Completed
ChineseDramaFan
24 people found this review helpful
Jul 3, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 5
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5

Li Hong Yi is Super Hot

This is another one of those isekai time travel stories. It’s tropey and I wasn’t very impressed with the beginning of episode 1 when a girl bumps into a boy and rips his suit at his important occasion. However, as the story progresses, I was absorbed into the story by the narcissist Jiao Yang (Li Hong Yi) character who is a wealthy spoilt brat and scared of responsibilities. Though the character of Jiao Yang is cliché, his look is hilarious and eccentric.

To return to her own universe, Lin Miao (Kira Shi) must help Jiao Yang become the CEO of his father’s company. Though trying to avoid responsibilities, Jiao Yang also tries to prove himself, especially to his father who is almost tired of scolding him (Jiao Yang) in front of his staff. In contrast with Jiao Yang’s immaturity, Lin Miao is mature and capable, and very soon Jiao Yang falls in love with her and is inseparable from her.

Jiao Yang’s journey to the CEO seat is arduous, having challenges thrown at him at all times from all directions. Each time he takes up the challenge and faces it head on with Lin Miao by his side. Their moments together are filled with sweetness and silliness, and it is this sweet romance that has made this drama the highlight of my days.

There is not much of a plot here. Whatever insignificant plot there maybe has not been developed well. Plot holes are everywhere and illogical. I stuck on with this drama because of the romance which I really like. Initially Li Hong Yi’s hair style baffles me, but then I grow to like it for its wuxia appeal. Li Hong Yi has the charisma and look of a guy who is always being misunderstood by others and yet he adopts a I-don’t-give-a-damn attitude. Having said that, he’s desperate in proving himself to his father and to Lin Miao. Li Hong Yi’s performance is very convincing here.

Kira Shi has a mature look. As Lin Miao (current self), she’s perfect but as Lin Wei Jun (younger self), she’s overstretched a bit. I can’t say I like her as Lin Wei Jun (really hard to watch when she tries to act cute). The co-existence of Lin Miao and Lin Wei Jun is mind boggling and is not properly reconciled at the end. Therefore, despite being a time travel story, there are 2 people of the same person. This is a glaring intentional plot hole that doesn’t make any logical sense, and is very quickly swept under the carpet. The ending is sloppy. It feels like lazy writing to me. They just want to pack up and go home. What a pity. This could have been a very nice drama.

Overall, this drama is unexpectedly quite a fun watch despite the shoddy ending. I love the dynamics of the female and male leads which are perhaps the only thing that have kept me going.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Xiyue
22 people found this review helpful
Jun 22, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
This time travel/parallel universe drama started badly, the FL lead's character seems annoyingly distracting at first. I would have dropped it at episode 1 but I'm a fan of Li Hongyi so I continued to watch it.

I found that was not the case later on. The FL was sensible, smart, patient and cute in interacting with the ML. I normally don't like older women-younger men relationship stories but I find their interactions to be amazing and funny until I was rooting for the FL and ML .

Less points for the ending. Though it's a happy one, a lot of details seemed overlooked...


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Diana B
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 4, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Beautiful love story

Despite the initial suspicion of this drama, because I’m not exactly a fan of modern dramas, it won me over from the first episode. I don’t mind the age difference between the actors. Chemistry and acting are important to me, and both are good here. I watched until the last episode in the RAW version, although I understand very little Chinese. Emotions are so well portrayed that I was able to fully indulge in their feelings ...love, tenderness, loyalty between the main characters ... everything is so well portrayed. I never cry watching movies and dramas, but here I could barely hold back my tears. The only complaint is that the ending is vague and unclear. End of drama could have been better, I'm not very happy with this. Maybe a second season will follow, I hope so.
This drama is really worth watching.
It's not a spoiler. I will just say that this is not a common, repeatedly presented topic about a successful, cold and arrogant businessman and some inexperienced young girl als his employee, but it is just the opposite and that is why it is interesting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
K.K.R Ramprasad
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 18, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

it was good?

look at the first couple of episode the FL will look clumsy but as you continue to watch that isn't the case because the FL is totally cool she is the type that's like always make a mistake she is the type of FL that's a hard worker and get her work done not like most FL that always do their job clumsily. Don't get me wrong because some FL in drama always create a mess and somehow the ML fix it for them but not this drama the FL is a flawless hard worker that's better than the ML which is epic. I seriously like the FL in this drama she ain't no man crazy for te ML until like almost closing into the ending of the drama well they only time you see the FL boy crazy was when she was her past self that was crazy for
Su Cheng Yun [ Jiao Yang's half brother and Wei Jun's Boyfriend](Yang Ze) and for a moment I taught that the character would be like her past self and go after her ex but na she didn't she literally throw water on her past self to wake her up from her lovesickness for her ex which was by far one of the greatest scenes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sanika Bhogle
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 17, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

love the acting of the ML li hong yi!!!

