Ongoing 27/27
Johnnypeh41
23 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Ongoing 6
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers

UNEXPECTED DRAMA! DON'T MISSED OUT!

So I'm here reviewing for a web drama which I've never done that previously but I got to be honest here because it's really a great drama to satisfy our guilty pleasure!

Why I say this drama is good because it's story plot touches a lot on areas where mainstream dramas can never air on due to TV regulations. This is what I truly call a female centric story plot because the princess knows when to act "dumb" while waiting for her chance to bring the villain down. She doesn't rely on anyone and knows when to tease the ML and when to be serious. AND not to forget both the main leads' real good looks though the FL is kinda heavy on her makeup but it's fine with me!

But as it is a web drama, the quality of presentation is not as professionally done as compared to the mainstream ones and some of the supporting actors do need improvements on their acting as it is really awkward/unnatural.

Overall, a good drama that you shouldn't missed out on as it is really worth watching~ Definitely a big improvement for story quality in terms of details, line plots, scenery and decent outfits from past web dramas but not yet as professionally produced as mainstream idol dramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
timotey
13 people found this review helpful
Apr 18, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
Short (altogether not even an hour long) and cheaply made for an online platform like TikTok so don't expect a masterpiece. It's not. Because of its shortness and cheapness there isn't much space for character development or any kind of a deep story. But!

But it still pushed all my buttons because I was smitten with the relationship between the princess and her bodyguard. The power dynamic there was so very much up my alley that it made me do a shimmy in my seat!

She's definitely the one in control, both outside the bedroom AND inside it. Yes, they actually do have sex in this drama, a sight pretty much unseen in a Cdrama, I know. And not only that - she's the one in power and he definitely enjoys letting her do whatever she wants. And what a pretty toy he makes. And he suffers so very nicely in the vein of many Cdrama male leads, heh.

So, the story is nothing to write home about but their relationship? Wowza!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kate
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 6, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0

Fanfic like story we all crave in the middle of the night.

I have hardly any thoughts about this show except for the fact that the female lead was amazing and the character deserves a full length drama. Strong, smart, confident - we need it.

The political schemes are complex as a set up and deserve a more in depth exploration too. The delicious angst this could bring if it was longer - I can only imagine.

The fanfic-like romance between confident and domineering female lead and puppy male lead with deadly skills was everything one might ask from a short show like this.

What surprised me the most was quite decent acting for a short, low budget web drama. This could have been a cringe fest and not fun entertainment if delivered with poor acting.

Overall, confident, hot male lead who? I only know Li Yun Zhen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AthenaTheStorierX
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

Perfection (of the Made-For-Social-Media Variety)

I really liked the story of this drama. And this was a perfect micro/made-for-social-media series (which, naturally, when compared to a standard production drama, is riddled with flaws). It was great to see such an intelligent FL pulling on people's perceptions and alliances to help her meet her goals - the exact extent of which viewers did not see until the end.

The main actors, although quite stiff, had some good chemistry together. I hope that we can see more of them as they possibly develop their skills more. They were spotted in an advertisement together, so the possibility is there.

I don't recall anything of note music-wise, but it did fit the drama and the scenes and never broke my immersion. There are a few details and reveals added toward the end that could intrigue viewers into a re-watch - with both the main and support characters.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
yeon
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 12, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

cute short drama

The storyline wasn't complicated. It's basically a love story between the Princess and her new guard. Their story was nice and they have good chemistry. There are also some political schemes but it's also not complicated.
The costumes was really good too. All episodes combined is 1 hour long. It's perfect if you want to watch something short.
It seems like a low budget production, but they definitely make the best out of it.

Overall, not the best drama ever. But it's still worth the time.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ct
4 people found this review helpful
Apr 12, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Beat romantic drama in my life

The cast and the plot are really perfect with the actors/actresses they chose. It's too short for the drama lovers to feel so should be like a regular drama (1:00:00) :3 waiting for that .
It feels as The acting goes with the emotions cuz I felt the same way like them
I have seen that some Korean actors/actresses aren't good at acting even they are famous including dramas, there's always a necessary. But this drama isn't like that not because I love it so I only talked about good points but because it really is
Before I watched this drama, I don't really like Cdrama cuz of some problems but not now. I am really fond of watching Chinese dramas
Even it's short drama, their actions and cast are excellent for everyone
This drama is on my Top list in 2022 and will still go on
You guys should watch this cuz it's really a splendid drama I've ever seen

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dead lilies
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 15, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0

28 Episodes in 1 Hour

Every episode spans 2 minutes. The entire series will take 56 minutes of your life. The subbing quality for this is disastrous. Much like all the other extra-short chinese series out there, this one also looked like it was ran through an auto translator and subbing mixer. I wish I could sub this for people who can't understand Chinese but want to watch it.

