This movie is not for everyone, just sayin'

why is this movie worth watching?

1st reason: You will be delighted with many crazy and awesome characters, the movie is able to immerse the viewers into the worlds of the patients of this mental institution, you'll see from the perspective of many of them and you'll understand the way they see the world and understand what's relevant for them and what makes them move on in life...

Each character is a world and a wonderful one, each character has a story to tell and everyone of them are relevant for this story, writers managed to make us love them and make us want to know more about their lives.

So you'll have many stories and characters to follow while watching the film, not just the main couple.

2nd reason: The love story is totally beautiful, it's crazy imagine how a love story between these two weird people could be possible but this relationship has everything you need in a normal-sane relationship but adapted to the enviroment they are in.
There's understanding, love, acceptance, bonding, protection, caring omg! so many things that makes you believe and love their love story so much ^_^

3rd reason: I don't know about you guys, but I always had an enormous smile on my face while watching this film, I truly enjoyed every single detail about this film, I never got bored and well, that's a really important reason hehe ^_^

Enjoy this film!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Go-To-The-Extreme
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 28, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
You will get lost with the characters in this movie. They live in their own world: fiction, they perform experiments and do things that only makes sense to them. I liked this aspect of the movie. Bi Rain and Lim Su were great!

Park Il Soon's story is my favorite. I liked how he feared he would "vanish into a dot."
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Palani
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 7, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The slight narrative, about human love being superior to a fallible machine run world without love, is able to deliver many moments that are tender and humorous, some flights-of-fancy that are beautifully photographed, and showoff throughout the filmmaker's great technical skills and inventive originality in storytelling. Chan-wook Park's style seems to lend itself well to violent action films, so it is nice to see him try something a little more tender and accomplish at it. That's not to say there isn't any action or violence but it is done with the right tone, context and with lots of humour. I absolutely loved it from start to finish, it's original, colourful and completely nuts (well, it does take place in a mental institution). I loved the ending too. You'd be 'nuts' to miss it! Just look at the pretty colours.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Clawcha
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Oh wow, this movie....tHIS MOviE!Lemme tell you guys. The reviews on this movie were ok so im thinking "looks 'funny and interesting'. Lemme watch! :D" bIG mistake!!!!! I am sitting there the WHOLE time trying to find some sense in the movie...NOTHING. I really did waste my time. THANK GOODNESS it was 4 oclock in the morning cuz i woulda been upset. The ending was cute but not cute enough. The only reason I rated the acting/cast a 10 was because the actors seemed ACTUALLY CRAZY. I seriously could not, would not, and will not ever again. Go ahead and watch it Jessica but you will regret it!!!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?