The Big Boss

Details

  • Drama: The Big Boss
  • Country: China
  • Episodes: 18
  • Aired On: Friday
  • Network: QQLive
  • Duration: 36 min.
  • Genres: Comedy, School, Youth
  • Tags: High School
  • Rating: 12+ - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 454 users)
  • Ranked: #1124
  • Popularity: #1560
  • Members: 1,540
Write a Review
slayna_hanii
11 people found this review helpful
Oct 9, 2017
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I enjoyed “The Big Boss“ fully. I was on YouTube and found it by chance and i was soo happy. Let‘s begin the Review: (And I‘m sorry, if there are any grammer or vocab mistakes... english is not my first language)

I liked the story, it was very entertaining...wait „like“ is a understatement...I LOVED IT. I loved the chemistry between the chracters. I loved it, how they could solve any problem and got new friends. Let‘s talk about my „they“ in the last sentence. The whole cast was amazing. Ye MuXi, the female lead, monitor of the class, my favourite chinese female actor and a very cheerful and joyful (i think both adjektive mean the same but who cares?). And then there is Liao Dan Yi, the male lead, intelligent guy and the opposite of Ye MuXi. And then there is the whole squad, where everyone of them is uniq.

There is just one point in this show, which I didn‘t understand and like. Whenever there was a singing scene, the singing got dubbed. I was a bit stupid, but can live with it.

In summary, I really enjoyed it and recomend it to all who want to watch a comedy school-life drama with fantasy and much much more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
fleeho
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 10, 2017
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Cute to the CORE . Don't believe me? watch it for yourself !!!  ;)

p.s don't expect lovey dovey scenes to be abundant in this after all the age group is ... :[

BUT!!!! if u like comedy and cute yet sudden plot twists this is it u found it !and if u like fantasy suff this is the one !

    >>> Oh   my   ...    they     said     it     must     be     500     characters     in    length   so     if     u    don't     mind    me    i    have    to     fill    up    this    gap     right     here    XD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Snails
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2017
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
A really awesome movie. Some parts may seem boring but really worth watching. The main characters are so cute <3 If u are thinking of watching this TV series pls do it's really interesting and cute and it teaches you life lessons in some episodes and sorry if I keep saying its cute cause I just watch the whole series 4 hours ago and can't get enough of this and it's also really worth watching, you can even watch it on YouTube some times with English subtitles too!!  the plot is REALLY REALLY REALLY AWESOME
Was this review helpful to you?
Amy
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
The Big Boss will make you laugh, that's guaranteed. It's a light-hearted comedic story about the relationship of two childhood acquaintances.  Mu Xi and Dan Yi don't really show the right off the bat romance or crushing, which is what makes this drama so refreshing. The first season, did have it's parts that didn't really feel like it pertained to the plot; so in my opinion, some fillers for the story. I do like how Dan Yi and Mu Xi are constantly finding themselves in situations where there's more that meets the eye between the two. It's highly funny to watch throughout and keeps it's plot stable over the course of 18 episodes. (NOTE: The second season is another whopping 18 episodes, so 36 in total.) I do believe that the focus shifted between the little side stories of the drama and the main story between Mu Xi and Dan Yi, but the interconnection between it all is what makes the drama memorable for me. If you're looking for a good laugh while enjoying a unique relationship between the main actors, The Big Boss is the drama for you. It's not too serious but not too focused on laughs that makes it an enjoyable watch, one worth sitting / laying down for long periods of time. Innocent, sweet, and absolutely a danger to your air supply from laughing so hard. The Big Boss is a big catch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rushvi
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
Honestly, i skipped through season 2 of this show and watched the main parts of S1. I watched season 1 thinking that there would be blooming romance but then i realised that there were nearly no romantic scenes, (even if this show has the romantic tag). Then i watch S2 as people said there is a bit more romance, even though you can feel the story develop a bit more, there is hardly any story until the last couple of episodes (mainly last 2). I find the cast great, story like funny but i wanted a bit more chemistry. There are too many extra episodes... Take the warning in S1E1 seriously!!!  I hope that in S3 the couple finally dates or at least has a flirty relatioship (like getting jealous). Anyways, this is a good drama for comedy and friendship but I wouldn't suggest it if you like romance (even though the cast has great visuals and together would make a great romantic drama :(   ) The acting and all is also fine, not top class as this isn't a serious/high production show but it matches the theme.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ahe
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2017
Overall 8.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
I was looking for a cute school romance-comedy and this fit pretty well,
although it doesn't have many romantic scenes, the comedy and the few romantic scenes there are really make this series.

I love the emphasis on the importance of friendship and the strong bond between the lead characters, the development makes me feel like I know them personally. The leads have such a diverse range of personalities which makes the show much more interesting.

However I must mention the fact that it's a little jumpy, especially when we travel into the protagonist's own universe and imagination. I did. in fact, skip several of these scenes where it goes outside of the classroom as it felt unimportant and as if I was just watching fillers. However the small individual stories between each character and how they got to know each other in their class really made up for it. To a degree I feel this drama was quite relatable as I could see myself in a similar situation.

Overall I would recommend this drama as it was adorable and pretty funny, on the other hand bear in mind that I skipped a lot of the side stories which turned out to not be important but I feel I would have gotten bored if I continued watching them. Season 2 was filled with a lot more romance, especially towards the end (omg my heart, so cute) but you would need to watch season one because the underlying romance theme is carried through from the beginning to the end. I thoroughly enjoyed the series and I hope there's a season 3 in the near future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
clandestine00
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 4, 2017
Overall 7.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This was a cute, easy to watch school drama. It was a breeze to sit through it because it doesn't have much angst and each episode is about 30 mins long. Having said that, this isn't meant for viewers who are looking for more mature and intelligent dramas. It is honestly quite childish at some parts where there are sudden changes in the story setting? Like the main character would imagine herself as an emperor and she has weird characters as her life advisers whenever she encounters a problem.

One main complain I have about this that I was looking for more romance but it was kind of absent throughout the whole drama? If you are looking for a rom-com to watch then this isn't it. the acting and cast was pretty okay. There are many cute actors. XD The music wasn't really memorable except for the opening song? The rewatch value is really low because there was honestly not much plot to begin with and there isn't enough cute scenes to make me want to rewatch the drama. Hence, I would recommend this drama to people who are looking for a light-hearted drama to kill time with.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Panda_San
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 11, 2017
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 4.5
Overall : 7

So this is a school comedy genre am not sure about the romance part ! the plot & the comedy is acceptable ,

I'm not fond with imagination parts of Ye Mu Xi its reminds me of " Scrubs " & the editing effects its like what you see in the anime , if you guys saw the Japanese drama version of Ouran Highschool Host Club you'll get what I mean :/  so for me I don't like drama with this kind of filming ...

The male lead have the look of an Idol he's really handsome <3 I think the schoolmates characters were interesting , am not a huge fan of Ye Mu Xi character but she was funny .

For the ones who enjoyed this drama , I heard that there will be a 2nd season ...

Anyway , this the type of drama that i'll watch if I've nothing else to see ! it pass time there a lot of people loved it , but its not my type .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?