The premise for the drama is a little special. It reminds me of Ooku: The Inner Chambers, where gender roles were reversed. Instead of the usual Emperor or Crown Prince in historical dramas having a harem, this drama tells the tale of the Princess Royal - the elder sister of the reigning emperor, having a little harem of her own. And of course she falls in love with the one who joins her harem with a motive.

Like the others have said before me, it's not a deep drama. There's no intricate plot that urges you to analyse every situation to keep yourself afloat. There are, however, the usual tropes - heartbreaking moments, and sexy moments, of which I couldn't get enough.

There was a weird moment in the final episode between the emperor and the main rival of the male lead. It just came out of nowhere, like a badly rushed "second pairing".

This is a drama to waste your life on if you have nothing else to do for just an hour.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
boink
2 people found this review helpful
May 6, 2023
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Good to kill time

This all together isn't even an hour long so that explains why it's like so rushed and everything was going by so fast,it's also a mini-drama so don't expect high budget looking things. The main leads were amazing in terms of acting and visuals, some side characters' acting were questionable tho. Storyline isn't anything new but the costumes were really beautiful and the music's quite catchy. Overall good if you have spare time and are out of dramas to watch. If you love dominant and smart FLs this is definitely for you, the ML just lets her do whatever she wants.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Amanda B
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 23, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers

Hello there you little gem!

I stumbled upon this all by accident and am so glad I did!

It was very well done for how short it was overall.

The FL was spectacular .. I'd like to see her and the ML together again.

The characters all had great chemistry together.

And it was actual adult chemistry.

Not the usual childish and outlandish things they make adults do in dramas - like tripping and kissing or waking up next to someone and screaming ( I mean really ... ).

The costumes and scenery were on point.

There was one actual laugh out loud moment I had which was a nice surprise.

The storyline was easy to follow and made sense.

I appreciate how it all tied together neatly at the end.

I may even re-watch on a rainy day.

Now for the things that weren't all that great....

I did not care for the BL angle they tried to take w. the emperor toward the end; it was not needed.

The music was okay, but there were some parts it was a little too loud.

The ML sure did lose a lot of blood and at several different times.

He was already too slim and if he really kept bleeding like that irl, he'd be dead.

His ears were a little odd to me too and they were a bit of a distraction in a few scenes.

Overall though, this was a great surprise and much needed .. I kept encountering dud ,after dud, after overly popular for no reason dud.



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Komentator isenk
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2022
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Watch this for my 2022 Alphabet Drama / Movie Challenge. Quite headache with what this story about. No, not because the unclear story or plot, but like everyone say here, they making it so cheap so expect nothing about.

Firstly I don't too like this drama, because so cheap & short drama, so it contain nothing heavy or meaningful. Even though this is just another cheap and short drama, the more I think about it the more true it is like everyone wrote here, everything just there.... There's love story, politic & drama. Although no character development, but the costume, the martial Art and the background is quite nice and not too cheap for the eyes...

So yeah... If you look for short and quick drama to complete your Alphabet Drama / Movie Challenge. This drama can be your choice. Haha....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 17/27
kate J
4 people found this review helpful
Mar 10, 2022
17 of 27 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10

Attractive couple

There is actually 20 episodes. Each episode is only 2 minutes or less so it move super fast pace, but I still love the couple's development. It leave the viewers wanting season 2. I love how the princess is in charge, leading the inexperienced to love ML(a powerful martial artist/ her body guard) to her side. The couple is very good looking and the attraction/chemistry is really there. Their body language and communication between the eyes say everything. The storyline is not a new concept, but their chemistry made it worth it to watch. This couple also made many short clips together. Available in bilibili. Check those out too.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Amastris Dratwka
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 14, 2023
27 of 27 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0

Did It All In a Nanosecond

Even with the low production value, and 2 minutes per episode, this conveyed the essence of a whole historical drama in a nutshell quite well. It even managed to show some erotic moments and censored relationships quite convincingly.

This just proves you don't need 40-50 episodes with a bunch of side characters and dragged out angsty shit to portray a good plot. Big budget productions = take notice. LMFAO!

I'd actually like to see this in a full length version, since I feel like it would have no unnecessary parts.
Was this review helpful to you?
Zhang Gong Zhu Zai Shang (2022) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 1,445 users)
  • Ranked: #4232
  • Popularity: #3980
  • Watchers: 3,147

Top Contributors

24 edits
11 edits
6 edits
5 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Chinese Historical Drama
418 titles 534 loves 3
Itty Bitty Time taker uppers
847 titles 215 loves 5

Recently Watched By