this drama was quite good...
at first i was gonna ditch the drama because i dont really like fantasy dramas!! but im a huge fan of the ML thats what kept me going...
there was good chemistry between the male lead and female lead..
the only thing i didnt understand was the ending...
it showed that lin wei jun (jr lin miao) was going to be together with her boss of her previous company that she just resigned from..so technically it means that in future..lin miao will be with the boss of the lawyer company..because the person lin wei jun choses he will be in her future...
and then after few month its shown that lin miao comes back to the past!! so what does it mean??
there is no lin miao in the future?? how did she come back??none of this is shown in the end...it is shown that she is a writter who wrote a book called parallel love...which means she came back to her past forever!!
but im happy that at the end lin miao and jiao yang could be together....
the only thing if i would like to change about this dramas..i would prefer that it is shown that jiao yang cannot live without lin miao and lin wei jun falls in love with jiao yang...soo that when lin miao goes back to the future..she would see jiao yang beside her..because he was with lin wei jun...i would have prefered jiao yang being with lin miao in the future than lin miao coming back to the past..
this drama gives a really strong message that star crossed lovers or destined lovers cannot be seperated no matter what!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
doramama
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 13, 2022
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Long story short - FL travels 10 years ago and met ML, that's when she realise she needs to help ML become the CEO of his family business in order to go back to her current world. It is a decent romance-comedy with time travel elements in it.

Here are my thoughts on the good and bad for you to judge:

THE GOOD

(1) FL and ML banter and all are pretty interesting and funny to watch
(2) Love ML's character, he is narcissistic yet very soft at heart
(3) Li Hong Yi is very hot
(4) 2nd FL Zhao Yan turns out to be one of my favourite in the show
(5) Doesn't drag too much and is pretty straightforward

THE BAD

(1) A lot of plot holes especially on the time travel part. No elaboration on how she travel back and how FL meets her young self and she is not shocked or anything... and also a lot more
(2) Sloppy and abrupt ending. It's just bad.
(3) Weak chemistry between the leads (FL does look a lot older than ML but acting wise is considered ok)
(4) The business plot is bland and boring

Overall, I would say this is worth to watch if (1) you have extra time and want to watch a ok show without effort (2) you want to look at Li Hong Yi. Otherwise it's pretty meh & I wouldn't rewatch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Komentator isenk
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 25, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Too many plot holes

Have you ever imagine meet urself 10 years ago? What will you feel seeing how naive or stupid urself in the past...? Or have u ever imagine meet urself 10 years from now? Will (s)he will be our idol/ur dream person or become the one u want to avoid....?

For me this drama is one of the most confuse plot. From first until the end never really reveal the real reason for Lin Miao (LM) to go back to the past. Just a little bit of connection but make no sense to pick LM to go back to past. And why LM have to help Jiao Yang (JY) to become president is also never been explained.

Yeah the romance is there & the development of the romance is quite good. LM herself is one of the toughest female lead in the drama. Cheesy romance is unnecessary for this woman. But the relationship between JY & LM is quite sweet in someway, especially how they support each other.

What i like from this drama especially is Zhao Yan (ZY). She is not a stupid girl who will do anything in the name of love. She is a lovely girl who know how to let go. Even though she quite stubborn at first & how she let go is quite stupid. But she still let it go without fuss.

The plot hole that i notice or iritate me:
- Su Cheng Yun (CY) as the antagonist is quite weird in someway. The reason he did all what he did is a little bit push if i must say. Maybe because the writter didn't give us the past about CY. Suddenly they just tell us that CY is evil due to his mother action that he think is unfair to him. But what is the unfair action never really reveal. Just because his mother leave him...? I don't think so. They also never really tell us about how good or bad relationship between CY & JY, and why CY must envy JY. Just tell us that they are brother from their mother. Really makes no sense to make this become the plot...
- The 10 years in the future scene is not too clear. No writing 10 years later what so ever. They makes us notice about the time different just because shan shan is pregnant and have child.
- Other couple romance also a little bit push over. Just like they need another couple in the drama.
- The one who betray the company also really confusing. Like why he did what he did never really explained. Is it money..? Or is it other factor...? We never know
- When Lin Wei Jun met LM for the first time she's not surprise to see someone that looked like herself but older...

