Us and Them

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.5 (scored by 613 users)
  • Ranked: #249
  • Popularity: #2209
  • Watchers: 1,253

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

22 edits
3 edits
2 edits
1 edit
Completed
Chiharu-chan
10 people found this review helpful
Jun 22, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
****Contains a few Spoilers***
Let me just start off by saying this, It made me cry like a baby but I think I would watch it again. It totally gave me 'One Day' movie feels. the one with Anne Hathaway. The storyline was a bit predictable (kinda figured out what was going to happen at the end of the movie) but still beautiful to watch. The cute start, the getting together, and the bittersweet end. I don't think I have ever seen a movie that honestly gives us a pretty accurate description of a relationship like this. The whole, "just because you love each other doesn't mean you're meant to be". you can love someone to bits but sometimes it just doesn't work out. And they did it in a realistic way, there was no childish dramatics. it was honest, real problems that couples go through. God, it killed my feels. The actors played their part so well, I fell in love with them. She was so cute and he was so in love with her. The both matured and grew throughout the film. The whole relationship was so cute and the ending was done perfectly even though it hurt to watch. The music was so good. It wasn't like songs but rather piano to fit the mood. I like it. There are two theme songs for the movie that they played at the end. If you're in for a film that is cute but sad, watch this. I loved it despite crying over it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rigby
7 people found this review helpful
Jun 30, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
***May contain spoilers***

I love this movie, cute, lovely, bittersweet, relatable, all rolled into one. I love movies that talks about the reality of loving someone and yet having a dreams and this two conflicts each other and that you have to choose one and regretting at the end. I love the two leads, the acting sre excellent. You can see the transitions as they grow and mature. What makes this a beautiful, is that how the storytelling is just honestly being told. I cried, it is sad, it's painful. God, I feel them, the love in the family is so real!

We really need to constantly remind ourselves that we need to express and demonstrate our love and care to the people we love. This movie just provided a realization that we need to express our love no matter how. The additional scenes of real people saying all kinds of emotions that they cannot tell to their loved ones or lost love, I am just having goosebumps.

Great movie to watch. Soundtracks is excellent especially at the end. Highly recommended.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Alila Nguyen
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 25, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
The story is very lovely, the acting is superb and while the music is not that memorable (to my taste), it serves its purpose.

The story’s tone is that of a sad one, one could argue it’s a bittersweet. And the most moving part of the story is actually of the main male lead’s father. His letter at the end makes this a good story, otherwise, I would down right dislike this story.

What I don’t like about this story is the main male lead claimed he would give her stars from the sky, and pearls from the deep ocean. Yet... he gave up on her almost immediately and got married and have kid? They didn’t break up for longer than 2 yrs, with 1 yr he tried to apologise to her. There was part where he claimed “he doesn’t have the right to be in pain”, and at the end of it, I’m not sure he gets why she left him.

Maybe I sympathise with the female lead so much more that I couldn’t stand the male lead, and that’s why while I enjoyed the movie, think the plot was decent, however the tone was depressing, and the guy literally had no redeeming quality, I couldn’t rewatch it ever, hence the low rewatch value score.

I do get that this story is about the biggest regret in your life, but the dude goes on living in fancy house, a beautiful wife and kid, while she’s alone and all sad, reminiscing about their past love is just uh... not right. I just don’t feel he’s that remorseful? It’s almost turn out to be her biggest regret was to dump him??? Like it’s not, but it felt like it is with how it ends. And some of the messages at the end felt more like gloating than trying to tell the (past) greatest love of your life that you are ok and living well, if it wasn’t for the music, I would think very differently. So here is why I think the music serves its purpose.

