Completed
KainGuru
26 people found this review helpful
Aug 14, 2019
Completed 2
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
STORY: Bum-soo is an aspiring and struggling musician who becomes really close with his biggest fan, Hyun-woo. A friendship develops and eventually more.

ACTING/CAST: All of the actors did a great job. It was nice that the actors had good voices and could play an instrument without needing a hand double.

MUSIC: By far the best part of this production. The song, "As If You Whisper," is great. I really like the simplicity of the lyrics.

REWATCH VALUE: I will watch it again. The visuals showing off the beauty of Korea and the nice music makes it worth it.

Overall: Would have been nice for more focus on the "romance" part of the plot . The ending was happy!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sydney
35 people found this review helpful
Jun 10, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I really loved this. After obsessing endlessly lover Where Your Eyes Linger, I really wanted some more queer Korean dramas/films to watch. This definitely satisfied the craving (though now I'm going to fall down a Strongberry hole because they have so many other queer films that look well-done.

As If You Whisper tells the story of Bom Soo, an aspiring singer that is stuck doing vocal guides despite his talents as a musician. Then he meets Hyun Woo, a man that's been watching him for awhile. Though the story doesn't focus solely on the romance, I think the happy ending combined with Bom Soo's self realizations is such a wholesome completion. It'd be easy to make this a sad ending, but they didn't.

The music is also great, and the actor worked hard to record it himself. All together it's just a really solid, inspiring production.

I bought this on Vimeo for $6.99USD and I really recommend you do the same if you can. Please try to avoid watching this on YouTube. It's a small production company specializing in queer Korean films (which is a country already lacking in high-quality LGBTQ content). I really think they deserve the support so that they can make more amazing films and dramas like this one. I'm so glad I watched it, and I'll definitely rewatch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
estar
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 1.5
Story 1.5
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
the initial idea was good, but after watching, feels more like a miss then a hit. (if i'm not wrong, this among the longer movies that STRONGBERRY has produced and yet it feels unfinished. while the shorter ones, weren't as plot-holey for want of a better word).

did Mrs. Kim know Bum Soo was gay? was that why she contracted Hyun Woo to fan-boy over him? not a female?!? and if that was meant to be some kind of weird motivation tactic, WTF she treat him like garbage? Hyun Woo was the good cop, while she was the bad?!?
1. there's no logic in spending money on a guy that u don't believe in.
2. not to mention, ur distracting him with another guy and then getting mad, he got distracted?!?
3. why invest so much on someone, u don't even have a contract with?!? and if all this wasn't enough, get Hyun Woo was desperate for money (why idk). but he took on a job that became more then a job, then he developed genuine feelings - ok - fine - understandable. but Why not come clean? Why hang out in the same place where u might encounter the person that hired u in the 1st place, that might get u caught and then(!) WHY run, and ghost someone u care for???
but the biggest WTF to date, is Bum Soo giving up everything for a guy that ghosted him with no explanation and they end up together - what i miss - why there no continuity from one scene to the next - no logic - yeah i can guess. but there things u leave to the audience's imagination and then there r times it feels like a copout - so yeah this a miss IMHO

this plot wasn't that complex and yet somehow the end product is complicated - or a mess. pity

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ashile Sun is my man
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 27, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

The story is so pure and beautiful

I don't know why this is so underrated, but out of the countless of BLs I've watched, this has become my favorite. It was so beautiful, a wholesome breath of fresh air. I won't be able to move on from this for a while and I'll watch it again and again when I wanna wash my heart with some holy goodness (idk what I'm talking about at this point but heheh)

Also I loved how not only did they show their love through their eyes, language, and actions but they used all the body language that is indicative of attraction. (Ex: copying the body language of the person you're attracted to, pointing feet/legs towards the person you like, etc)

This has to be one of the purest love stories I've ever seen. Period.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OneEpAtATime
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 11, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 3.0

Singing wasn't as great as it should have been

I am a musical person, and love music. This is about a busker and someone signed to a music label, and singers aren't always perfect. The beginning scene started with the main character busking, but it bothered me that his voice cracked. I mean, the first scene should set the stage for the rest of the film. Then there was another recording of a song he recorded, but it was completely off-key. I don't know why, because he was good at singing in other scenes and was on-key. But that one recording (which showed up more than once in the film) was honestly embarrassing to listen to. I think that ruined it for me the most, which is unfortunate because the film was otherwise cute and had a little plot.

I did enjoy the film for its portrayal of budding romance. As I said, it was cute and fluffy at times, which made me happy, especially when a lot of Korean LGBTQ movies are sad or dark.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Erika
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0

cute mlm story

I liked it. It was fluffy. It did not have much plot, well it did it just had too many plot holes. It was very cute and fluffy. I liked the first leads voice. When I was done watching As If You Whisper, I had more questions than answers. I feel like if it was a longer film, strongberry could have filled the plot holes better. I still think it was cute. AND Strongberry has great queer stories. I feel like the actors had a lot of chemistry-especially in the cute scene on the side of the road. I love Strongberry because they don't fetishize queer people. Overall it made me happy, but a little confused.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pecbounce
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Another great production from Strongberry

The music is very beautiful. I would definitely buy the single. The story is a simple one: a musician and his fan falls in love and the musician rejects a contract because he doesn't want to be closeted. This touches on the homophobia in the entertainment industry. I don't think the twist about Hyun Woo is necessary because they didn't even clarify the aftermath (if there is even one) between him and Bum Soo. The actors are cute. They hold hands in public. Happy ending. Great job.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kdrama fanatic
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 4, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This was a good BL, with a cute story, and a quick 45 minute watch. It was mostly music with a bit of story attached. I thought the actors were excellent. Really not much of a plot, but well written. Basic story is a singer who wants to succeed, a man he met in the process, and they fell in love. A little more to it than that, but not much. I am satisfied with the ending, which I can’t say with some BL’S and dramas in general. I don’t think I would watch it again, once was enough. I maybe would have liked a little more romance between the two main characters. All in all, I liked it, and would suggest watching it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
As if You Whisper (2019) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.3 (scored by 2,029 users)
  • Ranked: #7775
  • Popularity: #2253
  • Watchers: 6,783

Top Contributors

16 edits
11 edits
5 edits
5 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
652 titles 2828 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
227 titles 1004 loves 6

Recently Watched By