Overall this drama is not worth to watch. You may watch it if you fans of Li Hong Yi or Kira Shi or other actor in this drama. But if you watch it because of the plot don't waste ur time, pick another drama instead

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nria
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 2, 2021
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

An amazing show

the acting was awesome
the ML and FL always gave me butterflies it was amazing tho the ending was rushed
even the support role were top notch with their acting

facts:-
1) if u don't like business oriented shows this is not meant for you.
2)there is no office romance in it as other dramas have them.
3)if you are searching for ROM-COM this will definitely won't disappoint you
4)even tho this is about a president but this is not typical that cold blooded, frowned story where he is to arrogant its a really enjoyable story
5) ML&FL's acting 10000000/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RomanticRosebud
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 22, 2020
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Fun, charming, great characters, beautiful love story and awesome character development.

This show was an unexpected surprise I never thought I'd like it as much as I did when I first saw the trailer. Though something drew me to it. I'm glad I watched it though I now wish I had watched it later lmao. It's hard to say goodbye to it tbh.

Some people may not want to give this show a chance because of it's big focus on business or the age gap between the protagonists but I'm here to tell you, please do. You won't regret it! Every little story arc is important to the plot and the characters development.

I think this is one of the only recent dramas I've watched where I haven't been annoyed by either the FL or the ML. They're both lovable characters and adorable too. I can't count the times I laughed watching their interactions. Their banter is the best part in the beginning. Watching that turn into a powerful love later is even better!

I love how their love story was handled. it grew from dislike to a strong love where both made sacrifices in order to protect each other. They also grew into better people because they fell in love. Seriously the character development in this drama is awesome. The ML goes from being an immature brat who barely has responsibility for anything to a strong, confident, savvy and hardworking business man. From the little we saw of the future time he makes his father's company a success. The FL goes from a cold, kinda rude, workaholic into a happier, full of life and in love, strong woman. We also see this thru her younger self in 2010. She keeps her independence throughout the drama which is good. Seriously it was a pleasure watching these characters go thru the journey they do.

If I only have one complaint it's the villain. He's definitely a mustache twirling, over the top, cartoon villain. The writers tried to make him more realistic but I think they failed.

The cast was really good and the chemistry between the FL & ML was on point! I also enjoyed that the age gap between them isn't an issue. I think it's only mentioned once and that's it. It's really other factors that pull them apart but even then those problems are resolved quickly. A plus for that.

The OST was definitely addicting I have all the songs stuck in my head, even their little love theme lol.

One of my faves of the year and I'll definitely be rewatching this one again. I already miss it, so rewatch coming soon haha.

Overall 10/10 from me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
V
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 11, 2021
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers

Mix Feelings Watching this Drama

Its the fact that counts here so, i really loved this drama sometimes this drama made me laugh and tear up so no drama has ever been did that to me so thats why i rate this drama a lot. So maybe because im not that emotional imperson its really hard for me to cry because 100% im emotionless but this drama really made me tear up a little and i was really impressed by it. This drama is really different from other dramas cause i really get bored all the time if i dont like the story i wont continue watching it but this isnt boring to me i really loved it and want to watch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
NasaEngene
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2021
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I loved this series so much, although I wish we would have seen more at the ending.
I love the characters, and I hope to get a season 2 <3

The kiss scenes were sweet and short, although I do wish they would been longer, and maybe add a few more of them, since the characters had huge chemistry.

Overall, I would 100% recommend this drama, it's a fun story to follow along with, and the character development is amazing. Watching them fall in love slowly was so peaceful and beautiful <3
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
VeeVee
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 9, 2022
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10

Underrated Gem

This series was in my list for a long time. I was waiting for holidays so I can binge watch it. Let me tell you,this is one of the series that I haven't watched in 2x speed. I REALLY LOVED IT. Now coming to story,it is the typical isekai theme. But the script did an amazing job?This is one of the series we have the "most precious" ML. He went from a brat to a responsible young man. Even tho he was a brat he was a walking green flag(cough cough professionally single).Li Hong Yi,you became one of my fav after this drama. FL in her past was childish and clingy and present FL is so mature!Wow love and breakup can do miracles,right? I love how she tries to teach her her past self that self love is the best love! kudos to that. Her acting sometimes felt awkward...but hey she improves it in later episodes. SFL was also so precious. So do SML. They both thought us,love is not always holding onto that person,it is always being happy that our loved one's enjoying their life! The villain ugh I hate him so much!He is a jerk and can't see what he is gonna miss lol Anyways please do watch it. It's really worth it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Parallel Love (2020) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 2,702 users)
  • Ranked: #3589
  • Popularity: #1941
  • Watchers: 7,798

Top Contributors

52 edits
28 edits
21 edits
21 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Chinese Modern Drama
342 titles 497 loves 1
Noona Romance
508 titles 274 loves 16
Chinese Modern Drama 2020-2021
384 titles 125 loves 1

Recently Watched By