Do I recommend this? Well not exactly, while it’s beautiful in many ways, it’s frustrated in many ways, and it’s 2hours long, at 90mins, I was like is this gonna end? But it’s not a bad watch either, so if you want to watch a movie about two young lovebirds struggle and didn’t make it, then be my guest.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Dar
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 4, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
[NO SPOILERS] This movie is a real gem. Each scene is so well written, directed and acted, it seems like real life, but still stylized. There's little bits of unexpected business that just ads to the enjoyment of the film: a little giggle here, and turn of a phrase there, a certain look, etc. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen. It reminded me in the tone and pacing of "Unstrung Heroes", another heart-string pulling film directed by an famous actress. Once you get to the end of "Us and Them" you are rewarded with such a bittersweet experience, you'll just sit transfixed for a while. It's that good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JimmyChooLove
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 27, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I stumbled upon this movie and it was such a treat to watch. Granted, I had no expectations but it turned out to be better acted and better executed than I anticipated. It is about two people who start out as friends and end up in much more complicated relationship. The leads have great chemistry and there’s some very well executed pieces around the framing of the story, importance of family, and the struggle of trying to make it in the big city. I ended the movie feeling sad but also grateful that I found it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kylie
1 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

"We have everything in the end." "Just not each other."

This is like the saddest romantic film I've ever seen. I was quite wondering at first why the past was colored and the present was b&w, until it all made sense. Ian and Kelly were the characters in Jian Qing's video game, Ian loved Kelly and the point of the game was to find her. Jian Qing once answered that if Ian wouldn't meet Kelly in the end, it would be colorless.

Jian Qing and Xiao Xiao had the best start, making me, a watcher fall in love with them too. They were so inlove with each other, and they were so happy. The world they built was full of happiness and love, but it needed more than just the two. The foundation they started was weak enough, that when reality starts hitting it slowly crumbled. They built fort but they never made it home. I also wondered when did it started to go wrong. Is it when Jian Qing began to become distant? Is it when they moved houses? Is it when Xiao Xiao gave up and turned her back?

Or maybe is it from the start? Instead of lending puzzle pieces to complete each other, they happen to miss the same puzzle piece that none of them can be completed.

For me, I think, they were both Ian from the video game, and Kelly was their selves. The past was colored because they were themselves from finding love from each other and the present were dark because when they lost each other, they found themselves lost. And when they met again, it was b&w, because they can't find their self due to questioned pasts. They tried answering the left "why"s from their past, and had the closure and the proper goodbye. In the end, it started to have colors. Jian Qing and Xiao xiao weren't each other's destination, they were just each other's stop over. They weren't meant to complete each other, but just an instrument to help each other grow.

The whole movie was a bittersweet one. It was painful, it was sad but it was real. Some people are meant to fall in love with each other but not meant to be together, and some are meant to be together but not meant forever. The "what if"s where so painful, but still comes down to being pointless. What's the use of what if, when you can't turn back time?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
exotic
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I watched this movie and got the exact vibe and storyline that I was expecting from it. The actors portrayed such beautiful and touching emotion throughout the movie I was so moved. The movie highlighted the themes of future (success) and values (family and love). The message the movie sends is beautiful and so relevant and relatable to today's world. This movie was painful to watch at some scenes and it really hurt my heart for it was super heart wrenching. However, although it was obvious how things would end, it is definitely worth watching . I have not cried so much over a movie for quite a while. I am very moved. I highly recommend this movie it is one of the best :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
gunther
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 17, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
Overall good movie...as an american male i love the asian dramas as they are very different from what we get. some are very simplistic but that is what i love...not that this movie was simplistic, but many of the same themes are here that you find in the asian dramas. the one found in all dramas is the words not said, the feeling not expressed. unfortunately in this one, it costs the two leads their lives together. maybe it is not as simple as that, but i do like some of the light hearted dramas as well that takes 30 episodes of not expressing one's feeling, then doing so at the end.
it is good this one did not do that as the missed life together is the point.
my favorite scene was the one in the car . i thought there was so much emotion, it really was the best scene.
the other thing i loved was the scenery. the snowy roads and byways were gorgeous. shots on the train...i thought the whole movie was beautifully mad
another great asian movie....i love that i was able to find all these gems on netflix...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?